TOA PAYOH mummies

sunny,
am doing it in the doc's clinic and thereafter the courier svc will send for lab test. i guess he shld be very experience. according to him, he did for many preg women liao. plus i trust him too coz he's recommended by my GP, he's quite popular and old liao hence shld have done these quite often.

Hi precious & sunny,

Thanks for the advises!

Hi jul,

U have checked out Star Tots & Appletree already? Did u pop by to have a look? How's the environment?

Dor
Remember Kim Teng - I was initially hoping to find an arrangement like she had with her angmo employees (she looked after the children in the afternoons and also did some light cleaning for them, and was on call on request at nights or weekend). But I think that kind of freelancer arrangement is quite difficult to find, esp for work mainly in the evenings and weekends only. Most agencies will only deal with full time 'normal' maids. So think no choice, will get a normal full timer, who I guess may be quite free during the day. That's why I'm hoping to find someone who can hopefully cook simple dishes or can follow simple hotpot/slow cooker recipes or instructions from me. At least keep her a bit occupied. Going to start the search early and hopefully will get someone by June or early July. Looking more at transfer maids now. For the part timer/freelancer, dont think you get any tax relief.

But next year, got 35% tax relief

Dor

Oh I didn't read carefully. Congratulations!

winnie

Star Tots & Apple Tree are both full. And both do not allow us to go in & observe the class. I've just put myself on the waiting list for Star Tots playgroup. As for Apple Tree, they only take in (I forgot) 20/24 mths, which will be next yr's intake. Registration will be in Jun 2011.

Now I'm leaning more towards Montessori, but no one here seems to have sent their older child for Montessori leh

You must be a working mother with a Singaporean child. It's WMCR (working mother child relief). First child you get 15% relief off your earned income. 2nd child you get an additional 20% so e.g. for Dor, she will only be taxed on 65% of her income in 2012 ( minus the 35% tax relief).

You can check out IRAS's site for more info. http://www.iras.gov.sg/irasHome/page04.aspx?id=220

Dor - congrats!

Jul - my no1 was in montessori for 2yrs. but his sch was in sengkang before we moved. now he is in PATS.

for no2 - I am thinking of going for montessori again. but i am looking for a CC environment thus have no knowledge of kindy (which i understand u are more towards that right?)

what info you want to know? :p

Dor, for maid levy relief. Do note that it's not automatic but subject to approval by MOM. Check with the agent. Also, it's only claimable by you (i.e. against only the mother's earned income) so your hubby can't claim even if he paid the levy. But you can even if he paid the levy provided that you fulfil the other criterias.

Hi Dor, our messages crossed. No, the 35% is deducted from your total final chargeable income to determine your total chargeable income (and the tax bracket you fall under). The maid levy relief is another (additional) relief that you can claim if you have a foreign maid (not sure that it applies if you happen to hire a singaporean).

All the different types of reliefs are set out here.
http://www.iras.gov.sg/irasHome/page.aspx?id=110

sunny

Thanks! No wonder it's 35%. I only have 15% coz I only have 1

MTDT

Umm.. I dun need to have kindy info per se. I'm more of looking at mummies with experience with Montessori? Coz I've never thought abt sending my boy to Montessori at all. I aws thought it was some hi-brow arty type of thing. Then after the search for playgroup/kindy started, I chanced upon more info & started to think abt it.

So anything you can share on the methodology of teaching.. whether the child is adequately prepared for Primary 1.. how's the Chinese standard? What're the pros & cons of a Montessori education?

And also, why you switched your No1 from Montessori to Pat Schoolhse? Your No1 went to MMI?

Dor

Nope. I've been looking at Montessori instead. No time to do all the research I need to do. I feel so ignorant

Hi jul,

Oh, Star Tots & Appletree don't allow for viewing? Then quite difficult to judge leh. Anyone has tried these 2 playgroups before?

