(2011/06) June 2011

Hi Rata,Clare and Victoria,

Thanks for your concern. I'm feeling much better now.

I went to my gynae for the report yesterday. T18/T13 results are gd in 1:5digits range, except T21(DS). The ultrasound scan for T21 is 1:2600+ quite gd but got pulled down by my blood test to overall 1:270 so it's at higher risk as cut off is 1:300 for T21. Gynae suggested amniocentesis to confirm since he says the symptoms may not be able to pick up during detailed scan at 20 wks. He gave me until end Dec to decide when I see him at my 16 wk.

I read some postings on 2009 entries on post oscar tests results and felt more relieved that there were cases of bad results but end up bb is ok after amnio. Just hope bb is healthy and fine.

happy, good to hear dat u r better [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

welcome back Diana, [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Happy: glad to hear you're feeling better. hugz

JJ,enjoy shopping online!

Christy,yah..try to sun it...

Ann,I think cooked pineapple can eat,coz not liang already.

I had double boiled coconut soup weeks ago in front of all the aunties,they say cooked already can eat,no effect Liao.

Qiuen,I had been having 24hours hot pot at home..coz I never really go out..everyone lazy to cook..so we prepare tons of veg n fish n chicken n eat steamboat whenever hungry..can try hotpot if u are at home.. Lol

Hello mdm khoo,how are u?

Happy,glad to hear u are feeling better.when will be ur next visit ?I had frens that went for amino n so far all went well.

I m sure yours will go well too.pray for you ok?

My dh just told me to stop buying preggie clothes,if I still want to go for 2 nd honeymoon after pregnancy..ok..I will not go online to see anymore stuff..lol

qiuen > thank you [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Clare > I am fine thank you [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Clare,

Good to hear that you are better. I also get worked up about tiny details then after that I wonder why I got so worked up! Must be the pregnancy hormones..keke. I'd prefer local schools cos international schools defeat the purpose of being more sgporean right? hehe.. but of course if they can't cope, then also no choice. Is the medium of instruction in taiwan chinese? Yeah, am speaking to my boy in chinese.. no one to him in english. Hopefully he understands at least cos the hub and I still speak english.. Your friend's hub is very funny.. probably cos french used to be THE language??

JJ,

your 3 year old is really helpful! You think an almost 2 year old will really understand the concept of having a sibling? You think giving a toy works even though they are very young? My MIL also 'hints' that my place is messy but she asks if I have no objections, she will clean it.. bwahaha.. so I say feel free.. go ahead. Your SIL's method of raising children is too confusing. Have a friend that scares her kids with ghosts or the classic policeman-come-and-catch-you trick. Doubt it's very good for the kids! Ok, will change the bottles, but how come so fast they get milky already?

Victoria,

Congrats on your results! Must be a sigh of relief for you. Your baby is really quite big! Mine was at least 1 cm shorter than yours at 12 weeks! Not protruding doesn't surely mean girl [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] plus 60% sure is sort of saying 50 50 right? kekek.. maybe your hub still got chance! I read when you pass 13 weeks, the mc risk is very low.. so maybe wanna announce in a few days' time?

Qiuen,

Your baby looks so cute and snuggly!

Happy,

When are you going to do your amnio? Don't worry so much, OSCAR has a very high percentage of false positives. Fingers crossed ok?!

Im v worried... Juz nw coz my back v "sour" so i twist my. Waist side to side... Wen i twist to my left side i felt a werid feeling over the left lower abd... V scared it i had huet the body or twist the leg oso... Sobsob..,

Mummies, might want to take a look at this about multilingual Families..

http://incultureparent.com/2010/10/multilingual-families-monolingual-children/

Delfine,Can read the above,quite interesting..Actually it is true I get so agitated by really tiny details.I think its really the hormones at work.I think for u,you still have to take care of ur boy,so it is double stress for you.

I will also put my kid into a local sch coz' international schools in taiwan~~cannot afford lah..keekee

Yes,the medium is in chinese lor..which is jia liat leh..

I heard from my neighbour to put their daughter in a kindergarten that teaches English cost them s$1k a mth,not inclusive of meals n transport.I was like ~What?!?!?n her kid cannot even understand simple instructions in english leh..Is fees that ex in singapore?

I love to read signboards n road signs along the road when my husband drives.One day,My husband cannot take it anymore,he said:my dear wife,NEVER ever teach my kid how to read chinese.I don't want my kid to be laughed at in school next time..hohohoho~~ lol (by the way,my chinese always get laughed at at hm by my dh,mil n bil..lol)

Hey Clare,

Thanks for the link! My MIL likes to surprise visit and we live 1.5 hours away. For me, I prefer her to tell me in advance so that I don't have to change my plans. And we are moving very near to my PIL soon! Then sometimes at night, I hu si luan xiang..and imagine her visiting me everyday and I get royally pissed off and can't sleep. And the funny thing is.. it's so silly cos it hasn't happened yet. So stupid right!! Yeah, must be hormones.. kekkek

Do you intend to speak English to your baby? Your child's chinese will be very good!! They surely teach english in school right? 1K plus? WAH! But I doubt it's much cheaper in sg, especially if you go to some fancy preschool.

