Dr Chan from Glen E

Hi wendypooh, I don't think I can get to sleep tonite leh. Moreover, I got to reach GlenE by 6am tom.

hi giggler,

wow so early must go alry ah? then u should go back early today to rest. u need plenty of rest now so tat u have energy and time to play with your bb.

Giggler,

Just pop by for a quick congratulatory note to u! I was thinking of u as I juiced up my comp this morning ! have a blessed experience !

hi giggler,

we've chatted briefly before. just to pop by and wish you all the best! you're in good hands! very soon, you'll see your baby and swarm with blissful motherhood! envy..
take care and keep us posted.

hi wendypooh,
havent heard from you for quite a while.. how have you been? still having MS?

hi giggler,
guess you're enjoying motherhood now. do keep us posted on your progress, ok?

hi shuin,

thank for your regards. i really tie down with my work tat i dun have time to surf the net. a few oof my colleague on lonf leave until tat i have to cover for 2 pax. well tink due to the tiredness tat i feel my mornign sickness had been getting worst tis week. try not to tink abt it but make me really sick but cant go on mc. i'm so stress tat i cant even sleep well at night. hope my colleague can come back soon so i can take a break guess i have to than for another 2 week sigh...
sorry for my long grumble....
how abt your side, any frequent BD?
i looking forward for my check up next sat.

hi mel,
have not heard from u for soem time, u must be enjoy your motherhood now. how your little bb gettign on?

hi wendypooh,

oh i see... dont get too stressed up ok? not good for baby. health and baby development are more important now. yah, gotta BD more frequently cos it's my fertile period. meanwhile, take good care of yourself.

hi wendypooh,

yah, will be seeing him next month for hubby's 2nd SA and also to see what fertility treatments there are for us

hi wendypooh,

you must be really excited then!
i havent really heard much about him, only through this forum and also i'm trying not to talk so much about TTC with other people cos i'm now quite sensitive to this topic.
but i saw on his name card that he is a sub-specialist in fertility. hmm.. did you hear him treating those with fertility problems?

hi shuin

ya feeling quite excited cos have not seen the bb for a mth alry dr chan change my appt to once a mth
well i oso saw from his name card tat he specilise in fertility oso. but he can advise on fertility. heard "ribena" went checkup the other time and he teach her how to BD on the right date

Hi gals, I just finished my confinement last week. That's the worst part of my pregnancy. To think that I didn't have morning sickness and had a very smooth delivery but I really suffer big time during my confinement.

BTW, I'm really satisfied with Dr Chan. I really had fun during my delivery cos Dr Chan and Dr Tay (the anthestician) kept joking with us in the operation theatre. It kind of distract me cos I was very scared of the c-section op. Dr Chan was very fast. Everything was done in abt an hour and the most amazing thing is I don't feel discomfort at all. In fact, I can come down from bed the next day after my c-section. No one believes that I had c-section at all. It's totally different experience compared to the op that I had 2 years ago. Though Dr Chan's charge is high but it's all worthwhile. :)

Hi all, I will be seeing Dr Chan KH tomorrow. May i find out roughly how much are his charges? What I read from the archives of this thread is that the package is $770 after 22 weeks. What about before that? Thanks!

All of you seem to have very good comments about him.

Hi Giggler,
So long never hear from you..glad that you had a good experience with Dr Chan...wah serious not..you can come down nedt day after c-section and no pain and all that? wow!
confinement is bad eh? jialat hahaa...any pix of your child?

Hi Giggler,

Do u koe if Dr Chan do pap smear as well? coz i like to get him to do my papsmear n see if i am comfortable wif him. A colleagues of mine oso highly recommend me to him...

Btw, can i chk how much did u pay for everything after ur delivery??is it very ex? Coz i was deciding btw KKH n Dr chan...

tks

hi sweets

so nice to see u again long time never chat wif u alry. wat your job? i'm in my 19 week alry buy still feeling very tired.
btw i am not seeijgn dr chan anymore, cos i find the charges is far to high and delivering in Geln E will cost me a bomb. now i seeing gynae at kkh.

