Any SAHM staying at Yishun?

i put my girl last year at Carpe Diem (3yrs old) - half day childcare and she enjoys it there. She's in PCF Nursery this year. The place is very big and very nice playground. I only feel that the place is a bit chaotic especially during the morning and afternoon where you sent them there and picking them up. Overall, I will give them a rating of 7/5 out of 10.

Happy Chinese New Year to all the mummies and babbies in Yishun and Sembanwan

Long time never post!

Cher, finally manage to get the price for Friso Gold 3. Cost $17.90 for 900g tin. Think not much diff from NTUC for Gold 3, right?

Hi ixwong!

Thanks for checking!! The medi hall near Khatib has ran out of Friso Gold 3 for the longest of time. Been buying frm NTUC at $18.50, so Blk 417 is still cheaper. Perhap will make a trip there tmr to stock up a few tins!

Yeah...this thread is kinda quiet lately. Wonder how's everyone doing...

hi everyone...
Agree with cher that this thread has been super quiet! we should revive it again girls! ;)

Btw, wanna ask u girls how often do ur bbs fall sick and how often is normal? Terelle has been falling sick v frequently since Nov and im really exhausted and kinda depressed. Seems like my BM is not "working" in protecting her against germs.
Any way to boost their immune system?

hi mashedB!

Sorry to hear abt Terelle, i hope she'll recover soon! So far, Gabby fell sick twice - 1st time fever followed by Raseola & 2nd just fever. Both were viral infection. It was really exhausted to nurse a sick child. Hang in there!

As for BM... Gabby was only partially BF for the 1st mth & after that she's on FM till now. She's been taking Delrosa Rosehip syrup which contains Vit C since young bcos she doesn't like plain water. I m not sure if this works..

Sometimes could be the environment, aircon system that causes allergy and subsequently fall sick. Hv u discuss wz her PD what is the cause?

BTW, how is Terelle's Shichida session?

cher,

Thanks for your concern...i went to get some multivits for bbs from GNC, hope it works to help boost her immune system abit.

Shichida is fun for terelle! She loves it! I on the other hand, am stressed out from making flashcards and keeping up with the home practices! hehe...

hi Michelle!

Welcome welcome! I think i "see" u at the Bayb supplies forum in some threads...hee...

btw where do u stay? im at yishun ave 6 lilydale condo. There are quite a few mummys here. ;)

Welcome michelle! Great to have you...MashedB & I trying to revive this thread! Hahaha

I m at St 81.

Me at Yishun Ring Rd, quite near Lilydale!

Mashed,
my boy oso fell sick with cough after CNY. PD said it's viral infection. Cough didn't go away even after 1 week w lot of phlgem in his throat. I was worried cos he keep coughing at night and couldn't sleep well, and people around me frightening me with talk on asthma! In the end, I went to buy the Hou Ning medicine from Eu Yan Sang. After 3 doses (1.5 day), he recovered liao cos phlgem all cleared. *whew*

hehe looks like this thread is coming alive again! Goody! ;)

ixwong,
wat is hou ning? my hb abit reluctant to give chinese med one leh...so dunno how. Can it be eaten tog with the english med?
Sounds v good this med...

hi mashedbrocolli,
Its from eu yan sang. I also thought of buying this but it's abit ex at $58. So now gathering receipt to get eu yan sang card cos that medicine got 20% discount this month...
My gal had alot of phlgem also..
So anyone with receipt maybe can PM me

Cakey,
Aiya, I throw away my receipt liao. If not, can give you.

Mashed,
I think Hou Ning is made from a mix of expensive herbs including pearl powder. We initially oso preferred not to give chinese med, but decide to try cos ds still not well after taking western med for 1 week. I was not keen to go back to PD and change to stronger med cos western med can be quite 'san'...Think as long as the chinese med is from reputable brand (like EYS) shd be ok? When I feed ds with Hou Ning, I dun mix it with western med. According to EYS staff, better to have a time separation of at least 3 hrs.

