Dr Peter Chew from Gleneagles

Hi twin stars,

after Dr Chew removed my cysts (I also have endo), I took the jab for 4 months. And managed to concieve 2 months after. Dr Chew did explain the me why I have fibroid, and even showed me a picture to illustrate cos i was very blur. He said i can choose not to take the jabs, its just his suggestion to prevent fibroid from growing back while TTC. I also asked a lot of questions pre & post pregnancy with Dr Chew answering me patiently.

Hi momosan,

Is the jab for the fibriod or endo? So did u try during the time when u were on the jab? or cannot try, must after the jab? Now I am very confused. Dr Chew asked me to do the HSG test to investigate y ectopic pregnancy occur, but i am scared of pain so I refused. I heard tat chinese med can help to clear my fallopian tube so i m now taking to clear anything after my surgery.

I get very painful cramps when my mensus came back for the first time after my ep surgery. I heard that the jab will reduce the mensus flow. Hopefully the cramps will reduce also. I am expecting my mensus in 1 or 2 days time. Really scared it will be as painful. Previously it was so painful that I cant sleep throughout the night.

I am contemplating to switch gynae. Anyone know if KW Tan is good?

Hi twin stars,

my jabs are for the fibriod - prevents them from recurring that fast as I was planning to concieve. When I was taking the jabs, I have no period. during that 4 months, only spotting at times. Dr Chew said during treatment, I basically wont be ovulating.

I had 2 miscarriages but not related to etopic so I cant say what form of treatment or test will be good though.

But after my treatment, my periods came with minimal discomfort, unlike the past when I had endo, each period was so painful that I had to have pain killer jabs & medication

Hi momosan,

thanks for explaining. According to Dr Chew, my endo condition is moderate. I have no idea if the jabs i took for endo will also cause my periods to become only spotting. How many days did your spotting last? So did u conceive at your fifth mth since u were on treatment for 4 mths?
Do u know how long the effects of the jab will last?

Hi twin stars,

during the treatment, I've no period, just spotting. Dr Chew says its normal while I was on the jabs. spotting last 1-2 days the most & it happened once or twice throughout the 4 months. I got pregnant at my 6th month, 2 months after my treatment cos Dr Chew says its better to wait for my first full menstrual cycle then TTC. as the how long the jabs can last, there's no definite period cos it depends on our individual body

hi twinstars,
are you teh twinstars from 2ww?sorry to learn of your experience, hope you are feeling much better and on way of recovery.

i am new here, am looking for a gynae for second opinion.
I was pregnant in nov 07, but due to low hcg of two weeks, bb was self-aborted.
natural ttc without success for another 5months of which i seek cycle monitoring from Dr LC Cheng (TMC)
I was disgnosed to be perfectly ok but hubby sperm motility is abit weak (not sure coz he was not well at that moment, hence affecting??)
Dr Cheng is not much worried as we managed to conceive once and he advised to ttc 3mths before futher treatment. We shared hubby had thyroid and had iodine treatment in 2002, but condition stabilize with no medication needed. He suspected the motilit could be due to thyroid relapse. once thyroid stabilize and 3mths thereafter, we should hear news.

recently, hubby's bloodtest reveal relapse and medication needed.a year since last mc without pregnat and we are not sure if related to thyroid isue for sure.
we have been on chinsese med about 4mths le.

i was referred by mom of Dr Peter Chew as many of her frds ttc many years and failedete. Peter chew treated and most successfully conceived.

I would liek to know if anyone have experience with him such that issue is more of the sperm isssue? Whats his charges for first consultation.
appreciate yoru feedback

i am contemplating him, Fong Paragon or seeing back LC Cheng

Hi Twin Stars,

Didn't realise your gynae is also Peter Chew. He's my 1st gynae who suspected I had EP. That's when I visited my mum's gynae for a second opinion. Just did a D&C today and felt the bleeding is like fresh blood leh, is it normal? Am waiting for a report just to make sure that its not ectopic.

No doubt Dr Chew is good, but he always wanted to do scope on you which is expensive. this time if i didn't change a gynae, i may have gone through the scope for nothing.

