TOA PAYOH mummies

HI! MUMMIES,

AM DOING A SURVEY ON "FLEA MARKET" VISITS and hope u can spare few sec. of your time by giving some input with details as follow:

- Places u had visited a Flea Market (local)
- Make any purchase Yes/No, if yes please provide an estimate amount you spent

Many thanks!!

Flea market like the some of those listed below or the pasar malam type of temporary stalls that travels around HDB areas/set up during festival times?

*Great SgBazaar Sale @ Playground @ Big Splash
*Fash Bash
*Flea-tique! @SAM
*MAAD @ red dot design museum
*Thieves Market @ Sungei Road (near Sim Lim Square) -the most unglam REAL FLEA market in SG

*Weekend Flea Market @China Square Central
*Zouk Flea and Easy

Pasar malam stalls type - yes (less than S$20). Otherwise, not in recent year. :-D

janice, dor, ryes, ivy, j foo

thanks for the concern... yaps was indeed a shock! :p when it happened, i actually cried with him!

anyway here is what happen...

he swallowed a coin then we rushed down to kkh...
at kkh, they did a x-ray of his tummy to see if the coin was there... but for my boy it was not there so they did another 2 x-rays of the neck and chest. found that the coin was in the esophagus and not moving up nor down... so he was admitted to prepare for op...

it was a minor one and he actually played all the way into the operating theater.
the nurses there were great! he was under GA and a scope was done for him. all this under 30mins! then it was back to the ward for obs for 6hrs. and we were home the next day. oh yah post op he was on clear fluids for 6hrs and solid foods was only to be consumed the day after.

but now sigh.... hubby is down with the runs and puking away... so is #1 (haiz! it never rains but pours!) seems that we have all caught the bug but the polyclinic dr insists that its food poisoning even though #1 and me did not take the same food as hubby... sigh!

Oh my, one wave after another. It'll soon be over, fret not. Sounds like rotavirus to me - the puking and runs. But I don't think adults get that... So perhaps stomach flu? My daughter caught that last weekend, she didn't have the runs but was puking quite a fair bit, developed fever for a day after that. Doc says no worries, they'd be ok after they finish puking. Just keep them on easy digest food for a day or two and make sure fluid intake is sufficient. I only consulted the doc AFTER the incident when I myself had to visit the doc since she had already recovered. I just double checked with the doc whether I needed to bring her in, just in case she was catching the bug that I had.

Take care Jasmine. Oh and glad to hear that Elijah coped so well at KK.

j foo

yaps that is what i thought.... well just hopes that it ends soon and before i am down.. :p

heheh yaps am very glad about him coping so well there too!

dolphingal

yaps i did go back but that was all before the "major" thing on momday... hahah
guess what i got there.... got a combi bag and mug for #1 to learn to drink on his own also got a cheapo toy camera coz he loves our camera. oh yah there is the nuby replacement straws there too but in a hidden corner... :p 2 packs for 6.90... cheaper then the bp here

janice

just noticed that you asked for my boys age... :p he is now 18mths and my #2 is now 2mths

Hi elijah, ayo sounds so bad, lucky he is fine now. Boys are really mischievous. My boys also love to put things in their mouth. But its quite lucky that you knew he swallow something right .. else the consequence will be so serious.

janice

yah! everything goes into their mouths! even the younger one! as long as he can get it in his hands!

well check the bug out for the boys already... seems that its really gastric flu for all of them... sigh... now its really true that i am tbfing 2 babies...

Elijah,
oh man, one episode after another. Take good care esp we are going into raining season liao.

ivy & sunny,
thanks for the feedback. really appreciate.

jasmine,
glad everything is alrite now for ur son. and for u do tk care gastric flu can be contagious.

hey jasmine... hope today's rain will wash away all your "suay-ness" & it will be sunshine & rainbow aft the rain!!! take care!! go easy on diet, avoid oily stuff, which will bring on the stomach flu is you already hv the bug in you.

hey dor... i love flea markets! be it high class or even pasar malam. but the flea markets are usually at places not very accessible, so i seldom got chance to go. i hv also set up stall b4 at neighbourhood flea markets juz for the fun of it! there is one in nov @ blk 157, am contemplating whether to join or not! hehe...

