Mummies....

Check w u all....where to buy the cloth to clean bb mouth?

As nurse told me must do oral care for bb which I do not know must do as a 1st time mummy :(

You can buy from either departmental stores like Takashimaya, Kiddy Palace or from Seng Kwong at Waterloo. Just tell the sales person that you need the cloth for cleaning baby's gums.

For me, I bought sterile gauze from Guardian to clean gums cos it's use-and-throw cos I have no idea how to wash the cloth, as in will detergent be stuck to the cloth etc

You can buy from either departmental stores like Takashimaya, Kiddy Palace or from Seng Kwong at Waterloo. Just tell the sales person that you need the cloth for cleaning baby's gums.

For me, I bought sterile gauze from Guardian to clean gums cos it's use-and-throw cos I have no idea how to wash the cloth, as in will detergent be stuck to the cloth etc

I bought the gauze from unity too. Cos cloth have to make sure u wash clean before putting in bb mouth. I haven't clean yet because PD told me don't need clean tongue now.

Mummies....

Check w u all....where to buy the cloth to clean bb mouth?

As nurse told me must do oral care for bb which I do not know must do as a 1st time mummy :(
Yup like the other mummies said, just use sterile gauze from any pharmacy, dip in cool boiled water and wipe the tongue.
Actually i didn't wipe my #1 tongue and nothing happened also. The white bit disappeared ard 6 months. But once start growing teeth must brush.

I regret not introducing teeth brushing to my LO earlier and right now it's like war with him everytime I attempted to brush/get him brush his teeth :(

Ya it can be quite challenging...
I bought a story book on brushing teeth and also got brushing teeth "song". Have to positively reinforce everytime (though I think my #1 really sucks at brushing on her own).

Ya it can be quite challenging...
I bought a story book on brushing teeth and also got brushing teeth "song". Have to positively reinforce everytime (though I think my #1 really sucks at brushing on her own).
Haha!! Have to bluff and threaten and cajole! We brought him to the dentist last month and he was crying and struggling so much that the dentist gave up and ended the session :/

Twin mummies how did your cl take care of two babies? Is it she take care one n the helper take care of another? Or the helper is just there to assist her?

Haha!! Have to bluff and threaten and cajole! We brought him to the dentist last month and he was crying and struggling so much that the dentist gave up and ended the session :/
Sigh... Try bringing again when older? Or try the pediatric dental service at kkh.

Twin mummies how did your cl take care of two babies? Is it she take care one n the helper take care of another? Or the helper is just there to assist her?
I am not twin mummy, but i have seen before in polyclinics usually the CL will handle one twin and helper handle the other...
Guess at the end of the day it is ur own preference also?

If the CL takes up the job knowing its twins, she should have the responsibility to take care of both cos ultimately her charges are for twins. Helper is there to assist her as and when nias

Isit? My mum and mil insisted that full month and birthdays cannot do late wan, be it boy or girl. Heng you can do away with baby shower, if not have to prepare the pig trotters in vinegar and do all the preparation work. Actual day also super tiring for everyone. You bringing twinnies for the shave or wait till 3 months?

hahaha ya....but I think my mil a bit surprised that we not doing coz my bil (hub's younger bro) did full month for both his kiddos. But I really do not wish to risk my babies to unnecessary infection and germs for now; and we're still adapting our role as new parents to not 1 but 2 infants which I personally feel that's more important than anything else. But of coz, it very much depends on your parents and PIL if they're ok with it.

Initially we wanted to shave but hor after seeing their nice thick hair, we might drop the idea and just cut a little bit and keep together with their umbilical cord in the red packet. Coz my niece and nephew after shaving it took more than 1 year to grow back! I'm worried it will be the same for my kiddos leh...so don't dare to risk it.

wa, more than 1 year to grow back is sians...

I know some parents shave their kids' head at 1st month, some on the 4th month. I wonder which dialect's tradition to shave their kids'head at the 4th month and let the kids taste chicken drumstick? (The PDs must be screaming noooooooooooooooo...)

oh y? cannot let them carry?

