(2002) Any 2002 babies?

chicken little,
besides vending machine..i get my ds1 to buy icecream from macdonalds...'you want to eat, you go and buy'. :p

jan,
ya. i read from other forum that some schools do that. but i guess it is more to gauge where each kid is, and then they try to bridge the gap as soon as possible (ie work on the weaker ones to try to catch up with the majority).

jOL,
rice+tofu+chicken fillet? your boy got a pretty good appetite. can finish in 20min? not sure about the school menu...but probably let ds1 bring lunch box when the time comes cos slow and small eater.

caroline3sg,
is yr son still taking wushu lesson by wufang? can u share hw is the course, instructor and the fees? the academy conducts wushu class at my son's sch. i'm considering btw this or karate - by shinwa-kai karate club.

fz,
my son is the type whom 'wana eat, but die die wont go and buy'!

is it alot? if rice+1 dish like very plain leh. he can finish the rice but not the dishes lor. he's more 'fan tong'. he eats very slow la. definitely cant finish within 20mins especially when he eats at home! the sch has extend the P1 recess time to 45min for the first 2wks or so. i told him nx time juz order rice, tofu + 1pc of nugget. he's not a meat person n definitely not veggie too. but he loves chicken rice though.

fz,
oh ya.. hv u receive the berries voucher? if not, pls check with su kai. she said you would receive it when the term start.

jOL

I did a survey last week when I helped out during P1 recess. I also asked my pv friends who have school going kids. General concensus $1.50 should be sufficient

Jan

Yes I heard but I am not sure whether the school my girl is enrolling practice that.
Me too! still keeping my option open. Distance wise, this school is the nearest from my house

Hippo,
Juz curious. How do u know the sch needs to ballot? Is it because they reduce the no. of vacancies / increase volunteer intake? You won't know whether need to ballot until after phase 2A when the alumni and siblings filled up the seats. If you're < 1 km, should be hi chance.

In terms of P1 readiness, I saw some P1 worksheet, it's v simple. For Chinese, only fill in the blanks w 2 words. Should be able lah. Anyway, still have 1 more year of 'training' period ; ) But heard from friends (not sure true or not) from next year onwards, oral will take up 20% (instead of 10%) so the ability to understand and speak well will be of greater importance.

jOL
Yes, my son still taking wushu at wufang. We could not meet the timing of Vincent at Cainhill CC. He suggested Gek Poh Ville CC (by his friend Mr Quek, also champion, also wufang). Fees is $135/10 lessons, about half of Vincent's fees.

The beginners are taught by Mr Quek himself. Those who have been with them for some time, are taught by Mr Quek's disciples. All would have warm up exercises together.

Need to buy uniform, shirt &amp; pants, each $18. Later on, need to buy sword.

Karate or Taekwondo, you would get bruises.

i think my son is not that ready for P1, thats why hv been preparing him since end of last year. So now at least I have a year to prepare him. My boy also know how to read time using digital clock and now training him to read using long and short hand but he's always confused. Any mummies here teach yr kid to read time i.e. half past 6pm, quarter past 3pm, 10mins to 12nn, etc? As for money skill, i make him buy food at the coffeeshop and provision shop, still not very good at it. I think vending machine is a good idea, recently my boy has been playing this computer game abt learning $$ using vending machine, he finds it difficult! But i think he will benefit from playing it.

ssm,
What computer game is it and where to buy it? Sounds like a good idea on teaching $$ concept. I'm a lazy mummy. Everyone so hardworking. I haven't taught her about money and time concept yet. Oh NO ! Seems like I muz buck up liao.

Hi hippo / j0l, a number of schools use ezlink card for payment. The school I pv for has that which has pros and cons. The child doesn't need to know to count money. sigh...

My ds enjoys going to the counter at fastfood restaurants to buy or ask for things. But when we are out and ask him to go gents himself or stay somewhere for awhile without my company, he will say 'no, wait bad people kidnap me'.

Jan

haha, my girl also likes to say 'what if uncle catches me' &amp; refused to be alone

Iwg26

informed by school regarding the need to ballot.
Within 1km also not guaranteed. After phrase 2A then we will know whether the number of vacancies are more than parent volunteers within 1km. Quite worrying lor

dd1 started her K2 today. I asked her how many friends she talked to today? Guess what? ZERO. She just kept quiet. Faint!!!!!

very worrying, she's very slow to warm up. Only a boy &amp; her are new. The rest were promoted from K1 so they have been classmates for a year. I sure hope she blends in

yeah lor, very shy &amp; reserved &amp; self-conscious. But she became outspoken after she warms up to the person. The problem is how to lure her out from her shell? Like that very hard to make new friends leh, dare not strike a conversation, just wait for other kids to approach her. Other kids usually leave her alone since she's so quiet.

