1 bedder @ TMC - how much did u pay?

hi janet,
yups! im coming to 37 weeks in my pregnancy, v excited at the same time supa anxious abt wad will my labor signs be like n whether i can recognise them!!

getting v kancheong abt doing up and completing bb's room. dowana pop suddenly n bb's cot is not even ready!!

INFANT CARE CENTRE
can put infants there? wads the ratio of caretakers to infants?? how much do they charge? usually infants r how old at such centres?
MEDELA MINI ELECTRIC
anyone here using this? i just checked n assembled the parts for the 1st time 2day. the motor sure sounds noisy n distracting!

Can i check, besides the motor unit n adapter, do we have to sterilise all the parts each time we pump?? what abt the bottle stand n bottle cap, they dnt come into contact with BM at all rite?

Also, is it necessary to use the valve head n valve membrane? purpose?? the pump seems to b working fine without them ley....

i need to clarify some things on hospital bills...

1. hubby paid ard $1k for antenatal package, another $1k to pay upon delivery. entire package costs ard $2075 i tink... for this medisave can claim $450 right?

2. delivery charges is ard $1900 for natural wiv epidural. this is separate from the delivery charge above??

3. ward charges says ard $400 a nite. so dats abt $1000 for 3 days 2 nites right?

4. epidural costs another $800 rite?

5. so can claim $1500 for items 2, 3 n 4 together?

6. how much does bb bill come up to be?

7. can claim from both hubby and wife's medisave account?

8. original receipts submitted for claims do we get them back? if we want hospital print another set must pay extra?

hi val,
yes im counting down wiv much anxiety and excitement! some dec mums have popped oredi, im one of the last in the list gg by edd actually...

how r u gettin on wiv ur preg?

wow, so many questions! don't think i can answer all of them!

juliann,
you CANNOT use ear thermometers on newborn babies. you can only use those digital ones.

and i think you can seperate mummy and baby bills so that you can claim more medisave (ie claim from both hubby and your medisave). what i heard is mummy's bills claim under hubby's medisave, then baby's bill claim under mummy's medisave. or vice versa.

so sorry i can't answer your quesions leh...anyway, be ready to POP anytime soon! i delivered 11 days early! contractions started like 12-13 days before EDD...

Hi first_mum, except for the motor unit, everything is to be sterilized. Without the valve
& membrane, you won't be able to have any suction. Yes, Medela is really noisy. That's why I have to go another room to express everytime.

You are already in your 37th week. Like what Lani mentioned, be prepared to pop anytime from 38th weeks onwards. Signs would be 'show' (ie the brownish/red discharge) or water bag bursting. If you have tummy ache, time yourself between each contraction & at the same time inform your gynae.

Please don't get too excited doing up the baby's room. Also try not to get up suddenly and be careful of sudden movements.

first_mum...

re the medela pump

ya u gotta sterilise anything that comes into contact with breast milk.... i sterilise everything except the adapter and the yellow pump unit itself after each use, inclusive of the membrane/valve. I think need to use the membrane/valve leh... else cant work leh... how u managed to get it to work without ? The sales person told me this is the most important part of the pump leh...

ya the pump is noisy... me thinking of changing to the ameda lacactline for my coming bb leh.. i dun like the noise... in any case, do have some nipple cream ready... good to apply some after the bfg session to make sure your nipple dun crack etc..

oh ya.. be ready to pop anything.. me pop in my 37th week...

YL,

ya dun worry too much ... gynae only induced if there is a need to eg... bb overdue liao... growth restriction occur, or some other reasons like bb distress detected.. etc.

Hi first_mum, the membrane is a very important part of the pump. Once it does not fit well, the suction will not work. I changed the membrane after 6 months of intensive expressing. Avent has this nipple cream which is great for sore nipples. It is also safe for 'consumption'.

val
No problem. Understand how you feeling coz I have been through. Anyway mine also induced coz my boy don't want to come out leh, which is about coming to 1.5 weeks after EDD and gynae said no more waiting liao...

