(2007/07) July 2007 MTBs

hello mummies

this'll be my last post till i return mid nov...

veve's still sneezing and having runny nose...aargh...my throat feels a little itchy and scratchy! and 2 nights ago, she was especially clingy to me in the wee hours...i only managed to put her back to sleep and complete my housework and hit the sack at 6am! not surprisingly, in addition to the 3 premolars emerging, two more on top are emerging...hope she won't be a terror on the flight tonight!

zinta...oh dear...hope aaliyah is better already. the PD i went to did not wanna prescribe veve any antibiotics. she was like come back to me if fever persists after 3 days. hmmmm...i think anitbiotics can be double-edged...i personally will try to steer clear of it as long as possible.

nor...that reminds me...in sec sch days...one of my friend wore a pad into the pool...GROSS! think it inflated like those white loti :p i second playtex...with applicator it's a lot easier. but i still using pad mostly cos i dun like the idea of having something inside me :p

ichigo...MMR is compulsory by law...all babies need to have the jab by age of 2.

okie....catch up w you girls when we're back
take care everyone!

<font color="0000ff">Tampons Woes</font>
Eeeehhhhh.. it just occurred to me if I can actually use tampons as I had IUD inserted

Does anyone knows if its ok??
Silly silly me suddenly remembered.. on my I even forget that I’ve IUD in me!
Gosh! I better ask my gynae before I do anything..

<font color="119911">Bedebe</font>
Babe, pardon my memory.. but where are you going? HK is it?

<font color="ff0000">Irene</font>
If no one wants it I don’t mind taking the FM from you.. question is, dono when to get it from you??! hahahah

<font color="0000ff">Eliz</font>
Clever clever Megan! Oh I saw her pics in FB, she have such pretty locks!

<font color="ff0000">Zinta</font>
Hope Aaliyah will get better very soon.
Lis has the fungus thingy too last time, and I also thought its HFMD!
Its partly becos she likes to roll down on floors, carpets etc and also she puts anything in her mouth!

Bedebe: Have a great holiday! I hope you and Veve get better soon. You guys are off to the UK right?

Zinta: Ally had oral thrush due to medication as well. I can't remember what we used but a trick we learned from the nurses was to use a piece of gauze, wrap it around your finger and clean her mouth and tongue with it. Lots of the yucky stuff should come out.

Nor: can't help you with the IUD question but you are too funny lah!

hi everyone...

Aaliyah has recovered from the cough and running nose..Thank God!! But she still has the fungus in her mouth. After reading ur posts above, i feel that i might have applied the oral thrush that was given to her wrongly. If im not wrong, it can be swollowed right cos aaliyah has swollowed a lot of it already?
I should have used a gauze and dig it out!! Why didnt i think of that!! It was really difficult to get her to open her mouth..I think i will try to brush it out tom first thing in the morning...Wish me luck!!

<font color="aa00aa">Zinta</font>
Really sounds scary. Do keep us updated.

<font color="aa00aa">Tinsel</font>
You still looking for HK Bento stuff? My GF just bought some for me from HKG. Nice!!
Can't wait to use them. By the way, I'm going HKG soon. U want me to lug some back for u?? Hee..

<font color="aa00aa">Nor</font>
I think megan's slow already. Mummy lazy lar, didn't let try earlier.
But i got a headache! She just wanna eat by herself all the time!!
How now????

eliz : u should get a copy of Home &amp; Decor Nov 08.. there is a grandma that kept HER ENTIRE house decor in HK Style!!! worth to see... very nice hahahha

hauhuaha... she transform her terrance house into a HK haven... ermmmm... wait til i scan the magazine for u... i just browse thru yesterday :p

Hey everyone

Sorry, been really busy at work - clocking some seriously long hours!
Bleargh. Anyway, just wanted to say that I think I FINALLY got round to emailing all of you who asked about my diet. So pls check your email. If I missed you out, my apologies! Please resend me an email - [email protected] and I will be happy to give you the info.

Update on the weight loss - I'm now down 13.5kg, which is a whopping 20% of my start weight. I've lost a fifth of my body in 2+ months. Truly amazing!

