(2002) Any 2002 babies?

Nat,
Yeah, heard the sch is gd & if you don't do PV, sure need to ballot.

Valerie,
I'm sorry to hear that. Is your son having the STELLAR prog for eng? Any story bk to buy?

Hi Jo,
We usually talk abt P1 orientation & issues on children who is 6yrs old. Join us!

How old are your children?

The popolar bkstore is having bkfest at suntec starting today. They have good sales on some non ergo bag as cheap as $15 - $20. You may want to take a look if you have not gotten any sch bag for your child & want to consider this option.

ya, quite difficult to get in. Most of the schools are doing Stellar Prog, including my son's Sembawang Pri. But what surprise me is that Endeavour is doing Higher Chinese. it is a new school and they've implemented HC.

Nat,
I'm surprised to hear this from U. My son chinese is so so & ATS is having HC. I hope I do not have a hard time to coach him to the desired level

Hi Nat,
This morning I went to the PCF that my 2nd boy will be attending K2 next yr and spoke to his teacher. I am so relief that she is a nice lady, speaks well and I can agree with her belief in teaching. although she said this year they did not manage to bring the children for excursion, I'm feel so much better after speaking to her. There are some other teachers that & they look very pleasant & approachable. Phew!

no worries Wan Wan, I'm sure the school will have the proper syllabus to teach them Anyway, HC and normal CL is quite identical in their books... and they are using the same set of chinese cards leh.... But not sure about higher levels liao...

Wan wan, mine is a daughter and yes she will be having the STELLAR prog. Did not notice any story book, will check again.

Nat, i was shock too when i see the HC books in the booklist. Anyway, what are the differences between normal and higher chinese? Sigh, i am going to have a hard coaching chinese. She quite good at her han yu ping yin though.

<font face="Tahoma">Yeah Wan Wan,
Glad that they did.
That's one point for them for them. Heh.

Thanks Milo,
Yupe, will have to go down to another road show for them to check and do so.</font>

hi valerie, no worries lah... think first half yr will be basically hanyu pinyin then...
both chinese no much diff.. also got to depends on the kids' interest in chinese...

Hi nat,
some ats mummies said not much diff bet cl &amp; hc unless upper pri. I hope so

valerie,
sch said no bks but I heard they r using stories to teach so thot must buy but not in d bklist. is ur sin hc textbk fr panpac publisher?

sorry abt th info on sales of cheap sch bags. a mummy in another thread said d pop bags she bgt lasted only 5mths so better check before deciding.

I was at popular feista yesterday. Saw many parents grabbing assessment books. Wow, seem like they know exactly what to buy.
Again, I see until my eyes got stars. So many to choose from!

Annlee, I ordered the books online becoz that's the bookstore the school recommend, and we were encouraged to order on-line first so that they can pre-pack, in order to save time when collecting.

Just back from my girl's P1 orientation. Watched the older pupils from different CCAs giving performances first. Then my girl joined her teacher and classmates in the classroom. We the parents stayed behind to hear the principal, parent volunteer grp's talks. Then the teachers gave us some info on Seed and Stellar programmes. Made school bus arrangements too.

Just came back from P1 orientation.

Very messy on the selling of uniforms. A guy took measurement of my son's size. Turn out too big. Not allowed to see the size first before buying. Then change to 1 size smaller. Still too big. Changed a 2nd time. Waste so much time.

3 shirts, 2 shorts, 2 sets of PE attire &amp; 3 pairs socks cost $89! They just change design of sch uniform. I think is designers clothes for neighbourhood sch!

The sch had SEED &amp; STELLAR programme but still have English textbooks to buy.

Not very impressive for neighbourhood school in terms of academic results. They stress on journey torwards learning.