TMC got no such things as no. of hrs usage of the delivery ward.

janet
Wow can imagine back then you must be so busy esp during confinement times. Indeed I agree expressing takes up lots of time and when I stop I have no regrets coz I used those time to interact and spend with my boy. Peifu you to BF for 2nd kid, think if I have 2nd child I might not BF for long or not even BF.

juliann
Yes, you can separate baby and mother bills. And yes you can take DOM but normally it is recommended to have it after your BF session.

2005 first_mum
Is your the single or dual mini electric pump? If dual you sterilise everytime except the adaptor, the motor and also the tube which connects the pump to the motor. I not sure for the single pump coz I only used dual pump.

lani,
been a long time since u came into this thread! must b v bz wiv ur princess... im still blur-blur, not v prepared yet! hopefully wen D DAY comes i will b zai n wont karang-kaboh!

janet/ poohy/ jastan,
im using mini electric single. actually i oso duno can work without valve n membrane anot la, cos no MS yet! but aft i assembled n switched on, it sounded like it was working correctly... so must we replace the valve n membrane periodically for hygiene reasons? cos mine's a loan set from SIL...

is nipple cream necessary? meant for prevention or cure? apply b4 or after BF? ok if bb comes sinto contact wiv (ie eats) e cream?

first mum,

I'm using mini electric also. The bottle stand and motor no need and cannot sterilise..(motor if sterilise, I think gone case!). hehehe.

Nipple cream I applied first few days only cuz I always clean b4 feeding bb altho they said no need.

Not sure how to ans ur hospital bill qn. For my portion ($3,070),

Medisave deduction for
-Hospital charges - $1,125
-Prof Fee - $725

My epidural is $300 for Dr Kwa (non-medisave though)

For bb portion ($1,017),

Medisave deduction for
-Hospital charges - $500
-Prof Fee - $100

will get original back

Jas, expressing every 3 hrs is no fun. I was indeed busy during the confinement up till 6 months until I cut down on the expressing.

First_mum, feeding utensils need to be clean at all times. Hands should be washed before touching baby's feeding bottles. You must remind the maid often about this. Otherwise she will get diarrhoea.

janet,

ur bb was on total ebm ah ? In my bb first month, I put him on total ebm... and i expressed 2 hourly... indeed no joke... cos no time to take care of him.... every pump session took 45min
When I reduce and finally stop bfg him, I din really look back... cos i really love those times i get back to take care of him personally liao..

first_mum
You will need to replace it when they are spoilt. For mine, I had replaced twice (the small white piece - membrane) when using it to so exclusive expressing. Definately without the valve and membrane it can't work.

I bought a medela nippe cream but never used it coz I used the BM instead to apply around the nipple area after each feed. However, I switch to EBM when my boy is 1 week old, never direct latch ever since.

janet
Indeed expressing every 3hrs is no fun, it always seems that after each expressing and cleaning and washing up, it didn't seems to be too long later and it's time for another expressing again. Why didn't you direct latch then? Seems like your maid is pretty good, able to handle your no.1 when you are busy with no.2. The maid been working with you for a long while?

poohy
Me agree with you as well on the expressing. Indeed those precious time used on expressing can now be diverted to take care on the little one.

Hi all mums,

Thanks for all your replies.

If we wish to separate Mummy and baby's bills, do we need to inform TMC upon admission or when discharged?

For those with natural delivery wi or w/o epi, how's the bills like??

Hi Lani,

Ear thermoemter is digital one.

