(2013/04) April 2013

Hi all mummies

I did a test yesterday night, the line is quite 'light', not very obvious, I used WatXXX brand pregnancy testor.. my last period was 11/7. Is it still too earlier to check?

I'm abt 5 weeks now. Thinking of making appt to see gynae next sat

MH,

If you want an accurate test, use first urine sample after you wake up in the morning. But I think you are preggie, cos if you arent, there wont be line at all

Hi Sam,

Haha, because I felt very hot at night and sleepy for the past few days, so I am eager to know if I am pregnant
anyway, I think that I will buy 'clearblue' to test after 1 week again.

MH, my LMP was 12 July and I tested positive using ClearBlue Digital with Conception Indicator on National Day. Like what Sam suggested, use 1st morning urine. But, a faint line is still considered positive. U may want to do another test and see how. For me, I went to my GP to do a HCG Beta Blood test to verify.

It depends on which lab your GP is sending it to. it costs S$30 for Quest Laboratories. I did the 1st on Fri, 10 Aug, and a 2nd on Sunday to check if the HCG level is at least doubling due to my hormonal imbalance.

MH,

You are very steady. I'm the kan cheong type, even though this is my #3, I tried Watsons first, bot 2 pcs pack and had faint line. In the line, bot 2 pcs Clearblue and had it confirmed within 2days. Hehe

MH, admire your patience too! I took the clearblue test last monday which showed a strong positive (line was very dark and obvious). But wasn't feel very well, so headed to GP on tuesday and gynae on wednesday.

Oceanblue - I am seeing Jocelyn Wong from ACJ clinic in TMC. You?

Shirelle/Oceanblue-
I am also very senstive to smell this pregnancy vs previous , which i dont seem to have much signs at all apart from being hungry.

Twinklestarworld - Take good care !

Tiara, I'm seeing dr Peter Chew for 1st appt as he is my gynae then I'm going to start seeing Prof Mary Rauff at NUH from 10th week onwards. reason for the switch is because my company only covers bills from restructured hosp.

Is it normal to feel pants / skirts tightening so early into the preg?

Thanks mummies.

I juz came back fr Gynae's side. Thought I can see the sac but nothing can be found. Gynae is putting me into 2 blood tests, today and wed to see the results. also to check if it's a healthy pregnancy. Gynae still asked me want anything or not (meaning medicine). I asked him if I need it or not. So in the end, gynae never give me anything. he sounded like if it's an unhealthy preg, take med to keep it there might not be useful. cannot find the sac means what, too early (i'm 5w+ now) , unhealthy (m/c?) or ectopic pregnancy ? he gave me these 3 conclusions. I am seeing him again this wed. See how thing goes..

Twinklestarworld,

Maybe its really too early to see anything as yet. How you find the gynae? How much you pay arh?

sam, gynae not bad leh, at least I am comfortable talking to him. I didn't wait very long, almost around the stated appt time despite I called up today.

I paid #267.50 in total without medicine but with consultation, scan and lab test. my consultation is a little long. When I was paying i saw there is a price range for consultation <10mins and 11-20 mins. I think I fall under the 2nd category.

twinkle, stay positive. my gynae told me to return in 2 weeks' time to monitor the growth of the fetus too. overall I paid $200 for consultation, medicine and radiology!

just wondering, anyone here with maids? any idea how to tell hb's relatives to stop asking our maid to do things for them?

twinklestarworld,

$267.50 quite ex leh, at least to me. my gynae bill normally within $130 or so, but this is excluding meds.

Hi twinklestarworld. Stay positive ok which I m trying to be too.
Take care ok!!

My gynae charges $55 for repeated consultation, $85 for u/s

Shirelle, sorry I don't have maid.. But maybe suggest to your hb relatives that you need yr maid more now and have no time for them. Try saying no and soon they will not bother u again?

Congrats &amp; welcome MH.

@shirelle, maybe you can teach your helper to answer 'i'll first have to ask ma'am.' Then you can tell your relatives that you dont want to get into trouble by the law and that you dont want to lose your maid in case she or her friends complain about to mom.

My spotting came back again slightly more like 3 drops like that. Doc asked me to see him this week instead of next week but due to lack of leave I chose sat instead. Should I wait or should I go earlier? I'm feeling paranoid now. Was told to rest more was thinking should take mc or not. Sian..

I might not be able to join u all Liao. My hcg beta is decreasing. From sat 41.5 to last night is 26... HaiZ....

sam, ya lor, my hb also said so ex. I think the expensive part come fr consultation. talk to gynae a bit longer, i was charged on the higher end plus some blood test i need to go thru. Hopefully the subsequent consultation, i don't hv to pay so much.

macam, why not see gynae abt yr spotting and get a mc from him? Then go back and rest after seeing him.

Sigh I was spotting yesterday rush to kkh for u/s and doc say everything well ... But this morning spotting again

twinklestar, I also think it maybe too early to detect anything. Share with you ladies something. My MIL when expecting my husband was told that she wasn't pregnant till abt 4mths. All the tests came back negative. So, now, he always says he is just a figment of people's imagination. Anyway, my pt is sometimes it's too early to detect anything in the sac. Just stay strong and hang in there. What will be, will be
But, your consultation fee is really exp. But as long as u fele comfortable with him and can afford it, then I guess it is fine
Did u ask for a bill breakdown? They can and shld provide u with that if requested.

Hi ZC, welcome and congrats! Unfortunately, I don't know any female gynae in KKH. I was seeing a male gynae but not going back to KKH to f/u. I think it's normal to feel weird down there. I felt it too. For last week, it felt like my period is coming. It felt full.

