(2004/09) Year End (Sep - Dec) 2004 Mothers-to-be

Kelly
Wahaha me too. Got emotional when I read Berry's post.

Berry
Faye is such a brave Gal. Maybe braver then mummy. Hehe

Berry,

OMG... lucky u still ve the hse key with u. If it's me, i ve to get my hb/my family members to deliver the hse key to me(My hse key in the bag and i normally put my bag in the front seat b4 i place nat into her car seat). That will take an least half an hr....

Me too nearly in tear when u describe faye reaction... she is really a brave gal... Just curious... normally u on the engine b4 u put faye in the car? I'll only on the engine after i get into the car.

Actually after the past car incidents(BB kena locked in the car), i try to take out the car key from my bag b4 i put it in the front seat and i will place it on top of the car(i got no pocket) b4 i put nat in carseat.

Yuru,
wah so scary! Hmm my usual PD is at Eastshore Hospital, Dr Low- so far he's quick with consultations. I bring A in, I will ask him what jab she due ah (I'm abit blur type), he will tell me, then he will examine A, dot the graph in Baby Book to let me know what percentile growth, then ask me to hold A while he jab. I never see the packaging of the jab... looks like I shld be more careful too!

Multi-lingual environment,
ours in mainly English, then Mandarin, & very little bit of Hokkien & Cantonese. A catches English most, such that even my non-english speaking PILs PREFER using English with her now.

Berry,
oh dear, yikes, what a scare!

Chit-chatting,
oh I brought my brown dog last wkend!
Athena is willing to get closer to the dog when at my place, compared to at mum's. At mum's she wasn't very fond of her cos the dog kept running away (home too big, hard to catch!), and only came to pester Athena for food (Athena doesn't like competition for food!). All weekend at our home, she was petting and sayanging the brown dog, and wagging finger, "SIT!". When the dog barks, Athena frowns (imitate the adults). When the dog tries to sneak into the forbidden bedrms, she wags and goes, "OUT!". :D

Unfortunately the pea-brained dog has forgotten her paper-training, ARGH. This wk need to RESTART Athena on potty-conditioning, as well as RETRAIN Dog on paper-training... gonna be lotsa puddles of suspicious fluids everywhere!!!

yuru,
i bring gabe 2 e GP for his jabs. much cheaper. it's e same GP tat sharwyn uses.

jen,
i tik our bbs are doing it on purpose. they know how 2 greet us but just wanna b playful.

sulivyn,
i know dr esther is a great gynae. if i still have e financial ability n husband dun mind e long queue, i'll surely go back 2 her cos i prefer a female gynae no matter wat. she does give MCs very easily hence i didnt work since i was abt 7.5mths preggie (i popped abt 36wks). i agree wif u tat she dun seem 2 entertain my many questions.

MT, wah your house beri crowded lol! btw, where does yr maid sleep at night?

Evelyn, that day I was about to go in front to pick her up then go home. As for going out, normally I on the engine carrying her, then go back to put her in her car seat.

yuru, wahaha like that count as sentence?! Then Faye can say v long sentences, cause sometimes at a shop she sees something she wants she goes 'buy, buy, buy, buy, buy, buy, buy!!'

Yuru,
yah lor, they sure know how to SHORTCUT to easiest term, LOL! Eh, Cindy really can string sentences leh. Mine gots lot of "vocab" but never string them, all single words. In this case, she wld have just gone, "AAAHHHH" (open mouth big-big). LOL!

Dr Low, PD @ Eastshore Medical Centre. 6344 0583

Berry,
maid got utility room that was added to back of my kitchen during upgrading works. But hor, poppy's playpen is darn space-clogging in the kitchen... we need it cos my PILs very blur type, will step on the *doggy newspapers* if there's no side-barriers.

kelly,
the pill i took was more to stop the early contractions. once the contractions are under control, the bb will be safe in the womb. cos i was contracting at 26wks!

chihiro,
the exposure to multiple languages does not actually slow down the "learning to talk". the toddler is learning just as well as others. he/she understands where the "car" is on the page but just have not started to vocalised. probably cos he/she is processing more words than the rest ;) but the plus pt is the multiple language exposure is providing the toddler a very good literacy foundation. our toddler can learn 6 diff languages with ease at this age. so the more the merrier!