Coz you'll bound to have buay zi dong friends or relatives whom may be sick but still come by and start carrying or kissing the baby etc. I've heard too many first hand stories about it. One of my fren's nephew kena eye infection; and another of my fren's daughter got sent to TMC A&E right after the full month party coz I remember seeing my fren's fren whom appears to be sneezing was sitting in the bb room with aircon throughout. So I'm just paranoid la...especially now there's a rise in HFMD, chicken pox etc....so try not to let too many touch the bb if u can. That's where the role of the CL as gatekeeper comes in.

hello mummy,

You might want to consider putting a bottle of hand sanitiser next to your baby cot so that all your frens who cannot resist and want to touch your baby can at least use it

Enjoy

No use wan....coz u cannot be by the cot throughout and ensure ppl sanitize their hands before touching the baby. Even in hospital when my frens came by to visit, the hand sanitizer is in their face but it's like, we do not have such habit in the first place so will tend to forget also. Until other mindful frens reminded the rest then they use.

Ladies, can advise what post birth tummy binder did you buy or will buy? Any difference for vaginal vs caesarean birth?

I'm using Dale now and it's a pass me down by my sis whom got it from Mt A previously. Even the KKH nurse also says it's good when she help me to bind post ops. But if it's natural delivery, I don't think u need a binder ba. Perhaps you need a body shaper kinda binder instead? Coz I think Dale is more for mummies whom gone through c-sec and it really helps to hold the wound. But like all binders, you need to bind correctly to see the effect coz after I got discharged, I bind it wrongly so I didn't see my tummy going down. Only when my massage auntie and CL corrected me, then I see the effects overnight.

[
If you ok to spend on the engagement of the CL, good to extend coz other than having enough rest, as first-time mum, you will have more time to learn from the nanny. But there will still comes a point where she has to leave and left with you and your helper to manage the babies and the household chores.

And yes it's true, the little angles will be angels as long as we are not the ones taking care of them at night. LOL. Everything seems to be so easy when the confinement nanny is doing it. But when it is our turn to take over, it's so soo sooo difficult and chaotic. But please dun get frustrated with yourself, the babies or anyone who is helping you. It takes a bit of time to get the hang of it. Get some help if you think you have reached the end of the threshold and please press on, babe!

I might not be extending after all since my CL has a prior assignment. Most likely she help me to do until her client delivers. But what you say is true, there comes to a point that she will still leave and we have to manage the babies on our own. And I kinda feel that my babies wants her more than me at times and it doesn't feel really good coz she still wants me to rest for now. Likely to teach me the ropes on the 3rd week. So might not be a bad thing that we're unable to extend. And honestly, being a low supply mum, I feel that it's tougher to be pumping milk every 3 hourly than carrying 2 babies in the tummy. Motherhood is not easy and I'm not exactly carrying out full duties for now....but yeah, just gota press on. Things will get better... I hope!

My CL takes care of 2 babies on her own. She feeds one after another. Lucky my boy is mostly zzz then my girl is the more princessy wan...always wan cuddle, sayang etc. On top of that, she cooks really well. Really very lucky to have her. Coz ah my helper she quite Gu-Luk....keeps breaking stuffs. I damn worried that she'll break my babies legs or arms. Like earlier, she prolly help my CL rock my boy in the rocker....the way she rock is hard and fast....lucky I saw and tell her nicely to rock gently....the way she rock like my boy is going to fly off the rocker! So for now I'm not letting her touch the babies though I'll still let her hands on say 3rd week or so when the CL teach us the ropes. Much as I try not to mico manage, I guess as a FTM I'm being a tad protective in that sense. It's not good I know but I really duno how not to be so paranoid honestly. I'm contemplating to even bring the cots to my room when my CL leaves just so that I can jaga them myself.......shall see how it goes first. But the good thing is my mum will be helping me so at least she can keep an eye for me on the helper if she does help to take care of the babies if necessary.

My cl can't handle two babies. She need my helper to assist her in feeding n putting them to sleep cos both Wakeup same timing. I am just wondering if u feed one burp n after that feed the other won't it be worst? The time will stretch so long n no rest.

