(2004/09) Year End (Sep - Dec) 2004 Mothers-to-be

angelia,

the instructor actually said that it is easier to take baby's temperature with the sars issued digital thermometer using the underarm method than to use the ear thermometer as baby's dont like that.

tbl,

saw that the 20% is for four bedded. will still go for single bed.

emma,

its good if your hubby can make it for all the antenatal classes. my hubby understands more after the class.

finally got the Babysafe mattress today at Taka with the free delivery and 15% off
got the mattress protector at the same time.

berry, kelly
im alternating between GNC's cranberry/raspberry tea & raspberry leaf tea which i just bought. its really nice when i add honey to both. i dont really feel uterus contracting while drinking it.

emma,
i take dong cong cao & pao shen once a week... dont wan to overload my body with "heaty" tonic cos' they say baby may not be able to take it. i was also told that if u hv low blood pressure (i do), its better not to take too much dong cong cao.

vaingal,
wow, u so early also...

yah, i know dong cong cao is good, infact its much better than any herbs, but of course not too much. i tik it goes the same for everything, a little will do some good and not excessive. but i tik ginseng is a NO NO in pregnancy!

kelly, the lipton raspberry/cranberry tea you mentioned, is it 100% caffeine-free?

vaingirl and kelly, do you all drink your fruit teas cold or hot? Can I make a large pot and chill in advance then drink slowly throught the day? Or must I make a fresh cup everytime just before I drink?

Its the beginning of yet another week, looks like no one have popped huh? :p

berry,
wats the function of the raspberry tea actually? yah, no one pop yet, but i tell my boy wait till at least a 39 weeks then pop, i tik today i am 38 weeks..... one more week....so gan jiong... but its been about a week, i always wake up with stomache, then will go toilet....

157896.jpg

<font face="courier new"> <font color="0000ff">as @ wk 06-Sep
.. .. .. .. .. . EDD .. . Week.. .. .. .. .Pop

jer ............ 04/09/04 . MAH / B 24/08/2004
radiohead ...... 22/08/04 . ESH / G 25/08/2004 3.570kg sarah-lynn
aurora ......... 08/09/04 wk 40 . ??? / ??
cubbiebb ....... 12/09/04 . MAH / B 31/08/2004
expecting_mum .. 12/09/04 wk 40 . TMC / B
peipei ......... 20/09/04 wk 38 . TMC / G
mom ............ 20/09/04 wk 38 . MAH / B
vaingirl ....... 20/09/04 wk 38 . GEH / G
littleprince ... 20/09/04 wk 38 . ESH / B
little_devil ... 21/09/04 wk 38 . MAH / B
berry .......... 22/09/04 wk 38 . TMC / G
bebechic ....... 26/09/04 wk 37 . MAH / G
ww ............. 29/09/04 wk 37 . KKH / ??
pets ........... 03/10/04 wk 36 . TMC / G
angelia ........ 04/10/04 wk 36 . TMC / G
SLK ............ 08/10/04 wk 35 . GEH / B
yingzi ......... 10/10/04 wk 35 . MAH / G
heather ........ 10/10/04 wk 35 . GEH / B
blisse ......... 11/10/04 wk 35 . GEH / G
are ............ 12/10/04 wk 35 . MEH / G
mtmtmt ......... 18/10/04 wk 34 . ESH / G
august ......... 21/10/04 wk 33 . MAH / B
dee ............ 22/10/04 wk 33 . GEH / ??
micky .......... 23/10/04 wk 33 . GEH / B
yeeyee ......... 24/10/04 wk 33 . ??? / ??
mel7728 ........ 02/11/04 wk 32 . TMC / B
AC ............. 06/11/04 wk 32 . GEH / B
cosmo .......... 08/11/04 wk 32 . USA / B
kelly .......... 09/11/04 wk 31 . MAH / B
cxope .......... 12/11/04 wk 30 . ??? / ??
yuru ........... 13/11/04 wk 30 . GEH / G
cirtusfruits ... 16/11/04 wk 30 . ??? / ??
sharon ......... 17/11/04 wk 30 . MAH / G
young jes ...... 18/11/04 wk 30 . MAH / G
joyful ......... 20/11/04 wk 30 . MAH / B
kikojoy ........ 20/11/04 wk 30 . GEH / ?
puff ........... 20/11/04 wk 30 . ESH / G
peg peg ........ 22/11/04 wk 29 . MAH / G
melbb .......... 26/11/04 wk 29 . ??? / ??
deer ........... 29/11/04 wk 29 . ??? / ??
chihiro ........ 02/12/04 wk 28 . TMC / G
leo29 .......... 02/12/04 wk 28 . MEH / G
TBL ............ 02/12/04 wk 28 .. RH / G
rochelle ....... 02/12/04 wk 28 .. RH / B
chihuahua ...... 02/12/04 wk 28 .. RH / ??
wooof .......... 03/12/04 wk 28 . ??? / G
seahorse ....... 04/12/04 wk 28 . MEH / G
crumpy ......... 07/12/04 wk 27 . MEH / ??
plong .......... 08/12/04 wk 27 . KKH / B
kypf ........... 08/12/04 wk 27 . GEH / B
emma ........... 09/12/04 wk 27 . ??? / G
jen ............ 09/12/04 wk 27 . TMC / G
fruitcake ...... 10/12/04 wk 27 . NUH / B
chantelle ...... 12/12/04 wk 27 . ??? / ??
guess .......... 12/12/04 wk 27 . MEH / ??
mngo ........... 12/12/04 wk 27 . MAH / B
stephie ........ 14/12/04 wk 26 . TMC / B
wendypooh ...... 15/12/04 wk 26 . KKH / ??
beanie ......... 17/12/04 wk 26 . TMC / G
melody ......... 20/12/04 wk 25 . ??? / ??
oranges ........ 22/12/04 wk 25 . TMC / B
jov ............ 05/01/05 wk 23 . ??? / ??
TSH ............ 05/01/05 wk 23 . MSA / ?

