All mummies...

Check w u all, when will bb wean off night feeding slowly?

Bb have been very demanding lately (esp at night ) n he is coming 2 month...as much as l am very happy he feed so much it is very taxing on me at the same time (as after feeding him,I express bm)

So by the time I get any rest, soon he will wan to feed again...I have no helper n hubby tried to help feed 1 time at least in the night to help out. Day time my mum help me although but she Is not young anymore I also find taxing for her .

I ever suggested hiring a helper but my mum is very against it as she dun like stranger to tag to her.

Thanks for all reply in advance
Maybe u try either give FM for the night fee or increase BM by 10ml n drag his interval.

Say if wan try natural, then 6months shld be fine?
Hahaha! Why! You want to quickly try 6 months after giving birth ah? Come on la, let your wife replenish her calcium, iron & other nutrients first before going for the next one. A good gap would be 18 months of rest.

Hello mummy,

I attended Wong Boh Boi class about 3 years ago, she was actually very upfront about it. She openly tell participants that prefer smaller class size to attend other session that was conducted by her fellow workmate.

Her class is fill to the brink, for folks that do not like big class should really take her advice and attend class taught by others which I think will be pretty good too.

Personally I enjoyed her class and learnt much from her, she was also very kind to show up at my ward after my girl was born. She watch how I & my ah lao feed my baby girl and corrected my ah lao technique.

Hi. I remembered her saying about switching to a class with smaller class size and I was wondering if I need to pay extra for that. I wouldn't want to be paying extra on top of the $300++ that was already paid. The class was not effective due to the huge class size. I feel that she could have limited the number of participants per class or get a better venue with a stage, esp when she's well aware that the participants at the back won't be able to see some of her demos. She repeated a few times during her lessons that if we couldn't catch what she had just said, we should refer to her guidebooks (which was not given to us, unless u have the TMC card). I wouldn't recommend her classes to my preggie friends.

All mummies...

Bb have been very demanding lately (esp at night ) n he is coming 2 month...as much as l am very happy he feed so much it is very taxing on me at the same time (as after feeding him,I express bm)

So by the time I get any rest, soon he will wan to feed again...I have no helper n hubby tried to help feed 1 time at least in the night to help out. Day time my mum help me although but she Is not young anymore I also find taxing for her .

I ever suggested hiring a helper but my mum is very against it as she dun like stranger to tag to her.

I also think it's probably growth spurt. I remember that my boy was drinking every 2 hours in the 2nd month.

Different babies wean off night feeds at diff time. In the Feb mummies FB group, there r a few mummies who said that their babies started sleeping thru the night as early as in the second month. For most, the babies will still wake up at least once for feed. As they start to sleep for longer duration, they will wake up fewer times for milk.

My boy is already 4 months old n he still wakes up for feed every 4 to 5 hours at night. Try to give ur bb slightly more milk for the feed before midnight and hopefully, he'll stay full and asleep longer.

Hi. I remembered her saying about switching to a class with smaller class size and I was wondering if I need to pay extra for that. I wouldn't want to be paying extra on top of the $300++ that was already paid. The class was not effective due to the huge class size. I feel that she could have limited the number of participants per class or get a better venue with a stage, esp when she's well aware that the participants at the back won't be able to see some of her demos. She repeated a few times during her lessons that if we couldn't catch what she had just said, we should refer to her guidebooks (which was not given to us, unless u have the TMC card). I wouldn't recommend her classes to my preggie friends.

Hello mummy, there is no need to pay extra to switch to classes conducted by her fellow workmate. You are correct, some learn better in smaller class where else some mummies love bigger class. Guess it is to each it own ba.

Agree you with you totally that we should only reccommend to other ppl what we have personally tried and benefit from only.

All mummies...

Just like what @Shinkirou said, it's different for every babies. My #1 slept through at 2 months but my #2 still wakes up every 4-5 hourly in the night. But he is on BM once he reach home from ifc till the next morning. Try feeding FM at night and perhaps up the volume abit for his last night feed. See if it works. My colleague did that and her baby girl (now 4mo) slept through. If really cannot, i guess you have to hang on a while more. I also have no helper and i insist my hubs does not wake up for night feeds (coz his working hours can be long and at weird hours). No choice, just gotta bite it through and you will soon see some light at the end of the tunnel.

Hahaha! Why! You want to quickly try 6 months after giving birth ah? Come on la, let your wife replenish her calcium, iron & other nutrients first before going for the next one. A good gap would be 18 months of rest.

But try also no guarantee wan le. People like me who are racing against time won't care about replenishment liao. LOL

talking about parents who want certain gender, say a girl, since they have 2 boys, some or rather most end up with 3 boys or parents who have 2 girls, who want a boy, some or most end up with 3 girls. Of course, there are ""luckier" ones who got their desired gender on the 3rd attempt.