I intend to bring one cot to my room too. So helper jagar one while I look after the other. One person look after two also Shiong. Your helper don't seem to have experience in taking care of babies. Let her do more hands on while cl is here.
Today I bath baby on my own for the first time. Feel so happy n accomplished haha.

wa, more than 1 year to grow back is sians...

I know some parents shave their kids' head at 1st month, some on the 4th month. I wonder which dialect's tradition to shave their kids'head at the 4th month and let the kids taste chicken drumstick? (The PDs must be screaming noooooooooooooooo...)

I won't shave their head but just cut a portion of hair for good luck

[

I feel that it's tougher to be pumping milk every 3 hourly than carrying 2 babies in the tummy. Motherhood is not easy and I'm not exactly carrying out full duties for now....but yeah, just gota press on. Things will get better... I hope!

Congratulations mummy on the arrv of your bundles of joy!

I feel u (on pumping milk thingy)...as I m a low supply mum..n frustrating part is the pain (feel like needle n pin poking the neis ) sometime yet I produce not much...*roar**

I hv a tough time during confinement but once u get into a routine w it LO...everything will naturally flow...

Things will definitely get better as time passes De...continue to persist on ya...Jia you ~!

[

I might not be extending after all since my CL has a prior assignment. Most likely she help me to do until her client delivers. But what you say is true, there comes to a point that she will still leave and we have to manage the babies on our own. And I kinda feel that my babies wants her more than me at times and it doesn't feel really good coz she still wants me to rest for now. Likely to teach me the ropes on the 3rd week. So might not be a bad thing that we're unable to extend. And honestly, being a low supply mum, I feel that it's tougher to be pumping milk every 3 hourly than carrying 2 babies in the tummy. Motherhood is not easy and I'm not exactly carrying out full duties for now....but yeah, just gota press on. Things will get better... I hope!
Jiayou... Things will indeed get better... You are doing well at this point.
Somemore u have twins! I dunno how u manage it, but somehow u will survive in the end :)

Is it true skinny or slim less neh??? I see my friends like all like this one
Hmmm actually i noticed my friends with small breasts and slim produced enough milk for baby.
I have relatively large breasts but useless la, not enough milk :)
Guess it really depends on body, stress level, nutrition and many factors.

No use wan....coz u cannot be by the cot throughout and ensure ppl sanitize their hands before touching the baby. Even in hospital when my frens came by to visit, the hand sanitizer is in their face but it's like, we do not have such habit in the first place so will tend to forget also. Until other mindful frens reminded the rest then they use.

You are correct. Agree totally, use of hand sanitizer culture in SG is quite lacking, honestly if it bothers you, really ok to just remind your frens and relative in a gentle manner. There will surely be a few escape case de, then again, in our real world, we will never be able to keep our kid in a 100% sterile environment, incidentally, a 100% sterile environment might not even be the best environment for the child to grow up in.

Hmmm actually i noticed my friends with small breasts and slim produced enough milk for baby.

Less/more bm hv both their headache I guess...

Low bm = need to combine 2-3 pump for 2 feed = need to supplement with fm for Lo = $$

Oversupply bm = chances of engorged,plug ducts, mastitis n let down of milk

I have 2 types of friends who can produce like a milk cow...one is the skinny type (Think Huang Su Fang TCS 8 artiste type) whose cup is AA. She can produce lotsa of milk, SAHM who doesn't need milk pump.

Another one is on the short & plump side who has D or E cup who can also produce lotsa of milk.

I think boob size doesn't matter laa...it's the substance in you and perhaps the constant latching?

hello, may i know any moms here delivered at Mt A or Mt E Novena? How's was it? Any pros n cos to share? thx
I don't have personal encounter, but my friend who delivered at Mt A has very good reviews - very caring & personalized services.

As for Mt E Novena, I read from a parent blog - apparently, the nurses seemed to lack of professional training & there was minimal communication between the doc and the nurses on the patient's updates THOUGH the hospital tour was impressive. http://mistermum.com/

blessedzn, I delivered my boy at Mt A 6 yrs ago. The nurses there are very caring and motherly. My cousin also delivered at Mt A.
milogal88, congrats to your delivery!! Did you have to take epidural prior to c-sec?
Anyone has insomnia problem? I am in wk 10 now but everytime I woke up middle of the night, I will have difficulty falling back to sleep. Any remedy to share??