Went for orientation this morning too.
Didn't managed to get books and PE attire (strange, they don't sell PE attire at the Uniform section) as my husband was unable to attend with me.
Have to Q once nametags, once for Uniform and once for Shoes. Only the Uniform section is orderly. The other 2, dunno where the Q starts! After they measured my boy for the size, i told them to give me one size bigger for the shirt. Tried size 2 shoes, my boy said too loose, size 1 fits. Then Q up. Then size 1 out of stock, then quickly borrow socks to put on and try again. This time size 1 too tight and size 2 only a bit loose. Luckily tried on the shoes with socks. Then bought 2 pairs of shoes and 6 pairs of socks (they sell in packs of 3).

Total spending today is $37 for uniform and $39 for shoes and socks and i have yet to purchase 2 sets of PE attire and 1 excursion (compulsory) T-shirts!

School staff handed me the Giro form and ask me to go to bank to get authorisation. Need? I read through and feel that i just need to fill it in and then pass back to the teachers for them to get the bank to follow up.

Me too went to orientation this morning. Met mickeyh. Nice meeting you.

Suppose to meet another 2 mummies but ha ha too busy getting this and that. Me submit form for school bus, then submit forms at General office, went to purchase the school uniform. Think think then went back to change 1 size bigger for the top.

Then went to class to fetch my gal where she met her classmates and teacher. And who knows, my gal must be the roughest gal who are playing with the boys. The rest of the gal so demure ha ha.

I went orientation this morning too!

Spent $70 on uniforms: 2 blouses, 3 skirts, 2 PE shirts, 2 PE shorts.

Cannot try the size, uniform lady asked us to pay first &amp; take whatever size she estimated. If not suitable, there is a separate queue for exchanges. But her estimate is surprisingly accurate so no need to exchange

Didn't queue for textbooks. Long queue lah, anyway incomplete list, some books are not available

My girl met 4 friends in the same class. 1 ex-classmate &amp; 3 existing kindy classmates. Small world leh. Glad she already had friends before the term starts

carol
huh so crazy. then he go school do what. I see the traffic today for orientation already want to faint so I think better put my gal on school bus. Then my younger son no need to wake up so early too since his childcare near my workplace

thanks sleepy. will submit to teachers when i go school buy books.

my boy has a few kindergarten friends going the same school. one is in his class and sitting on the next table, so both of them separated by the aisle only. :D
also met one of his ex-ex-classmates...they were in the same enrichment when they are just a toddler, and attending different enrichment programme in the same centre now. my boy can't remember

he said the teachers gave out a very simple worksheet for them to do. seat also allocated already. he sitting second last row...ie 3rd row from the front.

caroline3sg,
6.10am?! that's very very early! my boy needs to be in school by 7.20am and i am already complaining. :p

hi noe,

i was at the school only at 12.30pm today. had to rush there after ds's music class. the school bus was actually quite expensive. they quoted $95 for one way while i saw that the others only charged $95 for 2 ways. n these are going to telok blangah crescent while i want to go to harbourfront which is ard 5-10 mins away. i really don't know how they do the calculation or if they really know where is harbourfront. it's weird because i asked if ds will be the last to get off and they told me no... that means it's not the furthest rite? then how come it's the most expensive? so still don't know if i want to confirm it yet.

i also got the security passes n carpark labels n the balance books (except for 1 which is still out of stock). n also bought the textbook cover, too lazy to wrap myself. but they only hv sizes for some of them, so the rest of the textbooks still hv to wrap.

how abt you?

wow, so many of you went to orientation on the same day...

