(2011/08) Aug 2011

those older aunties say that chix essence is supposed to give us the energy to push bb out. Most of those in our mum's era will tell you they take chix essence before going to hospital to pop.

cutie, for #1, the midwife and nurses were abit sacastic when they said i try to be hero by not taking epi... i juz ignored them coz dun wanna hv any allergic effect that prevent me from seeing my baby... jia you -- hope we can hv do it [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

BDQ, my mum called me this morning as she received a missed call last nite -- thot i given birth oledi *haha* i sure hope my baby bunny will be good and stay till 13 aug [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

thanks for your reminder -- think i better pack chicken essence n my hospital bag, too... may be going to hospital from work place...

pipi, keep cool... stay happy n try not to shout/scream... my fren's waterbag burst when she shouted/scream at her son!

ur backache may be due to ur sleeping position... i cannot sleep at 45 deg as the big tummy is pulling the weight down one side and cause discomfort...

can get ur mum to help massage ur back? use the palm near the wrist and rub in circular motion down ur spine (taught at pre-natal class)

hmm, my first sign of labour is not backache... hope u can tahan till u see gynae tomorrow...

Pipi,

thanks for sharing [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

maybe can ask hb to rub oil on ur backache, no need to rub so much juz make sure back feel warm. My hb did that for me for the past few weeks and works.

adv_sports,

yes, we jia you..

BDQ: ahh.. hmm.. my ML not based according to contract one, cos i work for family business im allowed time off whenever i want when i feel is most reasonable. thats why im having time off starting from now when im supposedly 3 weeks+ more till EDD.. and after baby is out.. i will work when i can.. just too make sure that my projects are up to schedule..

i'm currently 36w4 as of today.. but have a strong feeling will be due within the nx 2 weeks.. tomorrow got check up.. so will get bags stand by just to KS abit.. incase they want me suddenly check in :p

pipi.. hughug jia you! last lap already!! hehe my bff was saying "dont stress yourself, she can feel de"

keep your spirit up mummies !!! soon our bb will be in our arms. And no more big and heavy stomach. I am really looking forward to have a good sleep without the big tummy !! And peaceful sleep without having to go toilet so many times at night [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

BDQ,

i read smthg abt skin rashes on the babycenter website. the acronym is PUPPP,i rem cos itz so unique. maybe u can google can find out mre? hope to find sm ways to relieve the itch?

adv_sports,cutie,

will go browse the BP when i gotta time.

gilera,

nurse will make u walk next day after csect and need to pass motion once during ur stay. i rem thinking the nurses crazy to make me walk and i keep telling them i cant. but really itz smthg to get it over and done with and the sooner the better.

i ve been reading the book by Brooke Shields abt post partum depression. very insightful,esp the part where she describes her feelings abt gg back to work and hw she felt being torn between being with her bb and back to working world.

it was exactly hw i felt when i went back to work after #1..tot i was gg crazy back then. to see those feelings put into words made me feel normal and comforting.

i had a bout of PND with my #1. nw doing all i can to pre-empt it. i suppose most new mummies will experience certain degree of it,juz that no1 wanna talk abt it. im reminded to talk to my doc abt tis on my next visit..juz to standby some help/info in case..

rest well all mummies!

Wow sungrapes so late still boh sleep?I just had 2 durians n a cup of campbell soup!I had depression too aftr my no.1 so tiz x i told myself nt to kp during confine n to really rest

Well n juz concentrate on BF only!Depression sucks n took a long x to overcome all the emotions....

Sungrapes:my cl dun mind was bt she wans machine wash..claims tt nowadays tt wat all mummies do n oso all use diapers nvr use nappy cloths..out of the 3CL ladies,3 of them say same way..guess they realli earning easy money fm our hard earned money[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

I only walked to attend latchinh class aftr gynae too out my urine tube on 3rd day...

3 mre wks i will b able to c my no.2 really can't wait to c looks like who...my no.1 says look like her!lol!She is lookh fwd to being a cheh cheh really heartwarming to c her like tat..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

By the way hw many of r using nappy cloth during first mth?or is it only me ah?

