IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

Kaira
Things are certainly progressing well for you. Why are you surprised that you are in week 7? Too fast or too slow? Me theoretically starting my week 8.Guess what 30Sept is my birthday...hehehe

Cale,
yes, he replied me yest & said to go over if pain persist. but pain gone off by night time. lucky me! today no repeat also. phew!

YCK,
congrats & thanks for sharing the birth of ur twins! look forward to ur pics soon!

Maykel,
ya, if bo bian then waste $300 instead of $2k+... if babies gotta stay, better to jus hv ur mum take care of u la... so called dun need the extra hand liao.
try soaking ur feet in water when u r in sitting position, it may help wif the swelling.

Babymaking,
steriods? ok to take when pregnant ah?
eh, try not to scratch so much leh. i scratch tummy a bit alrdy feel very guilty to myself.

Ponytail,
my mum only say no using of sharp objects on the bed, i extended it to the entire bedroom la (kiasu). i still have to sew, cut & chop stuff leh. in office, also do "art & craft" haha

hi maykel

the visit to skin centre is a referral by sf loh. i am not comfortable with taking steriods during 1st tri, the skin doc assured me it's ok, but i've emailed dr loh to see what he have to say and if there are other alternatives.

ju,
i've been scratching my entire body till bleeding and peeling, at the back of my mind, i worry of scars and it being a permanent skin condition. yet can't help the itching. and hesitant to take the steriods in case it harms baby. arghs, in a quandary now.

ponytail
did you buy a special scrapbook or just any suitable one? i think cutting is fine but not sewing, and it's only limited to the bed, anywhere else is ok.

cale,
not working has it's stress also esp with the bad economic outlook and reliance on just one income. plus not having a smooth pregnancy adds to the uncertainty...been spending a bomb on seeing the gynae & other specialists so often.

irene,
you can email or msn me at [email protected].

Hi Imel,
Which week are you at now. You at TPS? Actually I already saw heartbeat during V scan... Btw, like to check with you. IVF Bills do they give you a summary etc.. I receive a stack of loose Invoice and total amount 6k plus. 50% will ddt medisave. Yesterday forgot to ask kk. Wonder if there are any more bills coming in.

Hi 76,
Cos I thought only in six week.. Mine hb birthday is 1st October leh. heehee.

Cribby, ya I got the scan . Probably will keep a journal .

Hi Cale,
The diapers are free sample ? heehee just kapoh. Which week are you now?

babymaking - for my preg journal, i just use a free diary i got from bank, then going to paste pictures all over the cover. for 1st year journal, think i'll buy. i saw from borders but its $50 +, thats why i make my own now then splurge later on

juju, bliss - ok, think got different versions of old wives tale. i think as long as use it safely its ok. otherwise how to cook, cut hair, cut fingernails, cut price tag...

Hi 76
My next visit on 04.03.09 wk 10. That month also will go for dwn syndrome test. Its optional. How u feeling now. Constipation better ?

hi kaira,
congrats! week 7 already! so glad it's going well with you. did dr. do the scan for you at TPS? i wasn't able to get an appointment at TPS because it was fully booked!

i feel the same way, afraid to get my hopes up so soon. i'm sure you'll see the heartbeat next week though since you're at week 8 already... hope you see 2!

Ho ponytail,
Think can still cut etc, just dun do any cutting and sewing in bed can already.

Hi bliss and Cale,
I had receive mamy poko yest, now waiting for fitti and GooN.

Hi Cale,
Ya, I think my OGTT shld be ok too, since my urine glucose has always been negative. They oso did not call me rgding the bld test results i did on tues, so i think shld be ok oso bah. My PE monitoring is 2mr.

Ya loh, now i try not to walk too much at home oso. Just abit worried cos my urine color still range from light yellow to orange, i drank alot of water already...

Ya, the CL is $2800, i see how, if by the time babies comes back and i already pass my 1mth confimement, means can touch water already, then i can take care of babies with help of maid and both mothers, so dun even need the CL. Just lugi the deposit.

Oh, i read b4 that study has shown that there is no evidence to shows that taking regular steriod jabs means its better. The usual recommended dose is 1-2 jabs, so So I think the 2 jabs i had shld be sufficient bah.