HAHAHA.. your hub is very funny! My chinese also leaves much to be desired. Especially after you finish your last chinese lessons in school, don't read any chinese books or watch chinese tv, it surely goes downhill!! A lot of words I can't read or write lor! CHAM!

Hi mummies. Login in before knock off again. Cos on leave these few days so arent freq surfing nets.

JJ, i also lately heard abt d sibling gift. Was it useful? Wat u bot last time? I wonder my 2yo will understand abt d concept of getting gift frm her new sibling..

Quien, yr bb berry cute. I also think look like ah boi. Done my nt scan today also. Bb cooperative, lying side way just nice to grab some gd image for d scan. Can't tell gender yet cos d legs r kicking ard. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Happy, look at bright side k. Cheer up!

Piggylee, I hope u feeling better now. Call yr gynae for advice n ensuring.

Victoria, my gynae also issue me 2nd trimester supplement even I'm only 12wks 01 day.

Clare, hoho.. ^5 me also another online shopper freak . U tell him u will stop buying for yrself n buy bb clothes instead!

I just ask my frenz to get me a set of avert manual pump with carrier as they hving staff sale now. Frm $110+ n now selling at $83.80. Come w two 120ml bpa bottle too. Cos my existing pump really quite worn off. Hopefully my #2 bf journey can b same length as my #1 then tis pump will worth d $$

Oh lobang. Mumnbabes hving warehouse sale at toh guan tis wkend. My frenz went today n grabbed some disc branded item. U may wanna popby n check it out!

Tmr will be heading my cruise trip. Speak to u gals when back in wed!

Hi delfine (delfine),

Thanks!Haha..ya..hubby is really pinning his hope for the 40% chance..everyday he will tell me..its a boy, i believe its a boy!! Not girl! Alamak. For me, I think boy or girl doesn't really matter to me as long as she is healthy and grow well. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Ya..most prob i think i will annouce after 14 weeks to all my friends & relatives. Now just annouce to my immediate boss.

I did a swap test last visit..and had some infection...the clinic ask me to go down and take some oral medication. Did not tell me what infection it is..hope its not too serious! Anyone have infection before? Will medication has side effects on baby?? This is what i most worried.

Hi morning ladies,

Can i check is smoked salmon cooked or raw? Cos during yesterday dinner I have 1 slice then my colleague told me is raw, dun know y i always tot is cooked. :p

Christy

sometimes i oso take laksa , nasi lemak. I think the coconut in chendol is not alot, shld b ok. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Delfine,lol same sentiments..I REALLY understand how u feel lor..

Chil,wahaha..I guess this is we ladies' pasttime for now..

Victoria,I had infection 1 1/2 weeks ago,I had whitish/pinkish discharge.nIt came out in pieces.

I was given inserts instead of oral medication leh.I did ask my gyne whether it was safe she says it will not affect the bb.I had a gf who also had virginal inserts when she had infection during her preg.I m not sure about oral medication.

Mdmkhoo,Order Mac online..

JuniorRain,I tot can eat?I still eat raw salmon lah..

Hi Clare,

My discharge is yellowish cheezy type.

I was given insert by KKH sometime ago..but my gynae ask me to wait till 12weeks cos bb too small to adminstrate the medication. Not very safe. Now i past 12 weeks..she did another swap test for me..and they told me that the inserts is not for the type of infection i am having. She have to give me oral one.

Later i am making a trip down to my gynae clinic and ask more in details......

Thanks Ladies.

My Gf was commenting, if boi boi, isnt the package abit too low in the 4d picture?

clare, JuniorRain: its ok to eat raw salmon, just make sure its fresh. but everything in Moderation. hee

JuniorRain..i dun think u need to worry too much. So far u did not feel any discomfort right? Tat means the smoked salmon is fresh. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

My gynae told me raw food is ok..but must come from reputated source. Because they worry of the baterials in raw foods that will cause us in food poisoning or affecting the baby. I think should not be of any concerns if u did not feel unwell bah.

Hi Mdmkhoo

I second clare suggestion..order mac...or drink some milk at least to curb the hunger 1st. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Junior Rain,I think why gyne tell us to avoid raw fish is becoz scared mercury n food poisoning if not fresh.I ate alot during my 1st trimester leh..I even ate in China!lol..but must sure it is fresh n no tuna.