Pipi, my mum's heart not very good oso, on long term medication, but just she tot she can help, then i just let her come and keep me company, and provide some golden advice and do the cooking. BB care will mostly be myself. Hope by doing more, i can loose my weight back to pre-preg lo. Just to console myself. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Cutie, yup, chicken essence suppose to give you energy to push, coz we nid to work like "gu li" aka hard worker to push bb out. So, nid the chicken essence. Few young friends at our age, proven said help woh... and no nid epi some more! So, i diligently packed into my hosp bag, and kip 2 bottles at the table top with keys, to remind myself to drink before i go hosp. So, well backed up! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Wah... adv_sports, your mum superb! But i dreamt that I checked in to Mt E and kena reject back, said false alarm. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] Think too stress liaw bah!

Jess... oh... no wonder your working pattern is flexible. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Good for you and the post confinement bb care too... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I had insomia today... flip here and there from 3am till now, still can't sleep, so wake up eat instant noodle and hope after this post, can nap a while, else later don't know what i will be doing to my system. Siaw liaw!!!

Thanks Sungrapes. Will read it up. I can't sleep partly coz my body itchy like hell, and partyly the brain is thinking about the BBQ stingray. Anyone know if Sengkang area has a nice BBQ stingray? Crave for it since weeks, but didn't manage to go out to eat. Pathetic! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

For the pubic pain physio

can find out more wat kinda physio was taught?

Been aching these days dunno how to resolve.

Get up after rest seems worse like it stiffened.

anyone can share their fish oil content and price?

my doc charge $60 for one month supply saying the content better than GNC. quite costly lei. finding alternative.

Dhaxtra Softgel

DHA 430mg

EPA 90mg

I just came back from my check up (wk 37). Complained to doc that I feel miserable cos my backache has shifted waist level to below waist level. Gynae believed it is bad posture/sleeping position which caused me to be so miserable. Why? I had CTG done today and can see that I only have very very very mild contractions every 20-30mins. But baby movement is active. Then gynae also did the very test to chk if cervix has opened (which hasn't). He showed me the scan and told me the cervix is still V-shaped, so it means baby is still not low yet. I told him I got groin ache/pain which is getting from bad to worse, he replied that first preg is always like that, more tightening feeling as your flesh not elastic yet. He oso prescribed some gel for me to put on those achy parts.

Gynae also told me that if the time has arrived, all the water retention will disappear b/c of frequent peeing. (so that is a SIGN for us) I even asked him how to speed things up (baby come out faster) He told me curry or sex. Hahahaha I had curry but no sex. I think if my hubby dare to touch me now, I will kill him cos I am already so miserable! And in my mind, sex is not even in the picture frame.

baby gal is 2.7-2.8Kg (wk 37) I gained 300g from last week (wk 36). I think ok cos I don't want to put on too much weight now and be a hippo which cannot lose those fats. Happy that baby is now around high 2kg. As for now, looks like I gotto wait till the first week of Aug for bb to pop.

BDQ: The nearest to get stingray in my head is chop chomp, more variety and selection. But if your area has food court, some of them sells. But honestly v few stalls will sell cos not many ppl will eat such stuff in foodcourt. My dad went marketing and bought mussels and clams back. So I has sambal mussels and stir fried chilli clams for lunch/dinner yesterday.

BDQ: You sure you can eat seafood cos you said you are itching. I remembered the other time I had those "hum" then I also itched and I nvr eat "hum" again.

Gilera: My gynae finally prescribed me a gel to apply on achy parts after I told him I am miserable. Even the nurses at KK saw me asked me if I need wheel chair. I cannot walk staright now...walk like a Ah Ma, bend my back and holding my tum. *can u imagine?* Doc ask me to go swimming, then hubby said I had trouble walking down the stairs so how to go swimming pool. (I usually go to the club to swim and from the deck to the pool area, there is this staircase and I dun think I can ever climb down successfully nw.) Was thinking of public pool but so many ppl, I scared later frogstyle expert 'frog' my tummy! *maybe I paranoid*

Alright, tt's all from me, tok to you guys later. I wanna enjoy the cool breeze now...

PIPI

thanks - will ask for that gel , it must be some muscle rub crewam thinggy? but seems pain comes from the pubic BONE though...

