TOA PAYOH mummies

i've just delivered... so tired.. no CL.. just maid and hub helping out this time..
havent really been able to rest.. breastmilk just started to come and i'm hard like a stone.. =(
not easy to handle #1 and #2 at the same time.. not sure if i can cope when hub goes back to work.. sigh..
maid still require lots of supervision.. been supervising her ever since i back from hospital.. feel so bad that i din spend much time w my #1 esp this weekend and yet i look forward to sending him back to sch tomolo.. =( haiz.. what's wrong w me?
#2 been zzing alot in the day n i spent this time supervising n telling my maid what to do..=( she is soooo blur..n confused.. every single thing also have to tell her how to do it.. etc.. sigh..
coz she is barely 2weeks old.. and still unsure of the routine.=(
i do hope she can catch up.. and i really dunno how i will cope when hub has to go back to work after CNY... coz maid still dunno how to take care of #1, she has to be constantly reminded to feed, cook for #1... feels so naggy this confinement.

btw, happy CNY to all mummies, hope all of u enjoy the festive.. and the gathering.. =)
take care and have fun!

Gal.dolphin
At least #1 goes to full day program, that is a good arrangement. Mine during that time, only attended 2hrs daily, and I had to send and fetch her to and from school since the 1st day I was back from hospital after delivering #2.

Give yourself some time. 1-2 weeks later, you will feel much easier. Give the helper some time too, since she is still new to your family, not easy to multi-task too. Prepare simple dishes to start with. As long as she enjoys cooking, she would pick up fast

Gal.dolphin
Can understand your frustration. When my previous helper had to cook, wash and clean then I had to look after the two children myself. Hence I slept for 10-15mins each time I breastfed #2 using lying side to side position. And when #2 was asleep, I tried to spend at least 30mins with my #1. Even until now, she does gets jealous, and I have to manage my time and focus well. But if course #1 is always not easy as she has been a challenging child

When #1 is in school, you try to rest as much as possible. So when #1 is back in the evening, you can spend quality time w him. Good to have a helper at this stage too, when you need to attend to #1, at least she can help to carry #2. Especially when outside, one of you will have to look after one child

eunice

Thanks, I got it

galdophin

Jiayou ok? it's not easy to handle TWO. Whatever you can let go, just close one eye liao. Do only the necessary for this period & after you get back on your feet again, you can raise the standard. Jiayou!

Galdolphin,
Congrats! Try to take things easy. If possible provide a time table for her daily Chores in Burmese or simple English if she unstds. She's fresh hence give one another sometime.
You can try using free online english burmese translation service for help.

妈妈们,祝你们在新的一年里,万事如意,心想事成,身体健康,兔年行大运!

By the way, anybody want to get Birkenstocks from Footshopping? I want to get a couple so if can pool together for free shipping, that would work out great.

congrats dolphin!! rest well... erm... whenever u can!

babe... me hv the list. pm me i will email to you. but some place may not be open anymore? i will update before email to you.

erm... as for gathering, can we stay in tpy? at least easier to move around. my vote is for blk 98, cos its near my place! hahaha... also cos its walking distance from braddell mrt, and a bus stop with buses 232, 231, 235 and 59. like wat dor said, there are two playgrounds here, and nearby is sheltered seats where we can hang out, and plenty of food nearby!

but hor... can we ever nail down a date??

think AM around 10am is good? pls indicate your pref :
- 12 feb
1. ARE

- 19 feb
1. ARE

- 26 feb

Re: CNY Gathering
1) Blk 98 playground (near Braddell Mrt, bus no. 231, 232, 235 & 59)

Dates:
12 Feb
1) Are + 1 kid
2) Dor + 1 kid (2007)

19 Feb
1) Are + 1 kid

26 Feb
1)

Dates:
12 Feb
1) Are + 1 kid
2) Dor + 1 kid (2007)
3) Sunny +1 (2008)

19 Feb
1) Are + 1 kid

26 Feb (is this still CNY?
1)

Happy CNY everyone!

here's mine:

Dates:
12 Feb
1) Are + 1 kid
2) Dor + 1 kid (2007)
3) Sunny +1 (2008)
4) Tbmummy + 1 (2008)

19 Feb
1) Are + 1 kid

26 Feb (is this still CNY? - Nope it's not. Neither is 19th Feb. 17th Feb is already the last day of CNY.)
1)

Have a good reunion dinner tomorrow!

Gal.doplhin, congrats! Try to rest more. Give yourself some time for the maid. Burmese maids so far the ones I encountered are quite good. They are pretty hardworking, just need to give some time to adjust. Draw if necessary or go internet and show pictures. That's what I did. A picture paints a thousand words.

