TOA PAYOH mummies

Jul,
sorry for being rude, but if your mil frowns on everything, y dun she takes care of your kid/s personally. if she cant cope then has no choice to send them to CC or few hours playgroup. Maybe she's hoping u cld quit your job and handle them personally jus like mine hee.

u cld paint a nice pix of CC such as your kid gets to learn fast, be independant and makes lots of frenz at CC. if she nag abt kid following sick jus let her noe it is a process most have to go through. Tat also helps them to build-up their immunity. Sooner or later when they attend Nursery, they'll face the same prob too.

Jul
Kallang branch, they don't hv a website.
Gal.dolphin and myself (2kids) are in this school, and they take school bus. My children are Year 2006 and 2009. They adapt fast and well.

Jul
Which Blk do you stay? Grandparents tend to be over-protective, it is normal. Have a clear objective, and you know your child the best, before you decide to send to playgroup, half day or full day program. In my case, if my inlaws or my parents were to take care of my kids, I would still put them in cc, than to let them watch TV the whole day (older generation tend to turn on TV the whole day, in my case)

Dor

I put my boy & maid at her place every am before I go to work, then fetch them back after we have dinner at her place. The maid is to assist her with my boy, bcoz he is very active & I guess she can't cope with him by herself. Last yr, I took no pay leave & stayed with my boy for 1 whole yr (I camp at her place in the day in place of my maid). I just went back to work abt 3-4 mths ago.

So I got the maid to help her out. Now that the maid is giving probs, we're thinking of sending my boy to half-day CC or playgroup then with her for the other half of the day.

Last yr, my FIL quit his full time to do freelance & part-time work. In the beginning when we couldn't find a maid, they said they can manage even if I'm back at work coz there're 2 of them. Then the maid came & my FIL spends the whole day outside either fetching SIL's kids or working the rest of the time. So effectively, my MIL is alone if there's no maid.

My MIL thinks that CC is a bad place - coz there're so many kids & they pass flu ard, the teachers may not change diaper frequently, my boy may cry etc. That's why we worked out this maid arrangement in the first place.

She mentioned a few times before that I shd quit & stay home to take care of my boy, but we just cannot afford it financially. She keeps citing my SIL as an example & says that she did the same thing & my FIL's salary was pathetic as well & they brought up 2 kids. Keeps saying can one, just scrimp a bit. But this will not only result in me not being able to send my boy to ANY school other than PCF, plus we will have no savings for rainy day. I'd rather work & be able to give my boy a bit more financially. Different opinions lah, so I can't stay home with her also else I'll go mad :p

Actually I planned to send my boy to pre-nursery next yr, but we haven't told her. Guess she'll start saying that it's too early to send him to school & that he shdn't be taught so much so early anyway else his brain will get overworked & spoilt.

precious

Oh it's under East! No wonder I can't find. it's in Kallang Sector, Infineon right?

I don't stay at Toa Payoh. But MIL is at Blk 45. Kind of near Pei Chun & YKidz.

I'm going to leave it to ILs to decide on what arrangement suits them at this stage. I'm definitely sending my boy to school next yr regardless of what MIL says. It's this yr that I prefer to still keep him home coz he's still very young - Aug 09 baby.

galdolphin, precious

Oh btw how much is the monthly fee at CH? And the sch bus fee?

I wonder if they have sch bus for half day?

Jul
My no.2 is also Aug 2009 boy.
Blk 45 is just walking distance to my Blk.
CH Kallang is $830 before subsidy for full day program.
School bus is $140 monthly.
School bus will arrive at around 850am to fetch, at around 535pm my children will be home.
The centre itself, operating hours is from 7am to 730pm.
Yes, it is located inside Infineon Building

hi pooh,

thanks guess still ballot if PV. don't even get a chance to ballot if don't.

well guess will still try. don't let the kid say i never try.

precious

Thanks. I'll think of CH Kallang if worse comes to worse. I'm only worried that ILs will say they don't want a maid, then suddenly after a few mths they say they can't take it anymore

$830 + $140 sounds affordable. After subsidy.. shd be $600+ nett. Can do hor?

Regarding PV at Pei Chun, finally I have some experience to share. My girl born 2006, deadline for PV application submission by 30 Nov 2010. Attended interview in Dec 2010. Was told that they would select only 50 out of about 100 interviewees. Actual PV work will start jun/jul 2011 until jun 2012. Have to clock at least 60 hrs within one year.

