(2009/07) July 2009 MTBs

Mashy and FOZ: dun say, we recently advert for 1 position. mostly i had foreigners applying for the job. in the end some locals even last min fly us aeroplane for the interview ... so u ask me, it's not job market no good, i do think some locals have to readjust their mentality.

sunsweet: er, to date, i apply oil on my tummy less than 10 times for this pregnancy. too tired most of the times :p

Birdnest: buy those "house" nest or "wu yan" as they are cleaner than those cave ones. i just soak and then pick up the pieces and then brew :p never pick up feathers :p if any, i didn't see it!

HBB: beginning of my pregnancy and before, i had like flu continously for 6 months. it beat my record in 1998 when i had flu for 3 months (keep getting all the various strains - HK, US, Aus, peng san!)

herbs for confinement - this time i just buy from provision shop! i didn't even bother going to a medical hall :p anyway i need to save $$ so i cannot afford to buy from EYS ... i have bought 2 KG of red dates, 2 KG of dried logan meat, i think 500 or 800 g of "dangshen" ... the lady out of stock of beiqi, so will get this week instead ... spent less than $100 to date on herbs so i quite happy :p this old lady next to me keep telling me the shop stuff v good, she bought all her stuff from the same shop for both of her dotters confinement and she has been buying from her for 30 years ... well let's see how lor :p i didn't buy bird nest this time cuz I had some leftover from my first pregnancy, so just brewed like 3 times to eat ... since only 4 to 5 weeks to go, I can't be bothered! maybe I'll just make white fungus to eat ... i love it when it's cold!!

kim and HBB: before i forget, the hock hua ones, some of them are processed - as in they just compressed back into a "diamond" shape from the bits and pieces of bird nest ... i generally aviod hock hua although their deals sound damn good at times. I just buy from the chinese doc i see ...

all the birdnest we buy from medical halls are processed, meaning cleaned thus broken down to strips then reconstructed using a mould.

Its raw state you won;t even want to get near to it cos it full of feathers and unclean..

hey its still a nest of the bird's mah..
its natural it will be lined with feathers for their comfort.

anyway some ppl will be san yan.. meaning the broken / short strips of bird nest that are not used to re-constructed to the shape of the nest. well its still birdnest just in broken pieces, content wise its the same just much cheaper.

<font color="0000ff">Sunsweet</font>
Okay, okay, thank you, I won't take that White Wind tablet now, will take only AFTER I pop, appreciate your advice.

<font color="0000ff">Pre-natal Massage</font>
I called Babies Bellies, ask if they can arrange for someone to come to my house either this evening or tomorrow evening for a massage, lower back pain again. Sigh...anyhow they gotta call me back. <font color="0000ff">Kim</font>: mention your name - will they give discount? :p

<font color="0000ff">HBB</font>
wah, despite your comfort food intake, you still maintain your svelte figure, how fortunate...btw any moms here are members of California Fitness? Maybe we can go together to exercise after confinement to lose some weight. When you have company, you will be more motivated to hit the gym, or so I read. I like to go to the Bugis outlet, but Orchard one also can.

<font color="0000ff">Pretty Bunnie</font>
My firm will be advertising in this Sat Straits Times, no choice. Not enough applicants who meet the requirements. Quite expensive, >$1k. Hopefully, the right one come along...

<font color="0000ff">Stretch marks</font>
I have stretch marks on my thighs even before I was ever preggy...so I guess genes does play a part. Now I apply cream on my tummy and buttocks and hope for the best. Fingers XXX.

ya the san yan are actualy cheaper.. no diff fr the normal ones actualy
we bout 3 taels if bird nest till now more than half left cos i lazy to make haha

pretty bunnie
haiz.. guess preggy immune is realy low
last time whole world ard me sick i also dun get affected manz.. now.. dh sniff a bit nia.. nxt day i kenna!

FOZ
the ice cream i onli eat when i am sick haha.. when i am not sick i dunc rave for icecream.
whenever i am sick liek flu or cough my dh will buy mi ice cream cos bk in europe we dun get to see doc easily... doc always say go drink some cola and eat ice cream and we b fine haa

Hi Sam,
Okie, so i guess it should be quite common to have contractions. :D Yeah, i also realised that when i exert myself more like doing more shopping that day or carrying heavy things, the tightening gets a little worse.

