(2010/10) October 2010 MTB

Hello mummies & daddy,

Nite feeding now.

Cyn,

Dun stressed, I understand how u feel.

I oso had alot of disagreement on mil with hb. Cried a few times too.

Now I'm hving 2nd tots of letting mil look aft Lucas aft my ML.

Thinking of putting him in infant care instead but hb is quite against it. Haiz...

I oso duno if it's me getting more sensitive or wat, I tot my hb likes to tease me nowadays since bb popped.

& I cnt stand his jokes, will quarrel & cry.

For now, we try to ignore Mil bah, 1 mth will be over soon.

Let's jiayou together. Hugzz...

Vivian,

Dun cry! Hope u get well soon. Hugz

Xin2,

Did ur OB says wats the prob?

Why must see urologist?? Hope u get well soon. Tk care. Hugz

Feeding routine:

I tried to set a fixed routine tdy but I gv up by the evening.

Bb had been wailing for milk & we gv in aft realizing he's dehydrated.

So now back to demand feeding again.

I realized nowadays bb seems to latch on for shorter periods.

Used to be 30mins per side before he stops but now prolly 30mins in total for both sides only.

Does tt mean he is drinking less?? Or is milk flow faster?

I noticed alot more leaks even when bb is suckling.

I hope he's not sick of my milk liao. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Harlow ladies & ian

my baby girl decided she didnt want to lose, so i popped on halloween (sun) early morning. Maybe jealous of xaiver.... my hp a bit wonky, cant put up pics on fb, even writin on SMH also a bit difficult

so far, breastfeeding not easy, envious of those moms who can do it. kk nurses have taught me to massage e boob before feeding,but i find it painful when massaging e nipples. not sure if it s due to my nipples being too sensitive. Anyone knows if this will get better? Will i get used to e pain?

Whim-

once u get by day 5 it will be much better. apply nipple cream everytime for the start. my nipples also everytime damn sore, crack, bleed, and still need to let her suckle. almost gave up when I faced engorged on day 5. Luckily for me by day 8 I m quite used to it. now I got good supply of milk too. must not give up. keep trying.

anyone faced with baby rash? My baby have rashes on her eyes and noticed it starting to spread. She had it when she is 10 day old. See already heartache. They say it's " tai dui". Then my stupid MIL said becoz I ate crab!! idiot.

Then yesterday I was photography bb without clothes and she's against it and told my hubby outside to tell me to stop. Haizz.

Refridged breastmilk can store how long?

I remember the class I attended said it's within 48hrs. but when I google search Alot of web said 3-8days. isn't it abit too long?

How long max u store it for?

also I think I m having problem in breastfeeding position. my bb only latch n drink on lying down position becoz I had c sec. and she so used to it now she cannot take other positions. but I find it good coz more relax for me n she sleeps immediately after the feed.

Isaac is still in kkh. Unlikely to b bacterial infection. Doc thinks probably viral fever. Still running high fever. Too young to give medicine, so have to wait for fever to subside by itself. Concrete results will b out on tue. If no bacterial infection, he can go home on wed provided that his fever comes done. He was crying the whole of last night. So poor thing. And feeding very badly. Boohoo.

Zuen,

sorry to hear that. U must be mssing him very very badly. but he is professional care n will get better. while he is in there all the more u must take care of yourself. hope he will be ok soon.

would like to join all moms here in sharing. My ger is 3wks old. Feeding her on EBM n my supply don seems to increase. Mummies who r EBM do u feel breast engorged over 3-4 hr? Mine don't but leak n not sure my supply is low as no engorgment. Moms w bb passed 3wks old, do u seeyr supply increase?

Morning!!

My Boy keep throwing out milk even after burping. It's like 1-2hrs later still throwing. Is this normal? He stretched a lot & as a result, throw out the both FM/BM.

celia:

not sure about growth spurt cause for my #1 i nv had this problem.

but since you got CL ar.... everytime your baby drink you pump la. even nothing come out oso pump lo. to stimulate the milk. but you dun stress lei. think of ur baby... and those happy stuff.. this is what i do cause i exclusive pumping..

zebra:

i tot you latch?? yours boy lei! mine girl lei.. hahaha.

i dont pump every hour la!!

usually i feed her with EBM liao den i pump..

so everytime she finish i pump. even not hard or empty i oso pump lo...

i wanna ask ar. for those who pump out..

when you all go out for check up. do you bring the EBM out? or bring the pump out, pump out and drink on the spot?

after pumping out the milk can leave in room temperature for how long?