<font color="ff0000">GEH - GlenE, MAH - Mt A; MEH - Mt E; ESH - East Shore; RH - Raffles; MSA - Malaysia</font>
<font color="119911">send me a private msg (cos not much time to check forum) if I got any info wrong or missed out</font>

<font color="ff6000">PM me ur mobile to keep in touch when u pop</font>
</font></font>

little devil, the raspberry LEAF tea is supposed to help prevent overdue labour, as well as strengthen uterine walls so that labour will be easier and shorter. Its a traditional remedy taken by women in third tri. I bought mine at an organic shop in tanglin mall.
I told my baby to pop as soon as she is ready, asap. But no news leh.

berry,
okie, then maybe i should go and buy myself some, for easier labour, i can only get it in the organic shop in tanglin?? its in a box of tea bags? dun know if gnc got those too?? yah, i know u are very eager for ur gal gal to pop
me wanted 39 weekd at least, maybe becos not brave enough.... so shameful.

Hi goodmorning everybody..

Today took a day off to relax n enjoy the free time

Berry you mean if we are taking the raspberry leaf tea labour can be started earlier than EDD i. e. on 38th or 39th week?

little devil, I'm sure other shops also sell this product, but I'm not sure where else. I bought mine @ $12 for 16 teabags. GNC doesnt carry this, I've already checked.

august, good for you to have one rest day! FOr this tea, I don't think its supposed to be potent enough to stimulate early labour, otherwise its quite dangerous and scary right? Its very mild, if you're not ready to go into labour, it shouldnt trigger anything. I read that its good to help your uterus contract more effectively during labour itself so as to shorten the labour time.

morning everyone,
just woke up and eating my koko crunch with HL milk now, tdy is the start of my maternity leave ..

berry,
i hvn't tried my raspberry tea leaf, thot will try it tdy .. will let u know again if got any new symptoms from drinking or not .. hehe .. me surely drink it cold wan, cannot tahan hot drinks .. if u want to make a big pot, u can still at most drink only 2 cups a day leh ..

i do drink ginseng once in a while, but not more than a cup .. bought the sachets type fm Eu Yang Seng and only need to add hot water, usually share with hubby lor .. my auntie also taught me to make the red dates tea which is good to start drinking from 5th mth onwards, and pao shen with chicken (just drink the soup) ..

thinking of doing some hse cleaning tdy but dunno where to start fm ..

