(2010/10) October 2010 MTB

Shin

as far as I know only OCBC and SCB for the baby account - the one that government will give $1 for $1 deposit.

Not sure if Mighty Savers is that account. POSB also have kids/baby account. THink UOB should have some kids/baby account.

Had plan with husband to go local banks to enquiry but still yet to do it. So not very clear.

Seabreeze you are right about foreign banks like citibank. i have to use internet banking to transfer funds if I need to use my cheque. SCB still quite ok - some branches have weekend/night banking - although very few branches around.

Metta

thanks for sharing! I think must discuss with my hubby... most prob he surely go ahead with OCBC cos most convenient. hahahas!

Shin ...

Yar my #1 boy got alot of funny stuff up his head ... super chatty hahahah

I was only aware of the savings one of $500 so whenever I TT money out I make sure I have at least $500 there. But they link the current account & savings account together so once they impose the min amt in the current ... the savings is oso affected. SO the savings is like 'upgraded' to $1,500. I was not aware of the $1,500 ruling thats why I call to find out ... *sigh* money hard to earn ar ...

Only SCB or OCBC for the baby bonus thing ... mighty saver is just that they always give free gift every month if the child save $10 or $20.

Babydes ...

The gal can tell me that they cannot call each and every customer to inform them so they inform thr the statement - which is logical lar!

But the prob is I dun check statement hahaha so you can oso say that its my own fault but I think just buay song lor!! Maybe I should tell her that it should have been a seperate letter instead of together with the statement so that we will pay attention to it.

Seabreeze

then your #1 boy will not have any problems when he is in primary school.. confirm sociable and might even able to take up leadership roles!!! hahahas

re : bank incident

Ohhh I see... they linked up your account and "upgrade" it to $1500 without you knowing?? I also didn't know there is this $1500 ruling lor.. Yeah... money hard to earn but they still wana deduct from us [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Seabreeze,

hmm... i had this Easicredit or creditline from OCBC for very long liao. That time is free leh. I only use the cheque book. And after i issue the cheque, I will transfer money into that account so no charges or interests incurred coz using my own $. They never tell me to deposit extra money or maintain any amt inside leh. Something like what Groovy2009 mentioned abt DBS cashline. hee...

Shin,

erh... i also cannot rem when. I only rem that me and hubby felt that my boy's hair smelly lor esp. he very active and perspire a lot. So we started J&J shampoo coz the QV wash got no nice nice smell one mah... in fact my mum dun like QV coz no bubbles... keke... she like everything bubbles one... even the pigeon bottle detergent she also dun like. She prefer the tollyjoy one coz LOTS OF BUBBLES! haha....

Aiyo... luckily we talked abt this and made me rem to transfer funds over to my cheque account coz just issued quite a few cheques last nite. Just realised that i forgot to pay my credit card bill!!! Kena charged $55 late charges for just 5 days late + $30 annual card fee! Called them up and have it waived... whew... thanks ladies!!! keke....

re: Baby Bonus Acct

Oh before I forget ... to open the 1-for-1 account you need a letter from MCYS. So at the hospital when you do your birth cert, you can submit the form at the same time so that MCYS can issue you with the letter.

You oso need to decide which bank by then.

Vivian ...

Ok I will go and check ... I think SCB gives free current acct ... go and check with my fren who is working in SCB when I am free.

Shin ...

Hmmm I dunno ler ... hopefully he turns out good =)

Vivian

Okay... got it! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Your mum also very cute.. hehe.. all the things need a lot of bubbles!! haha!

Seabreeze

The hospital will give us a form to fill in? So we fill up on the spot and submit so MCYS can issue us the letter?

Shin ...

If I dun rem wrongly, everything including the folder + forms will be given to you in a baby bag which has free gifts from all the sponsors.

As long as you have your bb's name ready for registartion, you will be able to send the form and get MCYS to provide you with a letter.

The bank just called and they have deducted a total of $12!! $2 over my 'budget' so told her to put up a request for wavier ... lets see what they come back with.

Better go and TT money over to my POSB right now =p

Metta ...

You know how come I rem ... cos I happily walk into the bank (aft Q-ing outside for 10mins) when I wanted to open the acct for my #2 and they told me abt the letter hahaha

Seabreeze

Ok thanks for information! Didn't know about it also.. Always had the impression that we need to open the account beforehand.. hahhaa I'm so "mountain-tortoise" [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

they deducted $12 means for past 6 mths they have been deducting? Most prob she will tell you cannot waiver! Unless she wants less trouble for herself... she will find ways to waiver it for you.. hehehe

Shin ...

Did I confuse you ar ... you can submit the CDA form at the hospital ... usually at the same counter where you can do the birth cert. Now just a matter of must you have the birth cert hahaha cos for me need to wait for the feng shui master to get back to us on the name ... so we just make sure that bb get his/her name before 1st mth heehee

So I cant remember ... all I know is need letter to open CDA acct =p

Yar man ... I totally didnt notice!! Anyway she said that she will submit the request for me and revert within 3 working days. I got her name down anyway ... learn my lesson liao!!

Seabreeze

Nope [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] you didn't confuse me.