We can only take baby's temperature from the ear rite?

juliann,
i remember being told that for newborns cannot take temperature in the ear. you can use those digital ones where you put the tip under the armpit. if you're not sure can always check with your PD once you deliver. you can prob buy a thermometer from any pharmacy or the pharmacy at TMC when you are there.

juliann,
no prob. always happy to share info. i also didn't know at first! wanted to buy the ear thermometer when my daughter was born but can't remember swho it was that told me newborns you cannot put thermometer in the ears! then when i went to the pharmacy to look at the ear thermometer i also remember the warning on the packaging stated that it's not meant for newborns. luckily i have one of those normal put under the armpit kind of thermometer at home, and i've been using it ever since and so far it serves the purpose. it measures the temp quite accurately.

yah, v. busy these few days, cause when daughter is napping i will do all my chores, shower, eat, etc. then when she is awake i usually bring her out kai-kai (either downstairs for stroll, or to the supermarket, or to the coffeeshop for teh tarik, and sometimes even out to the shopping mall!)

april/ janet/ jastan,
thks for sharing info on BP. im quite pleased with it cos its simple to asssemble n not too bulky. only thing is noise, it reminds me of my shaver! hopefully it wldnt turn me off BF!

eventually i wld like to switch to fully EBM, hopefully MS can sustain. janet's case is v encouraging. hope i can persevere oso...

lani,
wah sounds so idyllic n xingfu ur life! n v fruitful too! am sure i wld enjoy being a mummy to my ger when she arrives too

Hi Poohy/Jas, I gave my girl ebm for 10 1/2 months. It was crazy then. 3 hours passes by very fast and before you realize it, time for another session. Each session was 30 min.

I didn't want my girl to latch on because I wasn't planning to bf her for long. My gf advised me not to let her latch on also because it would be difficult to switch her to the bottle.

janet is right. if latch on too long very hard to wean to bottle. that's why i stopped latching when she was ard 3 wks old. but lots of mummies really love to BF direct because if the close intimacy you have w/ baby. but i found that i had lots of bonding and intimacy sessions w/ her even without direct latch-on, as i bottle-fed her myself all the time, and then afternoons or evenings when she was awake i would spend all that time with her, cuddling her, singing to her, carrying her, playing with her, etc.

aiyah, not very idyllic lah! quite tiring you know. must be very organised and have lots of energy. but very, very rewarding lah. i LOVE spending my days w/ her, def did not regret my decision to quit working to be SAHM...

Hi first_mum, being a SAHM is not easy. Most importantly, there must be no regrets because there is a loss of financial freedom which most women may not get used to.

lani,
gd to hear dat ure enjoying ursef. being a SAHM is a big commitment and sacrifice, ure v brave to have made such a decision. im sure ur ger will benefit in every sense n the big step u took wld be well worth ur good maternal intentions

one day when my hubby gives me the green light i wld also give up my job n look after my daughter full-time.

janet,
yes dats the biggest sacrifice for giving up a well-paying job. suddenly not used to it n may feel cash-strapped! rite now i still cannot afford to stop work, hopefully eevrything will work out well eventually.

Ladies, nid some info regarding abt EBM. Hw do u ladies store them? The timing u ladies used to store n note down on the bottle is the starting time when u express out or after u've finished expressing? Do u ladies store it in the freezer? Or can it b stored in the chiller (2 compartment of a 3 compartment fridge)? Paiseh.. so much qns.. heh.. n any idea if it can b mixed?

Hi Celtricia, I expressed the milk directly into the feeding bottles each time. Used a sealing cap and kept in the fridge with date/time indicated on a post-It sticker.

Not much time difference whether you indicate starting time or time you finished expressing because it is just about 1/2 hour.

I just keep the bottles in the fridge (not freezer) since my girl drinks every 3 hours then. Easier to warm up as compared to storing in freezer. I don't mix the bm. Each time I express, that bottle of bm 'belongs' to the particular time. I don't mix with another 'session'.

Hi Janet,thanks for the info..

My son drinks every 2 hrs, but coz i juz started feeding him only FM in the nite, those dat i pump out in the nite will b used for in the nxt day, so i was wondering if there is a nid to put in the freezer or juz the chiller will do.

N at times, my EBM is much lesser den d prev session, so it will nt b enuff for my son if i gave him the lesser one, but if i give him another bottle, there would b leftover, dat's y sometimes i'm tempted to mix it wif another session..