SUNSWEET (sunsweet)
Hi sunsweet, my Mother in law also brewed the birdnest for me at night. I usually eat it around midnight.. around 12 plus to 2pm.. after my weekly mahjong session with them. She said birdnest must eat after midnight better.. haha so i guess maybe what your friend said is right?

FOZ, u better? hey, its 白凤丸(white phoenix) not 白风丸 (white wind)

Sunsweet, Yoda also very active the whole lunch time, I asked my colleague to feel she got scared cos very hard (his butt) and moving..

Now I need a bed..

HBB, this morning I went market to buy cheong fun and went thank the Tau-gay lady for the husk, and she asked if I want more, so I say yes.. She's keeping another packet for me.. (this KS mom)

kim
u dun get over stimulated again hor then end up wake up at 2am and pick tau gay LOL

my bb today not moing much mayb cos i not feeling well plus i took flu tablets which kkh gave me last mth
refuse to eat last mth..now diedie must eat cos home alone...scare kenna fever again
tsk tsk

sun : i buy "yan kou" mostly, just must rem to snip apart the thick sections otherwise it's quite hard. the house nest is usually cleaner cuz nested in houses, so less things to pick out ... either that my eyesight is so bad cannot see :p

I think the heatwave is turning my brains to mush, can't take it anymore, gotta turn on aircon to get any work done. Trying to get more work done during the fisrt half of today was so ineffective, but when come lunchtime, restocking my milk, veg and fruits was so much easier to task to do. Leaving the supermarket, I'm like gosh, comes to food got no problem, no wonder I'm putting on so much weight.

Seeing you ladies so hardworking over cleaning bird's nest, I feel so guilty that I'm not cooking mine yet and it seems cleaned already. I better stop lazying, since less than 9 weeks left till the bb pops.

pre-natal massage; want to try my massage lady? i've been using her for #1 and she usually can hit all my right spots ... last week i had 90 min massage ... shiok man :p

I got the appointment this evening for the massage, yippee! 7.30pm so die die must leave the office by 6.30pm, I am so looking fwd to it.

<font color="ff0000">Kim,</font> I am better already, thank you, anyway well enough to return to office. Noted on the White Phoenix tablets. Many thanks! Hey why do you wanna buy so much tau-gay?

<font color="ff0000">HBB</font>
I see...so what brand/flavour do you usually go for? There was a short period of time where I craved the ice cream from Ice Cream Chef along Upper East Coast, they have this slab of cold table top where the ice cream will be placed and you can choose to add different toppings, they will mash it together for you and presto, a yummy dessert!

<font color="ff0000">Sherryl</font>
Great, I hope she's suitable, thanks!

FOZ
i usualy will love tiramisu or rum n raisin but now cannot eat haa
but for flu n such.. usualy a tub of good vanilla icecream does the job alongside w cola haha
no particular brand since i usualy DIY my ice cream hee

else jus buy magnum hehe

this ice cream chef.. they have a counter at compasspoint cold storage too i tink...

Re: stretchmarks

I had that from the 1st trimester for my #1. This time round haven't seen anything. Keeping my fingers crossed. Hopefully won't get any. Haven't been diligent at all to apply any moisturiser.

SUNSWEET (sunsweet)
You are right in saying that genes plays a part for stretchmarks. My gynea also told me the same thing, but of cos he said that if you put on toomuch weight, the stretchmarks is worse off lor..

yeah, i also realised that my bb is more active after lunch.. after a full meal.. around this time to 4pm... haha.. Sometimes after dinner can also feel her kicking.. I guess with food, she has more energy to move around!

BabyEthan (babyethan)
You take care ya, weather is actually quite hot these days.. Well, its not as bad as last few weeks but still hot! I am also developing mouth ulcers (2 now in my mouth).. cos i guess too heaty! And i love to eat those "heaty" fruits like mango, grapes, lychee!! Very jialat...

I'm from May 2009 thread. I have Klorane Dry Shampoo with oat milk bought from Robinsons at RP $14.50. Still have 3/4 left. Useful if you do not intend to shampoo your hair for few days/weeks.

