TOA PAYOH mummies

Sunny,
Thanks again for the latter info.

Re: PV - Yes, for popular school. Initially I plan to sign up but give up the idea and let fate decide heehee!

Your most welcome. My only claim to fame - Google queen

PV - OMG

Eunice,
Your kid born in 2007 or 08? I read on their website that they are only accepting PVs for 2007 kids. I gatal... but want kid to be in chinese environment cos she's showing signs of becoming banana like me...

Hello everyone!

Oh I see that the gathering was cancelled? Hehe long time no login liao

eunice, sunny

Where do you stay? In Toa Payoh right? Still need to do PV????

Dor, i forgetful. My S$1800 also exclude the levy. 2nd time, I pay 1900 cos i need the cl to take care of the older one and do some minimal hsework since no maid.

yes, i stay in toa payoh. Still need if not have to leave to fate in terms of balloting. Furthermore, it doesn't mean that you are within 1km if you stay in TP.

Jul
I am clueless, just listening to a lot of "suggestions" and "advice". I guess I should google and do some firm research on the topic but hey! now can postpone for one more year hahahaa

Anyway, think I shall first find out whether number 2 is a boy or girl before doing anything more. Lazy person that I am, may just go for co-ed school to avoid same hassle for number 2 :D

eunice, sunny

Wah stressful leh! Must be 1km? How many blocks can be within 1 km? *shudder*

So 1km is Phase what? Not 1 right? Phase 1 is for siblings hor? Is 1km Phase 2A? *confused*

Jul

You can see the link below for the different phases.

http://www.moe.edu.sg/education/primary/files/primary-one-registration-info-sheet.pdf

As for the 1km thingy, you need to call the school admin to find out whether your unit is within or not. The measurement is from the front school gate. For some blocks like 79, it's a long block and only parts of it are within 1km. This I found out when I was house hunting. Anyway the distance matters only if the applcations exceed vacancies.

Drypers have good promo now at Guardian. Bring one non-drypers diaper pantz wrapper (at least 24 pcs), you can buy 1 pack dryers drypantz and get one pack free. Previously the promo was for open diapers. The promo was so good that Guardian ran out of the diapers. I manage to lock in the offer. Waiting for them to call me when the open diapers stock arrives.

ivy

Haha no prob. Good things must share

eunice

Wah! There's parts of the block within & others out of the 1km radious? And even PV is only in Phase 2B? Faint!

Jul

You can say that again. Bobian, since my primary school already shut down long time ago and if wan to get kid into the sch, PV is the only way. From past history seems that those who PV and stay within 1km, and between 1 and 2km all manage to get into the sch, ie no need balloting. Duno whether that still applies in future.

Hey mummies~!Happy Belated CNY~!
Vy long time nvr come this thread le...how are u all?
Btw,just back from the Chingay at TPY,any one of u went?
Oh,nd u gals adv abt KiddyABC at blk99c is it good?is a playgroup mon-fri, 9-11am. Thk is $170 per mth.Any mummies send ur kids there?is there good?If compare with Ykidz le?
Thx in advance for the adv and opinion...:p

Hi all ... Did u all bring kids to see the chingay just now ? Is nice

Seeing that mummies talking about pv , my son is born in 06 and I want to place him in pei chun when he is p1 , when do I have to register ? I m from pei chun too ... So I need to call n check ?

ooh last nite has chingay!!! aiya.. miss it!

went to sengkang for the uncle ringo funfair instead...

whitelady - u r old student then dun need to worry. 2012 july just register ur son under the alumi phase will do.

Hihi, I remember there is a mummy here who teaches rollerblade. Think the hubby also. Are you still around? Thinking of getting my boy to learn roller blade during March hols. Need to start thinking how to occupy him meaningfully. If you come to this thread let me know.

So far, from past records, all PVs get in. Anyway, they will only take in a certain number of PVs to ensure that all will get a place. Those who are thinking about balloting, if you're not within 1km, they'll ask you not to try your luck, priority goes to those within 1km. Only if the number falls below what is available, then they will open to those outside 1km.

Eunice, look for orangeymum. She's been MIA lately. You can search under archive and PM her.

hey... you can chk if the sch is within 1km from this website. http://www.elite.com.sg/

i was at chingay floats! was watching it along lor 4, where i met the pretty preggy mama dor, and cute C, then i followed the floats to tpy central. glad i went there cos i wasnt expecting them to park the floats there and my ger had a gd time watching the lights and people. nvr see so many ppl at tpy central b4! hahaha... but i muz be the oni one in the thousands of ppl that doens't hv a cam or a gd cam phone to take pics!

Dor
Just emailed u contact.

My blur Hubby mistook gal's powder for bb's and made milk for him last night
. Bb cried mord than usual during day yest and poo twice. Poo got some white patches. Shld h bring him see pd? Or just keep feeding milk to 'flush' out? Prob indigestion.

Sigh, how to leave Hubby to manage? Supposed to go for coy trip in apr.

surf

Oops. The white patches are the undigested milk.

