(2002) Any 2002 babies?

PressuredKiz, I tried that too, she'll volunteer to scratch for a short 10seconds and then it's mummy's turn again. Now that she's older (dd1), I don't do it that often anymore. Now, it's the little's one turn to get hooked on it.

Wan wan, hehe....that other 'blackboard' is my table top...I put the cards on the table to take close up of the cards.

fz, I've not gotten any purse for dd. Will probably let her use cheap one first cos I am also afraid that she'll lose hers. At least not so 'sim tia'!

Scratching of back sounds so familiar. Ha ha now both will give me their foot. It takes 5 mins. Proved again last nite.

Fz
I got her one HK one with a hook too but aiyo realise dunno hook to which part of her skirt leh

Wanwan
that Bulletin Board comes in different colour. Hee Hee make useof the 20% at popular now

Hi Shawn,
Ha! that's a great idea!

Hi CL,
Yes shd make use of d 20% i'll take a look at pop. tks!

I m also looking for a wallet for my boy not sure what to look out...when sch reopens also need to decide which activities to help d PSG as i've signed up for it...anyone any suggestions?

wan wan,
i just got an 80cents small pouch for my boy. think those 'folder' type wallet is too big.

for PSG activities, i think those helping out in reading programme or library activities, is not bad. i asked my boy if he wants me to join PSG, he said no...cos my presence will distract him. *rolleyes*

Hi FZ,
Where do you get a small pouch that is so cheap? any pic to show?

Actually i did not even ask my boy hee hee, just signed up as I feel it will help me to understand the school, the teachers and their activities more & i can relate more with my boy with these...hope I am right

fz, any pic to show for the pouch? As mine is a boy, scared i got one that is too gu niang for him, but like you mention, the fold type is too big and i don't think its neccesary at this stage.

wan wan, i think help in the library is ok. i did not join the school's PSG cos heard from my friend that they got lots of meeting and may have to take off to go for meeting.

Will be joining PSG too, will find out on the 1st day what options I have.

Just wondering, what about hanky? Any kids using them?

shawny, i will not be getting any hanky for my son. Will ask him to use tissue if needed.

Wanwan, i will sure be busy during the first few days cos i'm placing my dd in the childcare from 29/12 onwards and son going to sch on friday, the sch will have talk on first 3 days of sch. I'm quite worried that my gal will cry when she goes into the cc....

Btw, can i check with you mummies, for the colour pencils, how many colour then enough? is the 12 colour one ok? was not listed in the booklist so not sure how many colours then enough. Hope someone can advise me.

Hi fellow mummies,
Hope you don't mind me gate crashing into this thread. The only mummy I know is chicken little from the baking thread.

I also have a 2002 gal going to p1 next yr and also a 2006 gal. Think I'm getting more anxious as we draw nearer to 2 Jan 09. Haven't bought a coin purse, the protective sheet, wash the school uniforms....and the most worrying part is she can do her maths, image 20 + 5 = 7!!!!!! ...

cookiepie
welcome welcome. Ha ha you and me same same headache for for 2002. Ya man my girl sometimes give me that answer too. But actually they knows just lazy to think

hi cookiepie

Me too havent wash school uniform yet, label the books..my son's Math also my worse headache..weak in Math.

me also have not wash the uniforms, just finished adding a hook on her skirt the other day as even the smallest size, the waist still too big for her. How I wish I have that problem too but it's always the opposite for me!

CL & Mimosa,
Wondering if sending my gal for abacus lesson will help my gal to improve her maths .... Worried tt if she lacks behind her classmates in maths, she may lose confidence eventually ....

About the school shoes, i bought the std type that need to be washed every week and need to apply the "white powder"....sianz.... Noticed that there are shoes that do not need washing. Wondering if schools allow that ....

cookiepie
I will be stopping my gal's last lesson at MPM this week then she will start with my think tank which is one of the enrichment available in school. I not very sure about abacus. Personally I feel abacus if to start should be from younger age. Now maybe be a bit too late as I am afraid they might skip steps for working in a sum. But please correct me if I am wrong as I am no expert and did not realli read up on Abacus.

Mimosa,
Looks like I may need to send her for maths tuition eventually if situation doesn't improve. Any idea what's the going rate for pri school tuition ( 1 to 1 coaching) nowadays?

Hi cookiepie, welcome, me too worried for my son, we practise maths sum everyday but sometimes he just don't want to think and give silly answer. About starting abacus, they use diff method in teaching maths. U might consider that ur child may get even more confused when he does his maths in sch as both are using diff methods.