Her EQ not very well developed. Sigh....don't know how to help her

Sent her to speech &amp; drama also didn't see improvement

Talking about EQ here. Anyone can share how to help the kids develop their EQ? My dd1 really in need of help. When neighbours or anyone say "hi" to her, she will just walk away, as if she is deaf and blind. When i ask her why that reaction, she said she is shy. Same like Hippo lor, send to S&amp;D waste of $$. Didn participate.

ssm,
Thanks. Sounds like my kids will like the game. Will go and search for it during John little expo sale ; P

hippo,
I'm sure your dd will get used to sch v soon. My ds also tell me "dunno" or "I forget" when I ask him abt school. Sigh...

2gals,
I think as parents, our role is to encourage them? Even if force also no use. Maybe go for those S&amp;D class that have smaller t-c ratio so that teacher can give her more chance to speak up. Recently, CC has grooming class for kids. I'm definitely gog to send my ddd there next sch holiday as she's so 'chou lou'.

oh, then abit tough. Maybe its just her character lah, cant be helped. Or maybe she's lack of confidence? Afraid of rejection if she approaches her new friend and they ignore her? just my thought lah.....

gin,
i bought from ntuc at bedok central leh, u can try yr luck there too. u mean there's john little expo sale? when???

Gin,

My dd1 has been learning ballet for 2 years but you cant tell at all that she is a ballerina... Very 'chou lou'. Thought it will teach her to be more graceful but still yet to see the results.

Hi hippo, yah same. I neglected that fact that he is 'new boy' in art class as I changed the timeslot this year. It's his fav class and he missed it during the holidays. I was with dd next door when the class started since it's her first time. When I looked in from outside later, was puzzled that he was so uncomfortable and (gasp!) looked like sobbing quietly. Thought the teacher scolded him! When he came out to go to the loo, asked him what happened and he clingged on to my leg and said 'I want you'. Such a big baby.... The teacher said he's abit shy and the class is quite talkative then it dawned on me. If all are new, he should be ok.

2gals,
I think gracefulness inborn? I myself is also not v 'gu nian' so I can't expect the same on my gal. Just hope she won't turn out to tomboyish when she's grownup. At least now she likes to wear skirt, dress and high heels ; )

ssm,
I think John Little /Metro expo sale just over but they have it v often. I din know Bedok also sell CD Rom. I only see it during expo warehouse sale. Which part of bedok did you see it?

gin,
I didnt know too till I was on leave and was shopping there. U go to Bedok central NTUC 2nd level, near the toys section. The CD roms are all displayed on the racks. Also bought these DVDs titled "NumberJacks" from giant at Parkway, very educational too!

haha, speaking of 'chou lou', dd2 is super unladylike. She will lift one leg up when eating or sit with her legs widely open, displaying her panty

I corrected her every time but no effect leh

dd1 is very ladylike, can bring her for fine dining. Very presentable. Strange hor, I teached the same manners to both of them but all lost on dd2. Fortunately dd2 is too vain to be tom boy lah

I have an enlightment today. dd1 is probably suffering from 'passive agression', a term I learnt from parenting book today. It is a way of letting out her suppressed anger. So subsconsciously she will display 'passive agression' behaviour like day dreaming &amp; procastinating as an outlet of her anger.

She likes to throw tantrum &amp; I always reprimand her for losing her temper. The author said this will result in suppressed anger if parents do not allow the child to let out her frustration
I think I need to do some self-reflection &amp; work harder to fill up her emotional tank

child pyschology is such a complex thing

Jan

Before switching kindergarten, I had that concern knowing dd1's 'pattern' but hubby said she has to learn to adapt in new environment. I guess I am too protective lor, worried that she cannot adjust &amp; blend in since she joined later at K2. Next year probably better because all her classmates will be new to the primary school

I let her distribute goodie bags for her birthday. Hopefully the kids accept 'bribery'

caroline3sg,
thanks for sharing the info. my son prefer karate leh. fees for the wushu lesson at sch is $150 for half yr. not sure who's the coach n the number of lessons though cos i'm sure the cca would stop before the exam period and during sch holiday. but its also good that he choose karate cos the wushu class clash with the creative writing class.

has anyone heard of Edu-net learning centre. any comment on the creative writing programme? cant find any website on it except this.

http://www.edu-net.com.sg/

hippo, 2gals, jan
same here for my ds1 - lack of confident, shy n reserved. but once warm-up le, the engine cannot stop! he's a talkative boy by nature but duno why, he always need warming-up before he unclamp his mouth! even with pple we are close to, like my sis - who's his fav yee-yee, and his god-parents. i sent him to lorna whiston for s&amp;d when he was in K1. stopped after a yr cos dun see improvement too.

surprising, after 3 days in sch i saw some improvement in him. last sun i brought my kids to library. ds2 need to poo so i told ds1 to stay in the library while i brought ds2 to the toilet. he agreed! in the past, he would hv 'die die' follow us to the toilet. but when i went back after 10-15min, he was standing at the entrance of the children's section waiting for us.

last fri i went to watch him during recess time. he was talking to 1 of his new classmate throughout the 45min - chatting, playing with their water bottle and went toilet together. the nx day, we ran into his ex classmate from kindergarten in sch. his fren kept calling his name but he refuse to acknowledge as though he's deaf! at times like this, i'm really mad with him. simply cant understand his behavior.
kao_frustrated.gif

hippo,
me first time heard abt this "passive agression". What parent book are u reading? Cos my boy also loves to daydream and procastinate but he rarely throw tantrum since young, he's got a very mild temperament. So I've come to a conclusion that he's like me when I was young. Cos I LOVE to daydream, even till now.

