1 year birthday Celebration

Pauline,

Can you give me your email address?

Eileen,

I'm using NEO garden. I choose NEO Garden on my gal's 1st mth celebration and on her 1st Birthday celebration. They given me 15% discount for 1yr old birthday n on top of that another 5% discount. WOW!!!! A total of 20% discount.

Eileen, I ordered Eatzi Gourmet for my sons' bd this Sun. I'd tried YLS before, guests loved the food esp the kou bak pao.

Cynthia,

How come u have another 5% disct? U have VIP card? Our nov bb bash order from them too...just wonder can borrow from u?? then all the participated Nov mum will be very happy and appreciate u too.

Hong here with the Big Bird incident.
Sorry that i am not here to bring down PG but i just wanna share my personnal experience with mummies here so ur cake will not end up like mine.

I dun denial that their cake taste nice. I like the taste but appearance is also impt especially when we order it specially for our love one.

Jenny,
Aiyo u kena quoted. I wonder if they still rbr my big bird incident.

Ep,
dun want to post the pic lah. Dun want to scare the rest of the mummies.

hi ppp,

i use NEO garden for my bb 1st mth celebration and 1 yr old celebration. They also gave me the 5% discount. I think because I ordered from them for my gal 1st mth, so that's why they gave the 5% discount automatically. They did not ask for any VIP card number (though I have obtained from my friend in advance).

Hi ppp,

My situation is just like Gemini. I order frm NEO garden on my gal 1st n 1yr old celebration. They automatically give me another 5% discount. I dont have any VIP card.

Hi Gemini & Cynthia,

Oh I see. In this case, we can only get 15% disc but good lioa la hor.
Thanks ya.....

Hi Eileen,
I am currently using Kim's Kitchen for my dinner tingkat. Taste wise quite good. But have not tried their buffet catering.

mummies! help help! my boy's 1st bday party nx wkend liao...wat are the stuff i shld bring huh?

scotch tape? double-sided tape? thread? (do i need thread?) any emergency items? *scratch head*

Jlyn,
Yes, I love YLS kou bak pao!
So which menu you ordered froM Eatzi Gourmet? Int'L one?

Hong,
Yes they do. Cos Chan Wei told me abt it. He said he dunno abt this cos he hasn't join tat time. So when he told Li Keow, she was saying "aiya so many years liao now still talking..."
So I told Chan Wei, I saw the big bird cake on web and it was really a lousy job tat PG has produced. Sorry Hong! Not saying yr cake ugly but is PG's workmanship tat I need to reflect to them.
Same as you, their cake taste nice, but the design disappoints me. I will kena heart attack if I had a weak heart. For kid's big party, I will order from them cos of the cake taste but I guess I won't be having more big party for the next few years. I'm getting my gal's 3rd bday cake from SO cos I already saw something she likes.

dumbger,
depends on wat deco you are putting. scotch tape, double side tape (provided the wall paint dun come off), blu tab are the must in my list. 3M tape saves the trouble for fearing wall paint from coming off.
And perhaps additional paper plates, cups kind of utensils.

Jenny, if i remember correctly..YLS got or-nee rite.. think their or-nee is nice too. Eatzi one, I ordered the same as yours- $15/pax cos some dont take beef else I would have taken the $13+. I abit heartpain to spend so much on buffet but aiyah.. this is going to the last time for this kind of 'big scale' bd celebration. Next time just a small cake, small celebration.. perhaps a family overseas trip if got $$. Every year big scale celebration, I'll 'die' lor.. haha

Hi ram

YLS's food is nice, price is cheap (not transport charge) & the portion is quite a lot only the kou bak pao is abit less. I have ordered it on my marriage day, mil birthday, son's first month(my house & dad house). So thinking of changing other caterer for my son's birthday.

Jlyn,
Yes yes, YLS Or Nee also nice.
Same lor, I hestiate at first cos I have a lot of relatives, but wat the heck lah, last major one. But I think I will still order from them cos their food and service were great. They gave me a token after the event.

ram,
YLS portion is huge, just like wat Eileen mentioned, only Kou Bak Pao is less.
Tried many of their dishes cos ordered many times, nice wor. And if you have say a lot of ppl, you can request for the rice and mee hoon half the portion instead of taking all rice. Know wat I mean? Say I order for 100 pax, actually can get 100 pax for eg. rice only. Kinda bored right? Request if you can have 50 pax rice, 50 pax mee goreng or other kind of mee. At least got mee or rice to satisfy all yr guests.

jenny
blue tab? hmm...i've to go buy then. 3M tape a bit ex. ;) any other things that i shld bring? i dunno...basket to hold the goodie bags? (oh yah, jus remembered LIGHTER). any mummies got a checklist of some sort?

