Thanks for the kind words. But I dun have much symptoms. A few more days to BT. Not hopeful though.
Dearie, I have done 5 cycles (3 fresh and 2 FETs) and succeeded only at 5th cycle which was FET cycle. From my experience, having any symptoms, no symptoms and lack of symptoms don't confirm anything. Only BT is the final call. The cycle I succeed had the least and almost none of the symptoms while I felt even more symptoms in cycles that I felt more hope for bfp. Hang in there. Persevere on and don't give up so soon.

Thanks. If e trigger jab doesnt contain hcg. Eg superfact. Will it still yield a bfp for fresh transfer?

Anyone use superfact for trigger. Do a fresh transfer n bfp?

This ivf is pretty chim
There must be a good reason why doc orders suprefact trigger - usually in cases of high risk of OHSS or in mini-Ivf or short flare protocol. I understand that suprefact trigger does not support the uterine lining as well as hcg trigger. However your doc must have taken into consideration this point and will usually provide the appropriate support medication post ER to address this. I understand that prof Wong patients who used suprefact had been given hcg jabs post ET as part of the support medication to boost body production of estrogen & progesterone by making the body thinks there is a pregnancy. I would say have faith in your doc and in case of any doubts, can ask and get clarification from doc. All the best! Jia you!

I did my first IVF and trf on 11 jan. Poas for 2 days, both negative. Dun think the hope is high. This experience is time consuming and nerve wrecking. Really admire those who can persevere for multiple rounds. I dun think I can go thru another round esp since there are no frozen embryos for this round. Wish all the best for those are going thru this process now. Really hope all have +ve results!!!
Hi ,Dont be dishearten,I POAS twice before blood test too_Once on the 8dp2dt and 13dp2dt both negative and I have no symptoms except some mild cramps and brown discharge which scared the shit out of me.When I received call from KKH that I m pregnant,I couldnt believe my ears until I went down n saw the report.Stay positive ya

Dearie, I have done 5 cycles (3 fresh and 2 FETs) and succeeded only at 5th cycle which was FET cycle. From my experience, having any symptoms, no symptoms and lack of symptoms don't confirm anything. Only BT is the final call. The cycle I succeed had the least and almost none of the symptoms while I felt even more symptoms in cycles that I felt more hope for bfp. Hang in there. Persevere on and don't give up so soon.
You are so strong! In fact I think all the ladies here are! It is really not for the faint-hearted! Jiayou everyone! Sincerely hope for the best for everyone here!

It is not easy but do believe you can get through it. Every cycle is a tough roller coaster of hope, fear, frustration, etc all the conflicts of emotions that you never thought bearable could happen within a short time frame. You have to accept that you may do all you can yet there is no guarantee but at least do as you and hubby feel no regrets. Let the blessing of having your own little one to hold in your arms one day to come be your motivation to persevere on.

Hi towkayneo, were you on medicated FET this round? can I check if you were on cyclogest Progestrone before ET? If yes, does it irritate your cervix? I just inserted mine this morning and I feel so "weird" feeling below... Just checking if this is normal. Any tips to insert them smoothly?

Yup, are you referring to the utrogestan vaginal inserts? Yes, just open your legs wide and insert up into the vagina.

Hi, i am new to this forum. I did ET last friday and i m due for my blood test tomorrow. I just couldnt wait for tomorrow hence i bought a pregnancy test and it showed BFN! My heart just sank....has anyone had any experience like this and still have BFP? still got hope??

Can I check if I going to change hospital after a failed cycle, from SGH to KKH , can I request all my reports from SGH? Will they release? N is the final med apt useful? I'm under Dr Yu, if she going to give motherhood statements, no point I see her to pay another couple hundreds? Anyone seen her after a failed cycle? is the session necessary and useful? I just don't want waste time and money.
Mine was a successful cycle though they did call me back for continued reviews. I requested for my reports from SGH after I told them I wanted to continue consultation with my private gynae. They photocopied the essential test results for me. Under their records, they put me as a discharged patient.