Hi Celtricia, I get what you mean. I know bm is bm regardless of whether it is expressed at 5am or 11pm but I've never mixed it before. My girl is very fussy with her milk. That's why I've never mixed before. At most, I stirred in some cereal so that it is more 'filling'.

celtricia
I mix BM only upon heating up and not during storage and I will try to mix those of the same day. I will store each as individual and will take two to heat it up to make up one feed. Normally I will try to express each session to have enough for at least 1.5 feed if not 1 feed.

celricia,
EBM can be stored in the chiller for max. of 24hrs only. after that you have to throw it all out. if you want to store longer than 24hrs then it must be in the freezer.

and if you want to mix, use the method jastan used, ie. heat up the 2 diff bottles of EBM, then mix after heating up and just before feeding, ie don't mix in storage.

JasTan n Lani, thankz for the info..

so lani, chiller can only store for 24hrs ah.. hmm.. tot its colder den normal fridge compartment should b able to store for more hrs? hee..

Hi mums, my girl was on bm for 10 months & I realized that it was easy to gauge the amount she drinks each time and how often. With formula, it was harder like in my son's case.

aprilpinky/celtricia,
oops, sorry i meant to say fridge! if in normal fridge then 24hrs. chiller i'm not too sure cause i've never stored it there before, but 48hrs sounds about right.

Hi mums, ebm can be stored in the fridge for up to 48hrs. If your baby is on total bm, storing in the fridge would be better than freezer as it is easier and faster to warm up.

It's ok Lani, some ladies also said internet says 3 days, 5 days..etc etc..seems too long.

Janet, true true..but I hv to consider freezing my milk soon to build up my back to work EBM.

Hi Aprilpinky, sorry I didn't realize you were building up the bm because of going back to work. Looks like you need to get more bottles.

Aprilpinky, i duno if i'm gg bak to TMC for the last checkup by Dr Yeo.. but if i m i will also go asked for more, coz dat time they only give me 8 bottles.. hw bout u? anyway, i bot the playtex milk bags liao.. but dun intend to use nw.. will use a week b4 i go bak wrk.. so easier for my mum to bring to her place too..

Hi all mommies,

May I know which PD in TMC is good?

Please give your recommendations.

What's their charges like?

Thanks a million.

Hi Juliann, the PD which my gynae recommended is from Kinder Clinic. His name is Terence Tan and he is located at Mt Alvernia.

My girl's PD is Ho Nai Kiong. His consultation charge is $60. Goes to the clinic Tue & Fri.

Cel,

What do u mean? Must go back to Dr Yeo for Papsmear..it's impt...

They gave me abt 10 after discharge. When I went PD, I went to beg for more and they gave 10 more :pP Must start to use ur bag liao...

I'm thinking of using the bag 1.5 mth before starting work cuz EBM can be stored in the freezer for 2 mths. Give some allowance for it to be consumed after I go back work or else bb not enuff to drink!

Hi first_mum, you are going to be a mummy soon. Do expect a change in lifestyle. It will never the same as before. Not frightening you, I hope.
In the meantime, enjoy yourself with hubby and remember not to leave him out of the picture when baby comes along.

Aprilpinky,

coz i doing papsmear at Polyclinic leh..

so fast muz use the bag to store meh? too early liao bah.. anyway, i still lack of the clip to seal the bags, so will go get it at IKEA once confinement over..

No need to sterilize BM bags as they are already sterilized.
Just pour milk into them, clip/tie up and freeze/put in the fridge.
They can only be used ONCE. So if you intend to use, remember to buy more during sales

I only freezed my bags of BM when I had extra. Otherwise I put all in my 6 NUK bottles. Stored the amount required for one feed in each bottle and put in fridge.

heehee.. ya hor.. i forgot i took only 8 weeks, whereas u took all 12 weeks ah.. heehee...

btw, when's ur appt for the last checkup?