1 or 4 bedder at KKH

Can i know any pregnant mommy see Dr Benjamin Tham or Dr John Tee. and how is their anatenatal pkg or total bill comes out to be?

Hi babybenmen, looks like we have got the same gynae. So how many visits have you had with him? Mine only once but looks like he is always rushing to get things done. Is he really like that? Can share your experiences? I do get worried on my 1st visit with him though.

Hi babybenmen and Eryannie,

My gynae is Dr H C Han too! Eryannie, not to worry abt hiim, cos i felt the same way as u when i see him the first time. From wat i gather, if u want someone relax and not gan jiong, yet very experience, I think Dr Han is the gynae. I thot this is quite good as i already so gan jiong (cos first time be mummy).. at least someone who is more relax can make me feel that everything will be ok and in control.. so not to worry...

Thanks misaryeo...So how many visits have you had with him?
Btw do you have any idea if he has a private suite in KK as well?Have you enquire from him abt your delivery package?

I have been seeing him since my first visit till now that i'm 26th week. was recommended by my friend who is quite particular.. he has helped her delivered her first child and now she is expecting 2nd one.. and she's also seeing him too. i actually see him at the private suite.. regarding the delivery package, he hasn;t mentioned leh.. so i also nv ask.. maybe i'll ask him when i see him again 2 weeks later..

Hello Eryannie,

I'm seeing him at KKH Ang Mo Kio Clinic...
Will be seeing him tomorrow evening again!
So excited! Me now in my 18 weeks, how many weeks are u?

I have a 4 bedded in KK hospital but in the end i was the only person staying in the ward. I ask the nurse for a change cause i am afraid to sleep alone.

A lot of patients like single room but for me as i am always afraid of hospital i rather have real company.

mum-wanabe, Jen
I gave birth in jan 06, gynae is Dr Ben Tham, but did not sign up any package as I was haivng twins. my bill for myself is abt 5900 as I was in the delivery suite for 24 hours due to some complication. gave birth thru c-section. but the c-section is plaaned.

hi telly,

my gynae last time is also Dr Adelina Wong, so now she have moved to TMC??? She is also quite a good gynae, two of my friends also seeing her last time... all given birth alreadi...

I gave birth to 2 of my kids thru HC Han very nice and considerate gyn. hehehehhe

eryannie no worry he rush but he definately get things done cause i was admitted 3 times b4 my son are born and each time he took 20 mins to reach the kkh to see me (at 3am in the morning) hahahahah

May I know that is anyone of you stay in 4 bedded room and choose the doctor during labour? Is it only premier package (A1 ward) allowed to choose doctor?

Pls advise. It seems not cheap if we stay in A1 ward. Thx.

hi evelyn,

I stayed in 4 bedded room & chose my own gynae during my pregnancy. U cannot chose the doctor during during labour cause they will only come & stitch u up & sometimes to check u up while waiting for delivery . During yr labour, is only the midwife who helped u to deliver.

The doctor has to be chosen during your prenatal check ups. I am in the private suite & I chose a 4 bedded so my total bill is abt $2.7k, $500 bucks more than the specialist clinics ones, cause of my gynae fees

Hi galleria,
sori, i m abit confused by "$500 bucks more than the specialist clinics ones, cause of my gynae fees" are you saying The Private Suite will be more ex than going to those KK women's clinic at AMK & Sengkang?

hi mum-wanabe,

The anenatal and delivery package at TPS (The private suite) is slightly more expensive as compared to you going to the specialist clinics (eg. seeing the same gynae at Clinic B) at KKH. I think the women's clinic at AMK is not under the premier(TPS) package... so should be the same as the specialist clinics.... I think

The advantage of the TPS is the nicer environment, shorter/no waiting time, one-stop service (inclusive of the usual supplements dispensing... no need to queue again at the pharmacy).... priority bed booking... And your gynae will pop in to attend to you once you're in the labour suite.... and not wait until you're also going to pop....