Hope everyone is happy and healthy! Ems sends her love!

yolk : seeing your pics is tempting me to take up the program...................... sob2.. really unhappy about my current figure... hai... but not sure is it the right time to spend that kind of funds , especially with the house and reno in check...

hello everyone..

My dad passed away yesterday morning. His body was safely buried at the Choa Chu Kang Muslim Cemetery.

Thank you for all the condolence wishes and prayers. May his soul rest in peace. Ameen.

Thank you all for your kind thoughts.
I'm on compassionate leave until tomorrow.. Still can't believe dad's actually not with us anymore

But I know life must go on and my family are taking it pretty well, especially my mom who had cared for him during the last years when he was dependable on oxygen machine.
She's one strong lady, my mom!

I'm glad he passed on peacefully in our arms.. I actually saw he took one last look at my mom before he closed his eyes.
Right away I felt for his pulse and could not feel it.. and I knew he was taken.

When my dad body was about to be taken to the cemetary, Wairah actually waved goodbye and blew kisses to him.. as if he was waving back to her!

I guess I'm the type who don't like to be seen crying and I did not cry at all when all the relatives and frens were around during the funeral.
But i had to make the police report to obtain his death certificate, and the moment i was asked to sign, i just stood there and cried silently.
To think that he signed on my birth certificate, and I had to sign his death certificate

Then it finally hit me that he was really gone..

Hi Nor
Hope you got my SMS yesterday. So sorry to hear about your dad's passing. Must be a tough time for you. Big hug gal!

It's been sometime since I last posted...very depressing week for me too.

My girl kena Rotavirus(yes!!!still kena, despite taking vaccine) on Sat, so laosai and had fever. On Mon(Deepavali), upon seeing that she no longer laosai &amp; had no more fever, we attended a get-together session at my hubs' friend's home. However, during mid-session, my girl ran a temp again, so we decided to make our way home immediately. At this moment, the mistress of the house took out a birthday cake to celebrate her hubs' birthday in advance. After the cake cutting, my hubs chatted wif his friends in one corner while I was trying to cut the cake into bite size for krissa. At that time, krissa was still within my sight and she was happily roaming abt in the living room.

The next minute, there was a loud thud!! krissa was lying, face down, on the balcony's stoney ground. I ran to her, picked her up, turned her over and got a shock!!! There was a hole on her forehead and blood was gushing out from it!! Imagine a nail puncturing through ur forehead!!! I can even see the "inside"...very, very frightening...and she bled profusely. My hubs immediately applied pressure on her wound wif his palm and a friend immediately prepared an ice compress. We rushed to Mt Alvernia's A&amp;E. My girl was in terrible pain and kept wailing. Me, wif her blood on my shirt, tried to stop her bleeding wif the ice compress while my hubs stepped on the accelerator like mad. The A&amp;E doctor attended to her immediately...luckily by immediately applying pressure on her wound, we managed to stop her bleeding. As my girl didn't slip into a coma after she fell, the doctor was quite certain that apart from the skin injury, there was no damage to her brain and head. He advised that we engage a Cosmetic Surgery Specialist to do the stitching so as to make the scar as less obvious as possible. We agreed, and a specialist was called in &amp; my girl was wheezed into the operating theatre for 20mins. My heart really ached when the nurse took my girl into the theatre....she was crying loudly, hands reaching out to us, as if wanting us to save her. After the "operation", the doctor assured us that there was no sign of broken bones inside her head, and so long as she still behaves normally, there was no damage done to her brain. She was hospitalised one day for observation. Luckily, she still takes to her favourite snacks and her all-time favourite show "Wheels on the Bus"...normal, normal...heng!!!

When the accident happened, my hubs screamed at me for not keeping a close eye on krissa. I oso felt terribly guilty but it was not what I wanted. Outside the operating theatre, hubs apologised to me and told me that being krissa's mummy, there's no reason why I wanted her to fall. I'm so glad he's so understanding.