Caroline,chicken little, you child's uniform very expensive leh, which school huh??

fz, for my son's school we just fill in the form and gave them back on the day itself, no need to go bank to do anything leh....

milo
mines at NYPS. gal's lugi because sleeveless. My gal in between size. smallest like just right so i kiasu a bit buy the next size. maybe can last her till pri 3 ha ha

milo,
thanks. will check with the school again. hope that they are not asking us to do it on behalf of them. yesterday some parents also confused. supposed to return the dental consent form to the nurses, they said return the dental SURVEY form. think maybe next time i go join their PSG and feedback. heehee...

chicken little,
sleeveless uniform? will 'expose' anot? need to wear singlet inside for safety anot? i too conservative. :p

Chickenlittle, is NYPS's gal uniform same as the sec school one, white sleeveless dress? I always thot that color not so convenient for girls approaching puberty, LOL...

fz, Luanee
Ha ha no change since my time. Yup will let her wear singlet means another cost to me ha ha. Her panties oso will change to those that looks more like shorts. But my gal likes her skirt over knees so should be ok.

For me I was lucky because my menses started late like last semester of pri 6. Hope my gal will be same oso. My ma oso hates the school uniform. my poor gal with long hair has to say bye bye to her hair. Poor gal, it was her most precious part of her body ha ha. So I spend $20 at junior league to let her enjoy the process.

chicken little,

YAh hor very lugi leh, pay so much but so little coverage...haha I don't like the uniform, i think very easy to expose, i prefer something with sleeve.... how come cannot have long hair meh? tie up then tidy already mah...

actually, am also wondering if i should change my son's shirt to the next size, cos the size i get looks just nice... but if go next size looks too big for him for now... haiz, so how??

milo
mine slightly bigger and I feel can last her thru out her 6 years ha ha.

Because she can still wear her 3 years old clothes.

Accordingly to long long time ago, this school founded by Sun Zhong Shan lor, revolution modern gals short hair mah. The one of the school motto is pu for simplicity something like that so should not be fancy lah. Aiya I have been thru it so never mind lah just have to spend more on hair cut now

milo

I wanted one size bigger too but hubby said too loose not nice leh. My girl's kindy knee length skirt became tiny mini skirt by term 3

chicken little

my girl refused to cut her hair. Luckily P1 &amp; P2 afternoon session, so not so rushed. If morning session I will insist she cut her hair

milo,
i went for one size bigger. it does not look as nice though, but it is more economical.
for pe attire, i would go for the fitting size cos it'll be more comfortable as they need to run around.

chicken little, don't be too happy that she still can fit in her 3 yr old clothing, she might just shoot up and grow tall out of the sudden.. like what some mummies said. I have actually met another mummy who say she regret not buying bigger size for her gal who is now in P3, she say girls grow very fast...

sleepy, if mini skirt can easily lengthen it what i mean is the width too big how?

fz, i also think for economical sake, i should go one size bigger, if not only wear for one year then have to buy new ones somemore....thnink will get it change on tuesday.

went 2 gals' P1 sch orientation on sat. eng no textbk in bklist cos usin stellar programme. no info given 2 parents cos briefin only done on 1st day of sch.

din manage 2 buy anythg cos rushin to send gal for her class.

gal was given a list of 200 high-frequency words for her to familiarise b4 sch starts. haven't gone thru de list list her so dun noe how many she still dun noe ... stress ... anyone of u given a list too?

caroline,
some community centres organise these outings. saw one for de fire station @ joo chiat cc. heard if u juz walk into de fire station @ high street, they conduct tours n demo.

jh
thank you for the info on outing but I am staying at West.

fz
be in sch at 7.20am is the norm since they need 10 min to sing marikita. lesson start at 7.30am. I think sch bus wants to pick up factory workers that's why they set the pick up time 6.10am. I thought this applies to far away sch but neighbourhood sch 10 min away is too much.

chicken little
yes the traffic to bukit timah is always jam. I saw new ERP gantry at hillside condo. Not sure your sch bus take expressway or bukit timah road. Mine take the expressway. Your girl in am session? My boy in pm session for 2 yrs. I think nanyang sch bus reach my place around 6.15 - 6.20am, so your side could be 6.10am.