Oh the dress is very cooling, abit like rough kinda of satin (sorry, dun know how to describe but oni know its nice hehe). But i advise against buying white-based, thou alot of them looks very nice, cos i think they might be translucent. Once they confirm the order, you just do a transfer and they will send out immediately if got ready stocks, so within couple of days can receive liao, very fast. I usually opted for normal mail.

Hi Sam,
Thank you, i'm still hanging on

How are you getting on? Must take good care oso.

Hi juju,
Ya loh, i dun mind lugi the $300, cos the CL oso poor thing, cos she book the slot for me and cannot do for others oso.

Hi babymaking,
Ya, if me oso i dun feel comfortable taking steriods. Now just gotta wait and see wat dr loh says.

Past 2 nites i had very painful and long contractions, but it happens maybe about 3-4 times oni and at an interval of 20-30mins. But after that seems to be ok already.
Furthermore, 1 of my babies is usually less active, but these 2 nites both of them seems to have heightened movements and are soooo active. My tummy is oso getting tighter, Are all these signs of delivery soon.....?

hi kaira
my constipation is totally cleared.. Now back to normal...You excited about next scan? or you feel sense of settledness with your first scan?Forgot what was your HCG blood test?

Hi Maykel,
I think you should really stay in hospital leh. So worried for you.

Hi 76 and Kaira,
Im currently in 30wks. For the first trimester, I remember I will go for check up every 3 weeks. Then once after you pass the first trimester, you will go for check up every 5 weeks. Now Im downgrade again to every 3 weeks and heard once I reach to 35 weeks, the doctor will want to see weekly.

As for the IVF bills, Kaira I can't remember leh. I think they do give us summary. Hehehe have to go and dig out all the bills out provided I havent throw that away.

Maykel,
perhaps you should call doc and check what to do. Not sure what these signs mean...

Must really play safe, you take good care hor.

babymaking,
dr loh replied yet? ok to take the steriods?

ponytail,
ya lor. but painting, nailing etc will still avoid. cutting, sewing and such, i will do when necessary, out of the bedroom area lor.

maykel,
think may be something like the satin-like top i got in vietnam, super cooling and soft to the touch. 1 of the few pcs i can wear now & not scratch tummy bcos of itchiness!
if paiseh the CL, maybe see who need CL last minute or wat & try to recommend lor. but she alrdy rec'd $300 without doing anything le.
pls call doc or ask-a-nurse line to ask them if ur symptoms mean need to admit or wat. if serious, then bo bian have to go in.

kaira,
i din receive a summary for ivf bills. the last batch of bills i got from them is the stack we pay by cash & they chop how much claim from medisave. there will be a cheque attached to these invoices, which indicate the total "rebate", equal to the amount to be deducted from medisave.

Hi 76,
Glad to know your constipation is clear. I feeling okay, once see bb heartbeat & doc, more or less will feel more relieved. Just feel tired, can't really do much housework. Even take clothes from hanger also feel tired. But not as extreme as when i'm in my 4th and 5th week. That time need to lie on bed all the time. I didn't do any hcg bt. Only did once to test pregnacy positive anot aft 2ww.

Hi imel
Its okay, don't bother abt the bills. thanks anyway. You have come so far.. Must be very excited now. You know yr bb sex. I'm thinking don't want to know bb sex until give birth .. heehee. All the best.

Hi juju,
Thanks for your help.. I'm still quite blur. So far, I know how much is ddt from medisave but the amount quite weird.It is $3k plus. Another $3k plus they didn't mention anything. Its okay. I will call up kk and check with them. Or maybe they will be more bills comg in

hi kaira,
no probs.
if u follow the bb bonus requirement, u will be looking at max 6k from medisave & max 3k rebate from the bb bonus. can call ivf clinic or biz office & check.

Hi juju,
Wow, luckily your pain went off, really give you a scare. So today you back to work already?

Hi babymaking,
Understand what you mean, my first trimester also went to 24 hour clinic and see doctor quite often, spent quite a lot. Ever though of doing some part time work that can work from home?

Hi Kaira,
Yes, these are the free samples. Just need to call up and they will post a few pieces of sample for you to try. Got a few brands like Fitti, mamypoko, Goo.N, Huggies Ultra and dypers.

Hi Maykel,
As long as they didn't call you, we take it as good news, even for the more extensive blood test that you did
. Hee, oh then it's good, you don't need those extra steroid jabs.
Thanks for the info on the dress, I will check it out
I am also not sure if the heightened movement is a sign of early delivery, I agreed with the other ladies, better check with doctor or nurses. Tomorrow you going for the BP monitoring right, take this chance to check with them?