Hippo,
Share with you my friend's daughter inspiring story. Her daughter was v v shy when young. But now 18 yr old, she was a A-star scholar who is studying in USA university, school counsellor and always give presentation in school. So how they are now is not what they are tomorrow. I guess we parents are sometimes too 'gan chion'.

heard so much abt P1's behaviour these few days as I've got a few colleagues' kids in P1 this year. All displayed different behaviours. A colleague's kid now showing signs and has expressed that he doesnt like school. I'm now starting to worry, will my son behave like this next year.

Hi hippo, hahaa your dd2 sounds like my dd. We called her the yoga master becoz she's very comfortable sitting with legs W-I-D-E apart, leg / legs up on the table. So amused that I've taken photos of her in contortionist positions without her knowledge. She even lies with stomach down ON table and hand holding on to a foot when watching tv! On the rare occasions when she crossed her legs, I will praise her for sitting like a princess.

Hi hippo, agree to a certain extent. My ds is traditionally the sensible good big bro but there are occasions when he does have unreasonable outbursts. I will take it that it's time for him to let go of steam and calm down before talking to him about managing his emotions. Don't worry about it as there are phases which individual child will go through - we just try our best to help them cope. It's a fine balance to be firm and loving as a parent.

My dd and ds is opposite. My dd is gangho and chou lou. My ds is gentle and conservative. He will tell me cannot wear short skirts and speghetti strap tops as it's too sexy. My friend ask me why my 2 kids are opposite cos usually girls supposed to be gentle and conservative. Dunno what happened. But don't you think nowadays guys are more quiet and girls are more outspoken in today's world?

Hi j0L, sometimes I wonder if the child gets more conscious about himself as he grows older so more shy and insecure. It's environmentally driven becoz we are the ones who instill in our child not to wander off alone in public places or talk to strangers. They just apply it in instances which we thought are alright.

For my dd who is a year younger, she just goes round in the dept store browsing herself. When she was younger, even played hide and seek! There was once when I was paying at the cashier and then found her gone. Panicked and walked round calling her name no reply. Then asked a lady nearby and found dear dd hiding in the fitting room with curtains drawn, smiling.

jOL

yes, yes, I had a similar encounter! a few of her ex-classmates from PAP attended her party. dd1 didn't even talk to them, behaving as if they are strangers even though they are her best friends in PAP. Everyone just sit down there feeling so awarkard. Luckily a boy came &amp; save the party. He's so jovial &amp; managed to get everyone feeling comfortable &amp; chatty again.

ssm

It's a book I came across at popular bookshop 'how to truely love your child'

dd1 not only day dreams. she's super slow motioned. Asked her to change out of her uniform the moment she reached home. 15 minutes later she is still in her uniform. only took out her socks. I have to nag nag nag till I'm so frustrated

Jan

dd2 is exactly the way you described your dd
her favourite exercise is leg split

Iwg26

Thanks for sharing the story!

Very funny lor, I must keep telling dd1 to speak up &amp; remind dd2 not to talk too much. dd2 is so chatty in abacus class that teacher lodges a complaint

Hi hippo, now you reminded me of my ds talking in abacus class that he was asked to sit in front corner all by himself. Sounds familiar? when the child is a baby, we encourage him to talk and walk. When he is older, tell him to be quiet and sit still!

Jan

hehe, same same. teacher also makes sure dd2 sits alone in the 1st row

I think it's their nature, whether quiet &amp; reserved or chatty &amp; cheerful

can only teach them to behave appropriately in a particular environment

hippo,
yr dd1 is like my son, super slow motion. Only when i scream at the top of my lungs, then he starts to action!

jan,
my ds2 is also more daring. he would wander ard on his own. when we go out, can nv let him get out of my sight. once, the 2 of them were making alot of noise in the store while i shop. i made them stand at separate corner. when i turned ard, ds2 was gone! i searched ard the store and saw him 'coming out' from the display window! *faint*

hippo,
smtimes i feel so embarrassed when we run into neighbours in the lift. i would keep telling ds1 to greet pple "say hello to aunty.. call aunty.." but he juz keep quiet..
kao_frustrated.gif

hippo2002,
I think my son is not ready for P1.
Last week, I gave him a Chinese speling test (the Chinese spelling he had learnt in K1). I was so shocked that he had forgotten most of the Chinese Characters, don't know how to write (he got his spelling all right at school). I let him to re-write all the words again.

Hi mummies, just received a MOe P1 registration guide from the school which gives good info regarding registration and primary sch education. Did you receive it?

Jan,
i didnt rec too. U were saying u rec'd it FROM THE SCHOOL? What school? Are u a PV, thats why u rec it?

I also received it last week, through my dd's PCF kindergarten. A booklet that give some general info on Pri school education.