Hi Dor,

Jessin Playgroup practices montessori teachings? Any idea whether they allow for viewing?

winnie

Yeah lor. They close the door & windows also - according to the person on the phone. I'm thinking of YKidz now, coz Montessori mah

Dor, do remember that in addition to all the relief(s), there's also the straightforward $10,000 parenthood tax rebate for the 2nd child.

So e.g. if your tax (after applying all the reliefs is e.g. 5000) then you can apply the PTR to zero-ise all tax (for 2012) and carry forward the balance $5000 for year 2013. All nice things to look forward too in 2012.

For 2011, just the 15% tax relief and 4000 QCR for Chloe

sunny,
wow thanks for the details i believe other mummies will benefit fm this info.

jul,
am like u initially ignorant and confused with all the diff types of teaching methods and terms for Nursery/Playgroup etc.
however, apart from my colleagues/frenz, i learn alot and get a lot of advices and info fm the mummies in this thread. really appreciate them for sharing their experiences.

Winnie,
Jessin practices a bit of montessori style however, i feel they are more focus on academic which some parents may like.
i havent tried viewing the class but good to call and ask, look for Tr. Mei Fen at 97571090 she's incharge of playgroup nice lady.

Dor

Yeah I learned a lot from the experienced mummies too. I'm really grateful and am trying to contribute what little I know in my own way

I changed CC for no1 becos we moved house. Cant be going back to sengkang now tat we are staying in balestier mah :p

For Montessori teaching: actually depends on are u looking at pure monte or partial monte schs.
Most schs in sin I would say shd be Partial…

Pure Monte – group mix age kids together. ALL the kids are learning diff things, at their own pace, at their own interest.

Most sch in Singapore are partial… gd in a way as incorporates the goodness of Montessori and still prep kid in pri sch environment. :p
But some partial schs might not be adequately trained to really uses Montessori way. So it’s like “half bucket” thingy. So for Montessori still gd to ask who are the well trained trs in Montessori vs who is not etc.

Partial monte – still group kids according to age. Thus they still hv core subjects according to theme like all learn maths now and during maths all learn addition etc. The only diff is they uses monte materials/methods to teach the subjects (the methods are kinda of well know and proven esp for eng/maths…) . And usually there would be a 1hr/day Montessori time. During this time, kids are free to take any Montessori materials and learn independently.

Montessori teaching advocates a lot on own pace/own interest. Usually Montessori environment wld advocates independent/ take charge of ur own learning etc. I guess this wld be used esp during the Montessori time. Normal sch hrs – hv to follow the general curriculum… then during the 1hr, kids are free to choose things tat interest them. If the kids choose maths related materials… usual class time maybe only learn 1,2,3… but the tr can further intro 1+1=2, 1+2+3 etc. so the kid wld learn faster in the subject tat he likes etc.

Kids also wld take sometime to really learn to learn independently! For a start – kid sure “kpo” other kids… or wants to play wat other kids are playing (same as toys right.. grass greener on the other side! :p) my kid took few months to really settle down during the montessori time :p

Other parts of montessori like life skills/gross&Fine motor skills training – actually I find most schs are already incorporating into their day to day teaching too.

Ur other qns on how adequate does it prep the kid for p1 and chinese standard – I feel this really depends on the centre/tr/kid. I cant say on a overall.

Cons –
1) like I say, really need to check on the trs quality. Having said that the 1hr montessori time is independently learning, the tr shd be ard and noticing how each kid fares on his own learning. Goes to offer help if the kid is facing difficult, goes to offer more challenge to more advanced kids. I heard of stories where the kids end up playing ard during tat 1hr and the tr just use this 1hr as admin purpose!

2) I also heard of stories of kids not adapting well in pri sch. Mainly they are sooooo independent and so used to “take charge”. Can't sit down n follow the timetable. Then tis maybe not so much a worry esp if u r going to a partial one. :p

Dor
my pleasure. Before Kim, i had no reliefs to claim at all since my folks/dependants are all in Malaysia, no house, no maid. Always had to pay 100% tax. With the reliefs and PTR for Kim, it halved my tax in 2009! 2010 and 2011 will not be so nice cos no PTR but there's always 2012 to look forward too
must appreciate all the little blessings and little silver linings that we get.