Should the no. of applications exceed the no. of vacancies in any phase, vacancies will be balloted in the following order of priority:
a) within 1 km
b) within 2 km
c) outside 2 km

Jul,
ic....let your ILs noe that nowadays the kids' brain are like a huge sponge, absorb wat is being given to them, hence no worries hee!

if u intend to continue and let your mil look after your son (2nd half) then leave him at Pre N for few hours at least can off load her a bit, by then he comes, take his lunch/shower, he'll prob take his aftn nap and by then wakes up time for dinner or go back to your plc liao.

alternatively, leave him at full day CC (half day CC charges not much diff compared to full day), working mom will have more subsidy fm govt for full day CC too. thereafter, your mil can pick him up fm CC say abt 5pm (if you or her doesnt want him to stay too long) let him have dinner b4 u guys pick him up.

Right now i gotta rush back b4 7pm to pick my daughter luckily her CC is just nxt to my block.

Jul
Looking at the curriculum, from playgroup to nursery 1, they have more play than academic, using their 5 senses. Now my girl, K1 is more on academic and writing practice, reading etc.

If you are a full time working mum, subsidy is $300 for full day program. $150 for half day.

My girl used to be at Blk 45 PCF. However, I'm glad that they are now in the same school. My no.2 adapts fast, mostly because her sister goes school together with him.

Jul
Rather than spending more on enrichment classes, it is a good choice to find a good cc with good curriculum. Then weekends, you can relax, or just bring the child out to play. My personal view. Let your inlaws know going to cc might not be a permanent choice, etc if he can't adapt well then you can withdraw at anytime. I know a mummy who pay full day program school fee, but every Fri she won't bring children to school, and every June (whole month) and Dec (whole month), and she can have more time with the children, for outdoor activities, for holidays, or simply just relax and play!!

Dor

I can't even convince MIL that veg pieces in the poo doesn't mean that nutrients aren't absorbed & that blended veg doesn't mean the nutriets are absorbed.. how to convince her abt kids' brains? Forget it lah. I wanna send to sch, just send. Dun need to talk so much. It's like "banging my head against a wall". And it makes both parties unhappy.

MIL can't pick him up. She doesn't drive. It's either full-day CC with transport, or half-day CC/playgroup within walking distance. Hope tonight's discussion with ILs yield some concrete results *praying hard*

precious

Oh! I think MIL wants to send my boy to Blk 45 PCF. Just downstairs of her hse, no worries abt rain/shine

precious

I agree with you. I'd also rather find a good CC/pre-school so that I don't need to spend weekends rushing to & fro enrichments. Very tiring

Jul
Btw, there is a new branch My First Skool at Blk 55. Walking distance from Blk 45. Blk 45 PCF is a good school too.
For PCF, at nursery it is 2hrs daily with school holidays. K1 is 3hrs and K2 is 4hrs. Min age to accept is 30mths. As I have two kids, I had to withdraw my girl from PCF so that both siblings can go to the same school for these two years before my girl goes Pri 1. When my girl goes Pri 1, mostly likely my no.2 will go half day program then. Will see how. With 2 kids, there are always many changes involved 

precious

Luckily both Hubs & I are mostly on the same wavelength, so we've alrady talked it over on what to do tonight.

He will ask his parents abt what option they prefer :
1) new maid + boy at home
2) no maid + boy at half day CC/playgroup
3) if they seem unhappy abt taking care of him, we will put my boy to full-day CC (Start with a few hrs, then half day, then full day) so that we can be independent

Jul
For long term, I would opt for school transport. I cant imagine myself having to take care of them plus school bags while waiting for taxi etc, on rainy days, though no.1 is very dependent. Moreover, no.2 totally rejected carseat if I drive. I would then become a stressful driver, as he cried non-stop if I were the driver.

Jul,
Yes, CC or playgroup gotta be within walking distance or school bus provided in order for your ILs to pick him up.

btw, is nice of your coy to grant u 1 yr unpaid leave to take care of your son previously. wonder if mine allows that sigh.....

Precious,
i guess i gotta do further adjustment again when no. #2 comes along. right now am taking things one step at a time, still havent actively looking for a bby sitter for no. #2.

precious

yeah lor, long term I sure go for sch bus. In fact, for pre-school, I'll go for those with sch bus too.

Dor

My co sort of has no choice coz I'm in a stat board :p But they take chance to tekan me lah. My perf grading was very bad last yr

Jul
At least you have your inlaws to stand by when you need someone to take care of your boy. It's a blessing.
When I am ill, I still have to cook, to bath (no.1 will shower herself though) to take care of the children. Everyday after they arrive home, I'll be busy till 10+ to 11+, and weekends my hubby and myself work non-stop to take care of one child. He handles #1 by keeping talking to her (haha, my girl is very talkative, and likes to ask lots of questions, likes to negotiate), I take care of the active boy, that I have to constantly be alert for his safety.

Precious - Thanks.