I was going thru a picture book with Esther today. When we came to the picture of a cow, she said 'niu' and i corrected her with 'cow'. fortunately the next sec, i realised she was giving me the Chinese name for it, so i praised her
so hor, we sometimes need to open our ears big big.

MT,
sigh...my PIL also like yours ah. fm the beginning i told them to speak Hokkien or even Chinese to Esther. But they always end up speaking Eng cos they maybe feel that it is better for Esther? Cos my Hokkien is terrible, so who better to teach her right? but after the 1st yr, things are slightly better now. but they will sometimes throw in their version of English ;) i just hv to pretend i didn't hear anything. just curious, hv u ever brought this issue up to them?

ziztine,
U dun scare me leh cos i was having cramps the week b4. They felt like contractions. N my down under kept feeling some kind of pressure/tightness. My gynae asked me to go back for review next wk after he checked if my cervix has dilated during my visit last week.

yuru,
Horrors dat ur PD can actually make such a big mistake. I sure change PD.

berry,
Oh dear. Poor Faye n you. I tink my legs would be rooted to the ground if i ever run into such a situation.

Berry,
we still have the training tray from when we just got Poppy/ pre-Athena. That was worse, she din like the size of it (Poppy's long body and she needs some "backing up" space). She din like the metal under the newspapers, or the metal edge of the tray... she hated it so much I recall we only succeeded papertraining her that time by doing w/o tray. Tray wld have been gd lor, smaller as u put it... and no "rivers" of pee flowing out :p . That time, we even tried putting back the tray AFTER she got used to the papertraining area, but she just wldnt have it!

So now, 2nd time round/ post-Athena :p (Poppy FORGOT again, LOL!), we're just using newspapers. And cannot TOTALLY pen her up in playpen cos then she thinks it's her home and cant be soiled- must let her have freedom to move in or evacuate. Cross our fingers lor. *headache* U know she has *fabulous* bladder and bowel RESTRAINT right? Can hold pee for 2 days, bowels for 3 days... and when she can't hold anymore, it's usually uncontrollable, she's not even capable of thinking! So far we've been pretty lucky in pee aspect (mostly on paper), but DISASTER in poo (3 days load at one go, all over my whole kitchen floor!).

Oh! And ATHENA has made 4 puddles of pee in just 1 afternoon :p . I tell u, I've removed ALL rugs from my floor becos of the BOTH of them!

I was asking my helper abt her childcare experience- she cared for a 7mth old and 2 yr old while working as maid for Indo-Chinese family in Indonesia. She said the 2yr old was potty-trained by 14mths ie. he knew how to undo pants and go designated area to pee etc. Cos they *don't* use ANY diapers unless bringing them out gai-gai. She said puddle on floor, just clean up lor! So ok, we're gonna try Athena puddling the floor for as long as we can tahan...

Ziztine,
I've hinted there's no one else to speak Mandarin/ Hokkien to Athena... they did a gd job, but lately Athena more vocal and responds more readily to English phrases. So PILs are actually trying to communicate better with Athena by speaking her preferred language- English. Just that by doing so, it hampers her Mandarin/ Hokkien progress further.

Income Tax
Sorry to deviate. Can I ask if anyone knows what reliefs or rebates we have for income tax, for having 1 child in 2004?

<font color="aa00aa">hello mummies,</font>
thanks for all your replies and assurance. no time to read, so just scan thru the posts.

now i have another qn..

anyone heard/seen this DVD/VCD <font color="0000ff">WOW, That's What I Call Nursery Rhymes</font> by <font color="0000ff">Little Learners</font>? price, etc?

saw it at JL Specialist Center and Shanice's eyes are so glued to it. but when i check with the sales, they said it's sold out

time to get down to serious work!

lil devil
rhyan had his MMR on 4 Mar, was a little cranky ard 4-5 days later but didn't had any fever. i think he has the last booster jab to go this mth also, then thats all for the compulsory jab unless i want to give him chix pox jab.

