TOA PAYOH mummies

ivy... the person say red/blue leh. u see the link for the pic. hope you and ah ger get well soon!!

jul/rlcl... pls let me know the col u want cos this is a pre-order.

hi are

i want red/maroon collect at your mom's place
in the evening at about +6pm weekdays can? if timing not good, nevermind, your place also can.

are

So sorry, my hubs doesn't want to buy the umbrella. He says we have a lot of umbrellas at home, don't waste money

ivy

Yeah I don't like the CCs very near my MIL's area leh. I meant those within walking distance. Haven't checked out those further away.

galdolphin

Actually I think I'll go crazy if I have to stay home all the time. Part-time would be ideal - some money & some time at home haha

surf

Oh.. my case is opposite from you. I got an easier portfolio after going back to work.

Are,
can u help me get 1 maroon red?

Jul,
or u can be like CG, the school not near but school bus can send back to ur mil place.

ivy

Yeah that's why I actually prefer CC with school bus if it's not within walking distance from MIL's.

Btw I'm going to Totsville for a trial 2moro am. Will try to update here.

precious

I'm not gog for CC. I'm trying to decide whether I want to splurge on Montessori For Children from next yr onwards for pre-nursery
$$$$$ Hiaz...

Jul
Montessori is good. My girl was at Bishan Montessori for a year (18mths to 30mths). It is under playgroup.
There is MMI Montessori and Spore Montessori in Thomson.
Have u visited Ykidz?

precious

I just look-saw from the recep area. It was very near my MIL's so I popped my head insdie for a while.

Totsville is at Bishan St 22.

Right now I'm looking for a weekend class for my boy to attend, so I don't mind if it's at other areas. Coz he's quite afraid of crowds now. Dunno what happened but it started during CNY. Started crying & crying if we try to bring him into a hse full of people. So I thought better bring him out to 'socialise' a bit more before school starts next yr

Jul
When the younger one went full-day program w school transport, I did not follow. He cried for 2 days on and off, 3rd day onwards he was already ok. The school continued to update me through SMS every 1-2hrs for the 1st week.

precious

I heard that usually when they cry the first few days, it's actually better. When they don't cry the first few days, or week, then they'll cry even harder after the 'shock' sets in. Not sure how true this is?

Jul, you mean the Montessori for Children at Newton Rd? There's one at Mountbatten too if I don't remember wrongly. Almost sent my daughter there when we first moved to Toa Payoh. It was a toss between this one and Singapore Montessori Kindergarten. My daughter chose the latter, reason? "I like to wear uniform." *Faint* Montessori for Children is a pure montessori. Curriculum is sound, teachers seem like a good bunch. HOWEVER, your child may have some adjusting to do when he goes to primary school. And the fees is definitely high. I didn't really like the principal either...she came across as being "cold" and snobbish.

jfoo

Yup the one at Newton Rd. The one at Mountbatten is at Broadrick Rd right?

Ok.. I nvr knew a kid who likes to wear uniform. Your gal is cute

I also considered the adjustment issue. But I thought it shd be ok, coz there's no PSLE or whatever at Pri 1.. nothing disastrous shd happen to impact their future??? I can accept not such good grades, since I know that he'll need to adjust to the system.

The main issue I have is the fees! Aiyoh.. I can send my boy to a good kindy & pay for many enrichments with the fees leh. So.. still thinking.

I didn't have an issue with irene being snobbish. She seemed quite warm to me. But definitely that place ia quite 'atas', with some expat kids. Actually, I'd rather not to have so many expat / rich kids, but.. seems like there aren't many "pure" Montessoris ard.

preSchool near toa payoh or around.

Totsville [pure montessori?] - bishan (preschool)
MMI - Thomson - preschool
Singapore montessori - newton - preschool
yKidz - toa payoh (preschool)
first skool - tpy - (CC)
kinderland - near braddell - (CC)
Halifax Montessori - (CC)
Pats school house - whitley - (CC)
Sparkletots PCF tpy - (CC)
HDB Hub CC
Jessin - TPY lor 2 - (CC or preschool??)
youngtalents - (preschool)
Mindchamps - (preschool)
Sunny bunny montessori - sin ming - (CC)
cambridge CDC - novena - (preschool)

This is so far the school i heard, but i only been to hdb hub, kinderland, first skool, walk pass sparkletots hehe.

ivy... can. i order for u.

rlcl... can u pm me your contact, then we arrange pick-up when i receive the stocks?

jul... no prbs. i oso took some effort to convince hubby to buy, cos wat we hv nw is not gd enuff when he shelter me carrying ah ger from the car.

Dear mummies. I am also a mummy staying at toa payoh. Would like to ask any mummies here have primary school going kids? Any mummies have children attending swimming lesson at Toa Payoh Swimming complex? Can pass me contacts for swimming lessons? Thanks.

Ivy -
ur defination for presch is kindy? I tot mindchamps/cambridge all are CC?

preSchool near toa payoh or around.