Gd morning to a brand new week & month!

Zuen, sayang sayang. Must be heart aching to see him cry & cry. Be strong & will pray for his fever to subside so he can be back home.

Momo, how do u know he is dehydrated? By the wet diaper? Maybe stretch the feed incremental by 5 to 10 mins each time instead. I'm still feeding on demand every 1+ to 2 hrs incl nite. Can't take it last nite, just place him lying down to latch. I donno if he latch properly but he didn't cry. At least I get more rest than waking up to express & warm up ebm.

Bblin, could bb have reflux? If cont, u might want to bring bb to the PD. They do hv medicine for reflux. Bascially, bb is drinking more than the digestive system can take it.

Xuan, according to LC to increase supply must express every 3 hrs incl nite. It did help to increase my supply.

Kate, I only keep ebm in fridge for 48 hrs. If not used, will freeze it.

Dollie, I asked LC b4. She say to express b4 leaving hm. If too long hrs outside can bring pump to express & feed cos ebm can be in room temp for 4 hrs. Or to store in cooler bag. I brought Caelan to church yesterday. I express b4 leaving hm & bring to feed him. For 2nd feed, I gave him fm (no need to bring cooler bag, pump, etc). Came hm straight away express.

ZuEn,

pls take care! hope Isaac get well soon!

Kate,

i oso keep ebm max 48hrs. i read online, it says can keep for 3-5 days though.

Diveera,

my PD told me to check for dehydration, feel for baby's fontanels.

if it appears sunken, means dehydrated.

i oso check his lips to see if they appear dry.

hey momotan!

i still have my c sec bandage on! OMG its been 2 weeks. going to see Dr. adrain later to remove it ( so frighten to see the wound) i still having some pain like gastric pain, alittle worried if its becoz internal wound.

yah, so if its 48hrs then why those professional website still put it as this long? so confusing.

Diveera,

I pump at nite too n sometimes overslept stretched to 4 hrly. Also 4hrly yield abt 20ml more at times. Yr latching can last up to 2hrs which is gd, my at most 1hr. After latching do u pump again?

Zuen,

hang in there n pray Issac speedy recovery!

Bblin,

how abt try giving bb smaller frequent feed monitor.

Xian: I am feeding baby ebm. My breasts will feel hard 3-4 hrs after pumping. Signal for me to pump again. My baby is 4 weeks old now and generally my milk supply has been following her feeding needs.

My night pumps will yield more milk, probably due to more rest.

Kate,

I removed my bandage @ day 7 le.

I was told the wound still need smtime to slowly gel with our new skin.

So now it's still a bit raw but u can see his cut us actually v fine.

As for pain. I oso hv, dun worrie.

My ML told me bcos got wind trap inside.

But now can't massage wound area yet.

momotan

yes i know, i wonder if he will scold me for returning so late to remove the bandage. but i can't remember when to re-visit him, called and the nurse say 2 weeks. anyways i feel "safer" with the bandage on. haha

i already start my massage! 3 days ago. the ML didn't touch the wound area. since birth till now (14days) i already lost 8.5kg another 8 kg to go.

Diveera,

I pump at nite too but it seems 4hrly yield more EBM. I will try out 3hrly pumping. Yr latching can last 2hr which is gd, my at most 1hr.

Zuen,

hang in there Bb are stronger than we expect them and hope Issac speedy recovery!

Bblin, how abt giving bb smaller frequent feed n monitor his throwing condition.

Kate,

he wun scold u la... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

He told me to see him 2 wks later too.

But my wound was quite pain previously, so he ask me to go earlier.

Sundrops260899,

as my breast don feel hard but leak so sometimes overslept n 'wasted' leaked milk. At times my nite pump yield more but can also less due to no fluid intake sleeping.

