(2008/10) Oct 2008

hi busybee - she is v cute... if i m not mistaken her helper brings her to class?

Hi jjmom - no need parent, grandparent or helper can accompany nat. there are alot of helpers there w the toddlers.

re naps - i think busy bee make a good pt. I also dun really care...let him adjust..he has been shifting to 1 nap now..sometimes in morning..but when he is in class playing etc..they will forget they r tired... so after class, makan lunch and crash to bed...haha...

i am glad i signed him up for the class...now i wish i can take half days to accompany him and not let his dad do it..

jjmom,
coz jus join nia nothing much to do so come in forum lor but i guess my honeymoon will be over very fast.

actually i dunno shld sign shawn up for all these classes mah coz my initial plan is jus put in straight class when time comes.

<font color="119911">busybee, vanilla,
thanks for the infor on playclub &amp; advise abt the nap
will juz go ahead &amp; sign up for the most suitable timing then

Vanilla, her mom used to take her, but i think busy schedule so helper takes her instead nowadays.

JJMom, I will prob be joining sat classes in term 3 if i return to work by then. So maybe we'll be in same class!

<font color="119911">busybee,
u plan to join the 1 at east coast after u returns to work? conv for u?

tat would b great, nat &amp; miki can b classmates

<font color="119911">bigflamingo,
Pats has gd classes too? share more infor abt it with us? don't mind having more choices

bigflamingo - i am interested in Pats but it is weekend classes so had to take it out of my list. I was looking for weekday classes.

Weekends = grocery shopping w my boy. He loves the sueprmarket...

<font face="comic sans ms">Hi mummies,

everyone so stressed with the preschool searching. here's some to relax...

<font color="0000ff"><u>Computer Repair</u></font>
Caller : <font color="ff0000">Hi, our printer is not working.</font>
Customer Service: <font color="0000ff">What is wrong with it?</font>
Caller : <font color="ff0000">Mouse is jammed.</font>
Customer Service: <font color="0000ff">Mouse? Printers don't have a mouse you fool!</font>
Caller: <font color="ff0000">Mmmmm??.. Oh really?... I will send a picture. </font></font>

<font color="119911">cheerbear,
we will b at my inlaws in the east, on sat, so it's conv for us at east coast branch.

think bus 34 goes to east coast from punggol but think it's too long a ride for kids.</font>

hahha...funny mouse.

Hi jjmom, I just went for the trial. The class is from 10.45 to 12.15 on sat.

Julian was happy! The classroom is quite spacious. Started with rolling a ball on a parachute, then storytime, they each got to take a toy animal out of the box before the teacher sang old mcdonald. There was a finger painting session, shaker eggs music bit, snack-time and dancing around. no playground time as it was raining.

Overall, the difference is it didn't feel too rushed...which was nice.

Busybee
thanks for ur feedback on fridge phonics. I can't decide so I am getting both. Haha...
Jelly
can u order both the fridge phonics n alphabet explorer for me? Thanks.

I'm tempted to buy but i already have the phonics radio which was given by karen and reading the reviews on the features of the other items, seems like the radio also has similar features. Hmmm. Maybe i should save my $$. Heehee!

springles,
Do you have the dates for playtime?

the jurong forum mums are thinkin sat 10am start apr 10. but its tentative and its only 3 sessions. i don't think she can confirm until she gets the numbers. currently there is 3 parents n kids, need 2 more. that was the last time i checked..heh

I hope the LF spree is cheaper than buying it from here...shipping can be expensive hor jelly?
i bought the fridge magnet before the prices went up last year..think i got it for 45.

Buffy,

Think I am the only one who bought the Little Reader like u. Hehe...

It works very well for my gal. She is much more attentive now. Her concentration span is much longer. She also starts learning more. She seldom wave when we ask her to bye bye yet after this programme, whenever we ask her to WAVE, she did it most of the time.

She cant kick a ball b4 the programme but now when we say KICK, she can. Same for some other action words. But it din work very well for the part of the body section, she only manage to get TONGUE

But for reading wise, she dun do it as often as compared to hearing the word. 1 word that she do the action with higher successful rate is POINT n LAUGH. But she can select correctly quite a handful of words when I do the action. When I kick a ball, she can choose KICK from 2 or 3 flashcard. But still not 100% successful rate. It could be by chance.

Still, I am happy to see her progressing day by day. Maybe she learns very slowly compared to others, but I am still happy enough tat she is learning something.

How about Cate? She like the programme?