LOL - i knida wish HB will touch me but i think its abit 'wrong' since BB is inside me . like raping his son. ahahhaha

your gal is a good weight... hapy for you and yes finally theres rain! are u on ML already?

was also advised to swim but wondering how to get in and out of pool - havent attempted swimming yet.

Any rec for comfy bras now? Underwires are killing me. Non wired ones r like so shapeless. Cup side nv increase only chest length. End up look like Madonna pointed boobs with non wired bras. Help!!!

cannot even see that area now lor - usually will pluck those horrible thick ones.

BB kicking somewhere that makes me wanna pee its very annoying that my hands feel weak!

cannot even see that area now lor - usually will pluck those horrible thick ones.

BB kicking somewhere that makes me wanna pee its very annoying that my hands feel weak!

wen,

durians at 3am in the morning?

im natural nite owl,need to make sure im really sleepy b4 i turn in cos i dun wanna toss and turn in bed, mind unable to switch off. then all i can feel is bb kicking and the groin pain.

tatz y had depression for #1 cos cant rest well at nite and morning of course cant wake up as well. whole day like ZOMBIE, felt so incompetent.

thinking abt it now makes feel *sick*

woke up 2day feeling so emo. told my hb how i felt and made him promised not to let me go crazy..

this time round oso afraid my emotions will affect my ds1. wun be fair to him if he kena becos of my own blues. must really really watch myself this time.

haahaa.. i also totally cant see at all. That's why have to use mirror then can trim.

I dont like to shave due to ingrown hair after that.

huh!!?? u pluck ? that's torturous !

i asked my fhilipino maid many times if she noe hw to take care of bb. she is not married,no kids. she very confident say yes cos she say she took care of her neice since bb.

so yesterday i gv her my boy's elmo stuff toy and ask her demo hw to carry, burp and pretend bath position. wah piang! i watch her fumbling and my heart SUNK to my toes!

so nw gotta make plans for her to attend crash course..shd have let her attend the prenatal classes.

She cant even hold elmo properly..let alone a real bb rite? i oso dun dare let her carry my bb lor!

*PANIC*

Pipi, ya lo, i think i better "ren" not to eat, coz my itchiness get worse, till napping oso can't really nap. Very torture ler.

Your bb got good weight liaw. I'm happy enough if I can hear my gal got 2.5kgs on Monday morning when seeing my gynae.

Nice ler you, got mussels and clams... make me hungry now. Hmm... u very bad! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Pipi, Gilera, can swim. i still swim, in fact i enjoy the time in the pool, coz the whole weight was lifted from the leg. The pool i went is got steps one. So, i just climb up lo.

I just shaved mine, coz whole body itchy, including the one down there. So, tot shaved liaw easier to maintain and 'scratch' if itchy again tonite. ~_~

r (melody1281)

pluck just our pubic area not in between legs...

b4 preg still can tahan, now the skin like super sensitive - thats y nv go wax. maybe waxing place got numbing cream better.

coz of groin pain, i keep soothing groin area, feel the little pokey hairs and got angry so i shaved them.little pokey hairs will return ! i know it !

sungrapes (sungrapes)

concerned that you have been feeling so down. is it you uncomfortable so grouchy or are u stressed out?

do whatever you can to relax and have a good sleep. sob and vent out if u need to then get over it. ur moods affect everyone ard u.

maids sure say YES to everything la. omg, i can imagine her scene with elmo... i think you should give her a chance under your supervision when BB arrives.

anyone popped yet - i wanna hear birth stories leh

i feel so full aft a super heavy teabreak..

i still shave, juz shave even i cant c, juz feel it loh..

got menses cramp feeling again..

Think next mth, we will c everyday got aug11 popping haha..

climbing up the pool ladder must be like climbing a tree for us now. coz we wet and heavy then climb that ladder to dry space can imagine the gravity pulling us back down.

i need to rackee which pool not so much ppl.

good afternoon mtbs [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

busy day at work with meeting n report... TGIF!