janice... u got anymore of the cute cute stuff? i'm preparing ger's bday party goodie bag, and would like something diff other than the usual party stuff cos my kiddo guests will juz dump them aside. not getting any hats & stuff tis yr cos everyone refused to wear, including the bday ger! hehe... rac is v cranky these days, rather not show her "ugly side" to anyone. when she is better mood then u come k?

dolphin.. yes, yes!! makan!! but let me get my fill of home cooked food first. was so sick of outside food aft eating 2 weeks! hehe...

by the way, talking abt food... i juz found a new pastry stall! they are located outside shop N save near library. we bot apple strudel & muffins from them, muffins not bad, but strudel is very nice! cheap also, muffins @ $1 each, buy 5 get 1 free, strudel at $1.20 per slice. we are gonna try their pies next cos they look good too. their pastry are very fresh as they bake at the stall themselves. my strudel was kept in fridge overnight, but still very crisp & cream very fresh. will def go buy again! they are so new, they dun even hv a signboard yet, but you cant miss it lah, their pastry all displayed in front. go try!

mummies...

on a more "serious" note (as if i can ever be serious. hehe...), i would like to invite you to join me to do some charity. i started this thing called Project GIVE early this year, as i feel blessed with all the kindness showered on us for the past 5 years, and would like to give back to the community.

thru Project GIVE, i hope to gather donations from frens, pool them together, then ensure that the money go to the right ppl, ie the real needy ppl. due to limited resources (ie ME), i hv started small and is working with this association called care corner. so far, i have managed to make two donations of groceries (1 for CNY, 1 in june) to the needy elderly under their care from blocks 103-106, lor 1. there are about 120 pax frm these blks under their care, and they are all receipient of public assistance, ie the real needy.

what i can assure you is that every cent i collect goes to them. with the money, i order the groceries from the supplier myself (& bargain all the way!) then get them delivered to the care corner office. what i can buy each round depends on how much i collect so every dollar contributed is deeply appreciated.

i hope you can also chip in, and help our community in whatever way you can. any amt is welcome. you can pm me or email me at [email protected].

hope to hear from you!!!

*end of serious... hehehe...

Elijah's Mummy

Wow, good thing the incident ends well and your son is ok now.

Dor
Regarding the survey, yes I go to pasar malam at Toa Payoh, spend probably less than S$20 all on kid's stuff.

Are
very compassionate of you to start this project. Just wanna to know how are the monies beinga accounted to the donors? Thx

dor, are, eunice

thanks... heheh the boys are better now including hubby!
heheh we had soups cooked by me the past 3 days... finally today hubby and #1 can ask for different meals and #1 can even ask that he wants to eat bread instead of soup... hahah when hubby and me saw that we just could not help laughing!

so are, the rain today really washed away my suay-ness! hehehe

are,

the pastry shop outside shop N save? heheh ok will go try tomorrow or tues! heheh will be at kkh on tues for #1's follow up with the ent. heheh got chance to go out will definitely grab!

are,
Thanks for the input. like u i love to visit Flea Market/Pasar Malam too, u can find some good bargain there.
i believe if u hv kid stuffs can consider taking a stall since 21 Nov onwards is the start of Sch holiday if the parsa malam is held within tat wk cld be good.
am gathering info for an upcoming flea market @ Big Splash so tat we cld roughly gauge wat and how much to sell.

Eunice,
Thanks too for the info! Whenever i visit nite market i wont fail to go to stalls tat sell kids stuff and household products, aiyor fell so aunty hee!

jasmine,
wow ur 'ai xin' 'bou tong' works. glad its sunshine after rain for ur case.

Hi are, yes yes I still got. But the goods will only come prob next or the week after. But then hoh, the exporter katok me and now the pouches will cost $1.50 per pcs due to the extra cost incurred. SMS me if you ar keen
I deliver to your house :D

Where do get more info on the fle market at 157 ? I'm thinking of joining too leh.

I'm keen to join your charity prog, tell me how can I assist ?

Heloo mummies, recently damn sian cos all the kids keep having recurring flu. The elder one kanna Type A flu and the youngest one having bad ENT infections and been having high fever for the past 2 days.