It should be great if labour time is reduced I am quite impressed with jer hope can follow her footsteps n able to handle the things in calm manner : )

Later I will call hubby to buy raspberry leaf tea for me

little prince

Dont tire urself too much with housechores take ret as well...

little devil
you r also delivering at MAH any idea if we can carry our music CD and personal CD player?

little prince, wow you still can do house cleaning/tidying? These days, even when I try to carry a full flask of water also trigger BHC, I can't even do the simplest things like wiping the table after dinner(cos anything I do that requires me to exert strength even a little will trigger BHC) sigh!
For the tea, I thought can make 2 teabags at the same time and chill in fridge then drink throughout the day instead of one at each time. My friend is drinking the maxinum recommended, 3 teabags a day. I'm very tempted to do that lol.

august, I'll definitely do my best to be calm and composed. But there's no telling how we'll each react until our time comes keke... for me, the first word that comes to my mind once I'm in labour is probably "FINALLY!!"

My hubby said something very funny- he said if during labour baby take very long to come out, he will put a little hagen daaz ice cream at the exit (er...u know where I refer to :p) and tell baby "if you come out you get to eat ice cream" LOL!

august/berry,
my hubby is actually happier than me tt i am finally on ML, can u believe it? he asked me :"so, going shopping with our bb rite? then i told him, i thot of taking leave early to clean up the hse and he started protesting, saying he hv already cleaned the floor etc so nothing for me to do .. hehe ..

no lah, i thot of wiping some of our displays. washing some stuff and so on coz dun like the place to get too dusty .. i am not the type to sit at home and do nothing leh, will be bored though i can come in and chat with u mummies .. hehe .. looks like i am not really suitable to be a SAHM .. lol

think better dun drink until 3 packs since u just started on the drink, maintain at 2 packs first and maybe increase at the end of this wk .. just in case ..

little prince, your hubby probbaly feel heartache if you overexert yourself esp at this stage mah. So u should listen to him and just rest/go shopping/relax and enjoy your ML to the fullest. If I still can walk properly, I'll sure go shopping :p

Berry ur hubby really came up with an innovative idea : ) In my case most of thetime when my bb is kicking too hard n I place hubby's hand on my tummy bb will become silent the other moment he take his hand off bb again starts kicking... like father n son r playing hide and seek so I told my hubby dont touch my belly while its time for bb to come out otherwise he will forget about coming out and start playing hide and seek with you then I will be in trouble ha ha ha : )

little prince u shld listen to ur husband me also today simply obeying his order to relax not to touch a single housechore... was feeling bore so thought lets chat now

August...my bb also dun kick when my hubby's hand is on my stomach, i told him bb dun like him hehee and he's quite sad!!

Hey, anyone tried the new campbell instant breakfast soup? Not in can but in sachet form, just add boiling water and dissolve. I just tried yesterday, had another packet today, REALLY yummy, even better than the canned form. keke...I know its not healthy but really very nice leh.. :p

berry/august
did think of going for a walk at nearby shopping ctr but think i will be very tired after walking only half hr, so no point .. will see how in a day or two if i really get too bored ..

i think our bbs are afraid of their daddies so when hubby put his hand on our tummy, bb will stop his actions .. at times, my bb also stopped his movements when my colleagues feel my tummy or i ask them to look at my tummy wobbling .. somehow, believe bb only like it when his own mummy feels him .. haha ..

berry,
i just made the raspberry tea leaf, made 2 cups amount and waiting for it to chill down before i add honey and put in the fridge .. keke ..

little prince, i guess you're on ML until u pop? if so, you'll soon be bored to tears unless u pop soon. like me, I'm getting really bored cause there is so little I can do in my current state- I cant even do simple housework even if I want to. so I only can go online, watch tv and watch dvd (hubby rent dvd for me from video EZ), and that's it.

berry,
i read the box of the lipton raspberry/cranberry tea. i did say "caffeine-free" but not 100%. maybe i shld read the box again.

i normally take it hot after a meal and i wont take more than 2 tea bags. my husband's not into such teas (he's the typical kopi shop tea/coffee person so he's not into raspberry, blackcurrant, peach, mango teas, etc) so i usually drink them in the office.