Jul,
so contradicting right....govt encourage increasing birth rate, on the other hand we gain lil support and understanding fm organizations. shows tat bb bonus is not the main drive for increasing birth rate.

precious

Nope, not a teacher lah. If I am, I won't be clueless abt PV & Pri 1 enrollment etc haahaa

Yup, I am indeed blessed. That's why I don't want to be too hard on ILs. If they can help, it's a bonus. If they need a break, I think they will still pitch in if the need really arises.

Dor

Please lor, the bonus has nothing to do with birth rate. Oh the budget got increased subsidy for CC right? Real/bluff? I haven't had time (or mood) to check.

Dor
Spore is a very small country. Indeed it is a blessing that we can hire helpers easily, and many childcare centers to choose as compared to other countries. Like in Oz, full day program till 5pm, per day is around S$80. When I heard how China 'drill' the children in school, Spore education system seems better.

Jul,
hahaha! me din even noe there's an increase in CC subsidy.

Maybe Google Queen can help us find the link. keke! Right Sunny?

Drypantz - Unwanted pull-up packaging

Looking for the packaging for any brand of pull-ups other than Drypantz? Anyone has spare & don't want, can pass me?

Sorry ladies, no universal increase in IFC/CC subsidy unless you are a 'lower-income family' and qualify for the Kindergarten Financial Assistance Scheme (KiFAS) or the Centre-based Financial Assistance Scheme for Childcare (CFAC). Dont ask me about these,I have no idea. Think the threshold is $3500 gross monthly household income.

But govt will credit either 300 or 400 directly into your kid's CDA account (provided kid is below 6 yrs). No need for you to top up first.
One time top up only

Whether 300 or 400 is dependant on the NAV of your home. Up to 13K, $400, more than 13K, $400. Dont ask me how the govt calculates NAV. Think you can find the calculation in IRAS website if you are interested.

In the budget website, there is a note which states that :*As at 31 Dec 2010. HDB flats and some private residences have annual values of less than $13,000. So that's good for all of us HDB dwellers

Suddenly thought of something , if I want to register my child in the primary school I was in when young , do I have to present my report book ? Can I just give them name n info n they track ? Cos I lost my report book !!!

Thanks Jul / gal dolphin
I SMS the pd this morn, she also said the same. No fever, etc, Shld be fine. Xia4 si3 wo3.

Jul
U are so right abt returning to work if not for that monthly $$$$$$. Sigh, I returned to work last the. Wish I am at the start imof my confinement again. So tiring and not to mention my boss who threw me a another portfolio fm a Coll who left with no proper handover, expecting me to just pick it up myself. Btw, my kid at cambridge cdc but u believe they are v full at this point.

So glad am on leave tom to rest. Been dozing off at work everyday.

Surf,
wah.. ur PD very good.. give u her hp number..
dun have to worry.. as long as your bb is fine..nothing to be worried abt unless, he/she starts to show something different.. then u shld pay attention.. dun blame ur hub.. sometimes i guess they are just too tired when they come back from work.. at least he helps.. just have to tell him to be more vigilant the next time..

Jul,
i do agree that $$ is very important these days.. esp when the standard of living is so high..sometimes we just have to ren qi tun sheng when it comes to help from in laws.. =( but do remember the kid is yours.. you do have every right to decide.. but u just have to tell them nicely the decision.. hopefully they are the understanding type..

Dor,
just enjoy your pregnancy first.. not easy when #2 comes along..try to spend time w chloe...

Sunny,
Thanks for the details!

Gal.dolphin,
Thanks for the pointer. When am at home C will try all means to draw my attention such as throwing tantrum...many a time i have to bring out the cane to show her when she refuse to listen after all the talking and warning. Sigh.

Precious

Die flat hahaha ... Report book lost ... I search on kiasu parent and they say can use don't know what statement , get from mom and pay $10 ... Hope that statement can ...

All mummies , Ur primary school report book all still have ?

Report book??! I don't even remember what my report book looks like! Haha! Thank goodness I didn't school in S'pore and don't need to produce a report book to get my child into a primary school.

Hello all. My girl down with viral fever for 4 days and im down with flu cough for the 3rd day liao.

Mm... i also curious why no one ever review the CC for NTUC first skool above the ntuc??

Jul,
i think with the kids in CC, ur in laws has flexibility to bring them home early if they want to? But that will means somewhere accessible for them.

MTDT,
hows ur montessori research ? heheheheh.

Precious,
now ur 2 kiddos in CC, you are working already??

Haha, mine is still well-kept and in good condition. Too bad it's not of much use as my pri school closed down long ago. But there were some good memories to treasure. Pri sch life was so carefree and fun back then.

Ivy,

San Shan.

Regarding my 1st sch abv NTUC, I only heard from one mum who got -ve feedback. Otherwise have not heard of anyone else from there.