Any good remedy to bring down high fever ? I'm been feeding him paracetamol 4 hourly and suppositories every 7 hours. Feel so heartache leh cos the body is so small and skinny and yet need to endure so much medications

janice,
i have 2 other frenz tat r sharing a small stall am afraid cant tk in anymore due to space constrain. however if the respond is good perhaps we may rent 2 stalls in Dec with bigger space, will definitely let u noe.

Re high-fever, undstd how u feel now, monitor his temperature and sponge him wif room temperature water on and off, on his body, neck area. small amt of 'ling yang' water might help.

Re: high fever
Also dont forget to sponge the armpit & groin area. Was advise by the nurse when my boy had high fever. Wat i did was i put damp cotton wool in his diapers to cool him down. It did help.

wow Dor you are great. Mother, office work, house work and have time and energy to be stall holder as well. My hat is definitely off to you.

And same to you Are! With all your challenges, you still have time to think of ways and take action to help others.

Janice, yup, "ling yang" is good. Can get them pre-packed at Yu Ren Sheng or medical halls. Generally I think $5 per pack for one small serving. Yu Ren Sheng's more ex cos their "ling yang" is of a higher grade. Let me know if you want to get, can buy for you and deliver to your place. I'm always at medical halls stocking up on various stuff

Can boil some porridge and just give the water. Old wives tale but it works

ARE, ah yes, the muffin stall next to Shop and Save. Use to be the kebab stall. They have a stall at Utd Sq too, outside Cold Storage. I've only tried their muffins and durian puffs. So strudel is good eh?

Thanks mummies. Brought my boy to see Dr Heng again, just given the antibotic jab, hopefully he gets better. I've not been sleeping for 3 nights already

Ya, after he is better, I will need to sought help from TCM Doctor already. THinking of the Yu Ren Sheng in TPY .. anyone tried for kids? Good? He has been having recurring infections and fever and he is getting so skinny and my medical bill also spiking high. REally hope TCM can help him!

Hi Ivy, yup not easy being a mummy. Well, joy and the 'hardship' comes as a package but when u see watch them grow healthy and happily, all the pains are worth it!

janice, u can try to boil barley water, once the barley have "split" turn off the fire else the barley water wont be cooling if boil longer than that. how old is your boy? my gal is also like your boy, always fall sick every mth since baby and every mth's medical bill is killing. i brought my gal to see a sinseh at lavender and he also said wat western docs said, kids tend to fall sick often and its normal, the sinseh told me not to worry and they will outgrow it when they grow older. as for my gal, he said she's more prone to falling sick as she has sinus problem inherited by my hb hence making her more sensitive. anyway, he said by 4yo they will fall sick lesser. he prescribed my gal some chinese medicine but my gal had phobia after taking them now see me coming with syringe she'll run away. so i just stopped giving her the chinese medicine once it was finished and didn't go back for follow up. now i just give her her daily inhaler puffs as adviced by dr heng and i give her supplements like sambucus for kids and colostrum powder. thank God all these helped as june was the last time she fell ill. you can try TCM if he can adapt to the taste of chinese med. some parents bring their kids to Yu Guo at kembangan for tui na.

My sis-in-laws bring their kids to a TCM doc at Sengkang. Works well for them. Want the contact?

TCM takes the form of building, so will take some time before you see results.

dor/janice... dun think will do tat flea mkt liao, juz wen to read the sign again, its a fri leh, where got ppl??

eunice/janice/sunny/ivy... tis is not official "charity" or "fundraising" by care corner. it is a donation in kind to them. i started doing tis cos my frens & i concluded tat we want to donate some money to charity but always dun noe where the money go. so i decided i will collect the money, then order the groceries, send to care corner for them to pack, then turn up on distribution day to ensure the elderly get the stuff. so far i've done twice already & its v rewarding to see their happy faces when they get the surprise "goodie bag" aft their weekly activity organised by care corner social workers. makes me feel tat the little time i spend to organise tis goes a really long way. some recipients hv realised i am the donor cos i always turn up when there are "goodie bags", but i've requested to hide my identity cos i dun wan them to think i wan any "fame" for doing tis. i juz appear as a volunteer but always nothing to do one, cos there so many auntie volunteers fighting to help!