littleprince, AC, August, my baby also stop kicking when his daddy put his hand on my belly. my hubby says it's because baby knows daddy is there so behaves himself hee hee..

august, i also wish i took a day off today! but no choice la so much to do, think when i get a chance i will take time off..

littleprince you start your maternity quite early huh? my EDD is 8 Dec and i'm planning to start my leave from 6 Dec. but who knows, baby is the one who decides when to come..

august, ac
my baby also stops moving whenever my husband places his hands on my belly. dunno why. when he lifts his hands away, he starts playing/moving again. strange but my husband not bothered by it.

berry,
yeah, now waiting to pop only .. hehe .. of coz i will be bored to tears since i am not the type who enjoys watching TV also, will only watch shows tt are 1hr or so only .. tts why i can only do simple hsewk, filing of old bills and paying of new bills etc .. i hv cleared up the expenses for this mth also in case i dun hv time after i pop ..

kypf,
my co. requires me to start my maternity leave at least one wk before edd, so i can at most work till end of this wk only .. but i looked at the calendar and realised my date of return to work is just nice after the 2 PHs in Nov, so i rather start earlier and return to utlise the 2 PHs instead .. hehe .. anyway, my gynae warned me bb may pop anytime so hubby feels more assured to know i am at home rather than at work ..

Hi sharon
i oso hv thyroid problem &amp; oso on med.I felt tired most of the time cos my body didn't produce enough hormone during this stage.My hormone level fall under the normal range. So sad...
. This thur i hv to go for review,really hope tat aft med the range go back to normal.
Do u feel tired easily? R u taking another food to boost for energy/stamina?

August
It happened to me too. When my hubby put his hand on my tummy,bb stop movin. Aft when he remove his hand bb start to play &amp; active again. Sometime, my hubby very sad he said bb doesn't wan to play wif him. Y is it so?????

berry, campbell's soup has loads of sodium leh. Even in normal times, I don't really drink it though I love the clam chowder. It'll only aggravate the swelling in your limbs.

Oh yar, my friend mixed herbs, meat and a tin of campbell's clam chowder before dumping the whole thing into pie casings. Tastes really fantastic :p~~ Quick and easy to make also.

mngo...CL is definitely a good idea, some of my frends rather engage CL than letting their moms to help coz sometimes pai sey to let their moms gets too tired, and taking care of the bb plus cooking and washing and cleaning up is really beri tiring

but i did not engage CL coz my place no extra space for her to live in, so my hubby will be taking one mth off to be my confinement man

littleprince, OIC.. actually in my company memo they said 3 months maternity leave translates to 60 working days leave. makes me wonder if public holidays not counted as i will miss at least 3 in jan &amp; feb.

oranges, i think maybe our hubbies use different pressure or hands bigger or whatever, baby can tell when it's a different person putting hand on the belly so stop moving for a while..

berry, such a coincidence, my colleague and i just bought campbell's instant soup y'day, but no chance to drink it yet as the water cooler at our floor is quite lousy, water not hot enough. but glad to hear that it's good!

mngo, AC, my MIL doing confinement for me, I'll do feeding (BF) myself, and will get a cleaner to come in to do housework, so MIL only needs to cook for me. She'll come in e morning and return home at night.

beanie, yeah, I know there are loads of sodium. But its really yummy leh, cannot resist. normally when I drink the canned one, I feel thirsty thereafter, but it seems that I wont feel thirsty after drinking this sachet one? Or am I trying to make myself feel better? :p

oranges, try taking chicken essence few times a week, and cordyceps weekly. Cordyceps are very good for strengthening overall health and increase stamina and endurance.

kypf,
yr co. is giving 3 mths or 12 wks maternity leave? they make a world of difference leh if u count on the calendar .. yr due date is in Dec, so i guess u will definitely miss out the PHs coz they shld be included in the maternity leave .. i believe maternity leave includes Sats and Suns etc, so far hv not heard of any co. who goes solely on working days .. better re-chk with yr HR ..

Berry...are u drinking chicken essence frequently? my hubby said he heard in news some time ago dat a lady in Taiwan drank a lot of chicken essence and her baby was oversize...

actually my MIL will be helping me out but i wont want to tire myself every night by waking up to attend to the newborn. It will be very stressful.