Hello mummy, please do not think you are useless can. Not sufficient milk does not means you are useless. Formula milk today is damn power, no scare your baby will go hungry or underdevelop one.

Jia you.

Hello mummy, please do not think you are useless can. Not sufficient milk does not means you are useless. Formula milk today is damn power, no scare your baby will go hungry or underdevelop one.

Jia you.
True lorr...sometimes cannot means cannot even if you try until the neh nehs are going to drop. I think there are too many breastfeeding advocates around, so it comes as a pressure for new mothers to "perform" or "excel". No doubt breastmilk is good, BUT, falling to depression cos you cannot yield any is bad.

Jia you.
Hehe thanks dear. I just did mixed feeding, not too concerned about it cos find formula quite good too. It helped my baby sleep thru the night at an early age so I got more rest haha.

True lorr...sometimes cannot means cannot even if you try until the neh nehs are going to drop. I think there are too many breastfeeding advocates around, so it comes as a pressure for new mothers to "perform" or "excel". No doubt breastmilk is good, BUT, falling to depression cos you cannot yield any is bad.
Ya totally agree...
Can give, give... Cannot nvm.
Some of my friends only bf one month like that also ok mah.

Hehe thanks dear. I just did mixed feeding, not too concerned about it cos find formula quite good too. It helped my baby sleep thru the night at an early age so I got more rest haha.

Yah ..I did mixed feed also...although my LO still wake me up 3 (somtime less) hourly to eat...ha...

Of cos I m more den happy tt he is eating well n willing to give him drink....it is his drink and poo at the same time tt is making me luff and cry at the same time (esp middle of night)...

My cl can't handle two babies. She need my helper to assist her in feeding n putting them to sleep cos both Wakeup same timing. I am just wondering if u feed one burp n after that feed the other won't it be worst? The time will stretch so long n no rest.

I intend to bring one cot to my room too. So helper jagar one while I look after the other. One person look after two also Shiong. Your helper don't seem to have experience in taking care of babies. Let her do more hands on while cl is here.
Today I bath baby on my own for the first time. Feel so happy n accomplished haha.

Hmm I think not say my helper no experience....maybe it's the way she tc of babies made me worried coupled with the fact that she keeps breaking stuffs & as a FTM, it does get me a bit worried. But my CL feedback to me is that she should be able to handle & seems to love kids. Well, shall see how it goes. Maybe next week all train together but no matter wat, I think still better to keep an eye on her when she's handling the babies. After all, the way they handle back kiddos in their home country might differ from our standards. Just like everyone's parenting style is different.

Yup true. Always good to be cautious

Is it true skinny or slim less neh??? I see my friends like all like this one

Not true la! The breast size does not determine the amount of milk. Sometimes it's really "tian sheng" wan also....my neh is not big to start with and during preg also didn't grow bigger. I eat feenegreek, durians, eat loads of fish, drink papaya fish soup, have steamed milk with papaya....also didn't help. I'm still stuck at 30 to 40ml per pump and definitely not enough to feed my kiddos. Lucky I'm open to giving fm else they would have been admitted for rocket high jaundice or dehydration. But my SIL the neh about my size, she no need take all those, her milk is oversupply until my bro has to buy the special fridge to store all the milk!! So yeah....everyone is different lor.

blessedzn, I delivered my boy at Mt A 6 yrs ago. The nurses there are very caring and motherly. My cousin also delivered at Mt A.
milogal88, congrats to your delivery!! Did you have to take epidural prior to c-sec?
Anyone has insomnia problem? I am in wk 10 now but everytime I woke up middle of the night, I will have difficulty falling back to sleep. Any remedy to share??

Thanks @bubbleblue1 ! Yes, I took epidural so was awake during the live action coz my gyne doesn't allow me to take GA so no choice. Just that somehow my csec experience is out of this world as compared to others. Not much side effects for me...just some slight shivering after but they keep blowing warm air into my body so I felt normal within 15mins. After that I started kaypo other patients just wheeled out from the OT or I just chatted with the nurses at the recovery room before they wheel me back to ward.