Thx galleria & dino. So if I choose women's clinic at AMK or SengKang, it will need to spend around 2.2k. It is acceptable if labour is assisted by midwife. But need to confirm that is my choosen doctor be around during my labour?

To me, mostly I will choose to see doctor at AMK clinic, use 4 bedded room as I checked that if you want to choose doctor, it must be B1 ward above. Please advise if there is any wrong info.

Err, galleria, are you normal deliver? Did you use epidural??

Hi Evelyn,

I am normal delivery with epidual.

If u have a fixed gynae whom u will go & c everytime u go for checkup,that is when he/she will be yr gynae thru out the pregnancy not necessary to be B1 ward & above then u can chose and mostly likely he/she will be be around w u during yr labour... but not sure if she will help u to deliver ( cause mine got help me to deliver together w midwife) but i think shld have... u better check if the gynae...

Hi mum-wanabe, TPS & KK clinic only a bit difference... the consultancy fee... but can't remember how much diff?

I'm not signed up the package for consultation. Only sign the delivery package. Therefore I can choose to see my gynae @TPS, SengKang Clinic or Clinic B...

Mine is normal delivery + epidural. I choose B1 class, and my gynae delivered my bb with midwife and 3 nurses. $5K+

hi meiji,

Your $5k+ is only the delivery package?? think epidural is about a few hundred dollars and the B1 class with normal delivery is about $2+. How come your is as highly as $5k?? A bit confused now..

Hi Evelyn,

yes, you're right. B1 class package $2K+.
Mine case is induce n stay there 3 days, so my bill $5K+ (b4 medisave)

Sorry for the confusion...

Hi, is anyone here a subsidy patient from KKH?
Would like to check whats the hospitalization bill like... Thanks!

HI Evelyn,

If you want your specified gynae to attend to you during you labour and stay in hospital, you have to take at least B1 and above. The diff between premier (TPS) and classic package (normal private package) is that for TPS, the gynae will be the one attending to you once you step into KKH. For the latter, the nurses will inform your gynae.... update him/her on your condition, like dilation, etc... gyane will only be paged to come in when you're ready to push...:=)

Under both TPS and classic private package, you can choose either B1 or A1. Under subsidized package (B2), you will only be attended by the MO on duty... supervised by a on-duty senior gynae...

Hope this helps...

Hi telly,

Do u mind telling me yr baby is born at which week? cause i was admitted to kkh at wk33, n advise for estimated premature baby deliver is 14k at ICU. They advise me to take up the C ward, but i understand that if i choose C class, My gayne will not be delivering me right?

So veri half mind now : )

hi dino,
in that case, do u know if i can take up the premier package at the kk women clinic at sengkang or amk? coz TPS is really inconvenient..

Hi mum-wanabe,

I'm not too sure able that... but I think regardless of what you take for your anenatal package, you can choose to upgrade or downgrade for your delivery package... of course if you don't take private class (B1 and A1) for your delivery package, your gynae will not deliver for you.

I didn't have much choice as my gynae only see patients at kkh... took up TPS and premier package as it was faster and hassle free....

btw TPS comes with priority bed booking.... so you don't have to book ahead,.

hi dino,
what do u mean by priority bed booking? I'm with tps but nobody told me anything yet. am going into wk 28.

Hi erin00,

They will tell you about the package only around 35 weeks... don't kan cheong...

Priority bed booking means you DON'T have to book for your preferred class of bed. If you're taking the anenatal classes at KKH, the nurse will mention at one of the lessons to book ahead with the admission and be put on the waitlist for your preferred bed choice. Don't have to do that if you're with tps.

dino,
thanks. ic. i missed some of the antenatal classes and haven't go for the make-up lessons yet. guess i'm too kan cheong. keke...

dino,
thanks and i have asked the rite person.. guess u have done alot of research!
may i know whos ur gynae? i will b taking A1 coz i have never stayed in hospital b4 and i scare ghost so hubby die die also must accommpany me and they only allow companion for A1..

