TOA PAYOH mummies

Hi mummy_tang, my boys started with Liz today. So far, look ok since both are not crying and enjoying the lesson. But I think this will be mor suitable for younger age gp like 2-3yo, as the group is very small. A kindy will be more suitable for 3 and above. A good comment here is Liz is a very nice lady and her English is good.

Char, Stylobb .. the kids have been seeing Dr Heng since birth. Highly expensive and very strong medication. I find she often over charged and ask patients to get expensive medications and treatment .. rather $$ faced. Now I am looking for other PD and have switched to GP for norm flu treatments.

stylobb ... I really want to ask you how to you cope with 3 kids and working full time? I'm now thinking how to manage the logistic if I'm returning to work full time.

Just want to rant to get off my chest...
Was intending to try HOng Wen for my girl and saw that there is balloting to be conducted for P1 this year for less than 1km..Sigh..

I guess when the year comes for me to register my girl, I will have sleepless nights.

Ivy,
so fast u r looking for highchair???wow...

KFC
orangemum n are,
so far my encounter there always very good.. and they always serve me n my hub really hot chicken so far.. i din know they dun fried there.. but hor, how u explain the hot chicken when they dun fry there???*scratch head*

char
Oh!!! After reading your post, seems my PD's costs are rather reasonable...hehe. But no choice, cos kids fall sick more often when they are younger, once they hit 4-5 yrs, they become stronger.

According to my usual GP, for PDs, they do prescribe 'stronger' (more exp) med, once the kids are used to it, they then are immune to the 'normal' type of med...

Btw my PD used to be at TPY, she is v experienced, near the Lor 5 area, Blk 50++. She has moved to Robertson Walk as her son opened a clinic and she works there half day (aftns only). She is v fast in diagnosing my kids' problem..

ryes
Apparently they had nose infection. The gals had been coughing when they sleep.... not v phlemy but kinda dry. Now hv to spray nasal spray into their noses... T2 hates it... but hor, they are ok after seeing my PD... Money like this has to be spent, no choice...haha...

Boy v clever to negotiate, "Mommy, since mei meis are not well, I should not sleep in same room with them as they hv germs, can I sleep with you and papa?" (aircon room mah....hehe)

Yah, where is Hong Wen? Good school?

janice
Alamak, maybe it's too early for me to tell you how I cope... hehe... indeed it's a lot of logistical arrangements.

Your kids 6yrs (gal) 2.5 yrs (twin boys)?

Hi Janice,

"my boys" = how old are they? twins? good to know that they are enjoying the lesson.

Thank you for all the mummies who came with info, location on where the place is. I will call and check it out.

My mum is currently taking care of my gal and stay @ Lor 8; but because my dad had met with a very serious accident 3months ago, he has mobility limitations and has to be taken care for all his needs. My gal actually was supposed to go to CC but she fell seriously ill for 2 weeks during the same period when Gonggong was hospitalised, think its "xiang shi bi" cos they are very close. Its been 2months now, and she is still falling sick with running nose and cough on-off.... so I am looking at other alternatives.... like only 2,3days per week of school and these days have to be the days when GongGong go for his rehab...

stylobb,
wow! way to go....u'll get better after few run.

Mummies, here's hongwen pri info
http://www.hongwen.moe.edu.sg/index.php?option=com_contact&Itemid=3

Janice,
if u r thinking of going bk to workforce u may consider leaving your son in a full day session or half day, if you have mother or mil to tk care of him until u or hb return fm work. otherwise like me, gotta rely on bbysitter/nanny, as my mother and mil r unable to look after her.

newmummy08,
u can browse thru MH forum, if am not wrong there's a thread on info for Baby Contest.
Btw, Downtown East is having a Baby & Jnr Race, not a 'look pretty/cute' contest thou, u can chk it out http://www.downtowneast.com.sg/events/events.aspx#6054

dor , stylobb .. my boys are 2 and girl is 6 (next yr P1). For me not easy as my hubby works overseas. Usually I'm the only one bringing the kids around n my mum is also not very willing to bring them out. Having a maid and mum should be able to relieve the burden .. but constant naggings and conflicts between the 2 women often create more prob than help! Haiz ... headache. Maybe CC is the best solution. I think wait till I find a job first then send bah.

Stylobb ... whre is your PD?

Hi mummy_tang, my boys are only 2 yo ..the youngest in the class. Yesterday was only their first lesson, so hopefully they wil continue to enjoy the lesson hehehe .. The lessons are only Mon, Wed and Fri. If not, prob u can check out playgroup like kiddyabc.

janice,
wow! not easy for u handling 3 kids. hope ur gal is able to lift some of ur load by looking after her little bros when u bring them out.
Perhaps u can consider a partime job that's on alternate days or haf a day kind (am actually looking out too hee! thinking of quiting my full time job). Furthermore, ur gal will be attending Pri sch, in future u'll hv to do more coaching too.

Ryes, gal.dolphin, actually no urgent, cos baby due in dec, still a long way. But that high chair very seldom got 2nd hand, so if have then get 1st hahah.. kiasu.

