TOA PAYOH mummies

Sunny,
ya my job hazard, producer, production schedule, details, very rigid haha. But im learning to be more flexible.

Jul,
dun say cup, my girl sometimes turn her bottle upside down and see it drip haha.

are

I tried to go to the page to LIKE but I can't leh
Keeps saying "aborted"

ivy

Same lah! My boy will purposely turn the starw bottle upside down & SHAKE.. & he has the cheek to say "Pour" at the same time. Wanna strangel him sometimes

Hi mummies,no any one knw abt kiddyABC?it located at blk99 there...
Btw talk abt straw my son23 mths le still dunno use it...how to train him??

newmummy

Sorry I've not heard of this school

As for straw, I tried to teach my boy unsuccessfully then gave up. Then one day when he was 14 mths, I gave him the Pigeon Magmag straw bottle & he could suck himself! Just let him play with it & explore for a while?

HI Jul,thx for the adv~!
KiddyABC just located at blk99 near braddell mrt,nvr heard meh?thk newly open?

Oh really?ur son so clever,14mths only know liao!i try several time but he still dunno suck le...

It has been a long time since my last log in. Was held up in my work & some personal matters.

Need some advises fm those who has experiences with maids. As this is the 1st time that I'm hiring a maid, I hv zero knowledge on it. Wish to know what shld I look out 4 & which agency is more reliable? Indo or Phil maids better? Roughly what r the charges like? Appreciate for some kind advises. Thanks!

newmummy

I didn't look ard Toa Payoh in the end. Coz I decided I wanted a Montessori, & only visited schools with Montessori that are near Toa payoh area.

You can try training your son like this :

1) Take a straw, cut to about half the length
2) Dip the straw into water, close the end with your finger so that the water remains in the straw
3) Put the end with water into your son's mouth then release the water
4) Do this a few times, gradually releasing less & less until your son gets the idea & starts to suck
Hopefully he will get it. I tried this with my boy but it didn't work coz he hates water, ribena, soup, barley etc. *angry* So I gave up until he was 14 mths then gave him the bottle for fun & who knows, he can suck!

So you never know. Buy the Pigeon straw bottle from Kiddy Palace, Taka, Robinsons etc & try.

hey dor/tbmummy/jul/dolphin... thanx v much! "LIKE"-ing my page is a good start to supporting this project. when i do collections for items and donations in cash to buy the groceries, pls do support too!

those mummies who do not hv facebook but would like to join me, do let me hv your email and i will inform you when i have collections.

newmummy08,
my girl start to train at 10mths, she love to use straw. But my sis son dunno how to use straw till 3 yrs old, but he know how to use cup. So its just different preference i think, why dun you just give the cup and try hehe, maybe he can skip the straw like my nephew.

Precious ,
got it i go find one of these day.

Hey ivy,jul.thx for the adv n I will try it use cup then.but he may make fun of it using cup n spill the water out!he like to knock on table!Vy Noti now!
Btw ivy,u don wan roll ur girl in my first skool?I don knw the newly open br already start calling those in waiting list kids coz I still hear nothg.but Mayb wil send him to playgroup 1st.thk the nearest to my HSE is kiddyABC at blk99 only.
How cm no any mummies know this playgroup?
Not famous or not gd at all??

WINNIE

I got my Indo maid from Nation. More for convenience coz they have a branch in Toa Payoh and they have a pool of transfer maids as they're big. I needed a maud in a hurry. Not much to rave about although the agent who serviced us is quite efficiebt, knowledgable etc. Only thing is that they're expensive

With the wages hike for Indo maids, it's cheaper to get a Filippino. The stereotype is that Filippinos are smarter, have better command of English, but are more 'vain'. Indos supposedly are slower, less attitude probs but know little English. Depends on your needs. My ILs prefer Indo maid so I got them one. But mine's English is unusually good. She has probs too. Maids WILL give you probs haha. Just weigh whether there is net gain :p

newmmummy

Oh just give him enough drops of water to drink but which won't cause too much damage if he pours it out on purpose haha

Newmummy, heard of Kiddy ABC but have no first-hand experience so can't comment.

Whether Filippino, Indo, Myanmar, even local, there will always be some sort of problem. Nobody's perfect. Even own family can give problem.

Hi jul & j foo,

Understand that there won't be any perfect maids around but as I'm totally new in hiring a maid, I need to gather some info 1st before making my 1st move. Heard tt some agencies r really out to kill. They will juz make u pay and pay so will like to know which are the agencies that are more reliable.

Jul,

U hv mentioned that Nation are expensive. How much do u pay?