Goodness, my post so long. Me really very long-winded.

Mint
I personally like the fridge magnet more than the radio, having both. I can't remember but I like that the fridge magnet has two sounds for most of the vowels like for i, there's eeee and ai. Plus the sounds are clearer.

vanilla,

Think $438 or $468. My memory very poor nowadays. I just now go take a pant tat I order previously, then I told the salesgirl this is not wat I order. Haha... Then she start reminding me wat happen that day why I ended up ordering. Then I remember. Me very jialat...

Cheerbear - I could be wrong but I think the fridge phonics one is the updated version of the word whammer. I have the Word Whammer. From what I remember, you can spell out the word and it sings the ABC song. Not much else. Haven't looked at our word whammer for a few years though.

Ian's current obsession is playing with sand. He can spend hours at the sand table digging and pouring while poor mommy waits for him to be finished playing so we can go indoors.

I like Leapfrog toys. My toddler doesn't seem to like playing with them though. We do have a few because my older son was obsessed with Leapfrog toys when he was younger. Ian just likes to play with Lego Duplo, Thomas trains and draw on paper.

For reading and learning the ABC, we look at starfall.com . Ian likes looking at it. We also do crafts at home.

Playnest is only 2 times a week now? It used to be 3 times a week when my son was going there. Worked out to $40 plus per lesson but I really liked it. We've done both bilingual and chinese playclub and I prefer chinese playclub because I find it more thorough but that's just my personal preference. I wish Ian could go for chinese playclub too but no time to spend an entire semester in Singapore now.

koalababy,
i let rianne look at starfall.com too. she likes it.

any mummies interested in leggings? got cute character on the butt.
thinking of bringing some in.

Morning Mummies!!!
I was on MC yesterday.. Miss alot of post..

Jelly,
I'm interested in the LF toys too... I'm abit confused on the fridge magnet phonics.. Let me go and have a look first k... U compared the price in SG and US?? worth to pay the shipping??

LF toys:
Any reco for this toys?? Wanted to get 1-2 for my boy..

Cheerbear, I also think the word whammer is the older version. Dun think it is still available for purchase as there is no price?

Koalababy, apparently many parents cannot commit to 3 times a week which is why they switched the minimum to 2 times. I am thinking of adding on once a week mandarin playclub for minibee. As she has little or no exposure to mandarin since birth. So tot I better get my butt moving and get her started! PS.. my gal loves Thomas trains too. She can stand and look at the displays for a long time! Tot it was too boyish and didn't get the thomas stuff for her, bot her girly playskool toy cars and a pooh train to indulge her. Hope her fascination for cars and trains is just a phase. I want a girly girl!! hahaha

morning mommies

i consolidated the LF spree request. am going to post here in a while. i had not placed orders

tweety
i cant guarantee shipping is not going to be high. if you have a read on smh, u will find regular spreers like OCEAN who does a lot of LF sprees will tell you she cant estimate shipping. hence, if you are considering to purchase, it will be taking a small risk on ur pocket.

koala and busy bee,
thanks.. now my qn is wondering will they have additional letters like M and D so that we can form words like mum and dad.

tweety,
hope u r better.. i guess is really hard for jelly to est the shipping chg as those toys come in box and might be heavy but if we are all sharing the cost, i think is ok.. so take a risk lor :p

busybee - Ah... so that's why! I found 3 times a week quite jiak lak also but I really liked the class. We only did Chinese Playnest though. If you want to add chinese playclub, the 9 am class at Forum that's taught by the head of chinese Yue laoshi is pretty good. There was a little american boy in my son's playnest who continued on to playclub. When I saw him again during holiday playclub, he could speak really well in Mandarin despite not speaking Mandarin at home. Very impressive. I think the Julia Gabriel programme works because it's like an immersion environment.