My daughter, who is now in P2, went to a montessori, though not a pure montessori (as far as I know, there's only one pure montessori in S'pore and that's Montessori for Children along Newton Rd). As MTDT mentioned, they have classes for mix age, so the older kids are placed with the younger ones. In K2, the kids will have a taste of primary school life for a term as they will have big classes (30 in a class) with just one teacher and a proper timetable.

Other schools which use montessori materials, I think, most kids won't have a problem adapting.

As for how prepared the kid is for primary school, well, that boils down to how well the teacher prepares them and how well parents prepare them. Chinese standard - again that boils down to the teacher.

My daughter went to Singapore Montessori Kindergarten. I find that they prepare the kids well. Will be sending my son there in the new year. Currently he is with YKids

Anyone know of any good promo for Abalone gift set. I miss the one @ guardian for SKY brand quite a good buy for ocbc card holder.

dor,
congratulations to you. i'm sure everything will be fine.
my gal attends PCF since last year n she enjoys going to sch. however she's been missing sch since last week as she has HFMD. she's still not clear after 1 week as new spots appear on her hands n near her nose.

Congrats Dor!!!! dun worry abt the procedure.. i did that when i was ard 16weeks also.. and everything was all right.. it took ard 10-15min for my gynae to do..
oh if u wan, u can ask the assistants in the clinic of ur gynae how many on average ur gynae does the amnio per month.. or if u wan i can recommend my gynae to u?she got good hands and is a very nice lady.. =) btwm, it's better to do it under ultrasound.. does the clinic has ultrasound guided amnio?mine was ultrasound guided hence i can even see the needle gg in from the screen.. not sure if the clinic u gg have such service.. ultrasound guided is almost 100% save..

seems like i may have to go into labour soon.. =( my hope for bb rabbit may not come true coz today just went to see gynae.. she said wanted to admit le.. coz she worried abt bb.. and plus i am considered full term liao.. 38weeks.. and bb is good size and she thinks bb is in distress coz of the decrease movement but so far i am ok.. *cross finger* guess it will be these few days..

surf,
my boy dun miss my previous helper coz she was only with us for abt a month only though she plays with him.. but i think he is behaving this way coz he can feel #2 is coming liao.. that's my best guess..

Jul,
i salute u.. u can really tahan ur maid! heehee.. i dun think i will be able to do so if i were in ur shoes.. hehe..

sunny and dor,
so far i've tried almost every country maid.. indo, fil and myanmar.. fresh or exp.. and my verdict is.. get fresh mayanmar maid.. they are really hardworking.. mine is a fresh one.. she is hardworking though communication breakdown and she is slow but she is hardworking n most of the time when she made mistakes the intention is good like wan to help me cook when she doesnt know what exactly i wan.. lolz.. and she will not talk back or show black face to u coz dunno how to speak english.. hehe.. but the sad thing is she is not good with my son.. housework i can say among all my maid she is the best and most obedient.. very clean too! =) too bad my agency sucks if not will recommend to u both.. but my fren gt a myanmar agency contact and the boss is a burmese herself.. if u gals wan can pm me then i give u the contact then u call and give it a try.. =)

happy chinese new year in advance to all.. =)
not sure if i can log in the next few days..

Hi Dor,

Thks for the contact & I hv called up Tr. Mei Fen juz now & indeed she's a very nice lady. She had ask me who did I get the contact fm & I juz told her I got it fm some kind mummies which I get to know at the forum. Most prob will be arranging for a meet up with her sometime this week. Thks ya!

Dor

I m imagining a gathering for all our kids in time to come. Do we hv like 20 kids in this thread? Haha. One by one having no 2. So who's next? :p

Talking abt parenthood rebate, I need to adjust mine for coming submission also. Actually we dun hv to do much for the filing right? Just add in one more child and the online system will adjust for us. I m getting confused w the rebate amt.

