Which is better - male or female lawyer?

for me no difference..lawyers are generally snobbish..and very money minded..

most impt is find one you're comfortable with and also know that he/she will definitely fight for you

(don't flame me ah..im just stating what i've encountered)

No lah - won't flame u of cos. at least not me. You are so sweet to give your frank view . I agree with u / they keep talking about $$$ and they act like they know everything n I should listen to them.
this is divorce we are talking about - they should have some empathy n emotion rt?

U divorced already?

hehe..

yes actually finalized my case in think end 2006 or early 2007..must also add that you must know what you want and know your rights as well. Mustn't just 100% listen and do what they said..question them as well..that's why i kena 'chopped' i paid $6k plus for my case (3 years separation - reason unreasonable behaviour) My lawyer dragged and dragged (i highly suspect she alias with the other party's lawyer and dragged my case)

yeah, if the grounds of divorce is unreasonable behaviour then no need to go for separation. i think most fees even for a open close case is about 5k. to lower fees, make sure that you and your ex are in agreement on children, property, maintenance and other matrimonial property. that way, there will be no dilly-dally. try to get this down in writing in case the ex turns crazy and want to drag just for the heck of it.

Nicole as said i paid ard $6k and i think that time was already expensive (so she might have already up her charges now) in a way finally yes i got what i wanted (straight cut case no children) so pretty easy to settle but then as some girls here said also if grounds of divorce is unreasonable behaviour dun need to go for seperation. What's your case? If got children a bit ley chey.. might be more additional $.. i suggest do source around and compare prices with different lawyers
good luck!