TOA PAYOH mummies

congrats sunny!

How about organsing CNY gathering? Any mummies interested? Then we shall decide on venue, date n time.
1) Precious + two kids (year 2006 and 2009)
2) Dor + 1 kid (year 2007)
3) Joyce (jcefoo) + 2 kids (2003 and 2007)
4) Surf + 2 kids
5) Are + 1 kid

would love to join the gathering if i can make it!

i am interested to join in too ....

4) Surf + 2 kids
5) Are + 1 kid
6) Tbmummy + 1 kid (2008)

MTDT, jcefoo

Thanks for the feedback on Montessori. It's so confusing

jcefoo

Oh how do you find YKidz? Your son's attending the daily 2h playgroup?

galdolphin

I have no choice but to tahan the maid. As long as MIL doesn't wanna 'kick her', I just close one eye lor. After all, she has to work with her on weekdays.

Have you deliveerd???

sunny

Belated congrats!

newmummy

U're welcome

Gathering

Just let me know when's the date & I'll try to make it. Coz I dun really live in Toa Payoh so it'll depend on the day & time & whether I'm working. I'll try my best to join tho

Ahhh!! Can't make it on 12th Feb, teaching.

Jul, my son's is in the 4 hour programme. Ykids is ok, teachers are alot more stable now as compared to when it first started. I'm happy with them and it's really convenient since I can walk there in 5 mins. Timing suits too as my daughter is in Pei Chun, drop one pick one. I will send him to Singapore Montessori Kindergarten next year. I'm not sure how YKids prepare for primary school curriculum so I'd rather play safe. SMK prepared my daughter very well.

hello im back.

dor sunny congrats.

Sunny,
u can try to make wolfberries, its quite mild and suppose to be good for blood circulation, increase blood. Think you are bit "Xu" now. Just take 1 tbsp wolfberries, 1 chinese bowl of water, 1 drumstick if u wan some savory taste. use slow cooker, i cant remember is it about 2 hrs. Better to see TCM sensei, they may prescribe u some mild tonic.

Gather at where ar? I very shy one leh haha, then talk very wu li tou. Later u all qi si.

Jfoo
Which Sat is ok for you? Many FTWMs in this thread. Perhaps Saturday morning would be better :)
Just realise your block is a good place, as it is sheltered and we can also buy food from opposite market. And also there is a bus stop just in front

Ivy
A good chance to have playdate for our little ones too!

Sunny
3 2011 bb liao, gal dolphin, sunny and Dor. Keep it going!
dong cong cao best I think, it is wen he, so no need worry too strong for preggies.

Precious
Forgot to say u v hardworking mum, still bf ur kid who has turned 1.

I m ok w sat. 10-12 sounds good.

Dor
Thanks for adding in my name

congrats Sunny and Dor!

jul,
still ard..checking in tomolo.. =(
i do agree, have to close eyes when it comes to maid.. these few days my maid daydream alot alot.. esp when i am not ard.. can take hours just to iron or mop floor.. haiz. jus close eyes.. now critical period.. must close eyes..

cant join u all mummies for the gathering.. will be confine at hm during CNY.. do enjoy urselves!! =)

ivy,
how was the trip?hope everyting is all right.. and everyone enjoy the trip!

Hi Mummies, thank you for all the well wishes and the tonic suggestions. I'm already taking dong cong cao from E-xcel products. Will ask my MIL about the gao li shen. Think I took before the last time round. And the wolfberries sound like a good simple to make tonic too. Thank you!

Count me in for the get together. (Will be back in Sg by the 7th I think)

4) Surf + 2 kids
5) Are + 1 kid
7) Sunny + 1 kid (2008)

jcfeoo

Thanks for the feedback on YKidz.

Wah your daughter's in Pei Chun ah? Did you have to do the what volunteer thing to get her in?

ivy

Welcome back. So how was Bangkok?

galdolphin

Yeah keep cool & clam. Don't get yourself agitated. If really CMI, just change. My fren told me before that "any problem which can be solved by money is not a problem". Makes sense hor?

Newmummy08, Gaint squid & Gal dolphin,
Thanks for the well wishes.

Surf,
u r welcome. din incld the year of your kids thou coz not so sure.