To other mummies out there, if u hv any reliable agencies to recommend, can u pls advise? Thanks!

winnie... if u want my copy of interview questions and house rules, PM me. you can try my agency also. price i feel is reasonable, but the lady boss is very trustworthy and helpful, won't leave you in the lurch if anything. no guarantees on the maid tho. nowadays is see your luck. :p the best way to know better is to call a few agencies, talk to them, and you will get a better feel of wat to look for VS what they charge.

WINNIE

agency fee $398. But there's usually a 15 or 20% discount with OCBC Baby bonus or singtel or something. With that, you get unlimited replacement of maid within 12 mths. After 3 mths, you have to buy insurance again.

I m going mad

Ever since the cc started toilet train my gal, we been trying to train at hm too. The norm is let them hv last session in potty before bedtime right? We did that, however she will say dun want pass urine. Half hour into the bedtime on bed, she wakes u up say want to pass urine. Then after that goes bk on bed, another half hour tells u she want to pass urine again. Been going in and out of room to toilet few times EVERY night till I lose my temper and raised my voice at her. I m so tired after Work and all e milk pumping and simplt wasted 2 hours ding dong w her till i fed up. Although I know j Shld encourage her to sit potty but this whole toilet training affair umia driving me nuts !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Every night, this whole episode repeats starting fm 9pm till 11pm when she finally decides she wants to sleep.

I wish she just stays ob diapers
((((

Surf
Place the potty near to her, with hand spray w bb wipes so that she can help herself. And also has a night light for her. You may want to get waterproof bedsheet protector for her, so it won't dirty the mattress.

Precious
Sorry, typo. She uses the kids toilet seat on our adult toilet bowl, not a potty. We hv to bring her to sit as she not tall enuff to climb up the seat yet. I feel she is just resisting sleep abs finding it fun to sit on toilet seat. She does pass Abit of urine every visit. But I dun hv the patience and energy to entertain her after a long day at work.

And you shouldn't be "entertaining" her this way. You'll be sending out the wrong message. Passing urine is not a "game". You can put a stool if you wish for her to stand to reach the seat. Since you put a toilet seat, it's should be safe. Let her keep going by herself if she really does want to go so often. Don't go with her. After a while she should get tired of it and stop. And I think if she keeps passing a bit of urine every so often, it actually weakens the bladder as the bladder can't be trained to hold a certain amount of urine.

J foo
I know wat u mean. My daughter is the mischevious kind. If we leave her alone in toilet, she will start playing w the tap and hose. Worst if she fell down, I will become a sinner in my in laws eyes as long as I live. My gal still young, 27 months. Wonder if it is too early to train. Sigh. But her classmates in cc most not wearing diapers alr.

thanks dor. I read the article and meant to have a look see but you've made it easier

Not bad. They even have part time legal positions on the list. Definitely a website to "Mark as favourite".

Sunny,
me too marked this website as favourite. facing prob wif work recently, makes me even more to look out once i pop.
company changed new mgmt, few snr. staffs left and got in 2 new ones tat have lil knowledge of their job/responsibilities to handle the projects, and yet still get high pay and all the credit. To make it worst, the mgmt is on their side coz under his recruitment piss@#$(*
those existing staffs including me are waiting to see how the projects and sin company will turn out to be.

sorry mummies, got to let it out somewhere.....

Long time didn't post here... me gotten busier since my boy went P1...

dor/other mummies
Congrats, preggie mummies! Hope you're all coping well.

dor, did u say you are due in jul??
Seems like ur work situation is not so rare nowadays....

char
How are u coping? Not easy with a tod and an infant w/o help.

surf
Yes, need primary school's report card.. if not available, can obtain a copy from moe, the last time I heard, it cost $10.
My report card is with me.... hehe...waiting... another 2 years...

newmummy
KiddyABC - my gals went there - don't hv high expectations. I guess it is normal. I chose it cos it's near to my mom. Good for the tods to socialise and play. No Chinese is taught though. Sent my gals to AK when they were 4 years old.

winnie
One of the mummies (whom I know) on this forum started a blog on maids.
Take a look www.singaporemaid.blogspot.com
Better ensure you don't end up with any of those errant maids on the blog!

I feel it boils down to the maid's character and personality. Heard of good Indon and Fili maids, also heard of bad ones.

stylobb,
wow been awhile since u log in. hope your son is coping well.
tell me abt it, previously everyone in this small ofc knows what they suppose to do and work as a team but now sigh....i noe i shldnt compare but....it's sad to see the team spirit and expertise gradually missing.

dor
After 2 months, we are coping well. We need to wake up early at 6.15am... actually not super early compared to some other kids but to me, it is... haha.... now I also start work early. For most of the evenings, I have to coach him in his Chinese reading and ting xie. .... and we think looking after toddlers is difficult.... hahaha .. wait till they go to school.........another set of issue...

