(2001) calling all 2001 babies

haven't been in this forum for some time.

Re: how much to give as pocket money.

I think $1 is quite ok, since it is only for snacks during recess. This is the first time the kids are in control of $. They would naturally like to spend on stationery /toys at school.

I've experienced it with my #1 and i've heard other parents complaining the same thing. They buy fanciful erasers, toys, etc. All unnecessary stuff.

So will be giving my son $1. He can get quite a decent snack with 70 or 80 cents. So can save the rest.

what do yr kid bring to sch on the first day? do u pack the textbooks or juz the workbooks/ activity books?

Hi j0L

The school usually has a 'book list' which shows the type of books and stationaries to bring for P1 on their first day.

Hi mlhg

My son is going to South View and we were told to bring only coloring materials and stationeries for the 1st 2 days of school and teacher will later advise what to bring to school on 3rd day onwards.

hi mlhg/ spanielpups,
my son was given a list of books to be submitted to teacher on 1st 3 days of sch. i'm wondering if there's anytin else i shld pack. juz being kiasu. hehe..

hi batman=SnowQueen,
the sch has 'catered food' from the sch canteen for the P1 for the first 2wk. afterwich i guess i would give him a dollar since tat seems to be the 'mkt rate'. whats yr view?

need some advise. am trying to volunteer my service for Pei Hwa presbyterian pri. sch cos it's near my place but really at a lost at what kind of volunteer work one can do? do we all have to write in to the school and ask to volunteer to be chaperones/traffic wardens/school admin support?

does any mommies know what kind of volunteer work is required in PPHPS?

am a part time tutor for science/EL and music, just wondering if such services like coaching are acceptable? cos am no IT/professional expert

MTIA

harriet

I'm new to this thread. Think the hottest topic now is P1 orientation kekekeke.... my son just started P1 too in Elias Park Primary school. Any mummies with kids in that school?

I wanted to check do all your kids know how to clean themselves up after pasting motion? My boy don't & I don't know how to train him. Worried that he'll pass motion in school
Stress ><"

Any tips on how to train?

harriet,
I think you should call up the school, they will advice you on the procedure. Different school has different process. My fren's gal school only require her to fill up an app form at the school admin &amp; list down what she can volunteer in. But other schools that I had asked before requires me to write a letter to request to volunteer. So I think it is better that u call the school.

harriet

last time my friend wanted to do volunteer but rejected by PHPPS. They do not even need any parent volunteers. You can easily call their school office to enquire.

hi itsy,
i hv not teach my boy too. mainly becos i hv no confident that he would do a 'good job'. hahaha.. according to him, he has nv poo in sch before, and he wont. so there's no need for him to learn! *faint*

hi joL.
2003. and I see the school website but no clue about which areas they might need help. as I am a part time tutor, I thought I could offer tutoring help. but thinking about it, the school has so many teachers, they probably won't need my help

harriet

hi jOL,

*haiz* a chinese speaking lady picked up the phone. immediately I was lost for words, didn't even know how to ask for advise..what is volunteer work in chinese??

harriet

Hi all mommies,
Am new to this forum. Heard it from a fren
It's great to be able to share experiences. It's really comforting to know that I AM NOT ALONE in facing this P1 stress.

My girl is in CHIJ(Our Lady Queen of Peace). Anyone's girl is there as well?

Before I put her at CHIJ, I tried to apply as parent volunteer in Pei Hwa. Wrote a proposal to the school on the areas I can volunteer but they rejected my application, citing that I lived more than 2km away from the sch. Sure no chance, so dun waste time. Well, in the very least, I am appreciative that the VP was frank and not let me volunteer for nothing.

hi alice,
welcome! yeah its a good place for mummies to share info.

my boy is in nan hua. the sch is single session. the sch bus picks him at 6.40am n he reach hm at abt 2pm everyday. i find the hours rather long compared to my times where we would reach hm ard 1pm!

is yr gal taking any enrichment classes n cca?

hi jOL,
Ya, I agree that the kids are spending too much time in sch. My girl's sch is single session as well but sch starts at 8am and ends at 1.30pm, so she gets up the bus at 7.10am and reaches home at abt 2.05pm.

She does have enrichment class on every Wed and CCA on every Fri. So on these days, she will come home at abt 4.30pm by sch bus. If I pick her up from sch she will reach home at abt 3.30pm.

Sigh...and she is only 7!!!

Anyone's kid in Nanyang ? Care to share how is it like during this first month in school ?

