TOA PAYOH mummies

Fastrackids is the programme Pat's is using. It's from States.

My son's in YKidz. Been there for 1 yr plus. Getting better, as in the staff, think they have stabilised things. Only thing I don't really like is that it's fully air-conditioned, and being there for 4 hours, enclosed, no joke. But I guess that's just a relatively small matter. Teachers there are patient, friendly, but slightly disorganised, but it's small matters so just close one eye. My son also goes for phonics on Sat. Enjoying that and he's very at ease since it's a familiar environment. Learning well. Can work out most 3 and 4 letter words on his own.

Hi Ivy,yes, my son went there Ykidz,but this w=coming sat is he last day there,don thk wan continue le,coz sometimes they like repeat thgs.so after that i don know wan let him go wer learn new thgs le,was thk go playgroup?but few hours clasee don know nanny can help bring him or not..

Any recommend for those sat clasee with few hours class suitable for toddler like my son 20mths old?
Dor,GUG good then?for toddler too?got sat class only?fees wise ex?located at novena sq?

Winnie,
ykidz I went to their website. They only state for sat is parent accompanied so I guess normal weekdays lessons no parent accompany.

U reg for JG playclub? Any idea how much it is? Ya heard their waiting list really long.

Newmummy
Not sure about it. They might need time to interview and recruit new teachers? True, it is inconvenient if we are not driving, have to take public transport, and carry their heavy bag too.

Ivy
My girl is in Cheri Hearts from 9am to 5pm. My boy is joining her in Jan 2011

Hi Ivy,

I think u hv got it right for those preschools and CC just that I think some preschools do start fm age 2+ and childcare are catered more for those kids where they need someone to look after.

Hi j foo,

Fastrackids is an enrichment program only? Do they provide like 3 to 4 hrs playgroup classes? Yr son is in Ykidz Toa payoh? Can u briefly describe the 4 hrs program that yr kid attended? Eg. what do they learn in the class and what's the timetable like?

Hi Dor,

How do u find GUG? U hv sent yr kid for the enrichment class only or the nursery/kindergarten class?

Winnie, yes Fastrackids only provide materials to schools/cc. It is not a school per se. Perhaps it is in States but here in S'pore, no. At least not that I have heard of. They are selling the materials to public so for parents who want to home-school, they can use their materials.

YKidz - If I am not mistaken, it's either 2 or 4 hour programme. I started my son off with 2 for a few months then the teacher commented that he was ahead of his peers (he is a Jan baby) so wanted to put him in the older group which meant 4 hours programme, asked whether I was comfortable with that. So I agreed. The 4 hour programme is in two halves and there are two tea breaks in each. They start with mat work then either the Chinese or Eng will take them first. The second half will be the other teacher. I think it is slightly different for the playgroup, heard that they will repeat the first half. I can see why, since children of this age group can opt to have 2 or 4 hour programme and so there are children coming in at different timings. Also at this age, repetition is the way of learning.

Babyminnie, YKidz weekday programme is without parents.

As for Julia Gabriel, the teachers are good, at least the ones I have encountered. That's why they are more well paid and that's also why fees are high. Many of the teachers are ex-pats and those who are local have been trained overseas or schooled overseas. Chinese teachers are from Mainland. Teachers are young, full of energy.

Hi j foo,

Thanks for yr info. Juz another issue regarding the Ykidz. Do they involve play in their program? Something like learning through play cos I dun wana hv those kind of activities that are too academic. Dun really wan my girl to stress that much since she has already attended the Shichida Method. Another issue is do they organise field trips or excursions?

Hi babyminniee,

There is a 4 hrs weekday playclub at $910, 4 hrs weekday Mandarin Playclub at $880 and 2 hrs weekend bilingual playclub at $520. So depends on what u want. On top of that, I think u need to pay a registration fee of abt $37+. They will only put you on waiting list after u pay the registration fee. Hope this helps.

precious,
cheri hearts not in toa payoh right?

So from ifc, 18mths onwards will be play ground to 3 yrs old?? then 4 yrs old nursery and 5yrs old K1, 6yrs old K2??