In the mentime, just let the body flush out the system. Watch for allergic reactions like rashes, swollen eyes, difficulty in breathing etc, but since your boy can take FM, I THINK shd be ok. Haha better tell your hubs to be more careful in future.

Hiaz, I'm very gek sim. I need to send my maid back. She is impossible lately. Now I have to wait for ILs' cue on whether they can manage half a day with my boy, or they need another maid (then I'll put my boy with them the whole day as per now).

Now I gotta source for half-day CC or some playgroup to stash my boy if they don't want a new maid. *stressed* So far I know there's the Little Campus CC above the old NTUC right? Isn't there a Sparkletots somewhere? Near the Geylang Methodist Church?

Hi J foo, i'm outside 1km. I am thinking of going to do PV. since normally they have balloting for 1 to 2Km in phase 2B. does that mean they will not take me in as PV since they try to make sure all PV got in from history which means those that get selected are within 1km. sigh.

Are,
Nice to see u too. We saw the float fm my mum's block when they drove pass the flyover din noe they gonna make a turn back to central until we drove pass Lor. 4 on our way home and saw crowd still lingering around. We are glad we parked our car and waited like the others. Glad and excited to see the floats passing by at such close distance.

If not for my gal that needs to wake up early nxt day for school, we would have gone to central.

Surf,
Thanks for the recommendation.

Jul,
My gal is in Jessin Childcare so far she's adapting well and enjoying herself. Tr. Mei Fen is very paitient to kids as well. There are other Trs at Blk 122, Lor. 2 (childcare/playgroup) plus 2 aunties. Perhpas if this area is convenient for u may consider.

Dor

Thanks. I'll keep jessin in mind once ILs make up their mind what they want. Sigh so stressed & irritated

RLCL, the balloting is for those who are not PVs. My suggestion would be to register as PV first. They will go through the list, taking into account distance and also what you do - basically those whose "strengths" or interests fall into what PC is looking for will get priority. IF you can't get into PV then you'll have to decide whether to take the chance or opt for another school.

hi j foo,

thanks. but PC even in 2B also ballot so i though PV also join ballot depending on distance. good to hear PV don't need to ballot in 2B. if cannot get PV then i think see the response how, maybe that time toa payoh not so many kids
else will be CHIJ for her.

jul,
what happened to your maid?u wanna try cherie hearts at kallang?my boy is there.. transport is available too.. personally i find it very good with transport.. just go downstairs can fetch and send... n the teachers are all very nice.. so far my son is coping well.. he only been there for 2months.. =)

sorry havent been coming in for awhile.only few more days n my confinement is over.. hehe..finally..
and now i am thinking of catering lunch.. any recommendations?other than jessie?
thanks..

Surf,
is ur boy ok?any signs of fever?vomiting?if he is ok like normal,then no need to see doc but if there is anything out of the norm.. u better seek doctor's advise.. =) this is my opinion.. =) hope it helps..

dolphin

Hiaz.. long story. Suffice it to say I cannot accept insuboradination & attitude problem

I think precious sends her 2 to Cherie Hearts as well. How long does it take for school bus from Toa Payoh to Kallang? I think my MIL would prefer those near walking distance from her place, coz she frowns upon sch bus. She frowns upon CC too. I dunno how lah
Feel so depressed

jul,
ya.. cg and mine son all in cherie hearts.. well.. if direct from toa ppayoh to kallang then only 10mins..but bus driver needs to fetch other kids as well..
oh how long has ur maid with u?i can understand.. maids are sometimes nothing but headache at times.. but without them also headache.. then u gg to get replacement or?

dun get so depress.. can always talk to any of us here to relieve.. coz many of us face similiar problems too.. =) can TALK to me if u need help.. or sms.. =) pmed u my contact.. =)

Galdophin
Sorry, being a busybody. HOpe you dont mind. I'm looking for maid and hoping she will/can cook cos I'm still planning to send my kid to childcare. Doesn't your maid cook? Simple dishes like soup, everything throw in kind... Why looking for catering?

sunny,
my maid is new.. i only ask her to cook for dinner and she is quite slow..so m thinking of getting catering for lunch for myself to save the hassle of teaching her to cook..n save time so that i can rest.. it takes time for her to learn esp she cant speak english.
not easy to get good maid who can cook and loook after children.. oh another thing is she is slow..

galdolphin

Replied to your PM wuth my name & contact. Btw I only have 1 kid & I already CMI. Can't imagine if I have 2!

My maid is also slooow.

Hey is there a cooked food stall or hawker centre near your place? Maybe can arrange with the stall to 'supply' you with cooked food for lunch? After all, those tingkat food is also cooked many hrs ago & sent to you early in the am. I've nvr tried this before, it just occurred to me

Rlcl,

Regarding PCPS, there was balloting for the PArent volunteers for the last yr batch. 7 or 8 of them didn't get in .

Er.. how come I don't see any Kallang branch of Cherie Hearts on the website? I only see Balestier, AMK, Thomson etc...