My girl's unform alone costs $96! Plus the name tags dunno cost how much. Just finished sewing on her name tags manually yesterday, plus shortening her belt coz it's too long for her. Backache man...

luanee
my girl was only given one pin-on name tag. Supposed to wear for a couple of weeks than can discard.
No sew on type of name tags
your girl's uniform must be very nice, with belt!

milo
cannot lengthen skirt lah, no extra cloth leh
maybe you can stitch up 1 -2 inches for the waist then not too loose?

caroline
you can do a keyword search under activites at PA web site to find out which nearby CC has suitable day tour

Caroline, I am moving to clementi soon, no more at cck from Jan liao... My girl is interested in the choir, ballet and gym. But I am worried about transport arrangements. Do they have school buses to cater for CCA? Was ur girl performing during the orientation?

Yawnyawn, so ur girl's school dont require name tags at all? Mine is actually the iron-on type but sure drop after a while one so I sewed them on.

Btw looks like all husbands same one ah... Mummies would want to get uniforms with bigger size so that can last longer, but daddies will say too big not nice, haha...

Heard a couple arguing how many sets of uniform to get at BibiBaba yesterday. Luckily we argued about that at home before going, LOL.

<font face="Tahoma">Hi FelixCat,
I took the older boys to watch Madagascar in the morning so DH went to the school instead.
Same here but opposite sequence, we had to rush to my son's music class after the show.

We were quoted $105 for 2-way and $80 for 1-way (AMK - School) on a 19 seater.
However, he will be the first to board and last to alight. It will be one and a half hour of bus ride.

Pick Up - 0530hr
Reach Home - 1500hr

This means 3 hours of unproductive time wasted on travelling everyday! Ridiculous.
He would be having super late lunch too. Recess is at 0930hr for them I think.
Likewise, we have not confirmed the service.
We are exploring other methods of transportation and arrangements.

Ha ... Security pass.
They named me wrongly and DH didn't check till he left school.
I became a Deborah. DH will be getting it changed today.

kao_smile2.gif
PM me your contact please?</font>

sleepy, no need extra cloth mah, just lengthen by loosening the below pleat can already.

btw, seems like some of your child are attending morning session? mine still in PM Session, i hope it can be AM though

luanee
My girl performed during speech day (ie 14 Nov). Last yr performed during P1 orientation. Next yr, she would perform during CNY.

Yes, CCA bus only operate from Feb to Oct (excluding Jun holidays). You only pay when you use them. Mine is $20 per month.

Noe
According to transport association or LTA?, pick up can only start from 5.50am. 5.30am is unauthorised.

milo
Though now the committee is inviting feedback on primary sch education, the deadline is not closed yet. So those sch still operating pm session for P1/2 would continue in pm when in 2010. This was informed by my son's sch principal. I can't remember MOE guideline by 2012? all must be single session.

If immediately in 2009 (P2) switch to am, that means 2009 (P1) would have to drop enrolment vacancies. Hence unlikely for current 2010 (P2) to be in am session. Everywhere now we can see construction. They are catering to increase 25 sch so that by then all exisiting sch become single session.

caroline, thanks for sharing, from what i know, my p2 in my son's school next yr onwards will be in AM session, so only P1 in PM session. hopefully when reach my 2nd child time, all will be in AM session.

<font face="Tahoma">caroline3sg,
Thanks for the info. I am clueless.
This is my first brush with the school bus transportation services.

Probably the transport association?
Where may I find further info that 5.30am pick up is unauthorised?
Perhaps I can use that to our advantage.
Seriously it is way too early.
That means I have to wake DS up at 5am latest.</font>
kao_dizzy.gif

Noe
The bus association governing my girl's sch no more. But it is the bus driver that told me about the official rule of 5.50am. I don't know your child's bus association. Perhaps you can call up the sch and ask.

FYI, my boy's sch, the bus provider is one company which has 5 - 6 small buses serving only the neighbourhood. Unlike popular sch which has more than one bus operator, then there is bus association. But I do not know this bus association is universal to all sch or not.