Ivy,
welcome back!! how's bkk? anything interesting or exciting to share with us?

RE: Gathering,
J_foo, where r u putting up?

Precious,
actually your place also qutie convenient, very near the hawker ctr and has a playground plus censory park. however its not sheltered.

12 Feb 10am, ok for me. but not 13 feb coz gotta bring C for ballet class. Should gathering falls on a week day, i'll see if i cld try to take leave.

Jul, I am one of the very blessed ones who got in without volunteering.

Dor, I am at blk 50

Precious, the only Sat I have free is "chu san" (5th Feb) as the music school is taking the CNY break.

The playground at my place is sheltered but very small... the one near your place is bigger. Or alternatively, the one next to Pei Chun school? There's a badminton court there too. However, not sheltered.

jcefoo

Really??? Very blessed indeed! You just went in under the Phase dunno what B & prayed for the best huh?

Btw my PILs are at Blk 45

The playground next to blk 98 has just been refurbished. quite nice. Next to basketball court on one side and covered community hall on the other. Behind Are's block. That's another possibility for the gathering. There's food nearby at blk 95

Blk 98 在哪里?

jcefoo

I wonder if MIL will be helping out if I have No 2. If so, maybe I can use her address for Pei Chun? hahaha ... think so far. I haven't even decided abt pre-nursery!

Dor

I also love swings! I used to swing myself as high as the swing could go. But.. ahem, old liao, a bit scaredy cat now. besides, like you say, there's no swings to be found anymore

Dor
there's a nice playground with swings near block 232 at Lorong 8.
(At least I think it's 232. Somewhere around there la) Kinda hard to find. There's PCF or somekind of childcare in the nearby block (blue uniforms).
I used to walk there with my girl on weekends mornings cos it's the only playground which is half shaded by the surrounding trees in the morning.

jul,
yea me too love to swing as high as possible. but at times feel paiseh to sit on the swing leh so old oredi. i came across 2 plcs with swings; macritchie reservoir playground nxt to the carpark and the other one at pasir ris play ground.
actualy lor. 8 infront of blk 217 they used to have but after playground reno no more quite disappointed.

Ahem.. I can't do swings anymore lah. Too old & heavy - quite afraid the swing will break & dump me on the ground. Or worse, the chains break when the next unlucky child gets onto it! *embarrassed*

Dor, not Braddell Road, at least not the one i'm referring to.

From 215, you walk out, then cross the road in front of First TP Primary, turn left, walk to the end of the NKF block and then turn right. There's a playground also near Blk 228 but the one I'm talking about it slightly further in that group of flat. There's also a basket ball court next to the playground.

Dor and Sunny congrats!

Playground with swings. There are two i know in Toa Payoh, one at around blk 144 it's behind the new Build and Design development. The other one is somewhere around blk 85, 86 (not too sure the block numbers there) This one my son likes and he always goes there after his class ended at Liz Montessorri. Someone asks about Montessori school? This is the other one at blk 85 besides the coffee shop. The teacher is pretty good, very responsible and the children learn a lot too.

Will join in the gathering if I can make it. Unlikely though if it's a sat

changi beach park also has swings. They have both the adult as well as the baby chair swings. just a whole lot of pp queuing in the evenings.

Jul, I know whatyou mean.. I remember standing up on swings and swinging until nearly horizontal with the ground when I was young. Nowadays, swing a bit and go dizzy already
My girl loves the swing too. Everytime go the playgound with swings must remember to catch her otherwise she'll run straight in front of whoever is swinging and try and catch the swing for "her turn".

Dor, think the playground that Precious mentioned and the one I'm referring to are the same. it's the block of flats between lrg 8 and 7 and blk 232 and 10B are next to one another.

eunice

me me! I asked abt Montessori.

sunny

Actually I dunno why they removed all the swings. Is it bcoz they don't upkeep so it becomes dangerous when the chains start weakening?

i guess from town councils point of view, swings are dangerous even if they do regular upkeep. Cos the kids will do things like dare one another to "let go" or swing very high, so there's a high risk of slipping and falling... Its so sad but nowdays parents are quick to blame and sue..they dont scold the child or his/her friends like our parents did. Or maybe they do, but a lot of parents will also take the chance to see if they can get 'profit' or compensation from gahmen...