If anyone is interested, can take over the bottle at only $3 as postage.

Ice Cream Chef??

Back in aussie my fav is Ice Rock.. think there's one in sg too..

My fave combi.. Vanllia Ice Cream with Malters and Brownies and Fudge..

haha Salivating liao

This preggy i tink i got sweet tooth.. keep wanting to have some choco after meals.. but i'm trying to cut down sugar cos i can't cut down carbo .. I'm putting on quite a bit liao..

Jamie... thanks
just woke up from my nap and i was sweating. The weather is really hot. Think I'll on the air con for a while too.

HBB,
Ya me too... this is my my 3rd flu bout since preg. Usually won't get so easily. very scared will spread to my family members, so now hiding at my mum's place. I had my ice cream and coconut drink last night too before sleeping
very shiok esp in this weather. Had been taking a lot of cold drinks and cold stuff lately.

<font color="0000ff">Sherryl</font>
The lady from Babies Bellies quoted me $55 for an hr of masssage and $8 for transport.

<font color="0000ff">HBB</font>
You even DIY your own ice cream? Are you Wonder Mother in disguise?

<font color="0000ff">Pretty Bunnie</font>
Do post your therapist's contact here too so we can try different massages mah. How are her charges like?

<font color="0000ff">Sam</font>
Turn on the a/c full blast, it will certainly make you feel better. My colleagues have been advising me to cut my hair short before delivery but I don't wanna! They said the heat is gonna kill me, aarrgghh! My response is that I am sure the delivery room's temperature can be adjusted - hehe!

Jamie,

I'm like you like the heaty fruits..
just got some mangos from NTUC.. waiting for the Lychee and durain season haha

i think we got to counter it with Coconut Juice !!

wonder take both heaty and cooling fruits will get stomach upset or not.. haha

bbethan
i cant find coconut at ntuc n giant leh!! haiz.. i tink mayb i heaty lor tat y sick.. .tsk tsk

FOZ
i literaly try to diy most of the food cos overseas no such luxury as to buy off the shelf that y ... hehe
ever try bak kwa n pork floss as well hehe

FOZ,

i think its the confinement part that is unbearable with long hair.. but my thinking is with long hair we can bun it up.. more comfy then shoulder lenght right?

keke

HBB, Giant at vivocity sells the mini coconut (juice very sweet but no meat type)

Sunsweet, ya, think better keep hair long enuf to tie/bun up, my cousin's wife had shoulder length hair during her confinement, she says better off shave them all off, cos cant do anything abt it, pin pin the fringe and near ears also din help, more hassle only..

HBB
My mum bought from NTUC leh. Try the market? So far i already had 3. Is the flesh heaty? wondering if it's due to the flesh that causes my sore throat. Talking abt it really makes me crave for 1 cup now...hehe

FOZ
i mentioned Kimberly when the lady aked who recommended me to go. Still no discount leh. .anyway, enjoy yr massage this evening.

Sunsweet
Are u the one who's using the egg washing machine. I'm thinking of buying but not sure if good cos i read someb ad comments on it. Not able to dry too well. anyone has any comments?

Just came back from my 32-wk check-up and my babies are 2kg each. Hahaha…..very soon I will be like carrying a small packet of rice (those 5kg types) with me all the time. My doctor has set the date for my C-section which will be on 18th June. I feel very kan cheong liao…

My water retention is getting more and more serious. Doctor even mentioned that my legs look like pig trotters. Not sure if anybody experience itchiness over the body, esp at the tummy area and legs. Mine is very serious as I will wake up a few times in the nite due to itchiness and I tend to scratch like crazy. Last nite I really beh tahan so I wake my HB up and complaint to him then I started to cry and cry. So jia lat.

Oh, btw, I haven't started on coconut juice leh. Should I start now or later?

Kimberly,
Thanks for the info for the glass bottle. I got it from China Town last weekend, but not the size I want as the one you mentioned is out of stock (sian…dunno y this always happen to me). I got a smaller one at $7+.

Re: Stretchmark
BabyEthan, same here. Stretchmark all over the tummy, and mostly lower part of tummy. No matter what cream/oil I apply also no use (actually already finished 2 tubes of stretchmark cream). Dare not look into mirror now or else I will faint. Super ugly.