I will just wait on that day... I will get the folder + forms from the hospital while registering my baby's name... den I submit the form before I get a letter from MCYS to open the CDA account. Right? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Shin ...

Yap ... MCYS will post the letter to you =)

Note that CDA is the $1-for-$1 account which you cant withdraw but can use to deduct school fee, cord banking fee etc one

They will also ask you for another account which you can deposit the cash portion to. That one not necessary to have the child's name to the account =)

Re: Chequebook

Yah, like what Groovy2009 suggested, I use DBS cashline and it's foc as long as u transfer e $ into the a/c before the cheque is made. I've been doing that for the longest time....So far, no problem. Everytime DBS wants me to pay annual charge, then I just call them and ask them to waive.

Yah, my personal opinion is that the local banks usually are not as competitive as SCB/HSBC/Citi/Maybank. Maybe it's becoz these 'foreign' banks are more hungry for biz.

Re: gaia in Australia

I went to check Coles (Australia supermarket) which etelle mentioned. Gaia Natural Baby Bath & Body Wash 250 ml is selling for AU$11.72 from the website itself.

Since the Taka fair is having promo for Gaia, it shd be almost the same price when we convert the Oz price to Sing $, right?

Am thinking whether I shd order it online and have it shipped to Singapore, but no point if it's almost the same price at the Taka fair. Any advice?

hey, hey.. I'm on the way back home from a really nice and enjoyable outing with some of the mummies! Great nail session in the afternoon too! Shld do this kind of pampering session more often. Heh heh!! Maybe end of the month we can have another one - ice cream and hair spa??

Okay, here are my findings from the taka baby fair:

Ameda lactaline breast pump $399

Pigeon liquid cleanser refills x 2 $18.90

Pigeon baby wipes 82sx6 $19.50

Pigeon Breast pads 60+12 $13.90

Medela freestyle $799 (free snack ball, leg warmer)

there are other brands like Munchkin, Gaia, Fisher Price, Bright Starts etc...

My verdict:

not worth going as although there are a lot of products, the prices are still not that attractive..

Starrymommy: Were u in black tdy? hee I think u at taka.

The taka baby fair not worth going leh.... say sale but the price either no or not much discount. Even the strollers... put sale but its selling at normal price! GAH!!

Jac

hahha.. so it's not worth going to squeeze with the crowd. LoL [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Anyway, we can have another gathering at the end of the month! Quick show us pictures if you have.. of the pretty pretty nails.. hehehe [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

hey hey Im having great time too with the nail and tea session! but too bad couldnt join u gals for dinner, hope to meet up with shirlz and momotan too!

Princess D's retro gel nail looks beautiful! but did not get to see Snoopy.

Btw ladies...how's the dinner?

Lilac WHite

Yes Jac and Cyn were in black dress today and im in pastal blue dress. What time were u there?

Shin

Cherry and Jac were just talking about it this afternoon. We would like to arrange an ice cream date end of this mth or early Sep before Cherry is gonna pop on 22 Sep and next will be me! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Lilac

Oh cherry and i left before 6 but Jac and Cyn were still there then. Did u buy anything? Cherry bought quite a few toys and its cheap! Can buy.

lilac,

yah, I was in black. U shld have called me leh!! I was just blur blur shopping and not seeing who's near me lor. Were u there alone? Cyn and I were there ard 6pm + also.

Yah, we must have ice cream gathering in a few weeks' time. Hopefully more mummies can join us then. The more the merrier!!

Irish

Ok good.. we shall have ICE-CREAM date end of this month or early Sept!! Otherwise any later we will all slowly go into standby mode liao. hehe

Is there somewhere with nice dinner and nice ice-cream at the same time?? hahaha

Jac

you still not gonna sleep ah? Tmr no work? heheehe.. after a day of relaxing.. shiok right? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Irish: oic! kekeke I only bought some rattles. already gotten most of the stuff i need except for the stroller. tot they will hv some good offer but... nay! :p

Jac: Hahahah pai say mah n i wasnt even sure if that was you. later call sala :p I was there with my hubby. ;)

Harlow, anyone still awake?

I cannot sleep... decided to come inside and read the threads.

Btw, can I ask a silly question? Do we have to wax a la Brazillian wax before the EDD? What will happen to the area down there? If the doctors are going to shave that area, then I may as well go do a wax myself. Any advice??

mummies - i've uploaded the pics from ytd's gathering in our secret group already! Go tag yourself if you'll like to [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

good morning all~! Think I'm the first one up to post this morning. Usually it's Ian right? Heh heh!!

I'm still getting used to my extended nails! Long, pink and glittery. Hope they are really gonna last 4 weeks.

Shin,

I KO-Ed after my last post. Really quite tired at that hour le..

Whim,

I'm not sure abt being shaved. Only heard from some mummies that the nurse will shave a bit off down there but don't know to what extent. I'm also thinking of doing full wax but a bit scared of the pain and baring my bits to ppl I don't know lor.

cyn,

wah.. U are earlier than me. Back at work? Feeling better today?

Iris,

thanks for the links! I'm sure they will come in helpful. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

morning everyone! Have been having insomnia every alternate day. Sigh. So frustrating!