But anyway, I am thinking of switching to Dr Fong Yang - heard that its good. ttc naturally first if not i will visit him.

Hi Ceraine,

Nice to know u, I just joined this forum 2 weeks ago. I am recovering well. Thanks for your concern. I am more concerned with my endometriosis condition. I do not wish to undergo any more scope so I wish to be able to control with the jabs and try to conceive as soon.

Dr Chew's consultation is based on timing. I am not sure how other gynaes charged? I rem minimum charge is $70 per consultant if timing is less than 10 min exclude any medication. There is a charge at the reception area. You can always book an appointment with him and see if you r comfortable with him. Then u can compare which gynae u prefer.

Hi momosan,

Thanks for the explanation. My mensus came yesterday, it's only very little spotting. Do feel slight discomfort but the cramp really reduce to minimum. Hopefully i will be able to conceive as soon like your case.

Hi Mei Ling,

Sorry to hear about your D&C. I also went through D&C before ep was discovered. After D&C, i didnt have much or any bleeding, as my case was ep. The blood clots was stuck in my right tube. I only experienced pain in my right tube. Bleeding was only occasional. I had D&C on 7 nov and 1 week later i was confirmed to have ep. So did the laproscopy after transvirginal scan showed ep. My hubby had spent so much on my surgery & hospital bills, ard $20k for D&C and the laproscopy.

In fact, my parents n hubby were very upset when Dr Chew didnt suspect ep in the first place. I went through D&C for nothing. The scan didnt show any sac in my uterus after so many scans. I was told to be bedridden for 2 days and blood tests were done. D&C was what he told me to do on 7 Nov. Next few days, went back for blood test and result showed that my hcg level remains high like b4 D&C. Only then ep was confirmed.

Imagine i was devastated enough after D&C, still had to go through laproscopy. I cried in his clinic, he left and asked me to recompose myself.

After laproscopy, i went back to his clinic to remove stitiches, blood test was done to acertain the hcg level was normal. I went home after that. I called up the clinic to ask abt my blood test result, the nurse put me to Dr Chew and he asked me y didnt i stayed back for his consultation in the aftern. His tone was quite harsh. I dread going to his clinic, perhaps becuase of previous unpleasant experiences. Anyway, it's my own experience. I guess it's different for everyone.

Well, the gynae u mentioned is it Dr Fong Yang? I seemed to have seen his name in the forum. Is he the one who will recommend pple to go for chinese medicine?

After my laproscopy, i went to eu ren shen for chinese medication. The chinese doctor said got some herbs can help in my fallopian tube healing so that the 'healing' wont stick the tubes together n caused blockage.

Hi.

I'm not a mtb, just ttc. I did a d&c, removal of fibroids and endometriosis under Dr. Chew last year.
my advice to those with fertility issues: to seek help from a fertility specialist. If anyone wants to know more, do pm me.

Hi Twin Stars,

Indeed my bleeding seems to stop today leh. Really worried that mine is also ectopic. Can't wait for my report to be out. How much is your D&C alone? mine is around $950. Dr Chew is too ex, so i decided not to visit him anymore.

I thought through the transvirginal scan can't show the fallopian tube right?

I read from the forum about Dr Fong Yang. I think there's this TCM clinic recommends his customers to him.

hi Meiling,
Sorry to learn of your MC as well.
Just wondering, does Chew suggested mandate D&C for all MC??
Does he not to give the option of natural abortion?? Allowing the pregnancy to terminate itself , then monitor hcg level alternate days, slowing increasing to weekly to ensure all are expelled by body, followed by scan toconfirm??

When my last preg didnt work out due to low hcg, NUH and TMC did concern of EC, and TMC closely monitor me with boodtest. D&C was the last option.

Yes, u r right, the Jurong TCM and Dr Fong Yang are linked up.

Yve,
Dr Chew is not a fertility specialist???

Hi Ceraine,

I had my D&C done by my mum's gynae cos Dr Chew wanted to do a scope on me which i felt it was too early. Thats when i decided to change gynae.

I am already into 8 weeks which i believe going through D&C will clear away all the tissues and minimise any infections.