Trinitymummie, welcome and congrats! The clearblue indicator will be fun
I used that as my 1st test as that was the only 1 I had at home. haha. Let us know the result ya?

Macam, I strongly suggest to see the doc earlier. If not, go to A&amp;E. Spotting is not something to be taken lightly. Do take care!

Cheryl, I'm sorry to hear that
What did the doc say?

Sam,

Wah, this is your #3!! How old are your #1 and #2? This is my #2

Shirelle,

Actually I am very kan cheong too. That time when I had my first child, the 4th week and 6th week went to gynae, can't see anything then the gynae said that there are lots of possibilities and asked me to go back at 8 weeks... so after I experienced this, I decided that I don't go to gynae so early!

twinklestarworld,do share your next bill with us. if PT is so ex, i wont be changing to him lor :p

MTBs with spotting, hope all goes well with you. Dont get too stressed out.

ocean blue, thanks for giving me some hope. I hope they will find the sac eventually.

Last time when i was seeing my #1 gynae , it was also close to $200 for the first time too. I was expecting that range too but didn't expect it to go up so high. I guess it's the additional blood test i need to go thru. yup, they gave me a breakdown.

Twinkle
I am 6 wks and detect heartbeat

Ocean
I was given hormone pill ...

Hope everything is fine ... I had a miscarriage last feb ..

Divein
Has your doc done any progesterone check on you yet? 1 of the reasons for miscarriage can be due to low progesterone hence, the hormone pill shld help. I'm also low on progesterone but am on progesterone jab twice a week and have to do a blood test once every 2 weeks and adjust the progesterone shots accordingly. I hope everything goes smoothly for you.

Hi ocean
I had a similar exp in feb that time I tell myself I Hv to try all ways to save I took progesterone pills and jabs I bed rest but in the end din turn out well. My hcg was dropping despite my progesterone lvl was in 3rd trimester level ... I understand things are meant to be ... My gynae is very kind he saw me breaking dwn and explain the whole process of why this will not be a healthy birth ...

I am doing wat I can now I hope bb can be strong

Welcome trinitymummie!

Zenn and zc, thanks for your advice. Hb's relatives have their own maid. But dunno why they kept asking our maid to run errands, etc. Their maids only need to do housework Co's the kids are in jc /secondary school, whereas my girl is only 6. We fold them many times that my girl is still young and needs an adult at home, hence, our maid can't keep going out of the house to help them. My maid also told us that she doesn't like it as she doesn't feel that it is fair to her, but left with no choice Co's my hb's aunt will call her and scold her if she refuses to help.

Really v upset. Just had a huge quarrel with HBO yesterday Co's his aunt wants our maid to brew some stuffs for his grandma and deliver it to her house. But... there is a maid at grandma's house who is v free. Sigh!!!

On a side note, just wondering how much do u ladies normally pay for each visit to gynae?

Divein,

Don't be sad. I always tell myself some things are meant to be, if its yours, nothing can stop it from coming. This is my mentality when carrying bb lor :p

Anyone looking for day time nanny in CCK, pls pm me. Helping my aunt source for babies to look after.

Just a small intro, my aunt used to look after babies during her younger days before her marriage, after married she is a full time housewife looking after her 2 kids now aged 21 &amp; 18. She's very clean &amp; hygienic.

Do let me know if u're keen to engage her service Mon-Fri with babies leaving at her place. She is staying at CCK Ave 3. Pls email or PM me [email protected]

Divein sorry to hear about your loss previously.

Macam. All the best to you. Stay positive ok.

Shirelle, since they have maids themselves and why are they keep asking your maid to do stuff? Have u found out why? Your maid is better in the sense of cooking and efficient?

I just came back from the thyroid specialist. He is an experienced doctor (old doctor). He doesn't seem to think my condition will affect the baby or it is serious even though my tsh reading is higher than the lab range. He is just so relaxed and should I be worried that he is too relax. What he said is totally different from what I read from the Internet. He will only see me in 30 days later.

Zenn, I think you shld trust him. After all he is definitely has wealth of experience and has definitely seen cases that are not textbook examples. Try to relax. In the meantime, if there is any changes in your situation or u don't feel right, u may want to check with his clinic or just go straight to A&amp;E. Take care, ya?

zenn, if you are still worried, you might want to seek a second opinion. Imo, the most impt thing for us now is to relax, stress is bad for baby too.

my maid is no different from the other maids. In fact hb's uncle's maid is very experienced. HB's aunt has the habit of calling our maid to order her to do stuffs. Previously, she'll call us last min on fridays to tell us that she brought our girl and maid out, and then at night, maid will stay at her place until the next day or return on sunday. really exasperating! It's like taking advantage of our "off-days" on weekends.

Worse thing is, PILs are supportive of this maid sharing thing. They don't get it that it's both unfair to the maid and against the law. Also risking my girl's safety if maid has to keep running errands for others - very tiring and end up she has no mood to take care of my girl properly.

Thanks oceanblue &amp; Shirelle. I will see how the scan goes on Friday &amp; see if I would need 2nd opinions. I m feeling warm inside my body but no fever. Finding it strange

Sigh Shirelle, seem hard to tackle. Coz your hb &amp; PILs doesn't think is a great deal that the relatives is using your maid. So is only u with no support. Hb might find it hard to speak up to them too. Let me think again if got win win situation.

Btw my sis is delivering in oct. today she has blurred vision &amp; flashing spots. What would cause that?