Whim

Yep I think some of the mummies here do go for waxing before their edd.

Cyn

How you feeling now? Better already??

jac and shin , yes i am feeling better already! Though yesterday when i was out , i still have cramps on and off, but i did'nt really walk much so its still ok.

The time off from work yesterday certainly perk me up - a much welcome break from work! Let's have our gathering again soon!

good morning ladies n Ian

Cyn

Glad that you are feeling better after yesterday!!!

Dun walk too much n rest when needed k[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Thank you for uploading the pic[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Checkout those hot mommas!!!! Phhhheeewwweiiittt!![IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Irish

Yea, we must gather again SOON just to enjoy each others company or else next time when we pop, it ll be difficult ![IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

We must find a nice place where is condusive for the heavy mommas to chat !![IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Since I couldn't sleep, I tried searching online and may I propose the following [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

NEXT GATHERING!!

Proposed date : 27 aug or 3 sept ( friday)

Proposed time : 7PM

Proposed venue: swensens at ION

(was thinking of having simple and common dinner and try the ice-cream buffet available there!)

Info: ION's Ice Cream and Dessert Buffet

Come join us for our first ever Ice Cream and Dessert Buffet at ION Orchard. Indulge in over 50 ice cream flavors, more than 40 toppings, and a delightful assortment of cakes, waffles and a chocolate fondue fountain! Now that's another reason for you to be SO going to Swensen's!

Main activity: dinner & ice cream [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

If any mummies wish to meet up before that, can plan again.

This is just my suggestion.. Anyone interested??

If you don't like the venue, we can decide on another[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

What do you mummies think? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

WAH... over 50 flavors! so tempting! think my hubbs will niam me... i supposed to cut down on cold stuff. =p

btw, can someone pls add me in the secret facebook grp? =_= hee.. my email is [email protected]

i wanna see all the pics ne~

Morning All,

Wanna rant!!! Am so bloody mad and pissed off now, need to let out steam!!

Juz now on my way to work, while going up the escalator, felt someone pushed me, turned ard and saw a "si lo kwei" twice the size/height of me staring back and ask me "to FXXX off" then I was like "WTF" he said I bloody cut Q into his line where I did not even do so!!!!

He ask me to "FXXX off" and said you rude bunch of Sporeans! Then I said to him "U FXXX off too, are u even a man?!" I told him then "why the F*** are u here" and he keep cussing me...super B******!!!! I was so freaking mad! Wat if I fell over?!

If he's so bloody unhappy, WTF is he doing in SG!!! !Q@#$%^&*(!@#$%^&*( get his bloody arse back to his F***** country!!!

Since he picked on the quarrel and scolded me for nothing, I just retort back I just dun take it lying down!!!

Argh!!!!!!!!!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/angry.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/angry.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/angry.gif]

Lilbluey,

first, cool down, cool down. baby can feel you.

but omigod! WTH? what a jerk!!! no one stand up to help u? scold him?? he is too much! they still think they superior and look down on us! WTH.....

wow.. he's an arsehole lah! watz his problem for picking on you!!!

if i meet such a fcuking piece of shit, i really might start hitting him. disbelievable!!!

Morning Mummies!

Lil bluey, that ang moh is really an ass! So rude , n didnt he see your big tummy enough not to push you! Not a gentleman at all! Hope you are ok ya.

GSM/Pearlyn,

Sporeans just love tis kind of drama isnt' it?! Why would they bother to help?! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

I dun even deemed him as a human!! So wat if you are an ang moh, so bloody high and mighty ah? F***!!! think pple must hold them in awe!

I was sooo angry that I almost want to hit him with my bag!! I met him at the MRT station on my way to office he was walking the same route as me for a while, luckily not to my office direction, else if the next time I see him I made sure I take a pic of him and post online!

Cyn, Ivy

Thanks, am ok, luckily I was holding on to the escalator sides..who knows what happen if I lose my balance!

Pardon me for all the rantings, am really hopping mad, they think Asians are a bunch to be bullied???

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

morning ladies...

lilbluey, what a horrible guy! calm down calm down... at least you retort back!

Seabreeze, errr...thot the $2 charge is for maintaining the link between the savings and current account? They have been charging me $2 every month for a very long time and that's the reason they gave me leh. If it was because of the min balance, then they have been eating my money!

Train behaviour

yesterday took the NS line again. Actually i hate taking this line because it's crowded at all hours! No one gave up their seats for me. I stood in front of this Indian guy sitting in the reserved seat. He wasn't sleeping. He kept looking left, right...looked everywhere except at me. I even pretended that I couldn't balance myself well by holding two of the overhead thing (the name escapes me for the moment). But he still no reaction. Then this chinese guy came on, saw me, signaled to the Indian man to let me have the seat. The Indian man then immediately jumped up with a smile and asked me to sit acting as though I just boarded the train. Winner! I thanked the chinese guy when i took the seat. :p

Taka fair

was there yest...couldn't find mittens/booties or did i miss it? Btw, anyone knows where I can find a baby bath thermometer? Can't find it anywhere as well.