Will keep you update again

hi angeline,

yes dr chan do pap smear. i was wif him for 3 mth b4 i switch to kk. he is a nice guy, but no choice i haev to switch cos his charges is extremely high as compare to other pte gyane. his waiting time is oso very long esp sat, my longest record is waited for 2 hour.

u can try him if u dun mind the charegs

Hi Angeline,
Dr Chan does Papsmears...I feel very comfortable with him cos he chats and yatters a lot..and its nice that his wife is his helper nurse in the consulting room. She is great and comforting as well.

Wendypooh my job is ok...so fast u are 19 weeks already...
awesome eh? My husband just bought insurnace for me in Shanghai, so now we've got a choice if we wanna deliver here..cos private foreign hospitals are very ex as well...The package just for basic stuff is like 1500 USD !! crazy...

hi sweet,

so nice to know tat u are happy wif your job. so u dun intend to coma back SIN in the next few year? oh i never knew tat leaving in SHA is so ex.
SIN pte hosp are getting more and mroe ex, if Dr Chan can deliver elsewhere, i will probly stay wif him but his charges + GlenE package is killign me
u mean the lady Judy inside the consulting room is Dr Chan's wife?

Hi Sweets & Wendypooh

Can i chk how much is it roughly? i mean the papsmear n the delivery chrges....my fren said she paid ard $3k+....

hi angeline

i cant advise u on the delivery charges, as I only 19 week. i first went to him for pre-pregancy check done pap smear, culture test and cost ard $230
for my first 3 mth avery check up cost me abt $180-$200.
i switch gyane after tat so cant advise you any further

Opps..didn't know what I said was so shocking and illicit so many responses...yah..the lady with the maggi-mee hair and glasses is his wife
Looks so young hor? I went home to double check with my parents and they both said YAH! hahaa

Wendypooh, yup, we intend to be overseas for some years...but still indecisive on where to deliver our kids (we talk like we are ALREAY preggie like that) haha..but its just good to have both bases covered lar

Angeline, I've no idea how much the total charges cost...but bear in mind if your friend took Glen E single bedded with epi and what not, then the charges will be even higher lor...

One thing though, Dr Chan is very experienced, and gentle. So I feel very comfy with him. Helps that he helps my mother too...
No harm going in for a PAP smear rundown..since u need one anyway.

Yuru, His 3D scan IS amazing hor. He was fiddling with it when he did my checkup and michieviously said " we'd have more fun with this machine when u are preggie..." hahahaa

I am with Dr Chan too. Just to ask for all your opinions. I have quite a few spotting and bleeding incidents. I am only 7 wks Preg and have bled almost on alternate days. I went to see Dr Chan and he said that it is due to low lying placenta... He said nothing much could be done. He didn't order bed rest which I think many other gynaes would have(acc to my preg friends) and he also told me that I could go to work as per normal. He even said standing is no prob(cos' i'm a teacher). I am very upset cos I kept bleeding and he tells me that I can expect to bleed almost daily. So I am confused and wonder whether it is really ok. Hate to suffer a miscarriage. I know I am supposed to trust Dr Chan but .... my colleagues told me to see another gynae and seek second opinion. What do you people think? Thanks

hi wiz lim,

i think i share the same experience wif u. i have spotting in my week 5 and went to see doc chan but was told not nothing serious and due to low lying placenta. i was not given any bed rest too. heard most ppl will get at least 5 day of bed rest. i feel very uncomforatble after tat. most of the time if u ask him any food to aviod, he will say no. some ppl mind thin tat is good cos no pressure and restrition but i dun feel comfortable. but i keep tellign myself to trust him cos he is a good and popular gyane and i feel comfortable wif him too except those above problem.

anyway i given up on week 16, just b4 i took up the package. i find his consulatant charges are extremely high and waiting time is very long. Delivery at Glen E will cost me a bomb adn thru recomendation from friend , i switch to KKh and quite comfrtable wif the new gyane. I find KKh charges are more afforatable then pte hosp.

u still have soemtime to consider, do talk to a few freind who haev experience and decide.
dr cahn is a nice gyane except charges are high.

Hi yuru, I'm just back to work today! My bb is doing fine. In fact, she's so chubby that she needs to wear M size diaper now.

Hi sweets, I'm serious that I got no pain at all. Very satisfied cos I very scared of pain one. Heehee. I didn't know Judy is his wife leh.

Hi angeline, Dr Chan does pap smear also. Actually his charges are quite ex leh.