WORDS - i was busy cooking rhyan's porridge in the kitchen last Sat and he kept pulling me to the living room to take some stuff for him to play. as i couldn't get away, i kept telling him "WAIT!". That afternoon when we went GUG and the teacher told him to sit on the mat together with the rest of the bbs, he told the teacher "WAIT!". These few days, everything also tell nanny / us to wait. :p Oh, he can combine words too! He can say "Mama, *action word* (like wait, eat etc"

CALLING - after showing him some flashcards (gift from a friend) of the different relatives in a family, he started calling ME very often. when i am driving, he will just keep calling me so i got to keep answering lor. am trying to get him to call me Mummy instead of Ma Ma.

yuru
your experience was indeed shocking, i will check rhyan's vaccine from now on.

berry
remember my locked in car incident for rhyan? i LOLed when i read your post last night coz i swear i ran as fast too when rhyan locked himself (he was in the driver's seat, pressed the remote control and locked the doors!) in the car few months back! even till now, i have a phobia. very careful when i leave him in the car alone. mummies, the spare key is very important, no joke.

Language - hb and i speak to rhyan in english, occasionally mandarin. nanny and her hb speak to rhyan in mandarin, occasionally broken english, and occasionally hokkien :p very jumbled up now leh, rhyan says "YES" in English, "NO (MAI)" in Hokkien. *shake head*

so tired so no time to really read all posting.

berry
i can deel how u feel when reading the issue when faye kena locked in the car!!! seriously i tik i sure go crazy if tat happens to me and becos i am quite forgetful, i never leave quinn in the car alone.

littleprince
yah, after jab very cranky and i tot crankiness will only come when after a week or so as its mmr mah *effects will not show immediately*

booster??? mmr booster? i tot tats when they are older? so hes not taking polio vaccine? i know for quinn he has polio vac., and another hep. A *taken 1 already*

CHIX POX VACCINE
something to share and mummies who dun intend to let bb take tis jab, please dun be offended by it as its just sharing something i came across.

yesterday was chatting with my fren and she was asking me abt chix jab, about whether quinn took his already or i have no intention. i told her quinn already took tat and she told me tat her frens dotter, 7 years old now *P 1* and she didnt take the chix pox jab, and kenna chix pox when shes 6.5 years old. as usual lah the symptom but something went wrong. maybe her pox is soooo bad tat she cant cope *in terms of internally* and during tat period, shes very weak and after abt 1 weeks or so, she starts to complain of body aching. so visited the dr and few days after, she cant walk. her mummy tot shes just weak so bring her to dr again and shock when dr suggest further investigation. result is tat her body attack by anothert virus and when combine with the pox virus, it attack her hip bone. and the thing is NO significant name for tat virus issue, just tat coincidently her body dun react well and now afetr 6 months or so, shes still in wheel chair, cant attend skool all tat.

to me chix pox is something common and mild lah, most of the pp got it before and i have not heard of such complication before i know tis. i dun have any specific reason when i let quinn take tis jab, and now i teally feel tat virus nowadays is quite scary, can turn out to be ANOTHER very different issue.

Yuru,
PD: Dr I Malathi, EAST SHORE Hospital Tel: 63451819

Kelly, Ya, she is easy with MC though i didnt take much and was working till the day before i deliver :p! However, i was given a week rest when discover i was preggy!

Berry, I cant imagine what happened if lock Trixilia in the car..coz i dont even know when i dump my spare key!! Thank god that its happen at ur place..n..Faye is really a brave gal!

My gal still dont talk! SHe understand what we said, coz she will help us bring things around..BUT she dont talk yet! Same old words..Mama, papa, jiejie, yee, ah ma, apple..haiz...