I am planning for my gal 2002 for next year registration. Not sure if I should put her in there

Hi jOL,
My gal is in CHIJ (Our Lady Queen of Peace) at Chestnut Road, along upper Bukit Timah.

Well, so far my gal is enjoying her sch life but the mummy is rather stressed. Ha ha.

I went through one of her math worksheets and couldn't believe the problem sums given. Quite tough for a 7 yr old.

Then this week, my gal starts her after school enrichment class, so I gave her extra money for lunch since she will only be home ard 4pm. Lo and behold, she used the money to buy a $1.80 notebook and had only juice and watermelon the whole day!!!

The next day, she bought a mechanical pencil!!! I think the school should close the bookstore during recess...

hi alice,
me too.. more stressed than my boy for sure!

my boy's sch prepared catered food for the P1s for the first 10 days. but i still let him brought $1 to stand by. on the 10th day, he called me while i was still at wrk, to tell me that he bot a snack - 40cents. i was impressed that he started to buy food on his own. when i went bk home, he told me he bot a puzzle toy for $1. when i question him hw he manage to spend more dan his allowance, he told me he brought extra $1 to sch! i said a sch is a plc to learn n play but not to buy toys, he asked dan why are toys sold in the bookstore! *faint*

my boy is taking 2 cca - golf and karate, enrichment class on wed, and chinese lesson on sun. actually i'm worried that he would be overloaded with activities. shall monitor and see if he can cope.

chickenlittle,

You're allowed to be in the school for the first three days, to observe your own kid and how the school handles the kids. The school will also line up talks for parents. For the kids, the P1s will buddy up with the P5s for recess.

I think the school deliberately places the good teachers in P1. My experience with the teachers are quite good, albeit some hiccups.

It's single session. School ends at 1.30pm.

Cant imagine how busy I am this week. Other than preparing for CNY, most of the time was spent preparing my gal for tests. The sch claims that there is no CA but still there are a lot of short tests here and there.

This week alone she has 2 tests and will be sitting for another 2 next week.

Do your children have tests??? REally not easy being a student in S'pore nowadays!!! I totally dun remember sitting for tests at P1...only know sch was lots of fun then...playing zero points, catching and five stones...

Wonder what kind of memories our children will have of their schooling days when they grow up!

Alice Ng:

Normally P1 no tests in the beginning of the year. WHich school is your girl from?

My boy is enjoying his P1. Lots of friends to play with. Not much homework for a start.

But i guess not for long. My P5 comes back with tons of work to do and the Maths is really killing the child ..... and the mother ....

Alice, so supprised that ur girl has so may tests...My girl is in Chongfu and they only have spelling test and do not have much homework.She enjoys the school very much.

my friend's DD from Pei Hwa. P1 and they have mo4 xie3 already in january. *faint*. thot they are supposed to be still learning hypy.

My P1 son also has to sit for CA1 starting on 25 Feb. He has Listening Compre for both Eng and MT and also the 3 main papers, Eng, Math, MT. He has 30 spelling words to learn for Spelling test. But CA1 marks are not counted.

He has homework almost everyday since school started in Jan.

I think its not too stressful, but tiring for him.

Sigh...Why there is such a big difference bt schools. My girl has 10 spelling words and my friend's boy only has 5.

My boy has homework on most days, spelling n ting xie every wk too. His spelling words hv increased from 6 to 8, and 10 hanyu pinyin ting xie. luckily he is adapting well to school n enjoying himself.

Hi CJ,

My son's school has a couple of projects for the parents and the student. My son is only P1, so which means we are spending the school holiday working on the projects together. What a way to spend school holiday!!!!!

Hi spanielpus,

Serious? Which school is your son in? I'm not sure abt my child's school yet. Hoping for an enjoyable short break since there won't be CA1 and SA1 for P1:)

Dear Alice,
I can relate to your stress about the test thing. My girl is in CHIJ Our Lady of the Nativity and she has tests too! I think all CHIJ has this thing? Last week Mon &amp; tues was Chinese, Wed was Maths &amp; Thurs was Eng. So far still can cope. Is your girl's school only single session?

Mummies, like Spanielpus, my girl also have a project to do! (can u imagine P1??). There was total defence day on 15th Feb and they are made to do 10 questions relating to total defence, including making paper doll of different races, drawing cartoon, &amp; check this out : INTERVIEW SOMEONE FROM ARMED FORCES!!

Instead of her getting stressed, I am....