I'm considering my 1st ivf in mid feb and am now thinking if I should do icsi. Reason being is, my hb did his sperm binding test and results r 88% and baseline is 65%. I mentioned that I'm keen to try icsi to my gynae at my last visit. She said if my hb SA is good then likely no need. Now I'm in dilemma - thinking whether should still proceed with icsi or natural. My thoughts are that it will boost the chances. Anyone can advise?

Hi baby luck, sorry to hear about your bfn on you medicated FET *big hugs*

I did a medicated FET last Oct which was cancelled cos of thin lining. Doctor also suggested that I can start immediately but my hubby and myself choose to take 2 months off to let the body go back to normal. you and your hubby decides what's best. Is your next cycle gonna be natural or medicated?

I did read somewhere there's some impact on the snow babies... mine are like frozen for almost 3 years sia! But just belive that the strongest will survive and produce healthy babies. :)

Thanks lovely!! Sorry took a while to reoly.. m offline as busy at work...

We hav decided to wait for a while too..

As u say slow n steady!! Hehe all the best to us!!

I'm considering my 1st ivf in mid feb and am now thinking if I should do icsi. Reason being is, my hb did his sperm binding test and results r 88% and baseline is 65%. I mentioned that I'm keen to try icsi to my gynae at my last visit. She said if my hb SA is good then likely no need. Now I'm in dilemma - thinking whether should still proceed with icsi or natural. My thoughts are that it will boost the chances. Anyone can advise?
Let the expert decide for you. They know the best

Raffles Hospital detected her homones are high due to the "homones generator" in the head, where the body will think is already preggy the other (which kk say no issue and neuro from ttsh say no issue) the other is her family got history of thalassemia but shoudl be mild as i do not see it since day 1 i knew her
sometimes doc plays a big part..if you feel not click with this doc, find another one. Like me and my hb did..dun waste time.

Hope you doing well..
I would like check for the 1st counselling for ivf wats the cost be like?
Then wat should we do to prepare for next?
Im quite scared to go, as im afraid im unable to cope the stress if were to fail.
Really hope kind soul can reply me... :)

Have a gd day everyone...

Hi ,Dont be dishearten,I POAS twice before blood test too_Once on the 8dp2dt and 13dp2dt both negative and I have no symptoms except some mild cramps and brown discharge which scared the shit out of me.When I received call from KKH that I m pregnant,I couldnt believe my ears until I went down n saw the report.Stay positive ya
So glad to hear your BFP! Did u call KKH for early BT when u see the brown discharge? I had some spotting today so was thinking whether to call them to push my BT date one day earlier to Monday but they off duty for the weekend already. N did u call for ur current spotting issue? Hope everything is going smoothly for u.

Hi hi! I'm at KKH and my doctor didn't give me a choice to do natural or icsi. It seems like by default for the 1st ivf, they will take some eggs to do natural and some eggs for icsi. Although my hubby's SA turns out okay, none of our eggs that went through natural were fertilized. Those fertilized by icsi, only 50% were fertilized and viable. Just some info for your consideration.

Thanks for your reply @ChasingRainbow

Were you charged for icsi since you weren't given a choice? From what I know for SGH, they do give you a choice if your hb's SA is ok. I could be wrong though.

In any case, I just got confirmation today that I will be beginning in mid Feb after CNY. My hb is asked to go down to do another SA but this time, it was specifically sperm survival test. So I think after this test is done and all is ok, we won't have to do ICSI.

Hi hi! I'm at KKH and my doctor didn't give me a choice to do natural or icsi. It seems like by default for the 1st ivf, they will take some eggs to do natural and some eggs for icsi. Although my hubby's SA turns out okay, none of our eggs that went through natural were fertilized. Those fertilized by icsi, only 50% were fertilized and viable. Just some info for your consideration.