Actually, i think Dr chew is quite good at fertility though.

Hi Mei Ling,

I dont quite know the exact cost of D&C, cos it was paid by my hubby so didnt check. But I rem he did mention it was over $1000.

I did my transvirginal scan at Gleneagles Hospital. It was more detailed than the probe (virginal scan). From the transvirginal scan, it can scan to my right side indicating that ectopic could be there. Therefore, laproscopy is done.

During the scans, u did saw the fetus in the womb? If so, D&C should be able to clear all. My case is different from yours, the scan didnt detect any sac or fetus in my womb, but the hcg beta test did show my pregnancy hormones level so confirmed my pregnancy. Dr Chew did the D&C cos he didnt confirm it to be ectopic. He wanted to clear away all the tissues to minimise the infections.

Therefore, if the fetus can be seen during scans, it should not be ectopic.

Hi twin stars,

When you say your menses came but it was only spotting, were you undergoing the treatment already? Cos if you are not, it shouldnt be spotting, I think. You should be having full period. But if its the first period after the op, then perhaps. pls do confirm with your gynae.

Do try to relax & not to worry too much about TTC during this period. I know its easier said than done. I had a hard time after my 2 m/cs. But staying calm & positive really does help. Counselling and being involved in other stuff helped me alot during that period

Hi Twin Stars,

There is a small black dot which doc suspected its the sac. But its too small till the doc don't want to confirm it. So I am waiting for the report to be out to confirmed that's the fetus.

May i check if your next menses come earlier or later?

Hi momosan,

I just had the jab last week. Few days ago my mensus came, the first day was spotting. However the 2nd day onwards, it was like a normal mensus flow. I still experience cramps 2-3 days b4 mensus as well as 1st & 2nd day of mensus. This is my 2nd mensus after surgery. My first menus was heavier than spotting.

Today went for my gynae check. My gynae asked me to go back 1 mth later then he will scan my abdominal to see the uterus lining after the 2nd jab. So tdy went there for nothing.

Thanks momosan for your encouragement. I am more worried about my fallopian tube condition after the ectopic preg. What is the severity of your endo? Mine is moderate. Btw, are you still going to Dr Chew's clinic?

Hi Mei Ling,

My last mensus date was 26th Sept. Gynae confirmed my pregnancy in October. Spotting occurs on 26th Oct to 6th Nov before D&C was done on 7th Nov. After D&C, spotting continues until my surgery on the 15th Nov. My first mensus post surgery was on the 12th Dec, ard 1 mth later.

When is the report out? I still had blood test being done after D&C to ensure the hcg level really went down.

Hi twin stars,

Dr Chew didnt say how serious my endo was but through the scan, there was abt 2-3 cysts.

Yes, I still go to Dr Chew for check-ups.

Hi momosan,

u mean cysts r related to endo? I didnt know. I have cysts too from previous scans but was told they were water cysts in nature.

Hi twin stars,

I had cysts & fibriod actually, so Dr Chew removed all during my scope & said i had endo but I didnt ask further in details. Did your gynae says how long will your treatment be?I remembered reading a thread somewhere where a member also had endo & was advised by Dr Chew to have the jabs. She didnt cos of costs but became pregnant after the next cycle.

hi..

not too sure if u are refering to me, but i am Dr Chew's patient, and i didnt take his jabs, and got pregnant 1 mth after my lap. i have 2 kids now.

Hi Twin Stars,

Yup, just got my report. So its confirm it's not ectopic. So now am waiting for my next menses and I will be ttc again. I will be trying TCM too..!

btw, Watsons is having 20% off their digital ovulation kit, go grab it!

Hi Twin Stars,

Yup, just got my report. So its confirm it's not ectopic. So now am waiting for my next menses and I will be ttc again. I will be trying TCM too..!

btw, Watsons is having 20% off their digital ovulation kit, go grab it!

Hi momosan,

thanks for your reply. i asked abt the jab and Dr Chew told me to take. 1 jab per month for 3 months. Now i m still probiotic abt my ectopic pregn, im so worried i will get it again, so i just take whatever i think will help me to control. I have no idea what causes the ectopic, thinking endo may be one reason. I dont wish to go through HSG also.