Wow Samval! Okay, I am not complaining. What is this about interviewing someone from Armed Forces? This is ridculous... I shudder to think what type of projects the upper primary have.

My son's class is going to NTUC tomorrow for dun know what learning journey the school organized. Anyway, they are supposed to make some purchase there. When they go back to school they have to do a scrap book or something about this journey using digital art!!!???!!! Sign....

digital art????!!!!! wow...i agree with you..i also shrudder to think what the upper primary levels have.

well, it was total defence's day on 15/02, so they are supposed to do a project (10 qtn) abt Spore &amp; the armed forces. and in one of the qtn, they are suppose to interview someone who works in air force, navy, army etc about what they like abt their job and what they do etc. think a bit chim for P1. dont you think so?

Hi Samval, supposed to be digital scrapbook, see got it all mixed up.

I agreed on the chim bit.

By the way, does CHIJ follow the school timetable? My son's timetable is all mess up. Sometimes they can skip other subjects and totally concentrate on English and Math the whole day. Sometimes no pe. Sometimes skip social studies? But we still have to bring all the books as stated in timetable.

I also realised upon speaking to another mommy in school, my son's spelling has 10 words, on the day of spelling, they are tested for all 10 words. But in one of the classes, they split up the words like 3 words on Mon, 3 words on Tues and another 4 on Wed BUT both classes are taught by the same teacher. Wonder why it is not standardised?

My boy is in P1 too.

Hi Spanielpups,
My boy's form teacher doesn't follow timetable as well. It has been a long time since he last had his social studies and health ed lesson, not to mention, no music lesson since day 1.

Your son's teacher teaches 2 classes? Is the teacher the form teacher and teaching your son all the core subjects? Very seldom do we see 1 teacher teaching 2 classes in pri 1, unless he or she only specialises in teaching 1 subject.

My son has not been given any project to do, only attending IT lesson during term break.

Pri schooling is getting more and more challenging for both parents and child.

Hi wahWah

I know most of the P1 classes in my son school have form teachers teaching most of the subjects. But my son's class is the odd one with form teacher teaching only English, health edu and music. He has a math teacher, a chinese teacher, a social study teacher and pe teacher. So you see, he has so many teachers teaching different subjects.

The teacher who taught 2 classes is actually a Chinese teacher. But I wonder why she used diff methods to teach especially when giving hanyu pinyin spelling. Why other class can split their spellings in 3 days while my son's class has to be tested for all 10 words in one day.

Hi Spanielpups,
My girl's school follow the time-table. Like your boy, they also have many different teachers to teach different subjects. The math and English teacher is the form teacher. So we just need to follow the time-table and bring the necessary books for that day.

As for the spelling, they are given a list weekly to learn for the following week. It is about 8 words and 2 sentences. So they are tested weekly on all the words that they learn from the list.

I think it is ok for your boy's class to be tested on all 10 words since they are made to learn 10 words. Maybe the other mummy who's kid is in another class, the teacher does it differently. So think it depends on the teacher.

Suggest you ask the teacher about the time-table cos for a child to bring so many books to school, the school bag is very heavy.!!

Hi Spanielpups,
I used to teach Chinese Lang, but in a Sec sch. Actually, I do teach different classes differently, even though they are in the same level, like all sec 1 express. I will normally explained to the pupils while I split up spelling words for one class and not for the other class.

This is so because the pupils in the classes are different in the command of the lang. If the majority of the pupils in the class are good, then I will have higher expectation. If majority are weak, I have to split up the words to be tested in order to help them learn better.

I had parents asking me to explain the different approach in teaching, they accepted after I explained. You may want to check with your son's CL teacher.

Hello to all the mummies,

Do you send your kids to tuition?
My son is in P1 too. He just had tests for maths, english and chinese. Glad he did well for both english and chinese - 19/20 each. But his maths was bad - 15/20.

Hi, Jesslyn

Personally I feel that there is no need for tuition at P1 level, especially in the first semester. What is taught in school and the tests given are primarily based on what the kids have learnt when they are in K2. Most kids tend to do very well (getting full marks/close to full marks) if they have a strong foundation during K1/K2 so its more like revision time for them. However, i understand that the syllabus gets more difficult as the school terms progresses, particularly when they reach P3.

Dear mlgh,

Thanks. Frankly i am more worried of his maths. I had problems teaching him questions like __ is 5 more than 3 Or 8 is __ less than 10 etc etc.
Thot of sending him to Kumon but am unsure if I should cos he has short span of attention. Do not feel he's suitable for that learning system