So glad to hear your BFP! Did u call KKH for early BT when u see the brown discharge? I had some spotting today so was thinking whether to call them to push my BT date one day earlier to Monday but they off duty for the weekend already. N did u call for ur current spotting issue? Hope everything is going smoothly for u.
Hi Happybabe,
Thank you.I didnt call up to push my BT test then.I did call for my current spotting when they said its normal.But I m still spotting though thr colour is not bright red and its not alot.Finger crossed til my scan on 02/02.Good Luck for ur BT .☺

Dr Chua is my gynae. I did 2 iuis with her. Both BFN though. She is really lovely and talks me through the scans and iui process from start to finish which puts me at ease. Not sure if she is a fertility specialist though that's why I moved to NUH for ivf. Also so I can take advantage of the govt grant.
Hi peaches21, could you tell me yours is natural delivery or caesarean section? Thanks so much

Thanks for your reply @ChasingRainbow

Were you charged for icsi since you weren't given a choice? From what I know for SGH, they do give you a choice if your hb's SA is ok. I could be wrong though.

In any case, I just got confirmation today that I will be beginning in mid Feb after CNY. My hb is asked to go down to do another SA but this time, it was specifically sperm survival test. So I think after this test is done and all is ok, we won't have to do ICSI.
Hi Grace. At TFC, the default insemination method is ICSI for all patients. This is based on better results from ICSI and enables minimal wastage of eggs. In addition, today's ICSI techniques are advance such that there is no sugnificant difference between viable live births from ICSI'd vs natural Ivf embryos.
The only exception where the embryologist will suggest natural is when there is a very high number of eggs retrieved and husband's sperms are excellent. Even then, TFC's practice is to suggest only certain number of eggs for natural while the rest to be ICSI as the fertilisation rate under natural Ivf can be very disappointing and beyond control. They will only proceed with such suggestion provided doctor's and patient's agreement. Think there will be additional contract or indemnity to sign for natural Ivf due to higher risk of zero fertilisation. There is no difference in charges whether ICSI or natural Ivf for TFC's package.

Just for sharing with you...
Me and DH has never though we are thalassemia minor carrier until I got pregnant 2 year ago.... This pregnancy was succeed using clomid...
Sadly to say, because we don't know that we carried thalassemia gens and the baby has unfortunately got the bad gens and become a thalassemia major...
Thalassemia Major = No Survival Rate
In the end we got to terminate the pregnancy...

The thing about thalassemia minor is it totally don't affect our daily life. DH went through tough army training without any symto , I went through active school CCA life without any symto too..

Would suggest that you do a blood test to test... because is really no harm testing... KK have this thalassemia department where you can go test...
Even if you are a thalassemia carrier you and wife still have 75% of having a healthy baby...

Me and DH has just start the journey via IVF.. The future is unknown for us.. We are unsure if we will face with disappointment again or maybe baby dust will spread on us... But we are on the learning journey to be positive...

Don give up! =)

* above base on personal experience and best knowledge... Pls seek doctor advise hor..!
Hi, what's the blood test they do to test for thalassemia?

May I share on your Thalassemia question.

It's simply called BT for Thalassemia. You can call KKH Thalassemia Registry at 63941863 to enquiry. I paid $15 each for me and hubby. Pte clinics of course charge much higher. Result is returned in 2-3weeks.

Out of the 4 siblings, my eldest sis and youngest sis are minor carrier. My second elder sis is yet to be tested. I tested 2 months ago because KKH encourages me to test as well (more crucial so because I am pregnant), after my youngest sis' 18 months twin daughter is tested positive as minor too (twin boy is fine). My eldest sis' teenage boy is also a minor while her teenage daughter is cleared.

Me and hubby are tested not positive so our offspring will be ok.

There's pretty much no way to know one is a carrier as life goes on norm. It's only when a minor meets a minor then the chance of a major is there.

I think it's very important to perform this test.

It's simply called BT for Thalassemia. You can call KKH Thalassemia Registry at 63941863 to enquiry. I paid $15 each for me and hubby. Pte clinics of course charge much higher. Result is returned in 2-3weeks.

Out of the 4 siblings, my eldest sis and youngest sis are minor carrier. My second elder sis is yet to be tested. I tested 2 months ago because KKH encourages me to test as well (more crucial so because I am pregnant), after my youngest sis' 18 months twin daughter is tested positive as minor too (twin boy is fine). My eldest sis' teenage boy is also a minor while her teenage daughter is cleared.