Which school provide full day care? Ykidz??

ivy,
yesyes u got it rite. however some presch/nursery do accept child fm 2+yo u need to chk.

newmummy08 & Winnie,
my gal and i personally enjoy attending GUG at United Square, they have another branch in Suntec too. I reckon having good trs. in the class makes a great difference. We considered lucky as the trs conducting the class we attended were pretty good. Things to look out for; the trs should be lively, enthusiastic and able to communicate and control the children well. You may find opportunity to ask some parents when the lesson is over or attend a trial class b4 enrolling. I actually withdrew fm a class b4 and ask the receptionist to recommend another class as the trs in previous class were boring.

She starts showing sign of restlessness at the end of 1+yr wif GUG which i guess is time to change to another env. as most things thot are being repeated. chk out their website http://www.gugifted.com/main.htm

Besides enrichment class on wkends, i send my gal to Nursery abt 2+hrs at Ascension kindergarten. She took about 2-3 weeks adjusting to the new env. and learn to be independent. I guess parent has to be hard hearted, firm and confident with the school/trs to leave the child wif them after 1 or 2 visits. The longer one stay around the premise, seeing or sensing the parent is ard for them, the longer time the child will takes to adapt to the school.

Hi dor,

Oh, u sent yr gal to Ascension? That was my shortlisted school too but as it was a church based school, I'm still considering whether to send my girl there. Just to check with you how do u find Ascension and does yr gal benefit fm it? Do they include play approach in their teaching? Any field trips or excursions during the term? Do they hv any bible related prog or praying session? Sorry for asking so much but really hope u can advise. Thanks!

winnie,
no worries. I am a non Christian fyi. i am not against sending my gal to the religion schools as long as the school is leading my gal the right education path.

since my gal just ended her N1 and going to N2 nxt year i can only give my personal comment based on N1. maybe mummies whose kids’ r in higher lvl in AK could share their views.

N1 and N2 in AK is not so academic base they embrace montessori style of teaching...learn thru play. There r mixture of nursery songs and bible songs, bible teaching are not being stress. They do organize field trips/excursion for older children maybe fm N2 onwards if am not wrong. Kindermusik is incorporated in N1 (additional cost) and N2 they have this gym thingy (additional cost) as well.

I choose this kindy as i like the env. big, spacious and well organized. I feel it prepares my gal for P1 in terms of school env. the P and VP r very friendly and children orientated too.

Winnie, YKidz takes a montessori approach so it is hands on learning. As for field trips, generally twice or thrice a year. So far my son's been to science centre, jacob ballas and some farm.

Ivy, YKidz don't provide full day programme as it's not a cc.

Ivy
No. Cherie Hearts is not at Toa Payoh. We are comfortable to let them take school bus, is convenient :)

Newmummy
A friend staying at Blk 56, told me Blk 55 My First Skool is very small area. Perhaps you can go and take a look?

Dor,
where is acension?

Precious,
i see, then where is cherie hearts hehe.

J foo,
i see. BTW for kindergarten, is it half day or full day thing? I never attend kindergarten myself -.- my mother enrol me too late, i went straight to Primary 1 at poi ching haha.

Hi precios,i tot blk 55 shd be quite big space?so there already fully reno liao?hmm,will go tehre see see look look.How abt blk 200+ therE?
Btw, blk146A is it also open liao??

Newmummy
Blk 146A is open for registration from 8-10 Dec.
According to my friend at Blk 56, she said Blk 55 is very small area. Good that you go there to take a look 1st

Hi Dor,

Thks for yr info. Btw may I know how did u send yr gal to Ascension? Will there be any transport provided? Can share roughly what's the school fees like? Thks!

Hi j foo,

Can share with us what's the school fees like for Ykidz? Thks!

Anyone tried this school "His LittleLighthouse" before? Heard some good feedbacks for this school but need more comments. Anyone?

Winnie, for the 4 hour programme I am paying around $420 per month. There are different prices for the 2 hour programme and also if you choose to attend only 3 days a week. Call them up to check. 63025654

Precious,
Ur kids at Thomson branch? They do full day cc cum kindergarten.

For ftwm, where do u put ur child in preschool? Or u will put in kindergarten n have helper to look after remaining days?