Just to share with you some info i found from the internet on diapers after comparing a few brands. Overall, i found that Nepia brand is having quite good feedback and worth the money.

One of the feedback on the diapers is from the following thread:
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/5/1488426.html?1201328845

Per piece it costs about $0.25 ($15/60pcs) for NB, $0.28 ($15/54pcs), which is quite affordable. However, for newborn and S size, it's only available in Meiya supermarket (liang court), Isetan orchard, or ordering from them directly via the website below or call them directly (phone can be found in the website). NTUC only sell size M and above, and it's selling at $17.50.

If you are interested, can place order directly from them if can meet the minimum requirement, that is $60 per carton (4 packets), can mix the sizes, free delivery. It's cheaper to get directly from them than buying from the retail shop.

However, they did not give out free samples.
http://www.nepia.com.sg/english/order/index.html

any idea how to count my no of weeks now..i am confused... basically my menses was 24th Dec and my ER was 21 Jan. So how to count?? My gonal F was delayed by 1 week (to 10th Jan)due to not enough egg production
Kaira
What was your HCG during that one test you did?

Hi 76,
My hcg is 523 tested on DPO 17. There some website where they can calculate for u. I think just key in yr ER date.

Hi Cribby,
Ya the scan is done by doc at tps. I think if is clinic D ,then is not.

HI Bliss,

how are you ?

can i check with you something can you recall back when the 1st time when Doctor told you that you can start IVR then you went thur the conselling section and they will guide you on the jabbing etc.....after the breifing when you start stage 1 ? do you have to wait for your AF to come ?
i saw Dr loh on tuesday and he ask me to go IVF centre next week for CCC conselling then they will tell me when to start.

Hi Fairyrose,
i am fine, how r you too?
Do you mean IVF? I did not go for any counselling session. Yes, they briefed me about the whole ivf procedure. I started the lucrin jabs on day 21 of my cycle. But before that, I called to inform them when my menses came and so they will make apptmt for me to learn how to inject and to go for the first jab on day 21.

So have the nurses briefed on the ivf procedures?

i need some advice from you ladies. i am currently 13 weeks pregnant with twins through ivf/icsi. i am planning to take a short flight of about 2 hours in another 2 weeks time. is it safe to travel by air? i will be about 16 weeks then. thanks..

Hi mariayee,
You will be in your 2nd trimester by then, sounds ok to me. However, mostly importantly is to seek advice and permission from your doc who knows your condition well, especially with twins.
One more thing, are you going for work or for leisure? For both reasons, you should try not to tire yourself too much in any activities. And must make sure you eat hygienic food and water safe for drinking. How many days are you going then?

hi bliss,
my doc said is ok for me to travel but i still need some advice from others. haha.. more assurance for me.

actually i am going back to work and will be staying over there where my hubby is currently. will be bck here end of May when i am about 26-27 weeks and straight away wait for delivery. hopefully everything will be smooth cos i don't wish to stay there for delivery.

hi cale,
thanks for the baby fair info.. haiyah bought all the bulk stuff already.. now then got fair.. hehe.. dunno what else i wanna grab.. but definitely i'll go..

Kaira
since my ER is on 20th Jan, exactly 2 weeks after you, then i am 5 weeks+.... so, that means, for IVF ladies, we dun count from the LMP lah...

Hi bliss
Thanks for the website. I am 5 weeks 6 days. Kaira, assuming your ER was 3rd Jan, the website calculated exactly your weeks as 7weeks 6days leh....So interesting....

ju,

exchanged several correspondence with dr loh abt steriods, in the end went down to see him today, he looked at the severity of my rashes and said benefits outweigh risks and advice to take after 1st tri.

the rashes he said is due to maternal allergy to the protein the baby is excreting - in other words, i'm allergic to my baby - never heard of this before, dun know if he's serious or just joking also :p

will start the steriods next week when clear 12 weeks, and then see how it goes.

cale,
thks for the info for the diapers. always good to have this type of lobang.

bliss,
you started on yr scrapbook yet?

Cale,
yes, back to work since wed.