Been thinking for past few days if to convert my gal to full day at cc. Finally submitted the Form tdy to change. She has adapted quite ok (as in no crying in morn now) except for the bathing bit which m still struggling w. Am going bk to work mid feb so hv to start 1 feb. Suddenly I feel so sorry for my gal . I m worried if she will feel abandoned when full day. Now for half day, she resisting afternoon nap and bedtime
and kept wanting to play w her toys & us. We guess she misses home.

But on e other hand, she learns more things in full day care as there is lessons in afternoon too, eg ENG and chi speech and drama. Btw, is 3 years old too young for such enrichment? Got to pay extra but wonder how they can learn at such young age

I find it ironical sometimes why I m sending her to full day care when I hv helper and mil to help out. On one hand scared they cannot cope, on one hand worried if gal will feel abandoned.

Surf
Would the extra enrichment program affect her nap time in school? I know there are some cc which conducts during their nap time, and that day they will have to skip nap.

This is how I comfort myself when I sent both (year 2006 and 2009) to full day program after deciding not to hire any domestic helper. At least they are in the safe environment, and I'm glad both look forward to school everyday! Anytime of the day, I can always fetch them from school. I have a girlfriend who continues to pay school fee to June and Dec, and that two months she does not send her children to school, that's the moment she enjoys 24/7 with them, and to plan for family trips. When you are on leave on weekdays, you can also enjoy yourself alone, or fetch her from school to spend 'mummy & me' time together. Dont feel guilty, I believe once she settles well in cc, you'll be a happy mummy again!

Surf
My 2006 girl has never been to cc. She just started two months ago, and my 2008 boy started beginning of this year. Their school continues to update me, sometimes through phonecalls, SMS or their daily update details in their communication books. But of course, another comfort is because my #2 goes to the same school as #1, hence it gives me the assurance and peace to send #2 to cc too. He is still a breastfeeding baby, only at school then he drinks FM

Thanks for all your well wishes. Feel so warm inside now

Galdolphin,
am so excited for you. wish you have a smooth delivery.
o din now there's ultra sound amnio, thanks for sharing. thru my own undstdg all i noe is a needle will poke thru my stomach and extract out the fluid, perhaps i shld chk wif my gynae b4 he start the procedure.
his clinic is located at tpy ctrl hence i find it very convenient to go for my regular chks compared to previous one which i had to go dwn to raffles. quite ex too.

Surf,
Congrats in getting a new job!
at times i feel guilty not spending enough time with my gal, to comfort myself i tell myself that spending quality time is most impt. however, working mum like us will miss part and puzzle of their growing up stage especially moulding their character etc. it all boils down to how we want to prioritize our needs.

we once had a gathering at lor. 7 playground on sat morning 1-2 yrs back. then 7 mummies and their bbs/kids attended. another time was at lor. 1 void deck playground, some of us brought snacks along it was quite fun and enjoyable to have such gathering occasionally.
i look forward to one again!

Winnie,
tr. mei fen knows me as Chloe's mummy. my understanding is Nursery and kindy classes will be held @ blk 85B. As for blk 122 @ lor. 2 is more like a day care ctr whereby after sch the students will be ferried to blk 122 for day care service. do find out more fm tr. mei fen, she's quite patient.

Dor
Oh ya the gathering was about 2yrs ago. When I have not yet conceived #2..... Good times passes fast!

How about organsing CNY gathering? Any mummies interested? Then we shall decide on venue, date n time.
1) Precious + two kids (year 2006 and 2009)
5)

Precious,
Thanks for organising. Ya man, now that u mentioned good times really passes fast....

How about organsing CNY gathering? Any mummies interested? Then we shall decide on venue, date n time.
2) Dor + 1 gal (year 2007)
5)

Yay! Let's get together and stuff ourselves with CNY goodies!

2) Dor + 1 gal (year 2007)
3) Joyce (jcefoo) + 2 kids (2003 and 2007)
5)

Hi Dor,

Tr. Mei fen told me that the playgroup will be at Blk 122 too. Anyway, really appreciate for yr help & guess that for the next 2 months or so, I will b bz seaching for a preschool for my girl. Haiz...really hate the process but thinking back it's for my girl's sake so no choice lor...have to sacrifice some of my time.

