(2009/10) October 2009 MTBs

Huiying, u so cute.. Haha.. Feeling bloated always even before preg.. First child?
Actually, u can go online n check on ur edd base on ur last menses date..

glad, i also buay tahan just now and drank a cup of sprite... haha. i haven seen gynae yet but my GP only ask me to keep to a cup of coffee/tea per day, avoid alcohol, and raw/BBQ food. i guess other things are ok if consumed in moderation.

i am only worried about gestation diabetes since kid may be prone to developing childhood obesity, and develop diabetes later in life.

Hiya Oct Mama-to-be!

I had not posted for the last few early morning becos I managed to sleep through the nights. I woke up a few times to pee though but went straight back to bed immediately

Btw, what kind of stretch mark cream is good/effective and cheap to get?

Soh, I too craved for korean spicy chicken soup last week. There is a really good authentic korean stall at the basement foodcourt of Le Meridien Hotel. Die die must try

cheerio

Is it ok not to get up to pee at night? Coz I'm feeling super lazy to get out.

I think I heard about the cocoa butter from body shop. Neil Humphreys wrote about it in his book about his wife's pregnancy.

HI Joyce, thks for the info. on the fair. It's been 5years since my last pregnancy so i feel as excited as a first time mum now.

hi <font color="0000ff">MTBs</font>, my wkend was burnt, cos my son is down w fever on fri, so whole of wkend was spent looking after him, day &amp; nite, making sure his fever dun shot up too high...oni yest then his fever came down...mi aso MC yest cos of my nausea &amp; slight fever..tink aso nt enough sleep so gd rest 4 mi as well....

<font color="0000ff">Siangjiao</font>, same as u, now wkend I dun wanna go anywhere but stay at hm &amp; rest….even now dun wan go 2 work but rest at hm &amp; rot cos oni sleep can help mi ease my nausea...

hi <font color="0000ff">elise, roxie, ginger, treasurebox &amp; huiying</font>

Congratulations !!!
&amp; welcome..

<font color="0000ff">abt stretchmarks</font>... actually I was told by one of the GP lady doc tat stretchmark cream can’t really helps...stretchmarks depends on one’s skin elasticity &amp; genes...my last pregnancy I applied the cream, then later my skin started 2 itch, so went 2 c doc, doc told mi tis..but on &amp; off, I’ll still apply...my mum din hve any stretchmarks after giving birth to 3 children...thank god, mi aso dun hve..but dunno izzit really the stretchmark cream or izzit genes/ my own skin elasticity...

Honestly, we can eat almost everything, including raw food (as long as u know that the shop has fresh ones), shell food, ice cream, etc. As long as it's in moderation, it's fine.
When i was preggars the 1st round, I ate everything and the gynae was real cool about it too. The only thing I avoided was pineapple. My son is 14mths now and healthy.
To the new mothers out there, I would just suggest precaution and moderation. Dun need to limit yourself to all the food. If you crave it, just eat it (not every day and every meal lah). U'll feel better.

glass, if you have the urge to pee, I sugg you don't keep it in, after suay suay kena UTI for no reason.

carlyn, I'm in agreement with you about teh stretchmark cream. I've spoken to some skin specialist and they did mention that the creams actually dun really work. It'll just prevent itchiness and also lighten the mark (will not make it disappear). Also, the elasticity may sometimes be genetics as well. So those who have good genes, good for you.

wow, so many posts after i made mine! Thanks carlyn and glad.

just went to see the gyne and the little fetus is just 4mm long! very interesting! and i'm 6wks pregnant. EDD is 14 oct, also my ROM date. everything is so exciting...

i'm not craving for anything yet. in fact, i'm losing appetite cos the smell from my burping is really *&amp;^%... haha..

hmm, seems like something wrong w the forum...can't find it frm the thread...i oni managed 2 come here cos i saved the address...

ya, something wrong in this forum. nor wondar this thread suddenly so quiet. Lucky i also bookmarked this thread.

btw, ladies, can we drink manuka honey?

Not sure if many mtbs experiencing this?? scent.. be it smelly or nice, i will feel like puking.. including those bathing body foam.. each time i bathe, i hv to 'ren'..