CL, thansk for the enlightenment, i thought the more colours the merrier, Maybe start of with 12 colour, the sch did not mention anything about it... so i shld start labelling it.

pressurekids & mimosa, i also haven
washed the uniform... think i'm still taking my own sweet time. I have not start him on how to use money to buy things yet too...

Milo, Mimosa
Ha ha my gal too. Ha ha want to buy watch but she cannot tell the time. Then money hor, she is always waiting for the man to give her 50 cents or 1 dollar to go into her piggy bank.

mimosa,
Thanks for sharing the rates. I better start to scout around for tuition teachers.

My gal also can't tell time and don't know how to use money. My colleagues advise me to give her small change 10ct, 20ct instead of $1 coin. Based on their experience with their kids, it's easier for the kids to add up the $$$ when buying food.

Milo, my girl be using the old color pencils that she used in K2 - 12 colors only. Save money to buy new ones haha...

Yah my girl cant tell the time too, havent got a watch for her yet, alamak... purse also... oh dear no time liao !!!!! What else we need to get?? Help help....

Hello cookiepie, me too have 2002/2006 gals, CL's my ex-colleague. Regarding maths, if you have a good look at your child's math textbook, the topics are still pretty simple for the 1st half. I guess the problem lies with how many of her classmates are trained past their age-grp's syllabus. For me, being a SAHM, I choose to adopt a wait and see attitude which means, I'll let dd go with the flow (without tuition but of course with guidance from mummy) and then see how she fares. After the honeymoon 3-6 months, I believe I should have a fair gauge by then. Luckily or unluckily for us, her school has no mid-year exam for P1s.

Milo & CL, regarding the colour pencils guess each school differs. While it is not listed as the mandatory item, the school recommended the 25 pc Lyra colour pencils. I too prefer a variety if possible.

Luanee, you are not alone....I've yet to train my dd1 to read time (but I believe her school has touched on this topic) as for telephone.....believe it or not, my child has not been taught to call out from phones yet, not to mention memorise any phone numbers. Going to start be telling her to memorise the home tel & mummy's handphone. Luckily my handphone number is very easy to remember. hehe...

i sewed the nametag halfway and has been procrastinating ever since. :p

for math, my boy also quite poor in mental calcuation....13-9 he can give me anything but the correct answer. double check already also cannot spot the mistake. he did abacus for a year and stop early K2. didn't help in his mental calcuation though. for any questions that is not straight forward, he don't bother to think. *rolleyes*

money-wise and time-wise, my boy knows. he is a 'scrooge' so he knows he has to be careful about giving the correct change :p. time-wise, we 'practice' everyday...when is his favourite programme, when to eat teabreak etc etc....

colour pencils i use 12 colours. short ones (free gift actually). all labeled. :p

am going to get my boy to go to bed at 9pm and then 8.30pm during the last week of dec.

cookiepie,
i have 2002/2006 boys.

Shawny, you be glad that ur girl doesnt know how to call ur number yet. Mine has been calling me non-stop while I was working from the day she knew my number, up to a stage when I scolded her to STOP CALLING ME! LOL...

mimosa, milo, chicken little

Get digital time watches. Sure can read

I gave my kids digital time watches too

cookiepie

I feel that abacus is useful, especially if your child hasn't mastered addition/subtraction yet. If she already knew, then too late for abacus because it's difficult for the child to 'unlearn' her method & 're-learn' abacus formulae

2sleepy
Yup same here. Not getting a digital one too same reason as milo. Dun want to repeat the same mistake since my daughter is going to have culture shock for squat toilet in her school.

Luanee
This is what I fear. But I guess I will prepare a card in her wallet just like what I do whenever we travel. Name: Age: Please contact parent at Tel:------- in the event she is lost. ha ha. I translate to Japanese when in Japan, that my girl do not speak Japanese so just call at this number.

Wow many parents here with 2002/2006 combination like

Chic Lil
Shawny
Fz
Cookiepie

Anyway I finalize 3 enrichment for my girl next year liao. English - I will take advice from Carol and train myself and see how it goes.

Me only trying to pack her class all in weekday.
1. Wed 4.- 5.30 My Think Tank
2. Tue 4.15 - 6.00 Berries World - Bukit Batok under Fan Lao Shi
3. Sun 10 - 11.30 CCK CC - Hanyu Pinyin under ex DJ Zhu Lan Ling since I got no confidence to coach her.

I oso have many things unprepared :
1. Name tag and washing of school uniform
2. Wrapping , tagging of Textwork and workbook

Only completed purchase of bag, watch, wallet, pencil case and shoes, socks.

Wrapping of the chinese flash cards.

Anything else I missed out ?