The 1 day stay and operating fees came up to S$4800.00 and when I brought her back to the specialist's clinic for followup on Wed, the fees came up to S$480.00...luckily, she's covered by insurance, thus 100% claimable. Krissa is expected to continue wif treatment in the next one year to lighten her scar. Many people oso told me as she's now very young, her scar should fade away over time...now me can only hope and pray it really fades. Otherwise, gotta have fringe to cover up.

Going to remove stitches coming Mon, pls help me pray for krissa. Take it from me: Accidents happen in a split second, we have to keep a very close eye on our toddlers especially at this stage. I count myself very lucky that krissa had only suffered superficial injury, but really hurts to see my girl go thru so much pain.

Oh my Tinsel, You must had such a scare!! Glad to know K is fine now..
I cannot imagine anything like this happening to Megan.
I even more cannot imagine my hubby screaming at me as if its my fault.
Which mother wishes for such a horrible thing to happen!!

Don't mind the scar, i'm sure it will fade away.
Meanwhile, try to aviod dark sauce. Heard it will darken the scar.

I will keep K in my prayers..

Nor, sorry about your dad.. be strong.

Tinsel, sorry to hear what happened.. my heart almost dropped. Glad that everything is alright now. For accidents, it happened very fast, and none of us want it, please do not reproached yourself. Do take care.

Tinsel, it must be so tough for you! I read on and really felt the pain. Please take good care yourself, and I'll keep Krissa in my prayers.

Tinsel, sorry that this had to happen on krissa and you. Im glad to hear that she's well. And Thanks for sharing, it serves as a reminder to all of us, especially when it's so easy to take their protection for granted.

Long time haven't posted here. Just read through some of your posts.

@Nor: Sorry to hear about your dad. My condolences to you and your family. I can imagine your feeling the moment you sign his death certificate.

@Tinsel-elf: So heart-painful when hearing about the accident. Luckily that krissa is ok now. Thanks for your sharing.

@All mummies: Could you please share with me which insurance you take for your baby?

Tinsel,
oh dear, so sorry to hear what had happened to Krissa. don't blame urself, nobody wanted it to happen. i'm sure the the scar will heal in time...

been bz to come in here.
my mummy has a retinal detachment just a week ago, so couldn't go on the cruise with us few days back. it was scary as suddenly she just lost her sight, and said she couldn't see me at all.

nor,
sorry to hear abt ur dad. my condolences to u and ur family. hugs.

tinsel,
that's so heart-pain. glad to know that krissa is better now. and yes, thanks for sharing. you are one strong mummy, krissa will be alrite. take good care.

hello mummies from paris!

nor...sorry to hear about your loss. your description of the death cert signing is v poignant. stay strong as you've alwasy been ya?

tinsel...sorry to hear about krissa. both you and hubs must've been really flustered. hope krissa's all well and dun worry...baby's skin renewal is a lot faster than us. she'll look perfectly alright in no time!

jewel...we missed the snow in london by a couple of hours...aargh...but london was v lively...shud\ve spent more time there

okie...take care everyone...

wah bedebe - lucky u!! In Paris and all! I think I know you- were you in HSBC before? Saw your pic in Facebook but not sure if you the same person I think you are cos you look more older now than before &amp; more tanned...I used to work in Atrium
so I remember seeing u at the other end of the office with a huge belly-

Sorry if wrg person

oh gosh pythogaras...do i know you? please please tell me which awful pix you saw me in fb? and yes i think you got the right person...

awful? *hiak hiak hiak* - why u said that? Looking older and tanner is not awful!
Just difference.

Oh, want to ask other mummies - any of you got good photographer to recommend? Thinking of getting family potraits done but not sure who/where to go to.

Hello mommies,
Anyone here subscribes to Young Parents magazine? I am looking for a copy of June 2008 issue. Thanks!

It's been a long time since my last post! Been soo busy recently!! Hubby got the job in HK and we're moving in a couple of weeks.

Tinsel, so sorry to hear of K's accident. Hope the little one is much better now. I can't imagine having to go thru what you did. Must have been really scary!

Bedebe, you missed the snow! Did you enjoy the shopping in London and Paris? I miss London soooo much!

We're off to Sydney tis Sunday for a holiday before our move to HK. Hubby wants a break before he starts work in Dec.