Jenny, sorry..if got chance you should tell this Li Keow although its so many years but its so badly done tats why it caused such deep impression to mummies here!)

SQ all along has good reputation but who will ever forget they have one air crash in taiwan!

Hence if their service drop thru words of mouth will be sufficient to cause PG damage.

sorry the way she talk as if mummies here trying to be petty hey but she is in retail/service sector if got complaints should keep on improving not sometimes good sometimes bad depend on the baker mood leh.

I am in service sector thus i take all customer complaints and feedback very serious and will implement process to make sure there is quality consistent.

aiya, PG shouldn't keep troubling you leh jenny!
ask them to come in here to read our posts lah.

You are not paid to be their middleman. :p

Just to share some pictures of my girl's 1st birthday party last Sun... It was tiring but totally worth it... : )

The Cake
1028618.jpg

Close-up of the Cake
1028619.jpg

Close-up of the Cake
1028620.jpg

The Cake + Pooh Agar2
1028621.jpg

Kiddy Goody Bag (Waterbottle + Hanky + Tidbits) + Framed Photo Montage for Grandmas
1028622.jpg

Thank-you favors for Adults (Homemade Cupcakes topped with Pooh & Piglet Cookies)
1028623.jpg

B'day Girl with Part of the Decor
1028624.jpg

dumbger,
3M tape is ex but it is easy to remove lor, and not fearing the wall paint came off.

celyw,
I hope you understand.
I DUN WANT TO BE THE 3RD PARTY TO GO AND TELL PG ALL THESE THINGS. If you mummies think you should feedback to PG, go ahead and do yourself, and dun ask me to play the bad person role, I'm NOT a messenger here for PG. My hp bill has raised like hell after these incident cos PG called me a few times, reading me emails, telling me their stories with other mummies etc which I dun even want to know, and hey the calls are not short call hor. You imagine lah, the call started from west till I travel to north hor. I'm so sick of seeing the # in my hp.

I can tell you frankly, PG does aware of this forum and we mummies are discussing here. Some mummies told PG about our discussion here and even quoted "jenny snowpooher says bla bla bla in SMH forum..." Why I know, cos PG called and told me. Yes mummies, whatever you called and told PG, it all came back to my ears. And they even asked why I din order my hb's cake from them. I felt so funny, as a consumer, why do I need to answer such qns. I have my own free will to order the cake from anyone. I can tell you lah, I'm very very disappointment with PG not becos of the wrong cake design but their after service after the incident, I doubt I will ever order or patron them anymore. It's not as seems I stay near AMK. Oh yes, PG delivered a box of cupcakes to me to apology, they changed the delivery time/date during weekday, it really reflects their delivery can't make it.

And well, I think my aboved statement will goes to PG ears too =P

Anyway in short, I dun want to have anything with PG for the time being.

weigoh,
tats so nice of you to prepare yr gal stuff! Can show a bigger pic of the close up of the cake for the pooh figurines? Where do you get them?

Let's give Jenny a break. I think she has "suffered" enough by being quoted so many times by those who dunno her but yet try to take advantage of her "name" from the forum. If you have any feedback abt PG, just tell them directly instead k?

Hong's incident happened long ago. Let it pass. No one is perfect and we all learn to forgive... Bringing up past incidents will not help.

Once again, I advise all mommies to order your cakes from a supplier whom you trust and not from one whom you are paranoid about.

I see many ordered the pooh agar agar. Can check with you all where u all ordered from? Thanks!

m00n,
Contact James Chan at 978878017. Ask him to email you the designs, there's a lot of choose from.
Advise you to call few days in advance to "remind" or double confirm your order. Cos is homemade and a lot of mummies are ordering, they ended miss out some orders.

Hi Jenny,

Didn't realise the pictures turned out so small. Let's try again...

{Cake_big}
{Cake2_big}
{Cake3_big}

Pooh figurines are from lid of Play Doh containers, bought at Toys R Us warehouse sales @ $2 each. Marshmellow Lollies are from B-I-Y... : )

Hi Moon / Jene,

Agar2 cake is from James Chan / Mrs Chan (Mobile: 97887807 / 96350758 or email [email protected]) Paid $36 for Pooh #1. They have many other different designs too...