Mariayee,
i read somewhere it's better not to travel with twins, but always check with your gynae.

babymaking,
then bo bian lor. have to take.
yes, ever read about mother & baby allergic against one another, but is for something else. some chapter inside "what to expect when you are expecting¨

Just to update: I went for my detailed scan and i am having 1 boy 1 girl
Both my HB & myself are very grateful and happy that they are fine and healthy too.

Can i check with you ladies who are under Dr Loh
1) When did you start taking the protesgrone pill to prevent contraction? He said that he's more kiasu and wanted to play safe so ask me to eat 1st. But i read that it is not good for our liver or kidney right? Should i wait further, say 1 mth later than start eating? He asked me to take 1 pill 2 times a day.

2) How about calcium pill? When did you all started taking?

When did you all started buying bb's stuffs? Is it true that we should wait like till 6 or 7 mths sbefore buying? I scare that time tummy too big, not convenient to shop already.

Bliss, Jos, Cale, Maykel, Juju & Merlenna: HAve you all start setting up the baby cot and stuffs already? If not, in which month do you think you will do?

Just now i went to OG to buy Avent Sterilizer that comes in a package with a total of 5 free bottels and some baby showering shampoo (or lotion) & it is only $139.50. I thot it is very cheap since usually it will be about 170 plus. But when i am back and saw Cale's post on the Expo baby fair, haha, dun noe if the fair will provide even more cheaper deal.

Maykel: Hang in there and take good care. Another week is passing back very quickly and slowly you will be in ur 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34,.... weeks. Jia you jia you

Hopefully,
i hv got most items i want, more to come from SIL end of the mth, will buy the consumables/toiletries at baby fair cos heard is cheaper. already got hubby on standby to be chauffeur on 1 mar. any ladies joining me?
as for setting up bb stuff, will do it after confinement cos bb will sleep wif us for the first few mths. we have a king size mattress on platform bed so can jus add a single mattress at the side to fit all 3 of us

hi hopfully,
i'm so happy for you! 1 girl 1 boy! that's perfect!! hehe..

anyway the prog pill i think is prescribed to multiples pregnancy.. so i can't really ans that for you.. hehe..

i didn't take any calcium pill just obimin iron tablet.. which causes me to get rashes in the end.. now i'm not taking any supplements.. just making sure i eat my daily dosage of vege and fruits..

yes, i have bought all her big stuff like stroller, cot, playpen, furniture like drawers and changing table, her diaper bag, changing mat.. etc.. all these done at the end of 6mths til 7 months. right now, i'm finishing painting her nursery, then i will assemble the cot. things that need to do at the moment are washing her clothes and keep them in the drawers as well as pack my hospital bag. that's all..

i thought i'd go to the baby fair and buy the last item which is the car seat. and perhaps get the other essentials that i haven't thought of earlier. hehe.. hope these help..

Dear Juju & Merlenna,

Thanks for sharing my joy and replying so fast.

Juju, i think i will be going and most probably on 1 Mar too. But at 5 mth plus, is it too early to buy (for me i mean?

Merlenna, might be true that the progestrone is for multiples. But i am thinking to hold on to next month than will start to take.

Guess it time you do the "final countdown" as it will be your turn very soon. I am very excited for you too. But when you are at the fair, remember to watch out for pple pushing their way through.
SOmetime, pple just get too carried away during sales time. In fact, all ladies, please be more careful

Hopfully,

I dun think its early la.. 5 months already.. should get some stuff already. Im 4 months plus but almost 80% ready except car seat and pram which i intend to get after giving birth. I think twins and multiples almost same ba.. cause i triplets so actually right now im already starting to feel heavier and walking more slowly so need to get stuff ready before i reach my 24 weeks so i dun need to carry too heavy and tire myself out and stress myself out than..Only things like wet wipes and shampoo and all maybe can wait till last month than buy cause small items, most important is items that need to assemble, need to wash and items you need to bring to hospital and if you don't want to use hospital receiving blankets, you can get them yourself and use them as hooded blankets for your babies.