Yuru,

i have enroll Trixilia with a 'school'. She is on waiting list for full day classes, but 'chop' for half day already! Classes commerce in July, BUT somehow, i might postpone her classes till 2007. Hmm..the reason, i am 'scared' of the current HFMD..and ya, kind of bu she de too..plus, she cant talk..what if she dont like the school or kana bully? hmmm

Anyone here 'chases' after the korean show 'Lovers in Paris'? I missed the last episode last nite, only caught the last 15 mins but blur... Can anyone update me?

yuru,
sometime back i was very serious of dumping gabe into CC when he turned 18-20mths old (b4 #2 pops). husband n i even went 2 check out a few CCs - environment, teachers' experience, schedule, menu, etc. after talking 2 a few friens who put their kids thru CC n even talking 2 our neighbours who are strangers (cos husband n i saw them bringing their kids-dressed in a CC uniform so we chatted up wif them).

at e end of e day, husband n i NOT KEEN 2 place our darling in CC bcos
1) he cant converse well yet - we find tis essential so at least he can tell us (IF POSSIBLE) in simple words (i not even asking for sentences) wat he did or tell e teacher his needs (poo poo, pee pee, pain pain, etc)
2) gabe's schedule would b messed up since he wakes up at 9-10am when i'm home
3) since he wakes up late, by e time i bring him 2 CC, he may have missed the morn 'classes' (where they conduct story telling, activity lessons, etc)
4) we dun 1 him 2 feel neglected cos #2 is home wif mummy while he goes off 2 CC (be it 1/2day)
5) their food menu is NOT fantastic (husband said we cant b choosers since e menu is supposedly fixed by MOH - supposedly ideal for toddlers >18mths. I dun agree 2 giving kaya bun, fried chicken noodles, dunno-wat porridge, carrot cake, etc)
6) after lunch at 12pm, it's a 3hrs naptime then classes resume for 1hr+ b4 parents pick up e kids fr 530pm onwards

we felt gabe is betta off at a playgroup session (1.5-2hrs/session), gets his nap at home in his comfort (aircon, bolster, blanket, etc) n eat proper meals at home.

y dun u check out a few CCs, ask around, c if u r comfortable wif their arrangement, menu, environment, etc? mayb u can start cindy on a 1/2day CC or playgroup session 2 c if she can adapt?

Yuru
I intend to let keira goes to a half day childcare and went on to visit the schools. This is how I feel
1) Very Military style
They Q up to get showers one by one like assembly line. They have to sleeps at a fixed time.
That day when HB saw a toddler about 20 mths taking his own small mattress (1M x 0.5M) to the classroom to sleep, he was soooo sad.
He says that S'pore boys go to military schools only when they turn 18 yrs old and some of the mothers even cried while sending their sons off.
How can we sent 18 mths Keira to military tranning at such a young age *roll eyes*

2) Food
I have friends used to work as teachers in cc centers and they told me some of the centers may "sounds" expensive but the food they give is miserable. Plain poridge wif fishcake and a little tofu for lunch, can u imagine!!!!

3) Virus
I saw a few sick children when i visited a toddler class. Few were coughing and one even have green mucus running down her nose. *faint*

So after what I've seen I feel that I will delay cc but will let her attend 2 hrs playgroup until she is 2 yrs or older.

pcs,
u have the same tots too ya? i even heard tat e kids queue up naked 2 bathe, e teacher just sprayed 'cold water', lather quickly then tat's it. if lucky, got wash hair. if not, hair will b wet, tat's all.

as for e sleeping arrangement, i asked e CC how they sleep. e principal showed me an area where there'll b mattresses strewn around n e kids help themselves by lying down 2 nap, no pillows, no bolster, no blankets. the principal said u r welcome 2 bring these stuff but not recommended cos e other tods may fight over it. i asked if my kid defers fr e schedule, how? e principal said initially the teacher will 'entertain' e kid but slowly e kid will follow e other kids 2 sleep since everyone is sleeping.

i agree wif u...very military style.

Kelly
Thats what my friend told me "the Q naked to wait for quick shower thing" I cannot imagine my bb doing it.
The mattress is super small (keira can roll off our Queen bed) and the cc is fully aircon. I feel so cold when i walk around &amp; the kids are just wearing T-shirt and shorts.

yuru, then how about letting Cindy attend one of those half-day sort that starts from 7.30am to lunch time? Then she'll get the socialisation you want plus your sil can still take care of some of her needs?

yuru,
if i have MSN, easier 2 chat wif u...too bad i cant join ur company. LOL!

