1 or 4 bedder at KKH

Hi all, wonder if someone could shed some light on me,

Is hubby allowed to be with us for epi-c-section in kkh if we choose A1 delivery package?

Hi Best twins,

Hubby only stay outside operating theatre, when bb is out, nurse shows hubby through glass window whether bb is boy or girl.

Guess this is their practice regardless of your class status.

hi Best_Twins
I gave birth at KKH last year via epi-c-section choosing A1 ward...my hubby stayed outside. I hear that at TMC, hubby can be allowed inside.

gg and zaczac, thanks...wonder whats their problem in letting hubby in?

Dont know if anyone is still reading this thread, But i have a few queries, would greatly appriciate any advice or ansers.

Being a private patient, we are allowed to choose either A1 or B1 wards only right?

I m carrying twins, is the package applicable to twins?

any twins mum here who can share ur bills with me?

I gather from the above posts that the nurse will contact us regarding the packages nearer to the delivery date, will they advice us which is best?

I totally agree with some of u here that the service in kkh really sucks at times, the doctors really rush us out, the counter staff can be pretty rude etc. No clear clarifcation of information, i always get confusing instructions from the doctors nurse and counter staff. Wonder why no one is looking into this? Perhaps we mummies and mtbs could write a petition and submit it to the higher authorities to look into the service standard. Tell u, our bill as a private patient in kkh is not any cheaper than the private ones like TMC and MtA.

Can I check with any of you sign on any forms for delivery? I was asked to sign on some forms during the registration at The Private Suite from KK. I did asked the nurse howcome so early need to sign the forms and she replied that it's only pre-signed forms for my delivery.

I can't remember exactly what are the forms. Only remember that it's about whether I opted for breastfeeding and to allow they to administer all the necessary jabs for newborns during the stay at hosp. We check with the nurse and she said that even if the jabs are not given at the hosp, we will have to bring our bb on our own again to clinic to take the jabs. She also mentioned that if the jabs taken at hosp, they can monitor if bb develops any fever or allergy. So we thought it's better to get it done at hosp.

Lately, I quite troubled about the presigned forms. Other than the above two I mentioned, I can't remember if there's anything that we signed. I am afraid that will they proceed anything w/o our acknowledgement during my delivery? I mean since the forms have been signed so long ago, I really can't remember what forms we signed.

Sorry for the long posting. Hope any of you can share your thoughts..

Guess everyone here has the same sentiments...Sometimes I feel even more confused after the consultation as the nurses instructions are always very confusing and sometimes they themselves also not too sure...

Hi Marshmallow,

I do remember signing some forms during my very first visit...

first is to give consent for baby to have BCG jab when the baby is born...

think second is to confirm that at that time, I did not have any other children, and bb born will be my first child.

U can always ask the staff to check through your case notes during your next visit to check and confirm what U have signed for. Don't worry, U have every right to know (and to check) what U have consented for (in case U have forgotten what U have signed for).

Hope that helps.

gg

Hi, Mash mallow.. gg is right.. I juz disharge from hospital.. so they also let mi signed the forms..

I was admitted cos I started to have contractions.. for 2 days.. initially was 5min intervals, cos I am a staff nurse so I played clever, take adalat medicine on my own to slow down contraction, then finally amnage to sleep.. morning time still the same.. 10 min intervals so went down to delivery suite.. with my MIL.. contraction reactive so ganna to stayed. But cervix not opened, but got bleed liao by then.. Only 2 options inductions or endure pains till cervix opened, water bag burst..
I not in favor of induction cos baby juz 37 weeks even though it consider full term, I worried he might not have the full weight.. so I choose the second alternative. So everyday do CTG monitoring and ultrasound... so sianz.. so i roamed aroud like no body business and attended post natal class with newie mum whom I befriend in the ward. Cos No bed they lodge us in A class ward.. the poor baby of her also she go for inductions.. stayed downstair necesry, cos B1 mah .. but mummy stayed in A class.. so I dont like the sudden temperature change of the environments.. ( nesary got aircon, lift dont have then ward got air con)baby pushed up to mummy crying, nevertheless to mention breast feeding... I would rather pumped milk and bring downstair..then nite time, baby can roamed in with us..and they pushed one baby @ a times.. usually, they push 2 babies @ one go.. so got to wait for other mummies requests to see baby..