Just now once i step out from my office, the smell of haze made me wana puke....

Loke,

Can u see the baby's heartbeat yet??

today i went to see my gynae. did a belly scan but saw nothing. I'm abt 5 weeks 2 days. Kind of disappointed but gynae asked me not to be alarmed cos its still early. Felt like a wasted trip today.. next visit is in 18 days time. Its going to be such a long wait... *so depressed*

About smells...

It started with me unable to tolerate the scent of my cabinets that were lined with crabtree &amp; evelyn drawer liners.

Then it progressed to the bath gels and hand soaps.
When the intolerance progressed to wanting to throw up, I had no choice but to get HB to throw away all the liners and change all the bath gels to unscented. Even my usual lipstick, toner, moisturiser are not spared....hao ke xi...

I found this shop very useful - Bud's Cosmetics. Just got some no-scent natural stuff and so far, so good. The stretch mark oil they sell has also made my skin soft..no comment yet on effect.

You might also want to check this out: http://www.natural-living-for-women.com/avoid-during-pregnancy.html

Hi Sang Jiao,

Can completely understand..had my first scan at 5 weeks on the 11th - can only see a black bean thing.
But since that visit, it has been quite dramatic for me...had spotting, then it stopped..and the MS that has just arrived...hehehehe..

welcome to the club.

waw its been a while since my last post
i got my heartbeat already n confirmed my edd will be on 1st of Oct
my gynae is Dr.Selena n my hospital will be Mt.E

recently having all day sickness, always vomit n always nausea. cant walk , cant take car, cant do anything .. feel very useless, just do nothing n vomit

ugh...feel very bad

Angelina>> Can u actually feel the heartbeat inside u? I think mine shld also have heartbeat leh.. but i dun really feel anything leh!

Counting down to Monday!!! My 1st appt wif the Gynae!!! So excited and so looking forward!!

So, its the website having problems.. i tot my connection suddenly block the page or wat.. Phew...

hi everyone! haven't posted in a while, but been reading all the posts.

yday had a major case of motion sickness in the bus. Same thing I had for my #1, which lasted 4 mths.
Sensitive to smells too, and hv this bland taste in my mouth... Feel hungry all the time, but when I eat, I've no appetite...

think most of us hv some form of MS by now? Let's all hang in there!

btw, anyone's EDD is around 9 Oct, and already can see heartbeat? I'm seeing gynae for 1st visit this Fri. I think shld be able to see by then right?

HI glad,

Thanks for ur info! btw, i m sensitive to smell also not not sooo strong..same as my #1 pregnancy..suddenly can smell a lot of things..

toking abt smell, ya when i smell things tat r too strong, even perfume &amp; the usual handcream i used, i'll get turn off...so now spray minimum perfume &amp; on &amp; off uses my handcream....now seems like my MS nt as bad as last wk...dunno izzit really cos of the med tat doc gave mi, cos Sun i've finally finish the med...although still hve minor MS but nt as bad as last wk....

<font color="0000ff">ryne</font>, mi aso having tis funny taste on my mouth, like bland, but more like when i'm having antibotics for a few days....

mi still hve 2 wait till tis sat then knw whether bb is okie....keeping my finger cross...

First time MTB, just had my scan few days ago. Can see foetus...hubby n myself were so happy. Waiting for the next appt to hear the heartbeat.

My MS also kicks in, super sensitive to smell be it good or bad. puking sensation can comes anytime....

like ryne, i do feel hungry but when i eat i also no appetite....

Btw, have you all start consuming supplements? is it too early to take now? i am currently taking protein drinks, calcium and iron pills.

and also is it fine to eat more then 5mg of folic acid?

ryne>> yeah, i tink by friday should be able to see the heartbeat le, coz my EDD is 10 Oct, and i'm gg to see my gynae tmr to see and hear the heartbeat.. so excited! its been a long wait of 2 whole weeks..