Dr Chew said pregnant is still possible with the jab though chances r lower cos the jab suppress my hormones. Maybe i shouldnt waste the $ to jab, should try first.

Hi Mei Ling,

Good that your report is clear of ep. Did your gynae advise you what was the reason for mc? Try to take as much folic and multi-vits to make your womb strong and fertile. I am also taking those after my surgery so that i can get well soon before trying.

Wow, u sounded very excited. Thanks for the info. I usually rely on my discharge to determine if im ovulating.

Hi Twin Stars,

Doc says maybe it's the sperm or the egg is not normal, and when fertilised it resulted an abnormal pregnancy.

I have been ttc for a while to get preggy, so i'm afraid it'll take a long time to conceive again. I'm the kiasu type you noe, i check my temperture, discharge and the ovulation predictor just to make sure i don't miss the fertile period.

btw, why don't you try IUI?

Hi Mei Ling,

Did your gynae ask ur husband to do the sperm analysis? For me, Dr Chew asked my husband to do SA. If sperm is not at a healthy level, he will prescibe with some medication. Then he will re-check after 3 months or so. With the check, u may be able to know whether is it the sperm or egg issue.

Dr Chew just want me to go for HSG to find out the cause of ep, but im scared of pain, so m not going. What i can do now to is to take chinese medication n multi-vit. I heard that for mc, need to let the body rest for a while b4 trying? In the meantime, take lots of 'bu' stuffs.

I guess IUI will be a last option.

Hi Twin Stars,

Yup, my hubby did a sperm analysis and the quality is not that good. However it doesn't mean the issue lies with who cos sometimes you will also have egg thats not in a good condition.

My gynae says its best to wait for 3 mths. but the sinseh will help me to start trying once my menses come.

Wat are the "bu" stuff are you taking? Besides multi-vit and chicken essence with cordycepes + the right food, i don't know what to take anymore.

Hi Mei Ling,

What I mean by 'bu' are also those you have mentioned abt those chinese essence n chinese herbal boiled soup. I think your sinseh will know what is best for u. Which sinseh r u seeing? The one which recommend patients to Dr Fong Yang?

I m currently seeing eu ren sang.

Hi me another Dr Chew's patient here. I didnt undergo any scope leh, is that for ppl TTC only?

I had a D&C done by Dr Chew during my second preg in year 2005 before, fees were about $700. During my third preg, Dr Chew was very careful and gave me twice weekly progestrone jabs and 10 weeks of MC! He very particular about blood sugar levels too and I had to have insulin jabs during my 3rd trimester.

Overall, agree that his clinic is very busy, and he quite kia-si and careful type. But most important is babies are healthy!

Oh yah, for 'bu' stuff, he recommened cordyceps. Very exp stuff though... :p

I was with Raffles Chinese Medicine doing accupunture. Now I visit this sinseh at marine parade. Very old and traditional type and the herbs are to be boiled, not pills type. And he also have knowledge on western medicine. So i find him quite good.

Hi Mei Ling,

May i know y did u go for accupunture? How long have u been going for accupunture? My sis did recommend to a sinseh at marine parade too, wondering if they are the same? Do u mind to share the address of the marine parade sinseh? Thanks.

Hi Twin Stars,

I did accupunture to improve my chances of conceiving. I was on clomid by Dr chew for two months, then the very last round, i took clomid and i signed up for a accupunture session ($450 for 6 sessions).

The marine parade sinseh is at Blk 81 called Ban Choon Chan. Yesterday I just brewed the herbs and its SUper Bitter! I still have another pkt to brew next week...sob..

Hi Mei Ling,

It's the same sinseh that my sis had recommended me. Thanks for the info. Let me know if it's good.

The accupunture was at Raffles Chinese Medicine which u mentioned? Where is it? Really admired you for the courage. Im scared of accupunture...

Hee, What was the herbs for? Is it to drink drink during certain days of the month for conceiving? My sis had that when she was seeing the medical hall.

Are you still going to Dr Chew's clinic?