LF Spree list
<table border=1><tr><td>Nick</TD><TD>Item</TD><TD>URL</TD><TD>Unit Cost (USD)</TD><TD>Discount</TD><TD> Price (USD) </TD></TR><TR><TD>jolly</TD><TD>Fridge Phonics® Magnetic Alphabet Set</TD><TD>http://www.leapfrog.com/en/fridge_phonics/fridgephonics.html</TD><TD>21.99</TD><TD>20%</TD><TD> $17.59 </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>NEW! AlphaPet Explorer</TD><TD>http://www.leapfrog.com/en/preschool_toys/alphabet_explorer.html</TD><TD>19.99</TD><TD>20%</TD><TD> $15.99 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Karen</TD><TD>NEW! AlphaPet Explorer</TD><TD>http://www.leapfrog.com/en/preschool_toys/alphabet_explorer.html</TD><TD>19.99</TD><TD>20%</TD><TD> $15.99 </TD></TR><TR><TD>cheerbear</TD><TD>Fridge Phonics® Magnetic Alphabet Set</TD><TD>http://www.leapfrog.com/en/fridge_phonics/fridgephonics.html</TD><TD>21.99</TD><TD>20%</TD><TD> $17.59 </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>NEW! AlphaPet Explorer</TD><TD>http://www.leapfrog.com/en/preschool_toys/alphabet_explorer.html</TD><TD>19.99</TD><TD>20%</TD><TD> $15.99 </TD></TR><TR><TD>springles</TD><TD>NEW! AlphaPet Explorer</TD><TD>http://www.leapfrog.com/en/preschool_toys/alphabet_explorer.html</TD><TD>19.99</TD><TD>20%</TD><TD> $15.99 </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>NEW! Chat &amp; Count Cell Phone</TD><TD>http://www.leapfrog.com/en/infant_and_toddler/count_chat_phone.html</TD><TD>14.99</TD><TD>20%</TD><TD> $11.99 </TD></TR><TR><TD>xinying</TD><TD>NEW! Fridge Words™ Magnetic Word Builder</TD><TD>http://www.leapfrog.com/en/fridge_phonics/wwfridgephonics.html</TD><TD>18.74</TD><TD>20%</TD><TD> $14.99 </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>NEW! AlphaPet Explorer</TD><TD>http://www.leapfrog.com/en/preschool_toys/alphabet_explorer.html</TD><TD>19.99</TD><TD>20%</TD><TD> $15.99 </TD></TR><TR><TD>bbgoh</TD><TD>Fridge Phonics® Magnetic Alphabet Set</TD><TD>http://www.leapfrog.com/en/fridge_phonics/fridgephonics.html</TD><TD>21.99</TD><TD>20%</TD><TD> $17.59 </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>Learn &amp; Groove® Counting Maracas</TD><TD>http://www.leapfrog.com/en/learn_and_groove/learngroovemaracas.html</TD><TD>12.37</TD><TD>20%</TD><TD> $9.90 </TD></TR><TR><TD>jellypurin</TD><TD>NEW! Fridge Words™ Magnetic Word Builder</TD><TD>http://www.leapfrog.com/en/fridge_phonics/wwfridgephonics.html</TD><TD>18.74</TD><TD>20%</TD><TD> $14.99 </TD></TR><TR><TD>YPG</TD><TD>Fridge Phonics® Magnetic Alphabet Set</TD><TD>http://www.leapfrog.com/en/fridge_phonics/fridgephonics.html</TD><TD>21.99</TD><TD>20%</TD><TD> $17.59 </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>NEW! AlphaPet Explorer</TD><TD>http://www.leapfrog.com/en/preschool_toys/alphabet_explorer.html</TD><TD>19.99</TD><TD>20%</TD><TD> $15.99 </TD></TR><TR><TD>nickypower</TD><TD>NEW! Chat &amp; Count Cell Phone</TD><TD>http://www.leapfrog.com/en/infant_and_toddler/count_chat_phone.html</TD><TD>14.99</TD><TD>20%</TD><TD> $11.99 </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>Fridge Phonics® Magnetic Alphabet Set</TD><TD>http://www.leapfrog.com/en/fridge_phonics/fridgephonics.html</TD><TD>21.99</TD><TD>20%</TD><TD> $17.59 </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

<font color="119911">cheerbear,
i think LP word builder do have those extra letters.

tweety,
yes, it's tough to est the shipping cost. Based on my exp with LP spree, the pricing is cheaper than the org selling price here but whether it's cheaper than when there is 20% sale here depends on the extra discount &amp; shipping. Since the word builder is on sale at LP now &amp; Jelly has additional 20%, i think it's worth to take the risk...kekeke</font>

Cheerbear - The letters from my Fridge Phonics, the single letter one could fit on my Word Whammer. I'm guessing that theoretically if you have extra letters, you can try to make words like that although I'm not sure if it'll recognize "mum" since it's an american toy and they use "mom".