Glad: not yet. gyne said we'll check again in two weeks.

siangjiao: when i checked 1st time yesterday, the ultrasound also says the fetus is 5w2d.. but cos my period is 40days so, gyne averaged it to be 6wks.

ryne: same here. i feel like puking when i'm hungry. but when food was placed in front of me, i dun feel like eating anymore. haha.

cindy: i think supplements are fine cos they always come in very minute amounts. i've been taking supplements even before i found out that i'm pregnant. gyne said its ok. just live normally. hahaha...

im suddenly very sensitive to smells, i can sniff out sthg in a distance, as though im now a patrol dog, i can smell things that pple cant..

and still no appetite for me since i got preggy.. and this loss of appetite is only in the day time, when i feel like sleeping more than anything else.. but when night time comes, i will be hungry and want to eat.. confirm will pile on lots of kilos like this!!!

and the nauseous feeling is getting quite bad now, always have the ready to puke feeling, esp in the office..

hi mommies... if my pregnancy goes well, i will be having my kid in oct too! cautious cos i had a m/c before this.

right now i dunno issit morning sickness but i keep wanting to gag. not vomiting, just this stuffiness in my chest. no appetite too. looking at pictures of food in the foodcourt makes me want to puke. and always feeling very tired...

worse... yesterday i fainted in the foodcourt. so i am trying to eat more despite the pukish feeling. people tell me it's cos i've not been eating enough... anyone else feeling faint?

Hi all, I've been feeling hungry for a long time, and I finally finished an entire economical rice today. Had been spending so much money on food for the past few days, because I would be very hungry, and after having a few bites, I would have no appetite even though I'm still super hungry. I would buy at least 5 meals a day.

I also think my husband's driving is making me feel nauseated. When I drive, it's ok, but when he drove two days ago, I felt very sick. Last time I didn't have this problem.

I'm waiting for Friday to go for my next checkup! I really hope my baby is growing well, and it's small because of late ovulation rather than anything else.

I went to Metro yesterday and bought the bra extensions. Not sure whether it is good. Had sore breasts, but after applying some cream, they appear to be firm but not sore anymore.

Some strollers I saw are really expensive at more than $700 or $800!! Are they the BMWs of the baby strollers or what? Very tempting to buy little booties and other stuff, but I think I'm going to control myself and my money.

I totally agree with many of you about the smells. Even the soap powder makes me feel sick. Thank goodness the immediate toiletries that I use are still ok. The last time I had such strong smell sensitivity was after a bad boat ride to Bintan. Really took it out on my then bf (now my hubby).

lok and xoxologht: last night i scold bb why hide and not let mummy see ... haha

for me no morning sickness yet, but my appetite has dropped. Food used to cheer me up, but now i look at them so sianz. I'm still able to eat and keep the food down but eating no longer seems fun.

And my mouth seems perpertually dry all the time.. i drink loads of water..i keep thinking i have bad breath

wow glass, i tink the driving part is coz when you drive, you concentrate on the roads more than anything else.. but when your hubby drives, you aren't concentrating on anything at all..

my fren told me that i can start to buy nursing bra, so that there wun be any underwire to poke the-already-sore breasts even more sore.. but im kinda resistant towards nursing bra leh.. heehee.. have you started to use the bra extensions today? how is it?

same like you, im also very tempted to buy those cute little mittens and stuffs.. but i know its way too early la, so i will have to curb myself first..

not only strollers are exp, those baby car seats are also another one.. but these are the safety of our babies, we have to spend on these de..

im thinking of buying those 3-wheeled USA stroller, and the baby is facing me instead of facing in front that kind, so that i am aware of what my BB is doing in the pram..

siangjiao, to test whether you have bad breath, just lick your wrist and wait for 10seconds. If it's bad, you can smell it.

Just an update to all, as i said i was spotting last week. Doc gave me a very painful homrmones jab and the hormones pills. It became mini menses over the weekend, doc told me to double my dosage. Went to see him yesterday, seems from the scan that baby is not growing much. LAst wed, 1.1 cm, yesterday, 1.3cm.EDD was initially 8 Oct, then it became 24 OCt.
Doc said baby does not seem to grow much and due to the bleeding that i still have, i was told to take a blood test yesterday and one more tomorrow. By comparing the results fr the blood tests, will be able to conclude on Friday if baby is growing.
don't have a good feeling towards it. But anyway, thank u to all who gave me their advices.
You gals take care...