Any mummies know how long can EBM store in medela cooler bag? Those on total EBM do u invest in good pump? Not sure my medela mini can serve me well n long.

hi mummies and the newly-promoted daddy! been MIA for a few days 'cos just too tired to log in. i'm still trying to adjust to Jadelyn's schedule and mostly catching up on sleep whenever i can. sometimes feel like i'm constantly on the grind and so, so tired, nv enough sleep!! but whenever i see her satisfied and smiling, everything else is forgotten. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] how's everyone doing??

whim,

congrats to you! wah, your little one really didn't wanna lose out on being born in October. picked such a nice and easy-to-remember date for you. haha! about breastfeeding pain, just endure. after 1 week, you won't feel pain le. think all bfing moms will have to go through the sore nipples, engorgement and pain issues at the early stage. but don't give up! keep pumping/latching and you will see your hard work paying off. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

zebra,

congrats on the arrival of your baby too!

dollie,

i'm almost pumping exclusively now to monitor her milk intake. and also because she falls asleep far too easily at the breast. suck for 5-10mins sleep liao. burp her, change her also no use! then an hour later will cry for milk again. very tiring for me. so i pump every 3 hours from 7am to 10pm, then supplement with FM at the last feed before i sleep. in the middle of the night depends, will let her latch when i feel my breasts are very full or feed her EBM/FM. really too tired to get up to pump. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

empress,

my girl is also small eater compared with some of the babies here. she's drinking 80-90ml per 2.5-3hrs. still cannot manage to get her to drink 100ml yet also. i've tried to delay feeding time to 3.5hrs or even 4hrs but she will cry murder! anyway, she's putting on weight so i'm not that concerned about her milk intake. plus, she's peeing a lot and pooing everyday too.

cyn,

no matter what others tell you, just have confidence in yourself that you are doing great at taking care of baby Eldrick. will definitely have some rough days, but these too shall pass. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

momotan,

my hubby also like to tease me after baby is out leh. and these days i really don't find the jokes funny too. don't know what these men are thinking lor! so irritating!! or maybe we are still hormonal after delivery bah. thanks for sharing on baby's fontanels to check for dehydration, it's useful information!

zuen,

hope Isaac has a speedy recovery. *hugs*!!

xuan,

i don't feel engorged even if i pump 4hrly. just feel full and have a warm sensation. not hard though. it says on medela website (http://www.medelabreastfeedingus.com/tips-and-solutions/11/collection-and-storage-of-breastmilk) that EBM can be kept in cooler with 3 ice packs for up to 24hrs. my colleague who's using the medela cooler bag said her EBM can keep for 8-12hrs, provided the ice block is well frozen.

re: pump

i invested in the medela freestyle. simply can't do without it now! haha!!

Xuan: like starry, I also bought a freestyle. Very good! Best thing abt it is it works on battery, so it is very portable. And not very noisy also.

Zuen, hope your bb will recover soon.

My c-section was "glued", no bandage to remove. My gynae said after I bath a few times, the glue will peel off by itself. Hmm... din know that the technique in US is different from Singapore.

Anyone's baby has white mucus in the nose?

Im pissed off with my pd. Everythong also say normal n good when bby is clearly have breqthing difficulties in clinic. Today he's crying cos cant sleep. Finally know that he cant breathe well due to mucus inside his nose. Yesterday i just pulled out a long thread of nose dirt! like 3~4 cm and thick. The end is yellow like its been solidified at the end of the nose.

Is this really normal?????

Anyway im going to see other pd this afternoon... Hope he's ok [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

anyone has a good massage lady to recommend.

i juz tried mine out today and she was terrible!ran off in like 45mins!!didnt apply any herbs!poor massaging also [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

in need of a good ML urgently!pls help!

Good afternoon mommies and daddy!!

Helllo....hows everyone doing??

Its NOV!!!That measn..CHRISTMAS I NEARING!!Yippee!!!!

Gotta find time to shop for Christmas tree!!Sold mine years back...anyone has any good lobang to buy one??

kate

The rashes on bb's face could it be cradle cap or milk rash?

usually it s normal and VERY COMMON in Newborns!Some just leave it and some get meds from docs to apply..eventually it will go away though it might look red n patchy![IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]Don't worry[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

EBM i will store for max 48hrs after which if its not use,ill discard it!Which never happens cos i will make sure Meghan finish it![IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

If you wanna follow the website,i suggest u taste it yourself frst b4 give it to the bb!SOmetimes even after 30>hours..the milk taste diff![IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Starry

Glad you managed to rest and sleep while cutie Jadelyn is resting!

Power nap is important!..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Im sleeping lately....2nights ago Hb is the one that is feeding Meghan for the 2 night feeds!I simply couldnt wake up!!wahahhahahahhaha!!!!

But damn SHIOK!!!

Ann

THe reason why the PD said your bb is ok cos ..they usually check on hearbeat and lungs!And the hard breathing is usually caused by the congestion in the nose!Some advised to remove those mucus but some don't at all!Both all ok!