BDQ, i also craving for stingray but abstain due to high mercury content...

hmm, must plan a good feast before i pop -- else gotta tahan till after confinement...

pipi, ur gynae sounds v nice and patient [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] hope the cream helps to relieve the aches...

as for curry, i had diaherra after eating curry that triggered my early contractions for #1... so this time, i avoid curry...

as for swim, try to go to a pool with steps -- then dun hv to climb up/down the pool ladder... i feel like a whale -- to lazy to go for a dip... plus my swim suit is not able to cover my stretchmark *yucks*

as for water retention, now at 36.5wk -- no pig trotter legs yet *touch wood* dunno if i will be lucky to escape it this time...

melody, i cannot see even with mirror! like cutie, i shave based on feeling *haha* anyway, nurse din shave for me when i delivered #1 -- so dun think they will shave this time...

sungrapes, hope u will have a better rest this time... happy mummy = happy baby [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

my hubby is abit stressed(with my impending bomb) and he is showing impatience with my #1 -- hv to remind him to be patient... my #1 is my source of happiness -- juz hope she dun feel neglected after didi is out...

juz a thot, the signs of labour r

1) the show

2) waterbag burst

3) contractions

is it possible to have waterbag burst without the show? can cervix dilate without the show?

oh, must remind myself to put the underpad on my bed! procasinate for 1 week oledi!

enjoy ur weekend!

Pipi, gilera > I've been swimming at public pool since 2nd tri, of cos with hubby swimming nearby & watching out for "torpedos". took us a while to figure out the off-peak timings - sat 8-9pm, when all swimming classes have ended. the pool closes at 930pm. 1 hr is more than enough for me. so may be u can try.

i use the medium pool with water only up to waist height. what i do is sit at the side of the pool then lower myself in slowly. getting out is more challenging cos tummy very big now. so i'll lift myself & sit at the edge of the pool, then slowly "roll" out from the side, with hubby supporting/pulling my arms.

It's nice to swim cos take the weight off the legs & also, breaststroke kicking is quite soothing for my painful pelvic bone area. think my bunny also "swims" while I swim, as I can feel her kicking in rhythmn, so cute [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

but remember to wear gd anti-slip slippers/shoes, cos shower area / pool side may be very wet & slippery.

Gilera, where you stay? If you stay near buangkok, can go swim together at The Rivervale condo. ;) Let me know if you nearby.

Adv_Sports, not only must control till confinement, even when we breastfeeding, we oso got to control the intake right? Means another 7 months lo, 1 month confinement + 6 months if we want to b/fing for 6 months, correct?

So, if not my itchy skin, I will surely go eat tonite. Now, still "ren".

Pipi, I have been eating curry since 1st trimester. So effect ler. In fact, I just had curry 2 days in a row. Touch wood, so far so good. Before preggy, i didnt like spicy food. But this gal, may be like the dad, like spicy food. So, her nick name is "la mei" coz she likes spicy food. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I will be going for a swim again after I watch the korean show at U channel. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Whoever at Buangkok area and want to join us, feel free to pm me. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Thanks for ur invite. I live in Yishun lei..... Lol

DC- imagining u roll out of pool damn funny. I think I will also hv to do that lor. Good that all swim! Must be fit n happy!

i also want to swim.. but i think it's abit late to invest in maternity swimsuit! :p

i didnt know curry can trigger contractions.. but my tastebud cannot take spicy anymore [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] little bit i want to spit out already sigh..

jess > my maternity swim wear also cannot cover my whole tummy by now, so u might as well just wear bikini then, not in the way of the tummy [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

wen,

me using diapers..convenient and oso free up the CL, she can concentrate on bb or cooking. but i do hv frends who still uses cloth nappies cos they r afraid bb will be allergic to diapers or get nappy rash.

gilera,

thks for ur concern. the discomfort of the last trimester is getting to me.

itz all the hormonal imbalance after childbirth and smthg we cant control which makes me feel vunerable.

adv_sports,

hw old is ur #1?

Sungrapes: I oso contemplating on echeap duapers like petpet for daytime..bt c how..cse never use petpet b4 duno hw gd or not.

I oso like u v fearful depression creeps bk on me..so tiz x i die die oso request fir CL to help.At 1st hub n Mil say gt maid can liao!Siao hw much can a maid help if just employed!!They tink so easy aftr givin birth really is a toil on

Body n Mental state whether natural or C sec..smemre i really wanna rest as much tiz x dun wanna look aftr bb n end up bkache n fatigue.