Totsville [pure montessori?] - bishan (preschool)
MMI - Thomson - CC
Singapore montessori - newton - preschool
yKidz - toa payoh (preschool)
first skool - tpy - (CC)
Pats Halifax - (CC)
Chiltern House Halifax - (Presch)
HDB Hub CC - heard tat tis is only for HDB staff?
Jessin - TPY lor 2 - (CC or preschool??)
youngtalents - (preschool)
Mindchamps - (CC)
cambridge CDC - novena - (CC)

Pai sey, going out of topic here.

Re: sleeping thru the night and no need wake up latch
For mummies who exclusively latch, the body adjust not to produce so much milk during that time of the day. But wat abt mummies who pump exclusively? Does the logic apply?

Hv started work and it is tiring to wake up and pump. Wish can sleep thru but I m worried that overall supply will drop. Read somewhere if dun wake up to pump at least once, supply will drop.

Tris,
hihi, long time to see (your post) :D hows things?

MTDT,
im listing down both CC & Kindy. Ya my preschool means kindy paisay. Cos afterall CC is only means beside the Nursery, K1 K2, they stay whole day in school. Cos some of us here are SAHM, think they dun need CC. For me, i only looking for CC...
I still havent start looking around leh.
You leh? And got anymore to add on to the list below? Or u can filter them as better reputation?

MMI - Thomson - CC
first skool - tpy - (CC)
Pats Halifax - (CC)
HDB Hub CC - heard tat tis is only for HDB staff?
Mindchamps - (CC)
cambridge CDC - novena - (CC)
Jessin - TPY lor 2 - (CC or kindyl??)
Totsville [pure montessori?] - bishan (kindyl)
Singapore montessori - newton - (kindy)
yKidz - toa payoh (kindy)
youngtalents - (kindyl)
Chiltern House Halifax - (kindy)

MTDT,
ya like sunny bunny, i just got to know from google. In fact one of my girl infant care teacher who is very good join them.
Which one u visit? Or u gonna put no 2 in pats too?

Ivy
Life is busy for me. Gotta juggle between work n 2 children. How's yuyu, still at infantcare? R u looking for another childcare or preschool for her?

are

Sigh maybe Hubs may consider buying in future?

surf

Whether latching or pumping, it's the same. Supply = demand. Pump less = less milk produced. But now that your babe is older, I guess it's not so critical to keep up the supply? Coz it's a fine balance between pumping & resting.

What I did was pump at midnight, then sleep, then wake up at 6am to pump. So I cut down my pumping to 6x/day instead of 7x/day when I still pumped at 3am

Thanks Jul, same, tried doing that for past 2 days alr. Supply in the day really dropped
. But I pumped 6x a day still. When u start dropping the 3am pump bk then?

surf

Er.. if I remember correctly, I started dropping the 3am pump from 6 months. From abt 5 mths, I was on & off pumping at 3am. Can wake up, pump. Cannot wake up, don't pump :p But yeah, supply dropped too. But I was just too tired.

Tris,
yes she still in ifc, im looking for another childcare, i still got to work. Hubby... cannot support alone hehe.

Sunny,
i dun like the principal attitude hehe. sometimes got issues, she like to say MCYS standard or whatever. Make me feel indirectly is she saying "its not my fault, its mcys" haha. ok thats a personal interpretation. Anyway she promoting to play group soon, i will observe the teachers.

girls,
now my girl is on straw, so when do i transit to cup and how?? Do i need to get a bottle with spout? or go straight to cup?

Ivy
I prefer him to use straw instead, easy to bring it out, and wont cause any mess. He knows how to drink from cup, but I still prefer him to use straw instead.... Lol! If not more work for me to clean home. His is those bottle w straw which he brings to school everyday.

CG,
ya she love her bottle, the teacher say she suck very kua zhang one, like super thirsty... my hubby say heng she like water, unlike her mother, who is like enemy of water.

hey ivy... from a speech therapy point of view, i think they always prefer to teach the kids to use straw first because it trains their usage and coordination of the jaws/tongue/mouth, then throat to swallow.

Are,
i see, i thought by 18mths must train to cup haha.

CG,
the spoon, sassy and nuby training spoon, seems not available in retail shop. Only on amazon.

Ivy, no stress. There is no "must" at any stage. If she can drink from cup, let her. But for unsupervised drinks (i.e. you are not holding on to the vessel), just give her whichever is most acceptable to her and convenient for you. At childcare, usually have water bottle with straw or spout, rarely cup cos they will spill

hey mummies... i am still working on my charity project. if you would like to join me, pls go to my facebook page.

pls "LIKE" my Project GIVE page so i can register a username, but most importantly, pls support my plans for 2011!!! http://www.facebook.com/pages/Project-GIVE/173346652701811 . pls go to the page & LIKE it there! : )

i am now collecting tricycles, bicycles, toys, car seats, infant seats for my girl's school, rainbow centre. if you have any to donate, i will pick up from you and send to the school.

Ivy

Hehe my boy is the enemy of water. Must force/coax/bluff him to drink. he only started straw bottle at 14 mths, can you believe it??? Before that. we spoon fed him water. he's still being spoon fed but we use the straw bottle when we're out.

I think if I give him the cup, he'll pour water all over the place (on purpose!)