I also have the baby bonus package.. to read.. Baby not even born..
My hubby is from airfoce.. I am staff nurse in TTSH so entilted to B1 class.. so far quite good lah.. always lodge mi in ward 72 (A class ward)..

Foods also not bad compared to my hospital.. OOp!, got confinment meals for lunch and dinner which "u can choose from. think it only for B1 and A class patient..

Cos I am a nurse, so I didnt take their antenatal package or class.. But post natal class given by their staff nurse outside ward 81, parent craft longe, quite good lah..that can be ductible from medisave... Think after birth, all the info "u need to know is from that session..

I am waiting for my baby to popped out.. even though he is now 2.9 kg and amotic fluid enough,cos scared lungs not fully expanded. I want to go thru normal vagina delivery.. will tried not to take epidural.. cos if U take epidural in the begining.. when they asked "u to pushed.. U might not feel the pains or contaction so unless really cant tahan, then take epidual.. Nitrogen oxide( laughing gas) No used one.. can only "high" one person and if "u talk rubbish.. they wont laughed at "u one

Ya, forgot to mention Epidural cost$500 for B1 class pts.. and delivery suites charge a stack amt for 4 hrs then subseqently $20 plus for one hr.. for B1 class pt..

I will be going swimming tml with my bikini, think wont be able to do it for a long long time liao.

Hopefully baby will popped out when the time is riped.

Misaryeo, and NOIF
For mine
Average bill (for natural) is abt: $2520
Claimable from Medisave: $1700
Initial cash payment:$820
ICU charges per day is $406
4 bedder cost for per day ward charge is $225.30

baby must not be preterm, more than 37 weeks- $16000, with $10 K can claimed from medisave.. for NICU and delivery, ward charge.. baby must stayed till 24 weeks old..

Mi also go clinic A ,anyway so far, they didnt sent sent any of the bills, directly dealt with my hospital.. cos I got LOG... So dont know how much I spent?

Shuihui,
thanks for sharing..since u are a nurse, more or less u know about the procedure/medicine...but for me, i am 1st time mummy so i don't know what to expect and how's the procedure like..what the nurse say/ask, i just do loh...but of coz, i will ask when i in doubt lah

u mean they will give post natal class after we delivered? alamak! i went for the anatenal class liao..if not, i would wait till i delivered..haizzz...

delivery charges go by the hours??! if my delivery time longer, then i need to pay more?...haizz

Hi, mashmarrow..
I am only 23 yr old, 1st time mummy too... because I am a staff nurse in TTSH, roughly I know what is the procedure and management like..But come to baby care, Practically, I also start from zero and need help leh...
Lrt juz learn and share together.

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/578191/428895.html?1164162690

Here is our discussion on KKH, some of the info maybe useful to "u.. Wat things to bought, Go where for birth registeration & baby bonus need to bring wat documents, how much for registration and so on...

Ya, the post natal can be decuted by medisave.. only one lesson.. Good enough liao.. Everything, post natal "u need to know is there liao. Juz outside parentcraft, ward 81 lonuge, Mon, Wed, Thur... By nursing staffs..I attended free leh.. cos I huz roam around and pretended..

Ya.. during Labor ward, they put "u on observation but that is not hourly charge.. until they triage and put "u in delivery suite, which means, "u are admitted.. The 1st 4 hrs..is one stack amt .. Think is $60 plus then subsequently per hr @ $20 plus..

I have the delivery suite no.. Anyway can check with the exact amt with them
I have post b4 in the above thread. "u got time, read them... they charged, when they decided to admitted "u.. The time is based on the wrist tag.. calculate from then.

wat "u need to know, can PM mi.. Mi still got 2 wks more to go..

Hi Shuhui

you are quite young ...at least younger than me..hehe...
thanks..will take note of ward 81 lounge...
hmm..ya EDD quite near ah...anyway, mine is in March

Hi Mash..

Young is also good mah.. at least.. kid and mi easier to communicate.. wont have too much generation gap... still can chase after him with a cane.. Hee Hee..

I only worked 3 yrs in TTSH... contract ending soon.. maybe I will be a SAHM..

Hi, mash mallow..
Got great stuffs to share..
juz read this thread
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/449169/588060.html?1164342447

Cos my mother gave birth to mi when she only 21.. So we like sisters like that.. always played with each other.. then my youngest brother only primary 5.. 14 yrs gap btw him and mi.. Then my mother already high risk grp liao.. cant really displince him well, (He run faster than my mum).. and there is a barrier btw us liao.. I cant played soccor, or pokemon cards, watch barney show with him...He dont enjoyed the childhood life that we used to have.. learn swimming in kampong pond with the ducks...He learn swimming from swimming lessons, so there is pros and cons... We juz act like role model for him loh.. but not much of involved in his childplay.