Serene, i encounter bleeding last week too. Doc also gave me an injection and pills. Mine bleeding have stop now. Just rest in bed and minimise your movement and continue to take the pills, it will helps. Doc say that the hormones pill is something like a "An Dai yao" for the BB. Have to stay positive now.

Lok, your EDD is very near to mine,my EDD is on 13 Oct.

All MTB, which gyn have you all appointed? I'm going with Dr.Jocelyn Wong at TMC.

may i know how do u all tackle morning sickness? my wife has been feelg uncomfortable all d time. she feel like vomiting, stomach bloated, chest feelg pressed, tired, giddy, no appetite...will doc prescribe medicine to cure these? we will b seeing gynae nx week only.

Hello Serene => Think positive! For my first preganancy, I was spotting as well.... and my gynae told me to stay positive and "talk" to your bb.... Look at the positive side, at least the bb has grown 0.2cm over a week.... It maybe slow but is still grow strong and healthy.....

Soh>> I think we shld start to apply le.. I am intending to buy stretchmark cream soon too.. i was advised NOT to scratch it no matter how itchy it gets.. cos it will leave ugly stretchmarks..

Gibert>> What the gynae advised to tackle morning sickness is.. never give up on eating.. He says eating small meals serveral times helps to curb the morning sickness.. but i dunno how useful it is...

i am eating every 2hrs and that seems to be pretty scary as i am always hungry. Wonder if i will put on 25kg or more!! I put on 18kg for my first one despite no appetite for 1st trimester.Wonder anyone have the same sympston as me??

Mrs Neo, my next appointment is on next Sat... can't wait for my nxt scanning. Wat brand of stretch mark cream are you using now?? A lot of MTB recommend Palmer stretchmark cream.

Sorry to interupt.

New and Never use before. Came as a free gift from baby pram. Letting go as already have a pouch. Selling at $25. Pls email to [email protected]

http://www.pupsikstudio.com/pages/babywearing.php

COLOUR - TROPICAL TURQUOISE

Inspired by the sun and the sea, this striking cool turquoise blue is sure to turn heads! Made from cotton sateen stretch fabric, this pouch comes with a pocket for diapers and a buckle for attaching toys and pacifiers. With built-in padding.

2171821.gif

Hi mummies-to-be here,
I tested +ve last wk, EDD shld be 17 Oct based on my own calculation. Have yet to see the gynae. This is my 2nd pregnancy. Hope to share and learn more with all here

Soh>> I havent start using the cream yet. But according to my sister, she used Vichy during her pregnancy (not sure whether its the right spelling).. N she does not have a single stretchmark at all... So, most likely i wld be trying.

My friend who saw Dr Joyceln told me that we can actually get her to prescribe the cream to us as well.. Maybe u can ask her when u see her next sat!

Serene: I'll pray for you and your baby. ACtually i was quite depressed last year when i found out that my period isnt the usual 28 days but 40days.. cos it seems like there could be some problem if i want to have children. so i prayed really hard for a miracle to happen, and it did! so i believe that i can pray for you too!

Soh: this is so exciting! i should be going Mt E cos my gyne is from there. It'll be fun to give birth at the same time and same place with any one of you mtbs here!!

anyway, i'm feeling nausea and bloated and hungry all at the same time. sitting down for too long isnt helping much. and the toilets at orchard towers (where i work) isn't exactly nice smelling. haha..

hello mummies... im tested positive last week and went to see my gyane on monday.. i should be at 5weeks 3 days now.. EDD is tentative on 18 oct.. get to see the sac and yolk.. my gynae is quite positive however, im still worried cause 6 months back i had just lost my baby cause baby is not growing.. now im so scared .. im so 'pa dang' tat i do not wish to tell anyone about it.. but today i had just told a frz cause she smell something fishy..

Hi Angelina,
My EDD is also 1st Oct. Same as u. Keke! Gynae say normally shld be earlier then the EDD date.

MieMie,
do update us after ur gynae visit tmr k! I can't wait for my turn on Fri!!
Seemed like the longest wait.

Hey, looks like more and more MTBs joining this thread. Anyone updating the table?