What are your thoughts..?

talking about parents who want certain gender, say a girl, since they have 2 boys, some or rather most end up with 3 boys or parents who have 2 girls, who want a boy, some or most end up with 3 girls. Of course, there are ""luckier" ones who got their desired gender on the 3rd attempt.

There are many considerations (e.g financial means, time spent on each child, help that may be needed etc) to ponder through before deciding if we want to go all out to bet on the 3rd/4th or even 5th attempts. Everyone has a different threshold.
For me, i will give a 3rd attempt and if conceive successfully but not the gender i want, i will give up trying liao.

With 3 kids, i think definitely need 2 source of incomes unless one is earning like 25k a month? This amount is subjective since it's highly dependent of the kind of life we are leading now. If the age gap of the children is small (1-2 yrs), most of the bonding activities can be done together instead of needing to find time, doing age-appropriate activities separately.

Any other views?

I do have friends end up 4 boys and another 3 boys then give up. You want to try for third one hope get a gal? There is no guarantee lah unless u do pgd. But you won't love the child less de. But financial consideration is key before deciding to go for next and when to stop.

There are many considerations (e.g financial means, time spent on each child, help that may be needed etc) to ponder through before deciding if we want to go all out to bet on the 3rd/4th or even 5th attempts. Everyone has a different threshold.
For me, i will give a 3rd attempt and if conceive successfully but not the gender i want, i will give up trying liao.

With 3 kids, i think definitely need 2 source of incomes unless one is earning like 25k a month? This amount is subjective since it's highly dependent of the kind of life we are leading now. If the age gap of the children is small (1-2 yrs), most of the bonding activities can be done together instead of needing to find time, doing age-appropriate activities separately.

Any other views?
true, financial is always a big concern especially when parents are sending their kids to numerous enrichment classes like Berries, JG etc and if you have that number of kids regardless boy or girl, you wouldn't want to shortchange any of them. Plus the Q is who to take care of them to have quality care..? definitely not maids, they can only provide basic help like cooking & manual chores, but not as a substitute for parents..

I do have friends end up 4 boys and another 3 boys then give up. You want to try for third one hope get a gal? There is no guarantee lah unless u do pgd. But you won't love the child less de. But financial consideration is key before deciding to go for next and when to stop.
true lor...just that don't know when we get old and look back, will we regret like, "shucks, should have tried for another time, could be a girl"/boy"..

Anyway, it seems like having a daughter nowadays is a "safety net" - usually daughters will take care of their own parents than sons..

Most likely I will go along with SCBB too.

i am choosing to store cos i prefer to decide when i can use it for my lo or family. and it is true that SCBB doesnt notify parents when it will be used/ whether it will be discarded :( this kind of uncertainty is one of my pet peeves :(

true lor...just that don't know when we get old and look back, will we regret like, "shucks, should have tried for another time, could be a girl"/boy"..

Anyway, it seems like having a daughter nowadays is a "safety net" - usually daughters will take care of their own parents than sons..

i heard many 'horror' stories about that. it will be sad to know i might be abandoned by my lo when grow up. you know any tips to prevent sons from turning their backs on their parents. I read some parenting articles, cant remember which one, i think it is important to maintain a close relationship and open communication with children even as they enter youth-adult and adult phase. Then again, could it be different upbringing background (asian vs western perspective) will have different outcome?

Met a lady in her sixties, her son was so sweet to carry her barangs and send her to the MRT station from home, after waving good-bye, he walked back home. i wish when my lo grows up, such sweet relationship maintains :p

sorry for the emotional rant, sigh, these days.. :p

i heard many 'horror' stories about that. it will be sad to know i might be abandoned by my lo when grow up. you know any tips to prevent sons from turning their backs on their parents. I read some parenting articles, cant remember which one, i think it is important to maintain a close relationship and open communication with children even as they enter youth-adult and adult phase. Then again, could it be different upbringing background (asian vs western perspective) will have different outcome?

Met a lady in her sixties, her son was so sweet to carry her barangs and send her to the MRT station from home, after waving good-bye, he walked back home. i wish when my lo grows up, such sweet relationship maintains :p

I think if the mum maintains good relationship with the dil, less chances of being abandoned? Cos the son will feel that the mum treats his wife well. Rather than trying to be a monster in law and making the son dislike her.

Looking at what's happening around, it seems true that the fall-back is always on daughters. Even my hubs is emphasizing to me that my boys gotta learn to earn their keep. He's not going to leave them anything when we are old.
true laa....like you expect your daughter-in-law to take care of you when you are old? Unless you are damn fortunate lo...likewise, it's the same, how many of us here are really close to our in-laws as compared to own parents?

The son could be single that's why he can be so sweet. Imagine if he has a wife, he would be sending the wife to the MRT station instead.