Chicken Little,
My boy will be attending 2 enrichment next year.
1. Berries...same centre as yours, but different timing. dunno which teacher...its been a long time since i send/fetch him...his daddy has been doing the job. :p
2. Swimming

I had wanted to pack his class in weekday too, but am worried that he may be too tired as his class is in the morning.

do you think berries are not strong in HYPY as compared to your enrichment #3?

i'm not getting a watch. my boy used to wear a watch. then the classmates started meddling watches during class.

Fz
it is not because Berries is not strong. It is more because in P1 syllabus they not teaching her from scratch like in K2. She has no exposure in HYPY so I am just putting her in this 6 months course to help her. Her current enrichment native chinese teacher at my home has drilled her a lot on word recognition. So that is why during the trial class last week with Yang lao Shi she says she should progress to P1 based on her strong word recognition but need to brush up on HYPY since not exposure.

Your son in which timing ? I heard Liu and Yang is good in that centre but Ann assure me that Fan is equally good. Have you heard anything about Fan Lao shi ?

Swimming where is your son taking that up ? I oso think I should start my gal who has phobia of water. Aiyo go swimming pool only lower half is wet

Pai seh. Helping a fren ask on behalf. For mummies with kiddo going to Red Swatika next year. When you go for orientation this year, did they provide you with any tie up with enrichment classes within school ? May I know what are the centres ?

Like in NYPS, they have lorna whiston, JG, Yuquan, My think tank etc

chicken little
chinese flash cards must wrap? I think they are best in clear pockets just like name cards holder. Else have to get a box to put all in.

I also haven't wash uniforms. Bag, water bottle, lunch box, pencil case (cum stationery), shoes, socks all have already. No need for wallet & watch. Recently re-used elder child's book covers (ie throw away activity bks) for my son's text & activity bks.

Your girl has so many enrichments ah? My boy has none.

chicken little
just like chinese word recognition, english also, by reading using phonics, spelling. I teach simple grammar:
he/she/it--> is, was, has
they/we/you --> are, were, have
I --> am, was have

his/her --> okay
their(s)/your(s)/my/mine/its/hers/his --> not yet

preposition
in/on/behind/under --> okay

many/much --> okay
a / an --> okay

I have not gone through verbs because I think he is not ready yet. Re-arrange words to form proper sentence he is a bit slow but can do.

Comprehension not touch at all but he has good memory, if he knows how to read (which is not very good), he should be able to do.

chicken little,
oic...i thought the K2 HYPY in berries not strong. my HYPY also half past six...
i dunno any other teachers in the centre except yang laoshi. recently my boy refused to speak mandarin at home. so i called up the centre and ask yang laoshi to talk to him. he listens to his teacher more than me!
my boy is having his lessons at CDANS under http://www.fit.com.sg/aquatics.html (they are now currently known as http://www.camelotsg.biz/contact.html)

Carol
Ha ha she under care of my sil from next year so when she send her kids out for enrichment I might as well sign her up in the same vicinity otherwise aiyo she and my sil will be staring at one another and she waste her time travelling with them. She loves her Yu Lao Shi who is home teaching at my place and she ask me to keep the class even she is going for Berries. Ha ha but I need free time myself leh

Thanks for sharing your coaching method. I will try. Actually I have teaching materials which I have no time to use.

As for the flash cards, there is this option from her booklist to get the box with protector sheet. So I just slow in and they have another box to put in the cards. Will take picture tonight to show.

CL, your current Chinese enrichment teacher hasn't taught Char HYPY yet? You are not continuing on with her?

I haven't washed the uniforms too. Worse still, haven't purchased shoes either. Been thinking abt it, I may do without the watch first.

She feels word recognition is much more important to expand her vocab then she has ease in reading. Rather than focus on HYPY which is easily taught in school. Ha ha then I oso think so but now think think better give her some help. I not continuing because I want to free up the Sat time for Family time

Yup...I agree that should be this way. I fear that the child will be more reliant on HYPY to decipher the word.

but what abt her childcare that Char attended (still going?)...they too didn't work on HYPY with her?

Shawny
ha ha for your information it seems that the choice of school I hve for charmaine all feels HYPY should not be introduce in preschool. Nursery - CCK Bible Centre Kindergarten says HYPY is not in pre-school syllabus. CC - Del_care oso not teaching. Then I switch to Maris Stella ha ha still not teaching. Enrichmet teacher oso feel it should not be focus. So well done. I sign up for additional course to teach her. Lucky near home

hehe....CL, in that case, Char's fated not to learn HYPY so early. Good news is, HYPY is much easier than Han words recognition ....I too would prefer Ash to have a stronger foundation for Han word recognition.