Office - I understand what you are going through, esp when team spirit and expertise is gone... unfortunately corporations don't really care for such...

yenn
AK - a few of the mummies here send their kids to AK and have shared before For me, I got no complaints except have to pay for this and that. School fees are not on the super high scale but not super cheap either. I gotta confess I don't focus much on the gals now as I'm concentrating more on my boy. They are gnrlly coping well. My mil is teaching the gals outside of their school time....

Precious
Yup, i did that, make her go before bedtime. Last night, she again said want to go shh shh and tells me her diaper full want to change. I told her nope, not full and she just went to the toilet, no need go again so fast. Dunno if she pee into the diaper then though. Sigh. Yah, bugged hubby to come home early to take turns. If not, I will really go bonkers if I were to go thru this 2-hour bedtime routine with her every night. Last night was better, I realise I cannot lie down with her coz I will fall asleep myself and she will start waking me up say want to go shh shh, drink water, etc. I sat on her bed pat her and told her in stern voice to close her eyes and sleep. It sort of worked better, make her close eyes long enuff and she will drift off to dreamland faster.... haha.....

Just realise my maid is short-sighted! No wonder the floor always got stains and she can tell me she never see.... thought it's a maid syndrome that they are "short-sighted" but mine really is. Any optical shop in TPY central to recommend? As in professional enough and not too expensive? I know some are family run and they can get family members to prescribe glasses too though they are not certified.

Hey Dor
Good website
I also bookmarked it.

Surf,
tt shop mentioned by Precious is quite popular. Often see pple patronise there whenever i walked pass. i had my glasses done there previously, usually i'll let them noe my budget so tat they cld recommend within the range.

i undstd wat u r going thru mid of the nite gotta get up once or twice to bring her to toilet. i usually avoid giving my gal any water an hour - half hour b4 bedtime and ask her to go once b4 going to bed. at times she'll wakes up in the wee hour and asked me to accompany her, me being a light sleeper after gtg up fm my sleep can hardly go bk to zzzz again until an hour or so. nxt morning goes to work zombie...

Thanks ladies. What's the cost of making a pair of glasses now? I remember can cost from $80 to a few hundreds?

Dor
Yeah, dunno when she will be fully trained. Also, she is notti lar, finding reasons and excuses to get up and out of the bedroom. My mum cannot tahan her yesterday after she came bk from CC, threw tantrums during dinner. My mum said "pls grow up faster". In my mind, I also wish for that, but on the other hand, they can be quite funny and fun at this stage when they are not notti. So when pple asked me "going for 3rd one?" , I will say enough... haha... Can't imagine going thru the same things again for my currently 4-mth old boy in time to come

Surf,
the last time i had mind made was many yrs back liao b4 i go for lasik, range abt $90-$200+. rem i hv 2 pairs each for day & nite.

the frame itself is cheap, is the lenses tat r costly. go for the norm type, if am not wrong refractive or thin lenses will cost more. Then there are plastic and glass lenses etc. chk wif the optician to make her a pair of economical and durable specs.

surf

How did you finally find out that your maid is short-sighted?

Get those cheap plastic frames. Plastic lenses are cheaper than glass lenses. Don't go for refractive, multi-coated, high-index etc as these are more expensive. But I think the shop-people will also know that you are not looking for fashionable but just cheap & comfy glasses for your maid.

ivy

Are you asking abt me? Coz I don't think MTDT is looking for schools but I am. Or rather, I was!

I've decided to go for "Montessori for Children" at Newton.

Hi TPY mummies, I'm new here...stay Lor 8. I have a son (2007) at Teeny Tiny CC, Bishan st 12 and a 16mth gal. SAHM since 1st kiddo but this year gg back to my part time job.

Now trying to find a playgroup center for my gal b4 she joins her Gor Gor next year. Any mummies know which center is good and near Lor 8?

talking abt straw training...I think Pigeon mag mag straw bottle is God-send. I put colored drink like ribena to show my son when he's one and he was amazed whe he saw the red stuff gg up and down the straw. Also I often use straw to drink from my cup in front of him. Initially he only bite the straw and in 2days time, he suckled by accident, keke..

My gal even faster cos see monkey sees, monkey do mah...

Jul,
U finalize ur school liao ar?? Is it a Pure montessori school?

MTDT was thinking of choosing a new school for her no2, so i tease her go do research and update me hehe.

hi all , my son is 4+ year old , thinking of letting him learn swimming . any mummies got any recommadation ? toa payoh pool ? thank