Likewise, as much as we hope that our sons will treat us sweetly, I do not want him to be single and lonely. Would rather that he has his own happy family. Afterall, by then, we are no longer running the show.

I think if the mum maintains good relationship with the dil, less chances of being abandoned? Cos the son will feel that the mum treats his wife well. Rather than trying to be a monster in law and making the son dislike her.
Regardless, there is still this ""barrier"with the MIL & DIL. Both are formal to each other. Worse if the kids are involved.

The son could be single that's why he can be so sweet. Imagine if he has a wife, he would be sending the wife to the MRT station instead.

Likewise, as much as we hope that our sons will treat us sweetly, I do not want him to be single and lonely. Would rather that he has his own happy family. Afterall, by then, we are no longer running the show.

True true. i forgot to add, he is married with 2 kids! so i find it really sweet and heartwarming. hopefully, when i grow up, i will be sensible enough to keep my hands off :)

i think the PIL also must know how to 做人, Otherwise, the son will get all the crap from parent as well as the wife. I have personally witness how my brother was sandwiched between my parent and the wife. No matter what he does, everything seems to go wrong. As parent, we just hope that the children are happy in their married life and better dun interfere much in their 家务事. The way the grandchildren are disciplined always caused a huge rift.
I got along quite well with my PIL, perhaps coz we dun stay together, so lesser conflicts. The only complaint she has (and will always have) is we do not go back for dinner regularly. Hai.... Endless headache.

Hello. My parent prefer my wife than my younger bro wife. My wife can communicate better I think. The other side is a bit hao lian which like see us no up like tat

i think the PIL also must know how to 做人, Otherwise, the son will get all the crap from parent as well as the wife. I have personally witness how my brother was sandwiched between my parent and the wife. No matter what he does, everything seems to go wrong. As parent, we just hope that the children are happy in their married life and better dun interfere much in their 家务事. The way the grandchildren are disciplined always caused a huge rift.
I got along quite well with my PIL, perhaps coz we dun stay together, so lesser conflicts. The only complaint she has (and will always have) is we do not go back for dinner regularly. Hai.... Endless headache.

Any complains about pocket money? it's a headache for me :( sometimes give slightly later, will create some noise .. sighh.

actually the PIL (usually it's the MIL who has the problem), must learn how to let go else if she die die holds on to the son and grandkids, thr DIL sure DL.....

I know of some MILs who expect their son and families to visit and have dinner with them on weekends...how regular is your regular?

Hello. My parent prefer my wife than my younger bro wife. My wife can communicate better I think. The other side is a bit hao lian which like see us no up like tat
oooh...that's before having kids...after having kids is different. If your parents prefer your wife and have the habit of meddling of how to take care of your son and if your wife doesn't like it, that's it.

My own opinion is always better to have more than 1 kid. When we grow old, they have each other as companion whether they are close or not. Also we can diversify our attention when we grow old. Hopefully one of them can be loving and filial to us when we age. Even quarrel with one kid, still can go to other kids place to cool off or rant it out. Cos I come from a quarrelsome family by my parents so that's how I view. After 6 years of hard work and trying, I do feel thankful that I can fulfill my dream to have more than 1 kid. Whether girl or boy, I think is destined, as long as they stay healthy (although scientifically we can do pdgs now). So good to have more than 1 kid really. My fren always tell me to be a nice MIL in future and my mum always say learn to cook for the family then can have family bonding time tog with DIL and son. Well, it all depends on the child.

I agree...depends on the child as well as his future spouse. If the future spouse, for some reason, doesn't like you as an MIL, no matter what you do, she will find you irritating and needless to say, you will not see her face and maybe your grandkids too.

But a general rule of thumb, try not to meddle their affairs unless they ask for your advice or your help. Most ladies like me find MILs too interfering. It's like my house, my kids, why are you telling me what to do?

I know of some MILs who expect their son and families to visit and have dinner with them on weekends...how regular is your regular?
Mine cannot be considered as regular coz it's once every 2-3 weeks. Sounds bad hor, but there are reasons why we do not go to her place often. Esp if there is no one taking dinner with her (we'll call daily and ask), we'll bring her out for dinner and gai gai. My hub explained to her before and luckily she is understanding.

But a general rule of thumb, try not to meddle their affairs unless they ask for your advice or your help. Most ladies like me find MILs too interfering. It's like my house, my kids, why are you telling me what to do?
Actually i think being "interfering" is a trait in most parents le. I am not sure if it is because they have reached the retirement age and just want to have their hands on something? I think my parents are like that, otherwise, what can they do at home? They cannot be sleeping or sitting around the whole day mah. Having said, there must be a limit to what they can interfere with. As long as they dun cross the line, i guess should be easier.