I'm at my 31th week and haven't decided whether deliver at TMC or KK. Cost is an imptt factor for me. Any one with info on the comparison can let me know ? Thanks a lot...

Previously am seeing Dr A L Lim at TM and just started to see Dr Loh at KK. Dr Loh charges consultation twice expensive as Dr Lim
The reason I switch because I heard KK is more supportive of natural birth....

Hope to hear from you soon... am so confused right now...1st time mum...

wanted to share my experience with KKH. i delivered both babies @ KKH. First birth (in 2004) took longer & I opted for epidural so costed more. Second birth (last yr) was super fast & I didn't use epidural so much cheaper. Another diff is that my first baby had to stay in neonatal special nursery for a couple of days for observation, thus e increased cost. For both (natural) births, I opt for A1 wards and 1st one costed $5k+ and second one costed slightly less than $2k.

for me, i considered that if (touch wood) e baby needed specialist care i.e. NICU, KKH would provide for subsidised rate. i heard some private hospital may not have certain facility so they may transfer e baby to KKH but u still pay private rate. that happened to my colleague lor...KKH patients pay $700-800 per day but he had to pay more than $1k cos his baby transferred from TMC.

so depending on whether it is a diff pregnancy and whether there is high risk, e cost of birth may fluctuate.

Hi, experience mummies, please share with me what will be offer as a package for example do KKH give receiving blankets..milk powders..etc?
My EDD is nov this year

No package at KKH- delivered there twice - no blankets, no bath tub etc. The doctors are nice and the nurse when you speak to them but when you stay in the ward the service level is not up to my standard... I stayed in A1 ward so its not as if its subsidized.

Hi createjoy,
there is my bill but is last year de.

Hospital:KKH
Month year of bill:Jan 08
Class of ward:4 bedded b2 class
Type of delivery:natural with epi
No of days in hospital:2days
Total bill:1.4k+
LOG Letter:900 plus
Medisave:400 plus

For me, I chose 4 Bedder. Reason being my hubby do not like to stay overnight in Hospital. So I rather take 4 Bedder so I won't feel so scary.

But 4 Bedder con is that sometimes its noisy due to visitors visiting the other patients. Seldom see KKH wards under-utilised. Hahahaa.

Most of my friends prefer to go private hosp like Mt A or TMC. But I prefer KKH maybe due to their number of years standing + reasons listed above like they got the full facilities in case something goes wrong.

can i check that even if we go deliver at KKH as a private, non-subsidized patient. but if *touch wood* need any special care, they will gif subsidized?

bcos my dad wanted me to go KKH and deliver. but i tink my private gynae dosen deliver at KKH but at TMC. nw in a dilema on wad i should do.

No I don't think they will let you down grade midway. Unless some special difficult case and you appeal etc etc.
Even then the fees for non subsidized in KKH is still cheaper than in private.
By the way the service in the ward in KKH is not like private so don't expect too much.

Pprincess,
If there's complications and the bill hit $10k and up(or hit a high amount), KKH (SGH also) will charge you based on C class charges.

I can't really remember details, you can ask the Nurse when registering. I asked the Nurse over at the Pte suite 1 year ago, and thats sort of what she told me.

Like what Genny said. Don't expect too much from KKH. The prices, even for B class, are very close to those at Pte Hosp (MT A, TMC), but the service is quite different.

If you're worried abt complications, you might choose KKH. If you want a nicer environment, its better to go to a private hosp.

Hi, I am KKH customes very often and yet still dont know the prices.

anyone know the different between c ward n b ward price to see a gnane? with CSC cards.

Dear all Mummies,

Just would like to share my experience delivered in KKH.

I gave birth in Jan 2008, having C-section on the 38th week due to my baby didn't turn, she was in a sitting position. And I chose A1, having a private room, the package was about $4000-$5000, reason why I take A1 is because we can claim from my hubby's company. So worth it...

Honestly speaking, the service that I received was superb. Service was good, they will respond you once you press the bell, and they will wheel your baby to you whenever you want to see her, and can ask them to wheel back when you need some rest. The private room was cozy, big and clean, I can have my family members and friends coming in anytime, without worrying will disturb others. And they will also prepare a protable bed for my hubby to stay overnight with me. Food is delicious too! Nothing to complain! The most important thing is, my delivery was smooth, they're all very prof, my gynae and nurses all very gentle and nice.