Think town councils also have to take out insurance policies... prob their premium is higher if they have swings or even seesaws in their area (also very rare to see seesaws nowadays - probably scared one kid gets off without warning and the other hits the ground and bounces off) . sad lor .... I remember my "gang" of friend were v daring. We would seesaw standing up and jumping
if fall down, will howl and laugh at the same time..

Re: CNY Gathering
Shall we meet at
1) SOL Restaurant, 12 Feb 2011 (Sat 10am)?
2) AMK Sand Playground at Ave 6, opposite library?
3) TPY Swing Playground Near to Blk 10B?
4) Any suggestions are welcome too

Jul

Me dunnomuch abt Montessori. think Jfoo gave some explanation on it. For me most importantly. my kid loves the teacher, enjoy learning and learned a lot from the teacher.

Shall we meet at
4) Blk 98 refurbished playground?

Talking abt b144 playground w swing, we usually bring our gal there but coZ of the construction for the peak, my mum always complained scared the crAne will drop something down! Not to mention the dust.

Pai sey, can someone add in the year (2008 n 2010) for me in the list coZ I dunno how to copy paste using I phone. Anyone know pls teach me ok?

M I the only newbie in this thread who has not met any mummy here before?

me also not meet any one of mummies here...
oh, got, i nmet Precious once...thx for the free huggies pants,Precious~!:p

Too bad i cant meet u all during cny period...

hehehe, my sis is bangkok guru so i leave all the itinerary to her.

I think my girl enjoyed the most, making frens with steward, stewardess, bra promoter, restaurant waitress, hotel recept. She walk so much at bangkok too, like freedom granted. Cos the shopping centre quite quiet and big space, unlike singapore, very cramp and crowded.

My sis very sian, cos she is the chiong here chiong there type. Becos of my girl, she restricted, cannot go those ulu and cheap places, which i dun like too, the quality of clothes not good leh. $2 come back wear a while tore liao.

Im very happy cos i see my girl so happy in bangkok haha.

Precious count me in 1st. Thanks.

surf

I help..

U touch the screen on iPhone & hold on to it for a few seconds, then u see options to "select", "select all".. tap on "Select All". Then the options for "Cut", "copy" etc will come out. U copyl liao, then go to the place where u wanna paste, hold on to the screen for a few seconds, then the option for "Paste" will come out. Can?

Shall we meet at
4) Blk 98 refurbished playground?

Mummies Attending
4) Surf + 2 kids
5) Are + 1 kid
7) Sunny + 1 kid (2008)

sunny

Yeah unfortunately we seem to be moving into the American way of life - sue at the drop of a hat!

eunice

it's ok. MTDT & jcefoo gave me some info liao. Just that Miz Montessori doesn't have a website.

How much are u paying per mth for how many hrs daily?

surf

I've never met anyone either. In fact, I only joined the thread like this yr???

hi jul & surf,

same here! i have not met anyone from the thread!

is SOL restaurant = SOL Playground cafe at Turf club?

Tbmummy
Yes, SOL Cafe at Turf City. They do have sheltered playground. They built a tent. If the children are bored, we can also change venue to Fidgets once we are done w breakfast.

Hi j foo,

U hv sent yr girl to SMK before? Do u hv any idea wat r the charges like nw & do they provide enrichment courses?

Hi jul, surf & tbmummy,

Me too! I hv nt met any of the mummies here before as I hv juz joined tis thread recently. 12 feb most prob I can't make it as I hv sm other appointments already. I will c how. If I can make it, I will infm u guys again. Thks!

Winnie, when my daughter was there some two years ago, fees were a bit less than $400 a month. Fees were charged per term, $11xx, can't remember exact figure. As for enrichment classes, no, nothing except during the June and year end hol, because no daily classes (they follow local school term), they outsource and run a holiday camp.

J foo how old is ur son?

Mia for so long. Hardly time to follow thread. Dunno if u guys rem me. I'm joining the 2011 bb n most prob will b stay home then.

Rem 2 hrs back someone posted good food at tpy. Anyone still has that list?

I can't attend TPY CNY Gathering on 12 Feb Sat 10am.
Received a note from the school that there is Curriculum Talk on that morning, and I will be attending till 12pm.