updated with elch's order
<table border=1><tr><td>Nick</TD><TD>Item</TD><TD>URL</TD><TD>Unit Cost (USD)</TD><TD>Discount</TD><TD> Price (USD) </TD><TD>Price (SGD)</TD><TD>Shipping </TD></TR><TR><TD>jolly</TD><TD>Fridge Phonics® Magnetic Alphabet Set</TD><TD>http://www.leapfrog.com/en/fridge_phonics/fridgephonics.html</TD><TD>21.99</TD><TD>20%</TD><TD> $17.59 </TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>NEW! AlphaPet Explorer</TD><TD>http://www.leapfrog.com/en/preschool_toys/alphabet_explorer.html</TD><TD>19.99</TD><TD>20%</TD><TD> $15.99 </TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Karen</TD><TD>NEW! AlphaPet Explorer</TD><TD>http://www.leapfrog.com/en/preschool_toys/alphabet_explorer.html</TD><TD>19.99</TD><TD>20%</TD><TD> $15.99 </TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>cheerbear</TD><TD>Fridge Phonics® Magnetic Alphabet Set</TD><TD>http://www.leapfrog.com/en/fridge_phonics/fridgephonics.html</TD><TD>21.99</TD><TD>20%</TD><TD> $17.59 </TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>NEW! AlphaPet Explorer</TD><TD>http://www.leapfrog.com/en/preschool_toys/alphabet_explorer.html</TD><TD>19.99</TD><TD>20%</TD><TD> $15.99 </TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>springles</TD><TD>NEW! AlphaPet Explorer</TD><TD>http://www.leapfrog.com/en/preschool_toys/alphabet_explorer.html</TD><TD>19.99</TD><TD>20%</TD><TD> $15.99 </TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>NEW! Chat &amp; Count Cell Phone</TD><TD>http://www.leapfrog.com/en/infant_and_toddler/count_chat_phone.html</TD><TD>14.99</TD><TD>20%</TD><TD> $11.99 </TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>xinying</TD><TD>NEW! Fridge Words™ Magnetic Word Builder</TD><TD>http://www.leapfrog.com/en/fridge_phonics/wwfridgephonics.html</TD><TD>18.74</TD><TD>20%</TD><TD> $14.99 </TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>NEW! AlphaPet Explorer</TD><TD>http://www.leapfrog.com/en/preschool_toys/alphabet_explorer.html</TD><TD>19.99</TD><TD>20%</TD><TD> $15.99 </TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>bbgoh</TD><TD>Fridge Phonics® Magnetic Alphabet Set</TD><TD>http://www.leapfrog.com/en/fridge_phonics/fridgephonics.html</TD><TD>21.99</TD><TD>20%</TD><TD> $17.59 </TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>Learn &amp; Groove® Counting Maracas</TD><TD>http://www.leapfrog.com/en/learn_and_groove/learngroovemaracas.html</TD><TD>12.37</TD><TD>20%</TD><TD> $9.90 </TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>jellypurin</TD><TD>NEW! Fridge Words™ Magnetic Word Builder</TD><TD>http://www.leapfrog.com/en/fridge_phonics/wwfridgephonics.html</TD><TD>18.74</TD><TD>20%</TD><TD> $14.99 </TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>YPG</TD><TD>Fridge Phonics® Magnetic Alphabet Set</TD><TD>http://www.leapfrog.com/en/fridge_phonics/fridgephonics.html</TD><TD>21.99</TD><TD>20%</TD><TD> $17.59 </TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>NEW! AlphaPet Explorer</TD><TD>http://www.leapfrog.com/en/preschool_toys/alphabet_explorer.html</TD><TD>19.99</TD><TD>20%</TD><TD> $15.99 </TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>nickypower</TD><TD>NEW! Chat &amp; Count Cell Phone</TD><TD>http://www.leapfrog.com/en/infant_and_toddler/count_chat_phone.html</TD><TD>14.99</TD><TD>20%</TD><TD> $11.99 </TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>Fridge Phonics® Magnetic Alphabet Set</TD><TD>http://www.leapfrog.com/en/fridge_phonics/fridgephonics.html</TD><TD>21.99</TD><TD>20%</TD><TD> $17.59 </TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>ELCH</TD><TD>NEW! Fridge Words™ Magnetic Word Builder</TD><TD>http://www.leapfrog.com/en/fridge_phonics/wwfridgephonics.html</TD><TD>18.74</TD><TD>20%</TD><TD> $14.99 </TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>Fridge DJ Magnetic Learning Radio</TD><TD> http://www.leapfrog.com/en/fridge_phonics/fridgedjradio.html</TD><TD>16.49</TD><TD>20%</TD><TD> $13.19 </TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>