But if you are more comfortable in taking it out..Just gotta be careful[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I do take it out if i see any in Meghan's nose too!Yeah..it is even bigger and longer than an any adults[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

It's normal[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hope you'll get a better PD that can explain more on your newborn's well being!

Princess diamond,

ok ic..

Yes jut disappointed that the dr cnt explain n only say everything normal n been waiting for 30 mins with appt but jut spend 5 mins inside!!!!

But with the mucus he really makes loud noise when nursing n also cant sleep well n sometimes cough coz he swllows to fast while tryig to breathe.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] Realy heart pain loh. N can feel hes trying so hard to breathe.. Haih...

Does meghan make any sound too due to the mucus??

Aiyoh 1st nov already! Exactly 2 more mths till i go back work.. Dread

but im v happy wif sofea. She only wakes up 2x to feed at night now! Trying to lengthen her 2am feeding time to 3 am so dat i wake up only once at night. Other mommies trying on routine, jiayou!!

Shin, doesnt matter fm or bm, usually starting 3rd week, baby will haf growth spurt [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

poor thing jac! Me went thru e same hell, bt will get better! Now jus sleep as much as u can

Dimple,

U mean after 45mins the ml leave u? how long is ur massage supposed to be?

I took massge pckage with jmu origins with sheila. Shes good n friendly too. Previously didnt like to get massaged but now im like addicted to get more mssage!! hehe

Ann: my son also has mucus in his nose, doc says his nose is sensitive especially after the haze the past few days. He gave a salt water nasal spray to wash out the mucus. He also breathes w noise n doesn't slp well or drink well. Doc advised leaving it alone if it doesn't affect feeding but since it does hv to spray 3 times a day. Poor boy seems to hv difficulty breathing so I know how u feel. Now he can't slp in aircon or hv direct fan n he's always sweating. Hopefully our babies will get over it soon. I'm contemplating getting an air purifier for the rm.

Ann

Yea,it is a pain when the PD expect us to know everything when they don't explain much...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Meghan does breathe loudly SOMETIMES but not al the time...only when she breathes louder thatn normal,i'll check and if i find that her mucus is visible i'll remove it...

I tried not to interfere too much in her nose worried that it might caused sensitive breathing airway![IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

How's everyone doing? I'm still adjusting to life with a baby. Tired from lack of sleep. Was telling hb that now my life is just pumping milk n feeding baby. Lucky got CL to help.

Hope to hv the catheter removed n everything bk to normal again.

Stella, princess diamond,

thanks for the reply. Really do not know what to expect esp as first time parents.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

now im letting my son sleep on my chest and let him nurse in slightly sitting position. He seems to be able to breathe better.

Mucus is visible but really at the end of the tunnel. Dare not take out.

No wonder these past few days he seems to eat less. Usually 30 mins feeding but only 15 min for 2 days alrdy. Very cranky at nite ccos hes hungry but cant eat fast.

Keep waking up every 30 mins!!!

Stella, will air purifier help? My bby has been sleeping in aircon room throuout. Only in the morning about 3~4 hours after bathe let him sleep without aircon.

Xin,

get well soon...

Just now i called my friend n she said that the withe mucus is because the milk is very thick?? and ask me to let baby srink water after feeding.

Im on tbf currently.

Anyone has ever heard of this?

When i express milk (now i can get 80~120 ml per express yay) and put in fridge can see that only 10 ml or less ia water the rest are the hindmilk i suppose. Does that mean my milk is too thick?

Ladies, i haf a sterilizer dat keeps e items sterilised up to 6 hrs if kept in dat sterilizer.. Wat happens after dat 6 hrs? Its no gd to use already n must sterilized again ah? My mom has been sterilizing e bottles teats etc n once sterilised she will wipe them n keep in a air tight container until its for use. Most of e times e items will only be used after 6hrs. Is this ok? Or do i need to sterilized again??

thanks for all the comforting posts.

I am better now but still on antibotics. Fever broke only yesterday. Breasts not that painful anymore...

Zuen, hope bb Isaac get well soon! You take care too hor...

Someone asked who pump exclusively right? ME ME ME! hee... but supply so so only. Pumping 4hrly, fetch ard 90-100ml per session.

Baby Rhea doing ok so far. Today we finally increased her milk intake to 120ml. Now my supply not enuff for her feed liao... sianz...