There's pretty much no way to know one is a carrier as life goes on norm. It's only when a minor meets a minor then the chance of a major is there.

I was looking at the blood test I did at nuh.. The thalassemia test was included in the blood test I did.

Anyway, I'm starting my medicated FET. Anyone still rem the jab to be taken on day 14 of mercilon, is it ok to do on day 13? Cos day 14 is a sat and the nurse insist they are busy on Saturday so ask me to do it on Friday... I'm feeling abit upset as previously another nurse told me can do it on Saturday

Redvel,congratulations! Happy for you! Natural somemore. Great! :)

Has anybody seen the covering doctor, Dr Jonathon at TFC, for Dr SF Loh? Thanks!
I have seen him before when he was covering for dr Loh when dr Loh was away for my 2nd scan during stim in my 2nd fresh cycle last April.

Also saw him once at TMC 24-hr outpatient dept when I had 2nd episode of light spotting in week 5 of pregnancy. dr Loh was on leave so the nurse called for Dr Jonathan Wee

I had my Day-2 FET on 19/1/2016 and I just got a "Not Pregnant" on a digital HPT. Wondering whether it is too early to detect a + on a digital HPT yet? So sad.....

Thanks for answering the Qns... :)
Minor might meet minor... Just like me and DH...

Friends here pls do take note of this... :)
Important to perform this test... At the least get yourself prepare...

Thanks DawnBB. Wanted some assurance as I have never met him before. Guess I will go ahead with my appt. :)
I see. Don't worry dear. I find him to be very gentle, conscientious and assuring. Both hubby and myself like him. He even rushed down in less than 15min in the midst of his family outing at Gardens by the Bay after the nurse called him when I was at the 24-hr OPD. He could have just order a jab or send me back home and ask me to monitor my spotting and come back next day since it was light brown spotting. If we are not able to hv Dr Loh as our obstetrician, we would even consider dr Jonathan.

Hi ladies, I finally had my scope Yday under advice by dr Tan hh at kkh. Was a fruitful one cos they found abnormal growth of tissues, likely endo tissues, outside of ovaries as well as outside uterine. So after been through 4 failed iui and 1 failed Ivf and several other tests through 2.5 yrs of ttc I finally found the root cause of my infertility .. Endometriosis .. Am Glad dr Tan hh insisted on laparoscopy. I had 4 keyholes but all is worth given that my endo is cleared for time being and I would like to recover ASAP try natural or go for my frozen cycle under dr Tan hh

Hi, under what circumstances did dr thh advised the scope?

Hi, I initially asked for gp to refer me to kkh MIS department as I suspect I have endometriosis. I saw dr Khoo who said I have regular mensus he didn't want to open a hole in me and finds nothing so he referred me to try iui.i failed and moved onto Ivf under subsidised scheme.ie.cant choose doctor, throughout the Programmes I was seen by doc on duty.i had been to several other gynae who specialises in Ivf and was told the only way to find out if I have endo is by doing a lap.i decided to switch to priv patient under dr Tan hh. My first consultation with him he asked if I wana do frozen cycle and whn? Then he looked through my files and said if I have substantial cramps I ought to go for lap.so he puts me for lap and said if I change my mind I can jolly well see him again.i sorted advice from ladies in this thread who had endo and also regular mensus .. Under urge of my Husband and some Ivf ladies I pushed forward my lap date to a month earlier and had it done and true enough I have endo.my endo was outside of ovaries and uterine. I have very regular mensus and flow has lightened over the years. I usually have cramps one week before arrival of my actual mensus and the cramps will be gone after first day of my af. Endo is not easily diagnosed so if u have substantial cramps pls sort advice to go for lap. I would not have known I truly have endo if I have nv gone for lap

Hope you recover soon! All the best :)

Looks like Dr Jonathon is also a very dedicated gynae. I am impressed. Ok, shall see him then. Thank you DawnBB! Hope I can clarify some things with him instead becos sessions with Dr Loh were usually short and a bit rushed, which I can understand since there were usually many patients waiting to see him.