These are the guidelines roughly :

Sleeping :
1. Baby Cot
2. Bumper set
3. Pillow and 2 bolster
4. Blanket
5. Waterproof mat / mattress protector
6. Receiving shawl *Optional

Bathing :
1. Baby bath tub
2. Baby cradle for tub
3. Anti slip mat (Can be bought later stage)
4. Soft face towel x 3
5. Bath Towel x 2
6. Baby Lotion
7. Baby Shampoo
8. Baby Oil
9. Baby powder (Better to use liquid powder)
10. Baby Nail Clipper
11. Baby Comb
12. Cotton Buds / Cotton Balls

Changing :
1. Changing Mat
2. Pampers
3. Wet Wipes - Recommended is Pigeon or Mothercare Brand
4. Diaper Rash cream

Clothing :
1. Short Sleeve / Tie Front x 3
2. Long Sleeve button front x 2
3. Long Pants x 2
4. Rompers x 3
5. Booties and Mittens x 3
6. Shorts to cover Pampers x 2

Feeding :
1. Steriliser
2. Milk Bottles x 4
3. Bottle tests x 2-4
4. Milk Powder (Optional if breastfeeding)
5. Thermos Flask
6. Pacifier x 2
7. Bottle & Nipple cleaning Liquid
8. Bottle Brushes

Breastfeeding :
1. Breast pads
2. Breast Pumps
3. Nipple cream
4. Breast Shells - 1 set at least
5. Nursing Bras
6. Nursing tops

This is a rough guide for 1 baby, so if 2 or 3 babies just multiply items by 2 or 3!!

Happy Shopping Mummies!!

Hi Sam,

Wow you are still not resting at 1.30 am?
Thanks for the list as a reference guide which i think is very comprehensive.

How are you and your babies? Are they getting more and more active? Still working now? I will stop work on April. Have you started planing already, if you are working?

Recently i started to feel them "knocking/tickling/wave kind of movement inside me. These bring a smile to my busy n hectic day at work. Sometime i just wonder what are they doing inside.
But in any case, it nv fails to cheer me up. Heehee

hi ju

that book have har? well i think i missed it. anyways...like what you said boh bian lor. will prob be missing out on the fair, or anywhere as far as possible as the rashes are damn unpresentable - imagine scratching like a monkey in public, arghs.

hopfully,
a boy & a gal, how fortunate, can close shop already.

sam,
that's a detailed list and a useful guideline. thanks for posting it.

Hopfully,

So far so good, same as Miss Hae i hope i can pass my 35 weeks mark i will be grateful already. Yes, indeed the trios are an active lot, they already started to move and kick but right now its mild but heard it will grow more intense later. The only common preblem i have now is migraine, backaches, leg cramps and am still having M/S. Im beginning to feel heavier and it does hinder my walking and when walking down steps my view is blocked by my stomach so if you ladies also have the same problem, try walking sideways down.. and my DH usually walk behind me and holding my clothes from behind haha..actually should walk in front of me right to be a cushion in case anything happen hor..

I remember seeing some ladies having itchy problem, i too have super itchy boobs and itchy skin around stomach area but its the stretching that causes it..

Oh im not working, just staying at home and do some light chores and marketing thats all... Im ready to rest more in another 2-3 weeks when my tummy gets bigger cause now i can get tired easily especially afternoon time.

Babymaking,

Actually i stock up papmpers already because we calculated i need 154 pcs for 1 week supply, but than heard from a friend saying some babies are allergic to certain brand of pampers so need to test trial first.. But anyway i get mostly the premium brand first until the babies more settled than change to economic brands.

I try to see if i have the list for the hospital bag... i remember i have it but dunno where issit already need to search for it..will post it for you all..

Hi babymaking,

I hope it is accurate. If it is correct, yup mayb can close shop liao. But i still got 2 embries left. Hoping ur rashes will go away fast fast and not to come back anymore.

Hi Sam,

So fortunate for you to be not working too. it seems like alot of MTB in this forum are not working
Cant wait to join you all in Apr.

For backaches, how about trying to put a cushion behind whereever you sit so that your back will be more comfortable? For leg cramps, i am trying to drink black bean soup (soup for dinner)and read bean soup (soup as dessert) not altogether or on the same day but can try as it help me alot. And also when u know the cramp is coming (my is those kind that the vein kana struck in the middle of the night), try to use your leg energy to pull back ur feet, towards urself, meaning opposite of a pointed feet. Pointed feet will accelerate the cramp to come faster. the other way helps me to stop it from coming altogether. But when it comes, just have to wait for it to subside. No way out.

Your HB is also very cute to do that. I can feel that he is also very excited about the 3 previous you are carrying for him.
It is so sweet.