janice... for fever, best is to place kiddo on a cooling mattress. but muz buy gd ones from pharmacy, with real coolant inside. those cheap ones you see in tpy central shops oni have water inside, very fast not cold liao. we use this all the time, learn frm hospital, and tis time round, we used almost daily aft ger op cos she kept spiking fever even tho they give her two meds. but most impt is to keep the head cool. either use a fever patch or wet towel, change when hot. v impt cos when spike n u dun noe, scare affect the brain. sorry, not trying to scare you, juz sharing wat i learnt frm hospital. your kiddos shd be old enuff to take ling yan also leh, but maybe half dose. ask the shop ppl they will tell u how much. my sis bring her kiddos to the chinese doc @ 94 when western meds dun work, cos eat too much liao. works for them and pretty lasting too. we been seeing doc @ 94 since we were kids too!

jfoo... i like the strudel leh. shucks, nw toking abt it i also gian again. hehe... hey... wen u wan to take your soap??

dolphin... how's ur maid hunting? my agent called me the other day to ask abt my ger and we spoke abt u. err... she told me u looking for maid or mid-wive cert? erm... can tell u frm experience dun bother lah. cos most of the hv ones, if real, they wld be working here as nurses liao. and its real easy to get such certs lor. i ever had one, she wen 3mths course got cert liao. then say she work in eldery home b4, so we tot got medical b/grd rite? turns out, she oni take BP lah, give med lah, bathe etc. see my ger tube feed legs go weak liao. wah liao... hope u find a suitable one soon. need loads of luck!!

Thanks mummies.

Hi char , thanks but don't think my boy can go for tui na cos he already has phobia being touched by doc and nurses. I worried he might spent the whole session kicking the doc.

Hi Are, what is the name of the chinese clinic at Blk 94? I bought the cooling mattress from KKH since they were infant. But the boys just refuse to lie down on the pad. N whenever I paste the patch, he will peel it off and threw away. So end up we have to spend the whole night sponging him and strip him naked to cool him down.

So, for the charity, do pm on the details. Like how much to donate or etc .. If u need help to pack the goodies bag, can call me up too.

Janice, I think somewhere near Sengkang mall, will check and let you know.

ARE, yes, soap...convenient? Actually Jay's skin has suddenly improved! No more rough patches. And I didn't do anything. Oh well, still can try the soap out
One of these days I'll drop by your place when you're free. No hurry. I'll sms you.

janice... erm... forgot the name liao leh. there is oni one at blk 94, beside the frame shop. it is a old medical hall father and son team there. i noticed the son sees more kids, dun noe why. the son does accupuncture as well, but i always see the dad since i've been to him since young. you can try them first since so near? lucky for my sis, her gers all like the meds v much, so will happily take them.

oh, another thing abt fever. NEVER USE AIRCON!! we made tis mistake once also and a doctor told us tat when the body is cold, our body will auto up the temp thinking it is cold, so the fever will go even higher. even at the hospital, we still hv to cover her regardless of temp. sponge and strip with light fan on oni. i noe OSIM has a fever band, w nice cartoons, maybe they will like tat?

will pm you on the charity thingy. i dun pack the goodie bags myself lah, where got space? hehe... the care corner staff and volunteers will pack.

jfoo... okie, sms me.

Janice, sis-in-law says the TCM doc is based at the Chinese Medical Hall in Sengkang's Rivervale Mall ground floor. There's a Daiso nearby. I've asked her to check the tel no so you can call and make sure doc is on duty. Will keep you posted.

The medical hall ARE mentioned seems quite popular too. Seen quite a number of kids there.

How's your boy today? Is it Jayden or Javien that's down?

Hi Are, thanks. Then is it right for me to strip him naked to cool him down? Ayo .. the boys just don't like things over their head. Last time when baby still can force. Now they will pull away and throw away. Even in the middle of the night, they will fuss the whole night to have the thing remove from their head!

Hi jfoo, thanks. Davian is down. Gave him a antibiotics jab on Monday and the fever subsided almost instant. Now no more fever but not much appetite though. Still refusing milk. I'm rather concern now as recently the Augmentine seems not working well on him, and he always need the stronger antibiotics like Cedex or even the jab to help him. Very worried if he has produce resistence to Augmentine due to frequent usage. He has been on Augmentine for almost every 2 months since birth.