Yah Dr Loh seems rushed and appears man of few words as he doesn't initiate discussions. I realised if i'm prepared with my questions and articulate them to him clearly, he would stop his tracks and address your question in very logical manner. He is straight to the point type. If you can strike a cord with his style, he's really good. My hubby somehow click with him and they always joke with each other :)

@redvel firstly congrats on your pregnancy and wish u a safe and smooth nine months dear:).

Btw on thalessemia. When I did my first ivf in nuh both me and hubby were told we were suspected of it and were told to go for detail bt which which revealed both negative. It was a nightmare for us. And cost is 350 bucks and at kk 15:(

@connie_hopeful @mesara Thanks for your well wishes. Having you in my thoughts.

I believe KKIVF doesn't include thala BT as part of their standard pre ivf tests. However I find thala is more common than I thought especially recently I got to know more about it and few girlfriends surfaced that they are thala minor carriers.

I vaguely remember I was given the thala brochure when I signed up at KKIVF. It's an optional test. But I was quite clueless what it is and no one there then explained about it. But if I had known it is relatively common, I would have taken up the test back then.

I went for scan with dr tan too and he said my cyst is endo cyst and the size is abt 3cm but he advised against laparoscopy and still said he bet his last dollar that all other docs will advise to go for the surgery. He said since I do not have pain associated with endo, n the surgery may cause reduction in ovarian reserves so he just asked me to proceed with IVF. Too bad the cycle failed. As I never did lap I do not know how bad the endo is in my case hmmmm

Hi wjzkev, so sweet to see a Mr in the forum. This journey is really tough and all of us here understand totally what you n your wife are going through. Jia you and keep on going!

When I did my iui (private 3x failed), the doctor said I had pcos n I was on metformin for the longest time.

Then I transferred to Sgh, the doctor didn't say anything about pcos. Failed first fresh and first fet. It is frustrating cos the doctor really couldn't explain exactly why it failed. So they had to try different things. Every time the protocol is different cos they could only make hypothesis n tweak the medicine/injections little by little. I succeeded on 2nd fresh - until now it could still be a combination of reasons, new protocols, stronger mind n body? But again it is not possible to pinpoint exactly what is the success factor.

I believe many mummies here also shared similar stories.

Wish you n your wife n all ladies here on ivf a smooth n successful journey. Baby dust.

Hi Kitty, thanks. Yeap that's the frustration when fail and the reply is "there is no explanation" and just keep changing medication. Thus mrs and myself decided to do additional check.
Again not saying the current doc is not good but expectation between patients and doctor maybe not gel yet ;)

Just for sharing with you...
Me and DH has never though we are thalassemia minor carrier until I got pregnant 2 year ago.... This pregnancy was succeed using clomid...
Sadly to say, because we don't know that we carried thalassemia gens and the baby has unfortunately got the bad gens and become a thalassemia major...
Thalassemia Major = No Survival Rate
In the end we got to terminate the pregnancy...

The thing about thalassemia minor is it totally don't affect our daily life. DH went through tough army training without any symto , I went through active school CCA life without any symto too..

Would suggest that you do a blood test to test... because is really no harm testing... KK have this thalassemia department where you can go test...
Even if you are a thalassemia carrier you and wife still have 75% of having a healthy baby...

Me and DH has just start the journey via IVF.. The future is unknown for us.. We are unsure if we will face with disappointment again or maybe baby dust will spread on us... But we are on the learning journey to be positive...

Don give up! =)

* above base on personal experience and best knowledge... Pls seek doctor advise hor..!

just check with my mrs and we did the test she confirmed where i am neg and she is on the mild side and was given the all system go from the doc.
well just can see what the external doc can find out for her this week. thanks for the advise

Just wanna say thanks to all the encouragement to all had give , though each time is a hope but i guess till certain stage have to learn how to numb the hope and search for answer. life still carry on thus ringing the mrs for a holiday soon to further add more laughter to our lives. Anyway to all still try enjoy the cny season, shopping and eating just enjoy.

Hi, is your cramp daily or on/off.. Is it so bad that u need to take meds?
How does ur endometriosis affect fertility?