Hi wendypooh, you're rite that Dr Chan's charges are really high. But I think that it's all worthwhile. How are you doing now? Know the gender of your bb liao?

Hi wiz lim, I think you can trust Dr Chan cos he's very experienced. But if you not comfy then you better seek 2nd opinion. It's best that you feel good mah.

Tks for ur advice....will consider abt the cost factor oso...coz going to be very poor aftr the wedding...Me planning for a baby somewhere next yr after june...

haha...me abit kiasu ,rite...

Hi giggler,
great to hear that you are back to work! Did you BF your baby? is that why she's so chubby? hehee...I am sure you miss her alot! any pix to share?

Wizlim, if you are not comfortable, should seek a 2nd opinion. Dr Chan's advice is only 1 of the opinions out there anyway.

Hey Angeline, nah..not KS lar...;)

Hi sweets, I'm still bfg my bb. She weighs 5.8kg as of y'day leh. So happy with her weight gain. I sure miss her alot leh. Don't even feel like coming to work at all. I try to PM you her photo.

Thanks for all your support. I consulted Dr Adelina Wong at KKH. She did mention that it is not scientifically proven that work/activity is related to misscarriages (Same as Dr Chan) H/e, she didn't think that my bleeding is due to low placenta cos' she said it is too early to tell. Hmm, I am indeed a bit confused. Anyway, she gave me one week mc but guess I will just rest for 3 days. Think it is enuff. Hee, no choice, I am a teacher and the exam is coming soon.... Sigh. Will discuss with my hubby to see if we are changing gynae.

Hello giggler...
I am just browsing and saw you here... I think Dr. Chan got lots of patients. But is there only one Dr Chan at Glen E? When I went for my surgery, the lady next to me oso Dr. Chan's patient and he visited her twice a day. And he got like 8 patients in the ward... Seems like a very popular gynae...

Hi ULN, I not sure how many Dr Chan is there in GlenE. But I can tell you that he's an experienced gynae. At least, I didn't feel any pain after my c-section. Also, I could carry and bf my bb once after the op.

Hi JayKay,

Havent seen u for quite sometime.. Veri busy??
Yup, I went for my first consulation.. Can see the yolk sac and fetus quite clearly since he is using 3D scan...

Serrich,

Yes, have been quite busy with work because Dr Chan said that it may be good for me to give birth sometime around Christmas and New Year (which is my 37-38th week). Hence, I am trying to tie up loose ends in the office in case I go off for my maternity leave early. I hope Dr Chan will confirm inducing me for labour. I personally prefer to give birth early also.

It's good that you went for a check to make sure the sac in implanted properly. You must take good care of yourself from now on. The 1st trimester is the most crucial.
Don't you think his 3D scan is amazing? I saw my little boy yawning during my appointment yesterday. You will be able to see your baby as the pregnancy progress. It's a wonderful experience.

How do you find Dr Chan?

Hi JayKay,
When's ur next checkup? Have u decided on the date yet? Hmmm... Christmas is approaching, just another 3 weeks... U must be realli excited and looking forward to see & hold ur bb huh!!

I will be gg for my 2nd appt on Mon. So far, i find Dr Chan rather chatty and patient.. Anyway cannot conclude much on my first visit...

hi Yuru

You mentioned that there are only 5 of those 3D scan machines in Spore - was wondering if you know which are the other four gynaes who has it too. thanks

juz found out that i am pregnant and am looking for a gynea. frd recommended dr chan. wanted to check if he deliver at other hospitals, actually would prefer tmc or mt a then to glen e.
how's his stitching for c-section?

hi, don't think he delivers at other hospitals except at glen...

his stitching for natural birth is superb... so believe his stitching for c-section shld be superb too... even nurses praise him for his perfect stitches...

hi nurse and peppermt
can i know are any of these gynae with TTS or SGH? Cos i heard 3D scan at these hospitals are not so X, anyone have their contact no?

tks a lot

bortei

those tt i mentioned above r all in pte mainly ME, GEH

i dunno which hosp o & g centre has 3D scan... maybe u can try the O & G ctr in SGH and NUH

i'm new here.am looking for a good gynae. i'm not preggie yet but am looking for a good gynae which will hopefully eventually see me right through when we get preggie. my hubby really wants me to deliver at Glen E. am considering Dr.Chan.can anyone advise on his normal pap smear checks charges?