Babe, congrats to you too! Won't be seeing you on 17 Mar for the Gingerbread man show though. By the time I dily daly to get the tix, the seats are right at the end. But lucky me, they added a new show on 18 Mar and I got the seats right in front. I am sure my boy will enjoy it.

All mummies, happy CNY. Wish all a year of abundance and good health!

Hey gals love to join u for gathering but sat morning my gal has piano.

Dor, when is ur no. 2 due?

Eunice, u going for ugly duckling too? I'm sure the kids will love it. How's ur boy settling in at ak? Which class?

Jfoo when r u ordering birkis? Am keen

Mummies who want to get Birks let me know. Once I have the min amount required for free shipping (S$325) I will order. Please give me the article no and size.

Babe, no, not going for ugly duckly. cos the seats are at the back too. Are you going? He is settlin in fine at AK, enjoying himself telling me what he does everyday, like play cars, playground, gardening, what his classmates did in class, but I never hear him tell me what he learned in class. Seems like more fun. Hope he is learning cos at the previous school, he is learning a lot and he already knows all the phonics sounds for all the letters. He is in Orchid class.

hey all...

happy "兔" year "兔" you!!

how about changing the gathering to 13 or 20 feb, 10 am?

Dates:
13 feb
1) ARE + 1 kid

20 feb
1) ARE + 1 kid

Hi hi

Dates:
13 feb
1) ARE + 1 kid
2) Tbmummy + 1 kid

20 feb
1) ARE + 1 kid
2) Tbmummy + 1 kid

Hope everyone had a gd long weekend?

Gathering

Can't make it for Sun am. My boy has Kindermusik class. You gals go ahead & fix the most convenient time & I'll try to make it if I can

Shorts Under Short Skirts/Dresses

Anyone knows where I can get these? I want shorts to wear under those dresses or skirt which are a bit short & will 'zao geng'. But cannot be too bulky or frilly else I'll look like a marshmallow!

And I can't wear leggings coz most of the time, they're free size & are too small & tight on me. I need size L lor

Jul,
Try Ocean Pacific (OP) stalls. They have stalls at Bishan J8, United Sq etc. quite easy to locate. I wish they open a branch at tpy central.

Jul,
Yeap, they have both with and without prints. I bout a few pcs fm there it is really convenient not afraid one might '走光'

Mummies, have a read, have a laugh

Students in an advanced Biology class were taking their mid-term exam. The last question was, 'Name seven advantages of Mother's Milk,' worth 70 points or none at all. One student in particular was hard put to think of seven advantages. He wrote:

1.) It is perfect formula for the child.

2.) It provides immunity against several diseases.

3.) It is always the right temperature.

4.) It is inexpensive.

5.) It bonds the child to mother, and vice versa.

6.) It is always available as needed.

And then, the student was stuck. Finally, in desperation, just before the bell indicating the end of the test rang, he wrote...

7.) It comes in 2 attractive containers.

He got an A.

Hi j_foo

That was a nice one.. LOL.
Really cracked me up.

So are we meeting this Sat at Blk 98 Playground?
I will be late though, probably reached around 1030 to 1045am.

tbmummy...

i think tis sat is off. there seem to be 2 groups who can either meet sat or sun... so lets try this again. hehe... now everyone knows why we haven't been able to meet up. : )

Been not following the thread but I remember our gathering Tom! Oh so it has changed to Sunday, which I cant make it too. So we trying for next weekend again?

jfoo

that was a really good one. made me laugh despite my moody outlook today!

hahha
am on leave today and this is where you will find me!!! =)

Has anyone come across applying temp work permit for CL?

Understand employer need to pay $6/day for the work permit and as long as she already has the working pass no. it is very easy for employer to re apply.

Found this under their FAQ setion:
Q: What is the levy payable for a Confinement Nanny?

A: The Confinement Nanny levy rate is $265. Employers who are eligible for levy concession will pay $170.

Think is monthly levy right? I never had maid before so am clueless. Also the main website says that you can apply TWP for up to 16 weeks whereas FAQ says 12 weeks. Best to call MOM/ICA up to clarify.

Sunny,
Wow thanks! In the back of my mind I was thinking after posting this, maybe Sunny will be able to give me some input and 'tada' here you are!

In fact I went to MOM website but din manage to find a link specifically for CL. Thanks so much again.

Eunice,
Thanks to you too! Your recommendation is very useful. I'll check it out.

Any 2008/early 2009 mum signed up for parent volunteering already??

Colleagues advising me to sign up 2 years before P1 registration! True??