Hi Twin Stars,

It's at Raffles Hospital. Of course I scared too! but acutally its not that painful. only when the needles are pressed into your nerves, there's like an aching feeling. So long you don't look at the needles on you, its fine.

The herbs are to tiao yang my body after my d&C. There's only 2 pkts to brew, one for this week and another for next week. Thereafter i think when i ttc again, it will be different bah.

I don't think I'm going back to Dr Chew, cos I feel a bit paiseh as i didn't visit him after he told me to. So now I comtemplating to switch to Dr fong Yang or Dr Watt Wing Fong.

Hi Mei Ling,

How many times of accupunture have you been too? How do u find it? U make me feel a bit guilty towards my body as i didnt really go to the medical hall n get some herbs to 'tiao yang' after D&C and lap. i juz had 2 times of the chicken essence that my mum cooked and 2 boxes of sheng yu essence till now. i only abstain food like seafood.

Do u think Dr Chew is good? My family thinks that he is not good, wants me to switch gynae. By the way, which hospital is Dr Fong Yang or Dr Watt Wing Fong in?

Hi Twin Stars,

I went 5 out of 6 times cos i didn't ovulate till day 20. so i keep going to have needles prick me.

Don't be guilty. I wanted to get back my health fast so i can conceive again soon.

I think Dr Chew is good. But a little expensive. Dr Fong Yang is at Tiong Bahru & Paragon and Dr Watt is at Raffles hospital and compasspoint. Go check out forum under dr fong, seems like he is so likeable.

Hi Mei Ling,

Thanks for the prompt reply. How do u know ur ovulation date? The ovulation kit?

Im thinking of going to see the marine parade sinseh tmr morning. Called their shop but no one picked up, wondering when they open for business after the chinese new yr. How much is their consultation? How much did you spend in all?

Agree that Dr Chew's rates is expensive. His consultation is by time. Yes, Dr Fong seems quite popular. I did saw b4 on the forum.

Hi Twin Stars,

Yes, i depend largely on the kit to confirm within the 24hrs i will ovulate. cos the very last time i didn't, and the accupunturist felt werid that why Dr chew didn't ask me to visit him to scan if my egg is out. so i waited and waited until i cannot tahan, i called dr chew to scan me. So after that he gave me a jab to push it out and follow by jabs to help the implantation.

The sinseh is cheap, only $40. They are open today from 830 to 4pm. They will reopen on 29th i think. good luck!

So are you changing your gynae too?

Hi Mei Ling,

Thanks for the info. Most likely I shld be going down tmr. What is the process called? Sounds quite 'chim'. Is the implantation painful?

I still need to go for 2 more jabs for the endo. Im thinking of not going for monthly checks after the 2 jabs. Too expensive.... I heard KW Tan is good. The gynae is from Thomson. But the waiting time is very long. Still thinking....

Let u know after I go to see the marine parade sinseh k...

I am in my thirties and is trying to conceive. I recently changed my gynae to Dr Chew, who suspected I have endometriosis.
Can someone who has endometriosis tell me more about it, what is the cure, and how successful will you be if you ttc again?

Hi PiPi,

Did Doc Chew send you to do a vaginal scan to see if you have any cysts in your uterus? I went for it before and there wasn't anything. As i have been ttc for a while w/o success,Dr Chew also suspected i had endo. However i don't want to go through surgery due to the cost.

Have you been ttc for a while already?

Twin Stars, how's your visit to the sinseh?

melban,
Yes I have been trying for about a year already. If I have endo, I dont mind going for the Op. But do you have any idea what is the cost like?

Hi Mei Ling,

Gong Xi Fa Cai. Sorry for the late response. I went to the sinseh last week on 23rd but it was closed. I only manage to see him tdy. I told him of my condition n he asked me to go back after the 3 jabs. So he didnt prescribe me any medicine.

Dr Chew asked me to see him when AF reports. Guess it will be around 11-13th Feb 08 when I see him again.
Not sure if he is going to do a scan?

melban, did Dr Chew give you the scan on 1st-2nd day of AF?

Hi Pipi,

I have changed to my mum's gynae. so now i'm not with dr chew's anymore. But usually he will always do vaginal scan when he sees me.