Hi Precious,

Really nice of u to organise the CNY gathering & wish to join in too but was afraid that I can't find the time to meet up. Once u all have decided on the timing & venue, I will see whether I can meet up with u guys.

Precious
Good that ur 2 kids adapted so fast. Maybe I think too deep into my gal's behavior. Dunno, eg just now she resisted afternoon nap again. I was like lying beside her for an hour. She kept wanting to play. Then I said u dun sleep at home, u go to school sleep. Then she cried and guar guar slept
regretted, Shld not hv said that, made it sound as if sch is a punishment place. But i hv to get her prepared as she going full day next week. Hence, From her reaction, i think she does not like going to cc yet.

Dor
I m a ftwm
on maternity leave now only. Yah, working mums always hv this dilemma whether to work or not to work so as to spend time w kids.

I m interested in the gathering too! Using I phone, can't figure how to copy and paste and put my name

2) Dor + 1 kid (year 2007)
3) Joyce (jcefoo) + 2 kids (2003 and 2007)
4) Surf + 2 kids
5)

Hey, can I check with the mummies here. In the 2011 threads, I saw a few queries on placenta eating (own placenta I mean). Any mummies here did that (or planning to do that)?

Wonder if there are any benefits.

Another query. I'm always cold. Even walking under the sun sometimes I can be cold. Everyone around me can be sweating and I'm getting cold goose bumps and shivering. Is there any herbs or tonics that mummies can recommend to increase "qi" or body heat. Must be safe to take in pregnancy.

Sunny,
I read about an article in Asia One news abt 'eating own placenta' but i dun intend to do tat, one thing too troublesome, the other hmm cant imagine am eating my own ....erks

You may try '黑鸡' black chicken. There are prepacked herbs to brew with it, you may ask the herbal stall staff for help. Could be quite 'heaty' thou dun eat too much.

i remember J_foo is an expert in chinese herb and one other mummy cant recall perhaps they can give you better advise.

sunny,

u preg too? I remember I was always feeling cold and tired in my first trimester. Now also always feel more cold just before my menses. I took gao li shen (korean ginseng? not sure abt what u call in English) in my first trimester for spotting. After first tri, cannot take anymore cos very bu wait bb very big, diff to deliver. but some old folks said just before giving birth, can take again then when baby comes out, very rosy. I am afraid of diff in pushing a big bb, so only took in first tri when the body is most weak.

Hi Precious, ya, I've been taking beef and lamb a lot! but then body too heaty and start getting sore throat.. v cham lor. Esp our weather nowadays...I'm bundled up in my quilt the whole night...can't use my electric blanket cos my girl still sleeping with me..

Dor, there's 2 or 3 businesses in Singapore where they will arrange to collect the placenta from the hospital, then process it into pill form ... hehheh thinking of all my white hair ... considering that lots of women pay BIG money for goats or sheeps placenta to either swallow or smear all over their faces etc ...

Giant Squid, yah, also pregnant. 2 or 3 weeks behind Dor
Just saw your post on PT helper. Tot you had this lady coming to help you? what happened to her?

Hi Jul,thx for the info.
Will ask around ba..hmm...

Hey Dor!congrate~!:p

Btw,CNY hp can meet u all for gathering but me will notin SG for entitles 2 weeks~!
So...wish u all here HAPPY CHINESE NEW YEAR~!

Congrats to both you and Dor. I miss the warm feeling of pregnancy, minus the mood swings haha.

I don't know what happened, my helper suddenly MIA w/o news. 2 weeks liao. I have been thinking hard what happened to her too but only got her hp no. so no other means of contacting her.

So am now bogged down by housework and my work submission deadline and my girl who keeps crying and struggling when she goes to school now altho she was already well-adjusted for more than a year. I feel very stressed with her now, she is highly irritable and uncooperative. Hope this phase will be over soon.