Hope this will help.

1 bedded is consider A1.

i will be delivering my 2nd child in kkh and had delivered my 1st child in kkh too.. choose the 5 bedded ward as i am afraid of loniness... ended up, including me, only 2 patient. delivered by mid wife. great! very patience with me...

Hi there, if I did not remember wrongly, be it you choose the 1 bedded or 4 bedded, delivery will be by mid-wifes. Only stitching, then will be by the doctors. Currrently you are under govt rate or private rate?

sorry to interupt. i gave birth in KKH last yr may and I opt for 1 bedded. Paid $1.6 in cash. I prefer 1 bedded as I prefers to have my own privacy and also coz my hubby can stay with me at nite which 4 bedded dun allows. For 1 bedded, my gynae was there to assist in the delivery and not just the stitching. No doubt 1 bedded is more ex but i feel its worth it. I even stayed there for 1 week as my boy has G6DP deficiency and needs to be warded for 1 week at least. Heng I opt for 1 bedded which allows me to stay with him till he can be discharged. If i had opt for 4 bedded, I will not be allowed to stay with him as 4bedded is highly subsided and high in demand. My friend who opt for 4bedded was asked to be discharged the next day.

starfruit12,
My Dr is great at delivering babies. He is never impatient to get the baby out. Dunno about the midwives. They are probably very experienced too.
From my experience, if your bb needs to stay in Special Care or NICU for a long time, you can request for your bb to downgrade in class. But it might be subject to means testing.

Hi! I am new here.. Wanna check, 1) KKH doesnt have 2 bedded? 2) What is the total bill paid for 1 bedded if they do not offer 2 bedded? 3) Any good gynae to recommend?

Thnks in advance!

Hi Jacquline,

Im going to deliver next mth in KKH and have confimred on A1 1 bedded, estimated bill size package for 2 days normal delivery is $4180. Put a deposit of cash $2080 medisave claimable is $2100. KKH only has 1 or 4 bedded for delivery as there is no ward nursery room for 2 bedded. 2 bedded is usually for women problem related issue.

Hi Jacquline,

There are premier and classic package u can choose from, if u opt for classic package will be cheaper. I've opt for EPS (Exclusive private suite) premier package.

anyone with the Private Suite and using CSC card benefit?

Any ideas if we are entitle to the CSC card benefit (40:60) if we choose to see the gyane at TPS and taking premier package?

I wanted to have delivery at KKH, but do not know which gynea to choose from, could anyone recommend? My mum told me if first baby at KKH there is subsidies, is it true?

tks

Yuki
Back then when I saw gynae at KKH... I called and make an appointment with a random gynae... subsequently I was referred to see a senior consultant as subsidized first (coz the first gynae was due to deliver any time!)...then when I opted for the premier package, I was converted to private and I still could use my husband's csc card to pay for the TPS and premier charges.

Dolphin
I'm not sure about 1st baby seen at KKH would mean being subsidized. Subsidy comes only when you go to polyclinic to confim your pregnancy (with the usual test kit) and then they will refer you to KKH...then you will be considered as subsidized patient...if I'm not wrong.

I am a CSC holder and gave birth under TPS A1 ward. No subsidy, still paid same as anybody else. After discharge, I still had $350 refunded.

Can I check if we are charged for scan at TPS?
I heard some saying that scan are not chargable at TPS?
How much does the scan costs?

Hi Dolphin, for KKH, are you basing your obstetrician choice solely on doctor's clinical competency or do you intend to choose the class first? From what I understand, depending on whether you see your obstetrician at The Private Suite, Clinic A, Clinic B, there are price and service differences from consultation to scans etc all the way up to delivery. Might want to find out more from other threads and also call up KKH so you can make an informed decision.

If you are thinking KKH bill size will be cheaper than private hospitals, i think that may not be really true. Many other moms may tell you the same. KKH is good in the sense that they are very strong in their ObGyn and related facilities. So in case of complicated cases, by right, they are the best equipped.

KKH has some good gynaes, but it really depends on what sort of personality you like. Dr Tan Kim Teng (KT Tan) is very experienced and competent, but if you like your gynae to patiently talk to you alot, sayang you, spend time with you, etc, then someone else would probably satisfy better.