Ivy
My girl only starts cc when she is 4.5yrs old. Previously she was in PCF 2hrs daily. Before 30mths, she was in Bishan Montessori 1.5hrs daily. She is in Cherie Hearts, Kallang Sector Infineon building.

ivy,
http://www.streetdirectory.com/asia_travel/travel/travel_id_23029/travel_site_46222/
AK is located in Potong Pasir nxt to St. Andrew Sec Sch along Jalan tpy heading towards pie.

Winnie,
my fil ferry her to and fro, she ever went on sch transport b4 but the pick-up timing is not ideal and then i feel she's still too young hence i withdrew her. i may put her back again nxt year since my fil health is deteriorating. I paid $80 for single trip as for full trip i cant remember but i know not much diff only.
term fee for 2010: preN $732.95, N $716.90, K1 $695.5, K2 $674.10

Hi j foo & dor,

Thks so much for the info. I think I will make a trip down to have a further views of the schools.

Nobody tried his littlelighthouse?

Precious,
Cherie hearts is CC? i see i see.
Aiyo i see blur.

So basically childcare also include kindergarten lah?

J foo,
ykidz weekdays no parent accompanied. I'm so worried my girl will cry and cry when I'm no around. Maybe will let her go the weekend one.

Winnie,
thanks for the info on JG. Hv to look for other schools since their waiting time too long. Wld like her to start in Jan.

And mummies who hv potty trained their kids. What brand of potty did u use? I'm looking for one now but dunno which one to buy. Recommendations pls. Thanks.

final question.
Ykidz, AK & Cherie hearts, whats the key difference?
AK & Cherie hearts consider as CC? Ykidz only kindergarten?

Talk abt potty train, what age do we potty train. SOme say wait till 2, got 1 ask me try at 15 mths...

Babyminniee - just go to sundry store and get the traditional red potty for dollar fifty or two dollars. Its the easiest for both boys and girls to sit and get up from. And also deep enough not to splash. The "branded" stuff tends to be more shallow and bulkier - makes cleaning a bit harder as well.
I got one from Kiddy Palace with the handle in front - also very leceh. The toddler must stand up then back up unless balance very good and can lift one leg over the other side. If you are starting young you can get this.. but if your tod is already relatively stable, just get the red pot.

Ivy
Cherie Hearts is a childcare centre., they operated from 7am to 730pm.

AK and Ykidz is not cc, they classified it as enrichment centres, for 2-4hrs daily program. They follow MOE sch holidays, like PCF/PAP.

I thought your gal is in My First Skool?

Hi Dor,

I just got a reply fm AK that their curriculum includes saying grace before every meal, praying for a birthday friend or a sick friend so that the children can express their feelings and learn about empathy, bible stories to teach children about doing good, etc. As I'm a buddhism, I'm quite concern abt this issue. Really headache cos in fact AK is my 1st choice but aft reading the reply, I'm on 2nd thoughts. Can u advise? Thks!

YKidz doesn't follow the MOE term hol fully. June and Dec only a week.

Babyminnie, no matter where you put your girl, she's bound to cry for a day, a few days or even a week, perhaps even more. Most importantly is that you are comfortable with the teachers and trust them to handle the situation. As for choosing where to put your child, it boils down to (1) budget, (2) convenience, (3) where your child (and you) feels most comfortable with. I believe the curriculum nowadays are more or less similar, it's the way the teaching is being carried out that makes a difference. And also the individual child, some are able to learn faster than others due to the environment they're exposed to.

Any mommies send ur kiddos to shicida? Any review n suggestion what age is best to go?

I've been going trial, bjg GUG seems boring to me. GPing kindermusik soon n some frens suggest JG but seems long queue... Also thinking of shicida. Sat sun must find something to do la... Dunno whether to go YKidz see their sat event.