Sorry, this is the correct one for <font color="0000ff">agar agar contac - James Chan at 97887807</font>

Pls call to check price. I understand there's a price increased, think now range from $36-46, depends on design.

weigoh,
Play Doh also got pooh?? Wah $2 each cheap leh!!

Sharing some pics of my sons' cake.. cake from pg, top tier orange zest and lower tier black forest. Agar agar pooh was a gift from one of my guests. Buffet- Eatzi Gourmet, BBQ- BBQ wholesale.. xie xie Jenny for her caterer recommendation. Eatzi Gourmet food is very nice, thumbs up for the laksa. They are very generous with the ta bao boxes, plates, serviettes etc no need to buy extra for standby.
1034423.jpg

1034424.jpg

1034425.jpg

Jlyn,
You din remove that metal hook from the pooh and friends figurines ah??
Eatzi Gourmet food nice hor???? I missed the laksa liao... never mind I go eat tomor hahaha...

Jenny, hahahah.. now that u mentioned then I realised i didnt remove hook. Dont care lah.. very happy that it is over. This aloha chalet is big but I am extremely upset with the nos of ants that turned up univited. Very angry, they congregated at the mango pudding. The table set up was not even placed against the wall. Few even attacked the cake which was left in the air-con room. The only thing that I am very glad to have chosen aloha is the playroom for children. All the kids enjoy themselves in the air-conditioned indoor playground. Got chance hor, I book, we can bring my lil' ones there.

I kinda of regretted accepting Eatzi's offer to take the deep fried platter instead of cold platter. Had wanted to change back to cold platter on sun morn but no one working.

The pg staff very funny, when I told her to put my boys' names on the lower tier, she said, "oh, ur boy got two names hah". I told her no, my two boys have a name each.. hahaha. I added two of those rainbow coloured lollipops, after cake cutting, lollipops disappeared.

Actually kiddy palace also has the pooh figurines.. bigger ones, ideal for normal cakes, not 2 or more tier ones. It's something like lego toy. More ex lah.

Jlyn,

Kiddy Palace got the figurines meh? I hunted up and down din see any leh. BTW, my big mouth... you know KFC got this kids meal, they have a promo for the doraemon toy? I didn't know abt this, tot is a new promo. My elder gal recently very crazy with doraemon leh, so when she got the toy at my aunt place (the toy belongs to the kid that my aunt takes care), I told her to put back and said I'll buy one for her. These 2 days ran thr a few KFCs then realise many outlets out of stock le! So, I tot ok lah, I go buy doraemon figurines for her to play, then I realised doraemon figurines very hard to find! Gosh, was thinking to do a doraemon cake for her 3rd bday leh. Now I gotta look out for doraemon figurines. Lesson learnt: Dun promise kids anything unless one is 200% sure he/she will get the stuff haha...

Err... I just read few days back abt the ants at aloha chalet, and place humid and hot?? But I guess chalets are usually humid and hot one lah. Ok lah, got chance we go together kekeke... you got member price ah?

You chosen the deep fried platter? I took the cold platter cos I feel seldom see cold platter at buffet. Wanna a change of taste for my relatives cos deep fried platter stuff like very common lor. Anyway, glad you are happy with their services. They sent me email for feedback and rating. Also gave me their company post it pad as token. Overall, I very satisfied with their service lor, will definately order from them again, if I ever have any function coming up.

Cannot have 2 names meh? I've a friend's boy got 2 names wor.

Got pics to share bor??

JLYN,

Didn't know that you have changed your nick till another Nov mummy told me !! Anymore birthday pics for Cay & Jay? I'm so excited all our babies finally turned ONE !

Pauline, I didnt change nick.. Cay and Jay is Jovial's bbs. I am the other twin mummy in Nov thread but i hopped to Oct thread cos my twins were born earlier. Hi Hi anyway..

bbroom, i bought the four pieces of pooh figurines + 2 rainbow coloured lollipops. The others like the candies surrounding the bottom tier, the mulit-coloured thingy all over the top tier and two 'bunches' of ballons are from pg.

Jenny, ya ya.. me member mah.. haha. Ok, i book and jeo u next round. Doraemon hor, i thought I saw somewhere.. wait let me think and i email u.

i'm new to this thread and wondering if i can seek some recommendations of contacts for services.

I realised i hvnt plan any deco for my ger's 1st bd party!
Where can I buy/rent a helium tank, get balloons to decorate myself?