Hi mum-wanable/Evelyn

Yep, was under K T Tan... she only see patients either in Clinic B or TPS in kkh only:=) I saw her at TPS to save waiting time... usually get the appt + check up/tests done within 30mins.... The other difference between the specialists' clinic at kkh and TPS is that the scanning machine is inside the doctor's room for TPS... so your hubby will be able to see the ultrasound of BB for each visit. I heard that you get the same thing at the kk women's clinic.

I took A1 for the same reason... wanted my hubby to stay over with me plus your visiting hours are less restrictive since you've the entire room to yourself.

dino,
i have this crazy idea that if i share room with someone else, the person sleeping beside me might not b human after all and that i will wake up middle of the nite with a shadow staring at me asking me to return her baby or something like that.. hehee... i watch too much scary movie lar... thats the same reason y i always stand at the most inner corner when taking lift at nite, i scare i might feel something breathing behind me..

No more scary movies hor... Happy thoughts lah... since you're going to give birth soon...

Have fun... are you planning to bf?? Make sure you ask for the lc's help during your stay...

hi all mummies,
I just gave birth to my gal on March. I took the 4-bedder ward. I found it quite good also. The nurses are also very attentive. whenever i pressed the bell, they come very quickly. not as noisy as i previously think. i always think that sharing with other patient might affect my resting time. but not at all although there are a lot of visitors.can get to c other's poeple baby also..cute...
i even feel that i am the one affecting other patients. my gal cries a lot and very loud also.. ha.. i can't calm her down and got to seek help from the nurses. she cries so loud when she din get enough milk from me. so in order not to disturb others, i got to get the nurse to bottle feed her with formula.

some people will find that 1 bedder is better, more privacy and hubby can stay with us. but actually we just stay there for a few days, so for me.. i think not neccessary to spend that extra $$ lor. moreover hubby might not be able to sleep well there also. y not let him go back to have a good rest and come back again the following day. after we discharge from hospital, they still got to take care of us.

Hi all, I totally agree with Yan.. I will be delivering in July and have opt for 4 bedder.. Dun wanna tire my hubby so he can take care of us better when we r back home
And the extra money fork out is unnecessary.. if there's any complication for the baby, its worse, cos baby will follow mummy's ward. SO if u r A1 class, baby will be charge A1 charges too.. It's more wise to keep the money for other uses later.. but of course if you can afford.. then not a problem at all..

Hi yan & misaryeo,
i understand where u r coming from but for my case its abit extreme coz i really scare of ghost and i am someone who cant stay at home alone and if my hubby posted overseas i will move back to my mum's place and if my hubby works OT, i will turn on every single lights in my hse.. i can thrift on anything else like go without eupidural but not the room type.. guess u gals must b wondering wats my problem rite? i dunno oso.. thanks to my hb who love scary movie and often forced me to watch with him..

hi mum-wanabe, actuaally i'm abit like u too. when hubby in oversea, i hav to on the a light in my room,and the radio to go to bed... which is also why i choose 4 bedder.. so there'll be pple ard.. the human element will be stronger.. so not so scary.. :p

Can I ask if they allow the bb to be with you all the time when you stayed at the 4-bedder? What if you stayed at the 6-bedder? Cos' I understand from my fren who just gave birth that TMC that they actually dun allow bb to be wheeled to the room, unless the mom is staying in a 1-bedder. Can anyone clarify this? THanks!

Hi BS S,

I've seen the bbs being placed beside the beds in a 4 bedder during my stay there... but I'm not sure if the bb can be there all the time... I guess it should be alright as long as your bb is not disturbing the rest of the mummies in the room....

else if your concern is bfing... they will actually wheel the bb to your bedside when its time for the feed

Hello dino,

Will like to ask when i should sign up for delivery packages? As my hubby is a civil servant, i dun think i will take up anenatal package. Any other packages that we need to sign up for? Sorry but very confusing here.

Hi Dino,

Ok, thanks! U mean even if i dun ask, the nurses will look for me to check which delivery package i will like to take right?