Michelle
I let ds take jing feng san, but didn't help. Never try pearl powder.

okie listen to u, ixwong...i asked hb to go get liao...fingers crossed terelle will recover aft taking it!! ;)

btw shall we have another gathering again soon?

ixwong, how much jing feng san u feed ur DS? how old is ur DS? I feed a tiny weeny bit only.. but dont know how much is effective..

mashedb,
FOr eastern side: Chinese TuiNa.. heard tat its really really good for removal of phelgm or improving appetite or general wellbeing.
theres one call YUGUO at changi.. very famous, many parents brot their bb n kids there. u want contact no n add i can sms u.
for the west side story: can give daily dosage of vitamins to bb.. multi vit or vit c? but best check with pd.
u can get from GNC or Vitakids (supposedly more 'pure')
when terelle is older (12m) can give Cod liver oil to boost immune sys.
i give my gal Nordic Cod liver oil n multivits bot from vitakids.
occasionally colostrum too.

Ix,
is HouNing the same as Hou Zao Shan?

heard tat Jing feng san not good to give to bb..
was it this med tat was in the news last yr n there was some warning abt it??

Michelle,
WELCOME

Hi All & welcome Michelle

Ix : Can Haowen wear the shoe? Tks for coming over to collect.

Mummies, need advice. My son running really high temp since Sunday. Stays at 38.6-39.4 and does not stay down long. Tried the usual western meds. PD say got stomach flu or UTI. Any suggestions on how to fight this bug??

Welcome Michelle!

So glad to see this thread come alive. I thought everyone forgotten about it.

Good idea to have a gathering. Must be on a weekend, any suggested place? After we confirm a date, will need to PM the other mommies. They could have lost link to this thread.

Lachesiz
ya, i think hou ning is hou zhai shan, at least that's what my mum said.

Michelle
I feed a bit only since he was only 2MO then. My mum is the one who keeps saying he got frightened so must take. I make sure the medicine is made in Singapore and not china....

Char77
the shoe size is just nice, but haven't let him wear formally yet. Must quickly do so b4 he outgrow them.

Hi mommies!

char77: if it's infection, let him drink more water. My mom gave DD 'ling yang' or 'yang cen' even barley water. The last time DD had Raseola, she was running high temp for 5 days..

Justmum: i hv been and still scouting around... so far my findings are:
1) carpe diem @ yishun polyclinic - affordable fees, spacious facilities, but i m still not comfy wz the fact tat it's abv polyclinic. still has vacancy
2) little skoolhouse @ Orchid CC - nice environment, fresh air, fees slightly higher, curriculum includes lotsa outdoors. the principal & staff not very welcoming. there's a long wait list.
3) my little campus @ khatib ntuc - new & clean facility, warm & friendly teachers. was there in the morning when the kids ariived, they seems to be enthusiatic abt going to school. classes full, earliest is jan 07
4) cherie heart @ jalan mata ayer - new sch, 1 month old, the place wasn't well maintained. small cozy place & friendly principal
5) greentree montessori @ jalan mata ayer - fee are pricey as montessori based. nice & clean environment.

hi girls...

ixong, i gave Terelle 4 doses of the hou ning oredi, but no improvement leh...wah heart pain and pocket pain...=( how come like dat ah?

Mashed
Aiyo, sorry to hear that Terelle still not well. She's still coughing? I oso not sure, but the hou ning works v well to rid haowen's phlgem and cough leh....

aaron has very bad rashes.. brought him to the pd yesterday, she said he has heat rash, eczema & fungal infection.. gave me steriod cream to apply on him, hopefully will help.. if not, i got to bring him to see a skin specialist at NSC already.

Btw, aaron rolled off the bed this morning at 4am.. luckily, the comforter was on the floor too, he yelled and i spring off instantly.. he picked him up, he stopped crying, and looked very blur.. don't know what had happened. I think i really got to let him sleep on the floor mattress liao.

cher,
the child care centre at my little campus @ khatib ntuc, thru yr description, sounds good leh.. I stay at blk 624 so it is very convenient for me if I'm planning to send aaron to child care when he is older. Do u know how much their charges are? I wonder do they do half day? Wah.. the earliest intake is in Jan 07!!! then got to call down to be on waiting lor!!! :D

mashed,
oh dear, terelle still feeling no good? U ever think of bringing her to TCM massage? Don't know whether can improve her health condition, but no harm trying.. feeding too many type of medication also no good for their little body.

mashed,
Hope Terelle recovers soon.

Stephy,
oh no, how come so serious. From heat rash turn into eczema. And the weather so hot lately. What is TCM massage? is it like baby massage.

small bell,

i not too sure whether his heat rash has developed into eczema.. the pd juz told me that he has mixture of heat rash, eczema & fungal infection.. today onwards, i will give him extra bath in the afternoon, hopefully it will help.