Re: birdnest
Kim, agree with HBB. Those from hock hua are clean. Can get the red colour “xue yan” if you worry about the bleached birdnest. Processed ones are normally cheaper but not that good.

i had long long hair before i cut it short n regret almost immediately cos cannto tie up and end up feel more hot than long hair.. long hair ic an still bun up neatly n feel cool! i tink jus ma fan to wash n dry during confinement...

kim.. ok i will go vivo n check it out if i happen to b thr

bbethan
yes the meat is heaty!! juice is cooling =)
the egg washing machine dont have spin dry function so u gotto manualy wringe dry pr put in ur washer to spin dry... but good if u wan to wash small amt of clothes
i am tinking of buying.. duno wan buy anot
sis offer to lend mi hers but i feel bad if i take hers and she no more to use for her clothes cos she stay w her in laws and she dun liek to use her in laws washer as its front load type

Beverly (lolo)
I also got very very bad rashes on my legs.. I also scratch at night.. its getting worse. I went to see 2 docs, my gynea and a skin specialist, both said its pregnancy induced. Nothing we can do abt it.. It will get worse till we give birth.. try to "tahan" ok, you are not alone. i know how you feel.. very depressing one, to see your legs like that.. Mine will spread up and down my legs.. very bad rashes! The doc just asked us to moisturise it as often as we can.. and try not to eat too much seafood incase it aggrevate it.. U take care ya..

btw, how come you are going to do the C-section so early.. what week will you be then?

HBB,
You make your own ice-cream? the last time i did that is when i was touring in Japan Hokkaido and its part of the tour itinenary.. Its so tiring.. My hands were like aching like mad when I finished making the ice-cream, you gotta keep stirring the mixture right??

Anyone have any idea which week can we start drinking coconut drink? Thanks

Beverly, so excited to hear your bbs are growing well!! Already 2kg at 32, my Yoda only 1.915 @32, some more singleton.. U mz take good care now, dun anyhow run around any more k? I think my bottle is the 12pint type. Can hold 3kg rice, I think yours may b for 2kg or less, I hope you got 2 so can separate into 2 jars, same harvest time but double the amount.

Did you tell your doc about the itch? Sounds v serious woh.. I only have occasional itch due to the material of my clothes (Those Lace top and hugging ones are worse). I also found sometimes I have mossie-bite-like spots, but they are not.

You have to rest more and prop your feet up more to reduce the swelling, may be reduce salt intake is good too.

hey mummies, we can eat ice cream ar?
I am craving for ice cream but hubby said preggy can't take ice cream wor.....

beverly, about 3 weeks more you will got to see your BB liao.....

beverly

glad to hear that your bbs are doing so well. It's great to pass the 2kg marker! So fast going to deliver. I still have to wait 2 months.

RE: Ice Cream
People say expecting boy will crave for ice cream and everything sweet, but never happen to me. My taste bud still same same, wide variety of food satisfy me, not preference of sweet or sour. But I prefer sorbet to ice cream, esp sour sop (which not many places have).

Hey, I still hve the flutery feeling under my left breast leh.. it's very subtle and when I place my hand on the spot, my hand doesn't feel anything dou.. I am quite sure it;s not yoda's mischief..

beverly
good to hear abt yr babies. so u confirmed yr c-sect date will be 18 jun? that's only like 3-4wks away. must be exciting. in fact my gynae has suggested that i can deliver my baby from 19 jun onwards. but i'm trying to keep her inside me for as long as possible. dun know if he's willing to work on sunday so that baby can come out on Father's Day.

Got a shock last night when I saw stretch marks appearing below my navel area..guess no choice lah..cannot escape this..hiazzz...

RE: Birdnests
According to the TCM sinseh, birdnests can sometimes cause allergic reaction or asthma to some babies. Birdnests hv very tiny feathers tt is sometimes very hard to remove. So she advise tt it is not necessary to take instead she suggested taking grapes if u want babies to hv smooth skin. I was quite plesantly surprise by her comments. Its a much cheaper option :)

RE: Ice-cream
HBB: How clever of u, how do u make yr own ice-cream? is it difficult?