Nor
Im so shock to hear abt ur dad. My condolences to you and ur family. Stay strong!

Tinsel
When i read ur incident, my heart skipped a beat. I couldnt imagine how it would be like, with all the blood..It must have been a hell of a day for u and ur hb. Thank God Krissa is ok!

Today Aaliyah started her first day in infant care. My first challenge today was to ensure that she sit in her car seat with just the 2 of us in the car. I need to send her to the infant care ctr. I took 2 days leave, today and tom.
After so much of thinking last nite on ways to make her sit in her car seat, i finally got a brillant idea. I gave her a pacifier (nvr did this b4). It was like magic!! She sat quietly throughout the journey. My hb and parents were reali shock i manage to get her to school all by myself. I was so happy until we reached the Infant care ctr. I sent her ard 11am. All the kids were crying like crazy. Gosh! It freaks me out for a while cos all of them also first day of sch today. I sat down with her for 2 hrs just to warm her up then i told her i wanna go and have lunch. The moment i stood up, she scream and cry like crazy. That was reali heartbreaking for me..I didnt know how to leave her but i had to do it anyways. I left her for 3 hrs and came back to fetch her. The 3 hrs that i was away was reali difficult. I kept on thinking if she is ok or not or if i should call up the ctr and ask. Eventually, i called. I can hear from the background my baby crying like crazy already. That moment, i felt like speeding all the way to the school already. This is reali difficult. My hb also called me up many times to ask me how is she. He even ask me ' are we doing the right thing?'..I wouldnt know if it is right or not now. We will only know in future. Tom hb is not working. So both of us will be sending and waiting for her. Its gonna be a heart-wrenching day again. I just hope she will get over this soon. It is reali mentally straining for me.

Nor,
Hope you got my sms. Our condolences again.
Semoga Allahyarham bapa anda dikurnia rahmat Allah.

Hope Lis is feeling better. LM has been hit with the nasty flu bug over a week now too, and it's spread to Big Man and myself!

Priety Zinta,
Hi. I'm a "regular" lurker. Just wanted to let you know that five months ago, I had to get a babysitter to mind my son as I started work. It took us almost 2.5 weeks before everyone could get along well without tears.

Many a times, I wanted to throw in the towel and quit my job because I couldn't bare his crying. It was absolutely heart wrenching and you truly do feel awful about putting your child through the adjustment.

I just wanted you to know that it's all right to go through what you're feeling currently and that things do get better. Like you and your husband, I asked myself so often if this was the right thing to do.

The kids need time to adjust, some kids adjust quickly, others take a little while longer.

My son's the best of friends with his nanny now and he gets so excited when he sees her. This is a far cry from the early days when he would cry if she even went near him!!

So what I'm saying is hang in there, things will get better for everyone. It takes a lot of courage to be able to "tahan" your child's cry, but she's in good hands and hopefully, she'll have a good and close relationship wiht one of the center's staff, which will make it easier for her as there's someone she trusts there.

Good luck to all of you, you are both wonderful parents and you only want the best for your dear Aaliyah.

Chin up!

hello everyone
Thank you again for all the condolence notes and prayers and kind thoughts for me and my family.

it has been a trying week for me.. yesterday was my first day back to work.

as usual in the morning i will go to my dad's room to kiss him before i leave the house.
and the moment i stepped into his room i just stared into his empty bed and tears well up my eyes.

again i forgot he is no longer with us.

i think its not so easy to break that routine and it will take some time for me to adjust to not having him around.

i still can smell his scent at certain times of the day, more at nights. very comforting scent.
i guess its his way of telling us that he is never really gone.

susu &amp; all who sent condolence text to me
yes babe, i got your text. i didn't quite get around to replying much of the sms and emails.

zinta
thank you.

i hope you will get around with Aaliyah's new routine and hope she will also adapt soon. *hugs*

jewel &amp; bedebe
enjoy your hols!

Tinsel_elf
i'm so sorry to read about Krissa! be strong and i pray that she will recover very soon.
its alright even if there is a little scar, most important, no internal injuries.