Ya.. TCM massage is massage done by chinese sinseh.. heard that there is one at changi called Yu Guo.. quite famous.

Tot of bringing aaron to try too one of these days.. quite out of the way.

Btw, juz now, aaron vomitted one chunck of phelgm.. aiyo.. dunno what causes it??? anyone has remedy to lessen phelgm?? Must be the baby bites.. must bar him from eating it liao.

stephy,

steriod cream is harsh on skin even for adult but it is definitely one of the most effective cream. Remember to apply thinly only and rub into the skin. Discontinue after healing...

I used to have eczema and doc also prescribed steriod cream for me. Result = good but can see that the skin that is applied with steriod is "shinny" (thinning..)

Justmum,

I snet my boy to Joy educare at Sembawang. It is those "bungalow" type and non air-con.
Fee is cheap. $200 for half day and $300 for full day (after subsidy). standard cant be compared to "branded" ones but on the whole is acceptable.
My boy knows how to say Monday-Sunday by himself
Taught at the school...

One major disadvantage of going sending to childcare= child falls sick more easily...

Jo,

i know using steriod is no good, especially for babies.. but no choice, feel so sorry for aaron, whenever he starts to scratch. Anyway, his condition has improved alot, now only left those on his tummy, hopefully it will disappear soon.

Hi, does anyone sent their kids for swimming and can you recommend swimming coaches? I prefer to be in Yishun as it's near my place.

Hi Mummy69,
My friend recommended me this swimming prog that he has his 3 kids in. They conduct at OCC and the S'pore Sport School at Woodlands. Starts for 9mths onwards. Been planning to call them or visit, but no time lah..

Speed Swim Aquatic Sports Club
91703765 / Email : [email protected]

Stephy, is Aaron rash better?
]
How about Terelle? Cough ok...

Mummies, anyone wants any stuff from fave nuts? I am planning to get raisins, cranberries and blueberries for Aiden. Let me know. Check out www.fave.com.sg

char77,

aaron's rashes are almost gone, i think bathing him 3 times a day helps alot too, starting tomolo, i will use dermaveen bath oil to bath him, hopefully, will stop the heat rash and eczema from coming back.

char77, I tried to call the number but they are never answered and the email bounces back too. Might to find somewhere else. Thanks for the infor anyway.

stephy
hope that aaron is better.
read already also 'sim tiar'
since he is scratching himself let him wearing the thin thin 100% cotton top at least more cooling n a bit of protection

mashed b
terelle recovered?
they said that cough got heaty or cooling kind.
u brought to chinese sen say?

char 77
i want to buy also.
1. iranian figs
2. blueberries
3. 9 grain blend
4. soy grit
possible to combine to get free delivery? :p

hi mummys...
Thanks for the concern, T is much better but still coughs once in awhile..and phlegmy. But it doesnt bother her so im not really overly concerned. I did ask my pd once abt cough but she said if their appetite is ok and they are their usual selves it should be alright. So just pray hard she doesnt fall sick again...im really soo tired...=(

thinking of trying Yu Guo one of these days. Maybe a few of us can go down tog and check it out with the bbs...=)

Mummy 69, issit? Hmm, I go check for u...

AC : No worries, do u want ONE packet each? My friend's son works there, so trying to use his staff discount. I will collect from her and pass to you, so no need delivery

Stephy, Dermaveen oil - never use before, does it work?? I am using 100% aloe vera that the pharmacy sells, seems to calm down the rash and treat the eczema.

ac :

aaron's rashes are totally gone.. Thank God. but i hope the hot spell will be gone soon, if not, the rashes will still be back.

I will let him wear holey singlet, and it is the thinnest type i can find.. but my place, can be very warm.. so doesnt' help much.

mashed :

hee.. good idea!!! i dont' mind to go :D

char77 :
it only helps to relieve the itchiness.. i personally used that when i got very bad rashes when having aaron.. ok, not bad, yr skin will not feel dry due to the bath oil. But got to be careful, can make your bath room floor tiles very slippery.

AC, our "fave" stuff have arrived. Have Pmed u my contact.

Stephy, have voted for Aaron - so cute...

Anyone going for Motherhood Expo this Sat?