Oh ya bt the chix essence,i took one before gg hospital for my no.1 but my fren says shouldn't wor..so dunno wat is wat..anyway tiz x i gg for c sec so will not take as scared loose even mre blood since chix essence boosts blood circulation.

3mre wks to go for me...c all the lovely cutey pies in FB realli v envy n can't wait to c my lil one

jess > with your hubby in tow, no one who dare to stare la! anyway, stretch marks are our badge of honour now [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

DC :: haha.. my hubby dunno how to swim one :X but i just bought 2 swimsuits for the little one to swim later in the year! too cute!

wen,

i bot drypers and goon. nv tried goon brand b4 and many say is gd so got 1 pack frm the last bb fair to try out.

i dun take the usual confinement food, ginger and rice wine, vinegar. so when the CL made all these evday i freak out and totally no appetite and cant imagine i gotta eat these for 30days!

when ur edd and when is ur csect?

im due 28aug and the doc wanna csect on 16th, which i feel itz too early!

Sungrapes:tiz x i hiring CL i oso worry leh cse i dun take alcohol n ginger v worey she force me to eat cse i dun like as will b bf leh...my due date is 24aug buy c sec on 11aug in wk 38.Usually wk 38 gynae will ask to c sec liao if u opt for it..oso dunno wat the reason..my bb still small only2.2 kg at wk 34 so i guess he will born lighter than his sister :/

Weather is so hot still i tink will stick to nappy cloth for day cse anyway i bght the Pigeon liners liao.Night i intend give pampers or Mammy Poko as they r comfy n won't leak.Laz x my no.1 i tried Nepia leaks so nt gonna buy tt.Gooon is ex right?

wen,

doc doesnt wan us to go into labour naturally else will consider as emergency csect if anythg goes wrong.

my bb is 2.12kg at 34wks. so hw to fatten him up in time for csect? my appetite is oso limited.

last time my CL oso force me to eat. she say dun eat all these hw can? wat i wanna eat? i told her juz cook normal food can alrdy.

Sungrapes:ya lor my placenta is low tt why advise c sect as it blocks cervical so v unlikely can natural..mine oso 2.2kg at wk 34 leh my mum say so small n for a boy..CL oso say bt there noting i can do!me too dun seem v big appetite for tiz pregnancy,unlike for my gal laz x...Bt i saw many in FB deliver oso less than 3kg n mostly boys!

Hey mummies, what breast pumps did u buy? I've bought almost everythng except the pump. Think I'll get Medela but not sure which model. Will be going back to work after maternity leave so will probably need to express it at workplace.

Can someone recommend a suitable one?

2day so low energy! gotta drag myself up frm the couch and bring my boy to the beach for cycle, else he very poor thg, cope up at home. surprisingly, after a slow walk and sitting in the sea breeze for awhile, my tiredness went away and i felt much better!

dandelion,

i got the avent Uno. 1st time using this brand.

last time i used medela mini electric,but is very noisy.

Morning all,

sungrapes - when I told my gynae that I am aching all over, he recommended swimming but my hubby told him I got probs even climbing the stairs, let alone swim. Anyway dun think I wanna swim now cos I will be due first wk of Aug. Imagine my bag burst and I still think its nothing(ie: swimming wear dripping water) - wow piangz!!! (ok, maybe too dramatic but first time mum so abit gan cheong)

Adv_sports: The gel which doc gave me was pretty good, relieved my backaches and should aches. No smell, no super hot feeling oso...v mild but v effective. I think I got a nice doctor(per review from most nurses), and equally as KS as me. He knows I am gan cheong spider so he try not to tell me too much to make me worry. Everytime I ask, he will answer my qns. I need to go on CTG again for this week's check up (wk 38). Do you have it too?

I told the gynae if this one is a tramatic exp, I think one bb is enuff. Then he says..."one child will become v spoilt brat, like my cousin!!" Sharks me! should have asked him "then how many kids you have!" (which I didn't)

dandelion - I got the Medela Fresstyle (imported set) from a forum mummy who oragnised the spree. Not exp, about SGD 400 max. Local price is SGD 960