IMO, if u feel tat a CC is e best for cindy, make sure u must b comfortable wif e school, environment, teachers, menu, sleeping arrangements. in a "bo pian" situation, u need 2 close 1 eye. i'm not saying CCs are bad but i juz bu-she-de putting gabe thru it.

Learning Vision is good. I've heard very good comments abt them. I tot of checking out e LV at Punggol, Blk200+ but didnt proceed wif it since husband told me 2 put off e idea of putting gabe into CC. Since LV is located in ur office, isnt it betta 4 u 2 check on cindy as n when u can?

berry's suggestion is gd. let cindy try 1/2day CC 1st, if she's comfortable, move 2 full day CC.

btw, i tot cindy is walking already?

to add on- if you are concerned about the transport, there are usually school buses available, and there is always an auntie on the bus to make sure kids are all safe. I think cindy might enjoy taking a bus along with other toddlers!

Yuru
I want to shake yr hands again. My MIL also don't believe in self feed. I still don't see vege in her porridge and she never feeds keira fruit (maybe only banana once in a while) She says all green vege are liang no good for bb lungs. I've given up trying to argue wif her.
I just try to compensate by feeding keira fruits at night.

Bravo!!! 3 cheers for u for starting to drive again. I was just thinking about picking up driving last nite. Think only lah.....

As for cc - Do u have "Apple Tree" or "Kinderland" in yr neighbourhood??. IMO, the standards of these 2 playgroup still OK lor.

Just checking
My keira is running everywhere but I noticed that she tiptoes very often (machiem walking like a thief). Is this normal??

pcs, is she still using a walker? If she hasnt used/been using one, then could be tiptoeing for fun? There was once for a few days Faye walked ard tiptoed as high as she could LOL (she looked really funny
)! Something to do with experimenting with diff ways of walking I guess.

Berry
she is off the walker since 8 mths old.
She did it without realising it maybe walk halfway then tip toe. I must remind her constantly NOT TO tiptoe.

SKOOL
didnt sign quinn up for any yet, but looking for more like a fun class to attend like once or twice per week. same like mummies here, bu se de BUT also becos i tik still can wait before he goes into such a fixed schedule everyday.

cheese
actually wat type of cheeze is a sure no no for tods huh? pai seh have to ask :p those tat we add into pasta *parmesen cheese from kraft* can????

lil devil, I think there arent any type of cheese that is really very harmful, as in die-die cannot feed wan leh. For me, I rarely give cheese, but when I do its usually the natural block types, one tiny strip. When we eat at an italian place, soemtimes faye ask for those table parmesan types to be sprinkled over her stands of spag and I dont have an issue with it.

berry
phew, i tot those parmesan cheeze not too good for themas i gave it to him. the natural cheese in blocks can get in supermarket? wat is written there like is there a particular brand or name? so how u make it into strips?

yuru
i hv plans to enrol rhyan in a PG (more likely) or half day CC around nanny's area but hv yet to start hunting. haha! i am thinking of letting him start only when he can talk more so that he can communicate his needs. another concern is the nanny fees coz it seems unfair to deduct her pay coz we choose to send rhyan away for half a day, yet its going to burn a hole in my pocket if i still pay her the same. thats why PG is more likely. another concern is i still get to go out after work at times if nanny takes care of rhyan but if i enrol rhyan in FT CC, i will have to pick him up by 7pm daily as my hb definitely can't make it to pick him up.

lil devil
i think the last jab is the polio thingy, PD said take after MMR.

Hi mummies and daddies,

Just to side-track a bit. Those staying in Punggol, do you know of any neighbour wanting to sell their 4-rm flat?

Alternatively, know anyone who wants to buy a 5-rm point block flat in Clementi West?

My parents wanna move closer to me &amp; brother. So they are trying to get rid of their flat.

Really appreciate your help. Don't recommend agents hor.

If you have my HP no, please sms me direct. Thanks!!

<font color="ff6000">littleprince</font>
tink you can feel free to discuss abt the fees with nanny if you decide to send rhyan to halfday PG or CC.