True la, so when one gets older, they must find some activities to do lo...like if the younger ones do not let them take care of the LOs, it's quite obvious it's hands-off, other than occasional play. For me, I'm v OCD in a sense that only me and hubs can decide their education, diet and whatsnot. Those comments from others, be it relatives or parents or parents-in-laws are purely optional, for reference purposes :p So you aga know the relations between me and my MIL is cold.

I agree...depends on the child as well as his future spouse. If the future spouse, for some reason, doesn't like you as an MIL, no matter what you do, she will find you irritating and needless to say, you will not see her face and maybe your grandkids too.

towkayneo, I totally agree with you! my mil also give up with me cos I was behaving like that. In the end, they seldom get to see my son cos I really don't like ppl meddling or commanding how we should manage our own household. So I also not close with my PIL.

I think I also will be like that in future. I cannot stand it if people meddle in the way I teach kids. You have your way but that's last time's way. Nothing to do with me.

Ya lor...so it's just occasions that we see one another. the less contact, the less conflict. i think she's also sians to see my face la, nothing to talk about, so the atmosphere is just cold.

True. However unfortunately, my parents are not in good health. Thus will be depending on my mil and helper in chores
oooh...that's before having kids...after having kids is different. If your parents prefer your wife and have the habit of meddling of how to take care of your son and if your wife doesn't like it, that's it.

Hi ladies, anyone suffer yellow discharge and doc suggest is fungus infection ? Do you need to do insert kind of pills into V?
How many days of such insertion need to be done ? Safe for pregnancy ?

Hi ladies, anyone suffer yellow discharge and doc suggest is fungus infection ? Do you need to do insert kind of pills into V?
Did u inform ur doc that u r pregnant. I experienced 1 during my 2nd tri, itchy n 1epsiode of spotting no yellow discharge. KKH gynea checked n say some infection. Give me pills to insert for abt 5-7days.

Mine cannot be considered as regular coz it's once every 2-3 weeks. Sounds bad hor, but there are reasons why we do not go to her place often. Esp if there is no one taking dinner with her (we'll call daily and ask), we'll bring her out for dinner and gai gai. My hub explained to her before and luckily she is understanding.
My hub will call regularly. We try to visit her once a wk. Only lately my LO is sick + I abt to delivery then we depend on condition. Over the phone she tell my hub say she understand n say go rest. When we next visit her, my LO not used to her, she will say too long never visit cannot recognise grandma already to my LO. Arrrgh

For me handsome Dr Everytime scan for heartbeat n his head. Then he will tell me est weight. Just seen him on tue, then he say see me on my csect day. I go what!!. Which is 2wks times. No need to see my baby 1more time before delivery??
hey, different patient different lei!! he usualy scan the heart n show me nia!! no est of weight. i always get to know the weight when i go ADC one...

Cos of the Chinese saying that when there is a pregnant woman, you cannot shift furniture, particularly the bed, cannot nail the walls, cannot sew on the bed, cannot use scissors and cut stuff on the bed, cannot paint and the list goes on.
u jus dun be ard when shift furniture. n of coz dun move the master bed.

My hub will call regularly. We try to visit her once a wk. Only lately my LO is sick + I abt to delivery then we depend on condition. Over the phone she tell my hub say she understand n say go rest. When we next visit her, my LO not used to her, she will say too long never visit cannot recognise grandma already to my LO. Arrrgh
Ya ya! These people are damn sway one. They purposely say out loud to the LO if they still remember them la etc

yes i do. doc can prescribe pressary to insert ranging 3-7 days.. for me is annoying, it will come back, i prefer oral antibiotic. ur doc shld be able to advise if it is safe for pregnancy mah..

hey, different patient different lei!! he usualy scan the heart n show me nia!! no est of weight. i always get to know the weight when i go ADC one...
Handsome dr do do that for me. During 3rd tri, he will track Bb weight n the head size. Too big maybe got difficult in natura delivery.

Yes I did...almost thro out the pregnancy I get the yellow discharge ...

I asked Dr TanHH he said normal ley...but of cos I was tested to c if hv infection bo...thro out pregnancy kena twice hv to take oral antibodic....no insert was prescribe to me....

I have always wanted a daughter since my first pregnancy. (I personally feel girls will be more understanding towards the mum when they are older, at least I'm like that! Haha) But seems like the more you want it, the more you don't get it. I have 2 boys and expecting my 3rd one. And we decided not to find out the gender until I give birth. If it's a girl, I might close factory. If not, high chance I might try for 4th one (cos my hubby wants 4 kids so he sure can persuade me into it).

I have handful of friends who have 2 boys and had a girl in 3rd pregnancy! Of cos I hope I'm as lucky as them but I guess I'm also all prepared if it's a boy!

Most importantly is having a healthy baby of cos so if it's a girl, it's a bonus!

can I ask if dr handsome is more prone C-section is it? When I saw him on wk 8, he told me about c-sec which I told him I feel stressed cos I delivered my 1st natural w/o epidural.