And this tigress is making so much noise at night... and will stretch and stretch with all the grunting sound... aiyo... really sound like a tiger lor... bth... now heng, my CL still ard, my life sentence starts THIS THURSDAY!!! good luck to me man... *shiver*

Ann

I dun think bm caused thick white mucus !!newborn don't need water even if it's on fm:$

I ve not heard of tt thick hindsmilk Is s problem ..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]those are the needed calories for your nb

Marrissa,

I dun bother to re-sterilize again leh. After 1 round of sterilize, I just keep them in containers like what you did. I dun even wipe them. My bottles will be hang to dry before use. I think shld be good enuff.

stella,

did the pd says best dun sleep with aircon if baby got mucus? I noticed that baby breath very loud with mucus hardened or stuck inside every time we on aircon, but my CL keep asking me to on aircon coz baby is perspiring! I dunno what to do.. aircon or no aircon..

Viv,

take care ya.

princess D,

Christimas!?! Before I managed to cope with baby, don't have mood for it yet! Hopefully one mth later i'm more settled! haiz..

Isaac still running high fever but at least we r in e hospital wif professional care. last nite was bad, I barely got any slp. Tonite wun b any better. -.o"

Thanks vivian! I tot e way e sterilised all this while is correct until hubby bought me a bigger steriliser n it can sterilised up to 48 hrs! Then it got me thinking maybe we r doing it wrong all these while?

Yr rhea also make a lot of noise when sleeping ah? Mine too! N im a light sleeper, everytime she makes noise i will wakeup n check but she still sleeping. Most of e time shes struggling to get out of e swaddle. Once i released her , slightly less noisy but still making grunting sounds every now n then. So disturbing! But i guess its normal ah?

Yo Vivian!!!!

How are you??Wow!!Rhea is catching up eh....

Good la..just rest and eat well n i m sure you supply will increase!!

Jade and MEghan is doing well!

Meghan just like Rhea lor..very noisy in the day la..and wants to be entertain all the time!Lol

Jade is settlin down lately..last few weeks was horrible as we can tell that she is seeking attention from us!She climb onto Meghan's cot,put the sprout pillow on her and pretend to cry out loud at the bb monitor!WE rushed into the room to see her on the bed!!!!Can die onot?????lol ...*faint*

better enjoy as much while your Cl is here man...my HB not around this week ..now left me with the 2 fellas and maid!Everything under control!!!lol

HOw's your rashes and bP??

When are we meeting?wahahahhahah!!!!

Empress

Hhahaa..im always looking forward for Christmas!Must enjoy la..this year HB will be on leave till NEW YEAR!!wohooo!!!!!So we gonna plan for a party at home[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]^.^!!!

BBlin> that happens to Josie too since last 2 weeks!

But right now she's getting better. Here's some information:

http://www.babycenter.com/0_how-to-handle-your-premature-babys-reflux_10300037.bc

http://www.babycenter.com/baby-stomach-digestive

You can take a look on info on Reflux..

I'm going to see a GP (Family Physician) tomorrow to ask him about the problem and for the growth assessment..

Here are what I do to prevent the problem happening to Josie since last last week:

- feed her more upright position (goodbye to hands fee nursing pillow)

- feed her every 2-3 hours or when she wants milk instead of everytime she's awake becoz of pee/poo. And follow the Baby to Breast, not force feed her by putting in the breast to her mouth and start pumping :$. I realize she's awake ALMOST ALL THE TIME NOW. No need to feed her when she poo/pee anymore.. Last time I do that becoz she's always asleep.. Maybe last time I overfeed her :$

- let her stay still on the same place (don't move her) when she's asleep after breastfeeding like 5-10 minutes. After that, put her head on your shoulder like 5-10 minutes also to make gravity keeps the milk down to her digestive system.

- Put her head on a pillow when changing her nappy after breastfeeding

- Be more alert becoz she'll show you sign if she want to vomit. If that happens, quickly put her mouth in a horizontal position so she'll drink the milk she vomit back :$

afternoon mummies~

ytd night was hell of a nightmare for both myself & wife..bb only wants baobao by us...even when feeding is done..~ put back inside cot..less than 5 mins..start cry liao!

latching was abit of an issue..sometimes just couldnt get the correct angle..so bb will just feed 10mins or so, at 2 hrs interval..

this morning, we decided to put the breast pump into use! managed to bottle feed him quite well..so i guess more bottle feeding session will come along~

all i can say is Latching on for 1st-timers require a great deal of patience..i helped my wife latched bb on until my back was aching like mad..! :X

this morning, my MIL kena the poo-ing incident similar to meghan's! lol..really is kinda 'explosion' heng i'm not the victim YET.