My mum is currently looking after a pre schooler, gg to her place only on certain days in a wk as his mum is working only on those days. Therefore, nanny fees were lesser as compared to full time (8am - 7pm) looking after him when he was a baby.

hi hi....it's been a week since i appeared here!

very occupied since last wednesday as yingxin was receiving cold turkey treatment from me!
(am weaning her off from her security blanket which she chews to sleep day and night)

on the 1st nite, she cried her lungs out till she threw up on herself, on me, on the mattress and all over the floor; had a hard time cleaning up the mess at 11pm cos i was all alone and hubby was still at work then

from wednesday to friday, she only managed to sleep at around 3am after crying for almost 4 hours nightly and wakes up at 7am; both of us were sleep deprived....

she is totally off her blanket now; and i am literally her "security blanket" cos she can't get to sleep without lying on me!

wonder how long this pattern is gonna last

<font color="ff6000">pcs</font>
registration time/date is the same for all Appletree branches across SG?

<font color="ff6000">little prince</font>
u mentioned that rhyan chews on his quilt during bed times, does it mean he need to chew on it to go to bed?

my MIL and hubby was not into the idea of letting yingxin chew on her blanket for long cos they are worried she will swallow the lint from the blanket; while my mum kept nudging me to just allow her to bite cos she feels that they will "self-wean" when older

yuru,
dun make appt when u visit CC. visit them unannounced so u can c how e teacher/students are like in action. tat was wat i was advised by friens who put their kids in CC. best 2 drop by abt 10am, 12pm (when u can c e kids feeding/bathing in action) or 3-4pm (when e kids are napping OR doing some activities)

Playgroup
contemplating to send yingxin to a CC playgroup on a daily basis for 1.5hrs each day which is near my place, but gosh, the fees are not cheap, imo

plus uniform and material fees are additional charges

<font color="ff6000">Berry</font>
good thing you were already at your residence's car park

few months ago, my hubby also accidentally locked the car with the engine running and my handbag and yingxin's barang inside (at Tangs) and we didn't have the spare key with us then, so he took a cab home to retrieve the key while we waited for him

lildevil,
I wld still be abit more cautious with Blue Cheese/ the kind of suspicious looking cheeses. :p Tho I *love* Blue Cheese ahhh (but preggy not supposed to eat these adventurous cheeses, blah).

Yuru,
oh dear quite a dilemma. My 1st thought when I read the c/c descriptions is heartpain too. But hor, I think most tods can eventually adapt to a schedule (with regards to strict naptime), esp if they see all their frens all zzz/ nothing to play? As for no bolster, shldnt be an issue unless Cindy is very dependent on a particular item. Anycase if the c/c "discourage but still allow such items", can still work round it
. As for queuing up naked, not much issue to me... err, in our case we try to avoid getting her clothes wet, so we strip her in bedrm and "march her naked" to the bathrm :p . Just dun let my mum see, heehee. Also, I think bbs/ tods are naturally higher temperature than us, it seems mine complains more abt heat than cold. But of cos have to see if c/c conditions are chilly... I dun like the idea of a/c while naked, or cold showers too.
Also, I hear c/c can teach alot of stuff like wearing clothes, shoes, potty-training and so on... I myself tempted on those aspects.

H/e, yah, end of the day I also wld feel bu-she-de lor, and have reservations particularly in the fall-sick-often aspect. If ur HB not completely supportive, I suspect every little cold that Cindy gets, may be cause for quarrel.

medusa
wahahahahaha!!!! i very very scared of blue cheese lah, didnt try so dun know how it taste like but the look of it already scare me wor! of cos now its a no no for u!!!!!

so any more scan pix???

puff,
yikes oh dear, how stressful! Athena havent cry til throw up but I already a mess of nerves, cant imagine ur case. The blanket got smell, or it's just the blanket she likes? If it's the smell, maybe can alter the smell (I dunno how but shld be doable), if it's the actual texture/ blanket itself... can ruin it to make it more uncomfy somehow?

Cos recently I read one way to wean pacifier is to snip it smaller and smaller, very slowly, til it's an unsatisfying stub. Dunno whether this can be amended to blankie case? Maybe tie blankie as a scarf round a teddy bear... then slowly make the scarf get smaller? *just thinking out loud*