Winnie
As a buddhist myself and my uncle is a theravada monk for the past 20 years or so...I would say to you, dont worry about it. Saying 'Grace' is just thanking god for the meal. Even monks will "pray" before every meal. You can explain to your girl that the reason for this is to remind us to always be grateful cos we have enough to eat. As for the bible stories eg the parables that jesus told, they are somuch a part of contemporary culture now that a lot of pp dont even realise that the stories come from the bible. and it's good to have morals for each story. In fact,if you read the jataka tales (buddhist stories) you'll find a lot of similar stories. the characters wear different clothes n speak differently but the stories are similar. Hope this gives you some reassurance. At the end of the day, your kid will listen more to you (at least at this age
) so howyou explain stuff will stick. my two cents only, being a convent girl from kindergarten all the way to the end of secondary school.

Hi Sunny,

Thks so much for yr advices. I think if I wana send her to a church school, it will only be preschool cos I already hv the primary school in mind already. Btw u sent yr kid to a church based preschool? Mind to share which preschool and how old is yr kid now? Thks!

Hi Ivy,

My girl attended the SM classes for nearly a term already and I can say she did learn to be more discipline and she could recall some of the things that the teachers taught in the class. I would say my girl is not those that can sit still throughout the lesson but at least there's some place for her to learn to be more discipline. As she's only 15 months, there's more for her to learn and can't really see much results now. If u can train yr kid at home, I think u may try it out yrself at home. If not, then I think it's up to u whether u wana send her to a preschool or enrichment classes for yr kid to learn. Hope the above helps in yr decision.

Winnie
My kid (26 months) is in a childcare in the CBD. Non religious affiliation. We chose purely based on convenience, oh, and the fact that they conducted some classes in chinese which I thought was very important since we don't really speak it much at home.

Ivy, before you sign up for SM or LNT, please make sure that you commit to have consistent home practice. Otherwise, I think it's like pouring money down the drain and a incurring a lot of aggravation each week in class. Speaking from experience.
My kid is still in SM

Winnie,
FYI, am a Buddhist but i do visit churches (Christian/Catholic) and Indian temples as I respect and believe all religions meant well and teaches one to be more humane and tolerant. I dun mind exposing my gal to these religions as she'll have a better understanding during the growing stage.

Even thou short prayers are being practice in school but back home she din 'practice' or have the habit of doing it. The only time i see her putting her hands together and pray is when she's reciting the bible songs learned fm school, is just like reciting and acting out any nursery songs.

I personally dun see any harm inculcate such teachings and behaviors it is part of formality in church kindy, I find it is also a form of discipline and show signs of caring as well. As mentioned by Sunny, if you notice, some stories or literature books we read do contain certain Christian background without us noticing. The kids are still at a very young age to differentiate, in time to come they'll have their own mind set any way.

However, after hearing Sunny and my view, if u still feel uneasy of sending her to church kindy, dun put pressure on yourself otherwise u might feel awkward especailly at times when u attend their school activities/functions which they usually have praying session but that is not so often.

Hey mummies

My kid also in shichida. Wat home practice u been doing? I only did flash cards last time but stopped for long time since pregnant. Now worse, totally no time. Thinking to stop the class.

Very stressed after CL went bk last mon
not been having enuff sleep.

Hi Sunny & Dor,

Thks for all yr advices. I think I will have to drop by and have a look 1st before making my final decision.

Hi Surf,

I also showed my girl flash cards but I don't do it everyday as sometimes really very tired after a day's work.

Totally understand how u feel but just take it as a passing phase but I know it's easier said than done cos I myself can't get over the fear of having a 2nd 1. Everybody told me that just get it done and over but I'm still trying to overcome the fear. Anyway I will try my best to overcome and u too! Dun give up!

Surf,
u 2 kids very siong. I 1 yr already CMI, sometimes i feel i really a CMI mother. Sometimes reach home, already very stone. My girl still so active sia, while im already so sleepy.

Hi Ivy,

Me too. My girl is also very active. Her energy level is much much better than me lor. Really cannot tahan sometimes. Can't imagine if I have a 2nd 1...

Hi babygenius,

Just to check with u whether did u go for the MMI trial class? Mind to share?

Precious,
r u going back to the work force full time tat's the reason u put both in CC?

Surf,
How you find your CL? Is she good in terms of cooking and taking care of your bb and u? If u dun mind cld u PM me her contact thanks!

winnie,
same... i will think abt no2 but no courage. How old is ur girl now??

Surf
same, my fren looking for CL, how is ur CL?