Oh ya.. as recommended from the food gurus here hehehe ... I went to buy the muffin and apple strudel from the new shop outside shop and save. The muffins taste more like cupcake... quite buttery but taste all the same for the different flavours. In general, its nice lah .. but I still prefer the one in Lor 1. The apple strudel is better than the muffins, quite good. Will try the durian flavour next round

janice... strip is ok, but i usually prefer light clothing, so that there is something to soak up the sweat. else if the skin is wet and a gust of wind comes by, scared catch chills.

my sis's kiddos also go western docs almost every mth, now that they are seeing the chinese docs, seems better. so for simple things like cough or cold, they go chinese doc. oni when infection or includes vomitting/diarrhea then they go western doc to get antibiotics. think better to "space out" the meds a bit cos i believe in resistance also.

hubby also say lor 1 mkt muffin nicer, altho tis one is not bad. wun try the durian strudel tho. cos altho weird me loves durian, i cant stand durian by-products! beats me why too!

i email you re the charity thingy liao.

Janice, sounds like Davian is "immune" to Augmentine...oh dear... Next step is really to build up his system. My sis-in-law said that the Rivervale Mall's chinese medical hall is attended by a husband and wife team. For cases like building up system, they almost always target the stomach, strengthen that first. By the way, she doesn't have the tel no, she just pops by.

It's normal for kids not to regain appetite esp in milk. Jay refused to drink milk totally for two weeks! I had to use a syringe and force him to drink. Go light on his stomach cos his appetite has shrunk a bit while he was down. Light food, frequent meals for now I'd say.

Jayden had rough patches around his ankle (he scratches a lot when he's tired and is trying hard to sleep), previously tried applying lotion, aloe vera but didn't really work. But now suddenly rough patches are gone.

Hey j foo, my friend recommend me demerveen, can purchased from pharmacy. Its good in healing dry and itchy skins eczema. I recommend to my another friend's baby who have bad skin conditions. Surprisingly, it works.

Anyone's kids drinking Abbot Grow? I have a $2 voucher (for 1 kg can), expiry end of Sept. Restriction is can only be redeemed at S&S and Cold Storage. Anyone want it? Collect from my place at Lor 5.

oh... tapping on jfoo's freebie, i also got a coupon to give. get $5 off 400g pediasure + 400g ensure life. can buy at cold storage, giant, guardian or S&S

and if u are shopping and shop and save, do keep the stamps. can sell at the forum! hehe...

talking about buying from cold storage... tsk, they are damn expensive to start with. A tin of Enfagrow at CS costs $40.80 (give or take a few cents) but costs $36.80 at the local HDB shop. Expiry periods for each only a few months different (but both long long way away la, like 2011 or 2013). Not sure what other brands you mummies buy, but you can check out Hoe Kee Huat department store at TP Lrg 8. V reasonable prices.

Their 2in1 detergent for children/baby clothes also cheaper than NTUC and CS.

janice,
agree with 'are' to put on light clothings on your boys and just sponge him frequently else will catch chill. just a suggestion, u may wanna let your kids take childlife colostrum powder as it helps build up the digestive system which in return boosts immune system. after seeing j_foo's post, even that chinese physician focus on stomach first to build up immune system.

Janice, my sis-in-law mentioned that the Yu Ren Sheng at Paragon has a clinic esp for children. Highly recommended. She brings her older son there when things are quite "jia lat".

Hallo mummies
Came back from KL and BKK recently.
KL - went w/ gfs
BKK - went w/ hb and kids.
Not too bad... quite a good break.

sunny
Which blk is that?
I usu get my stuff from Ang Mo supermarket at Lor 4... they got lots of stuff, even fresh veges!!

are
HOw is rach? Is she ok?

No choc cakes in TPY? I'm craving for one..hehe...

jasmine
Hope ur boy is fine.

dor
I'm still running.

Did consider HKG in Dec, but my hb is not free... so maybe next year...

stylobb

not too bad he is much better already.

oh anyone getting isomil advance2? my boy is no longer drinking it and i got like 6cans at home... need to clear. Precious if you want, you get priority k. same batch as the last round. clearing it at 30per tin.

Thanks Jfoo.

Hi Stylobb, are your girls in KiddyABC? I always saw these 2 cute twins girls around 3 - 4 yrs with long hairs tied up in 2 pony tails, around the Ang Mo blk, in the morning ..