Berry
Thks..I'm takin chicken essence weekly.I hvn't start on cordyceps. I understand tat cordyceps is quite heaty,cos nw oreadi got constipation problem. So hw ??? I'm a troublesome person so many problems.

kypf
yalor..i could oso be diff hand temperature &amp; bb noe is not mummy hand.hehe... bb very smart.

i will be hvg confinement at my MIL's place but intend to only get her to cook for me, bathe baby and that's all .. prefer to do the rest myself ..

to the SAHMs,
what do u all usually eat for lunch? do u all cook or pack food? me wondering what to eat for my lunch ..

littleprince, i just read the FAQs more carefully, the 20 work days only apply to the extended one month since the extended one month is supposed to be flexible. i guess it's 2 months + 20 days leave then..?? anyway, will just use the leave days to my advantage
and worry later if HR comes after me. I'm already wondering, for those who are giving birth this year, do we get the childcare leave?

oranges, i thought it was just coincidence that everytime ask my hubby to feel baby kick, baby will stop. but now i see everyone also facing the same thing.. probably baby is smarter than we thought!

gd morning !..er. afternoon .. :p

been quite bz lately ... only now then got time to log in n read the posts... SO MANY !!

how's everyone getting along?? anyone got popping signs??

thanks Jer, radiohead and cubbiebb for sharing your birth story ...
hehe.. of coz i also hope to hv a quick labour like Jer

how are ur bbies doing??

<font color="ff6000">wendy</font>
ello !

still very bz with work?
bb n me are fine ... urself ?

<font color="ff6000">angelia</font>
din see u last night leh... u were late?

<font color="0000ff">cupboard/drawers</font>
i bought a chest of 5-tier plastic drawers from Toyogo warehse @ Toa Payoh for abt $49 (i tink..bought it last mth, cant realli rem the price liao

btw, i got something i kinda dun understand
went for my chkup last night, was told tt my bb now weighs abt 1.3kg ..
kinda shocked as between my last visit on 21 Aug, bb was abt 800g.. increase 500g in abt 3wks..
according to gynae, everythin is normal n my weight gain is 2kg
then gynae told me tt my EDD likely to shift forward to 20 Nov.. meaning im abt 29/30 wks now !!

shd i still stick to my old EDD? tot EDD is accurate when scan at abt 7-11wks? how come now still can change huh?
now im confused leh

<font color="ff6000">kypf</font>
hehee.. my bb is same as ur n oranges' bb, like to play hide n seek with hubby too.. :p

hehe... have been really bad... ate laksa, prata, fried kway teow, etc for lunch last week :p

Trying to be good this week

When I'm good, I normally have rice with mixed dishes. Can choose vege, meat and toufu.

LIttle prince, u got to be kidding, cook lunch to bring to work?? My dinner also not cooked by myself for leh... hehe...

kypf,
childcare leave is applicable to all parents who hv kids before 7 years old ..

chihiro,
think u shld fllw the new edd since gynae is the one tt told u the date, 2 wks earlier leh ..

AC, I drink chicken essence 1-3 times a week.

oranges, cordyceps is not heaty at all. Its considered a neutral herb, not cooling nor heaty, thats why its very ideal to be taken when the body is weak.

mngo, I'll definitely want to BF baby myself even in the middle of the night. afterall, when the 1 month is up, I still hve to take care of baby myself, i'll rather get used to it earlier so that I can adjust asap. besides, my hubby will be there to help me.

beanie,
i mean those who are at home, what do they eat for lunch? me on ML liao, dunno what to eat for lunch .. hehe ..

pets,
the whse is near Toa Payoh Polyclinic, there is a big sign nearby tt directs u to the actual whse .. not bad coz they sell alot of plasticware, i bought my toyogo drawers there too ..

little prince, for my daytime meals, sometimes hubby will takeaway food (like fried beehoon or nasi lemak) for me before he goes to work in the morning, then I'll heat it up and eat for lunch. Or sometimes I cook something simple for myself (like a slab of salmon and potatoes, or simply a big bowl of mashed potatoes, or noodles, etc). yeah, have to admit its quite boring cause not much variety, eat for the sake of eating.