Victoria,my inserts cured it.maybe what the gyne said is right,but if u are afraid maybe can go see 2nd opinion if u don't feel comfortable with the medication.

ladies - I didn't come in after my oscar report is out is becos I was in a state of shock! my adjusted risk was 1:26, I was so lost that I just breakdown in office. I call my doc the very next moment & was told to go for CVS test where they'll extract some placenta tissue to test the chromosones of baby. I was quite reluctant cos of the miscarriage risk involved but still went ahead as I didn't wan to worry till next june when baby is born.

I went for the test yesterday & requested for express report where 5 major chromosones is check while the remaining 46 report will be out in 2 to 3 weeks time. The report is finally out & its normal!! seriosuly dunno what went wrong with the blood test cos my scan is prefectly fine! I can finally breath again & enjoy my pregnancy with peace. hubby nearly burst out tears of joy upon hearing the good news

winniepooh: glad to hear everythings fine now. Time to enjoy the pregnancy [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

hi winnie

happy to hear that everything is fine.. i just took my blood test and results out yday evening..

i was also very worried cuz last yr my sis blood test failed..then have to do the amino test..her ratio was 1:77..tts y i was worried that mine also nt so gd..bt when i gt back mine, i was so relieve..ave tri21, 1:9469..so i understand ur fear..

all mummies we must jia you ok [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] few weeks ago, i posted here, thot my ms gone but i still gt ms.. sad sad..duno when can i have a great meal

Haha... dun wan Mac lah dears... I had a frd ate too much fast food le she kenna gestational diabetes... in the end she had to control diet liao... haiz...

nurse the other day was teaching me.

Steam some brocolli, then after that add kraft sliced cheese on top and throw in the microwave for a few seconds.

Good iron and calcium

hehe..like moi ah..I crave for hasbrowns recently,after some nagging from dh(although I oven baked the ready cooked ones)..I make my own potato wedges...really easy..scrub clean potato,cut them up,coat them with abit of Olive oil,spices..n bake them...

now,I m scared of getting diabetes also coz' my weight gain still not in the normal range leh...

had hot pot again today..4 days in a row liao..getting abit sick liao.. hehe...

Vic & Clare,

Thanks for the info. yes i love sashimi oso but dare not eat cos scared not fresh.

Winnie & Joyce

Glad to hear that everything is fine. Now the bb is juz means everything to us.

Clare, wats ur weight gain currently?

I've been eating normally & no ms but still 2 kg lighter than pre-preg & I'm approaching wk 16! haven't had a scan in almost a month.. dunno bb got grow at all or not [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Altariel,I m at 51kg,I used to be 44kg...haiz...7kg..how??

I already changed my bras 2x liao..I m really trying to control my diet..my daily hotpot only consist of veg n fish n chicken/beef..no rice or carbo.I only take carbo in the morning thats it...

Can we start to exercise?I think I really need to hit the gym again..

Dont worry so much..Coz' I heard this is norm not to gain much weight..everyone has a different body type..so I m sure ur bb is growing fine.

altariel > you are not the only one, i only gained 0.1kg. I might lose more though cuz MS getting worst. But doctor said not to worry as long as baby is developing normally.

BTW, any ladies experience back and neck pain? I read that it's common in third semester. Wonder why mine so fast esp since I have not gain much weight. Any tips to ease it up? I tried compress but it does not help much [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] Heard cannot use salon pas. Some web suggested prenatal massage but I seriously a bit worried in case something goes wrong and end up dangerous for baby [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Claire,

I do have lower back pain esp if I stand or walk too much in a day. The way to relieve it for me is to lie down flat on my back. I've not gain any weight n even lost weight till now too. But I believe it's due to our uterus expanding to accommodate the baby that is causing the back ache. I read that we can wear a waist belt support to help with lower back aches. Perhaps u can look for that.

I would be leaving this thread as the chromosome report from the CVS was not good. Bb is thalassemia major. My hubby and I have decided to abort the bb, as the bb will need monthly/ bi-monthly blood transfusion upon birth. We dun wan the child to grow up blaming us for bringing him/ her to this world, even when we knew abt it. I would b gg for abortion 2 weeks fr now, as the doc say now is not the ideal time to abort.

It has been a great time hearing from all of u, and appreciate support that we have for each other. Take care and enjoy the pregnancy! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Quien, can help to remove my name from the list. Thanks! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Thanks mummies! I will be strong, and try for another bb half a yr later. We are so-called, mentally prepared for it, but nothing beats the truth. Just worried about the procedure though.

Raynsky, very sorry to hear about ur news.. i rem u said that ur gynae said u dun really have to do the test due to ur age.. thank goodness u decide to do in the end and find out earlier that there is something wrong.. do take care!

Altariel: yup, am grateful for the medical advancement now to detect chromosomal abnormalities earlier, cant imagine the emotional trauma if it was onli discovered at birth.

Thanks mummies! Just hope i wun get to see the fetus after the procedure.