If not, scarly i strike 4D and can buy new one hehehe.

hi dor .. actually i was working part time .. but just resigned. Still looking around either full or part time but hopefully somewhere not so far

Ya loh .. next yr P1 .. more headache hahaha

janice,
i've brought my gal to 2 other PDs and i find the total charges are pretty much the same so that's why i continue to bring my gal to dr heng cos i'm staying just opp the clinic nia.
everytime my gal falls sick i always contemplate to bring her to GP but then her condition is bad most of the time so i dun really trust GPs to be able to understand her condition well. like wat stylobb said, perhaps when my gal turns 4-5yo and her condition not so bad then i'll switch to GP.

stylobb,
i still have about 1.5yrs to go for my gal to turn 4yo. i also heard from a few other mums that that's when they start to get stronger. cant wait for that to happen. u mentioned that kids who take strong med prescribed by PDs are then immuned to normal type of med, do u mean that the normal type of med wont work on them since they're so used to strong med?

stylo... err, no leh. my ger is not mobile. can sit by herself for a while bt nid to watch her.

dolphin... maybe u lucky lah, everytime u go they juz delivered the chix lor. they keep warm w the lights also. but maybe also cos i always tabao, and when cold, the skin all rubbery one, so not so nice.

janice...i interested in ergo leh. cos nw i sling my ah fat, killing my shoulder. heard many gd reviews abt ergo. wonder if can take 18kg. u quit your job? boss too terok ya? part time jobs quite hard to find leh. i tried 2 years ago. oni very low pay lor...

re kids meds - its true tat pte PDs giv stronger meds. my ger used to see a normal PD for flu and such, and they med they give is much stronger than wat kk gives us. kk meds can even buy off the shelf. "lucky" for me, the strong meds din work for ger so she's been on off the shelf meds for normal cough/flu. and they also always neb her once got phlegm. in kk, they oni use puff.

hey joanne... thanx for the sanitiser! sorry to hv confused your hubby abt the meet-up location!

hey dor... thanx for helping me collect! sorry made u go bac again. hehe...

hey mummytang... sorrie to hear abt your dad. hope he recovers soon.

actually when do we start looking for high chairs??
Or just get strollers 1st? I also dunno when to get what, just a list of things to get.

Im so disorganize...

ivy,
stroller for infant is not advisable unless it is able to decline into 2-3 angle especailly 180degree incase your bb sleep when u r out. advisable to get pram for a start, i got for my gal combi brand and she had been using since born till recently she changed to stroller as she cant fit into the pram anymore hee!
u can start using highchair when she's able to sit-up, however some super duper high chair (comes wif safety belt) do cater for young infant. Dun forget to get car seat as well.

Hong Wen school just shifted not long to Towner Road, used to be at Bugis there, near the ICA bldg, rem?

Hong wen as far as I know, is a SAP sch. That's all that I know leh. Coz in my district under Kallang, there are only 3 schs - Hong WEn, Farrer Park and Bendemeer.

Since I cant get into CHIJ TPY, then gotta think of alternative.

Ivy, as for high chair, for me, I'm not particular abt it. In fact my girl refused to sit high chair. I got the ikea one. And I dont feel safe leaving her in the chair while I go kitchen to grab food as she can stand up herself.

So, my kids sit in the walker for meals. And after they outgrow, they are trained to sit on their children's chair.

Dolphingal has this low chair very good! Ask her the brand...

Are and Dor, I'm so sorry abt the mixed up of location. I duno why he would think TPY mothers would meet at his workplace...haiz..Still dare to say you all not there yet. Scolded him upside dwn.

My boss is still looking for part timers leh.
Working hrs
Tues 3-5
Thurs 3-5, 7-9
Sat 9-1pm

Just do marking only. Must be fast and accurate, cannot take own sweet time to mark.
BUt pay is only $5/hr. There's a straight bus from TPY, 139 to the busstop infront.

Location is at the whampoa mkt.

dor, so ur combi brand pram is can become stroller, like a combination one?

Ryes, dor.. and all mommy hehe gonna ask a stupid question:

when do babies start to be able to control their neck?
when do they usually can sit up?

HI Dor...thx for the info le..but ho,race wo..my bb only 4 months+...so mayb not suitable lo...
I wan those competation,like calender bb..etc...hehe...thx ya~!:p

Finally I POPPED!
Now I'm still at TCM, will be discharging tmr.
Baby boy is healthy and strong (his weight is 3.55kgs, 52cm)
Thank God my milk flow starts on 2nd day!

This 2nd delivery was pretty smooth.
Waterbag burst on 2 Aug 8.30pm while I was having eating at TPY Central (Thank God I prepared maternity pads in the car, and was wearing black pants).
Admitted to hospital at 10pm and by 1.50am (3 Aug) baby was out!
Can't wait to go home tmr, staying @ hospital is so difficult to pass time.

Ryes,
dun reprimand ur hb hee! he's also very apologetic when he saw me, guess he's too busy meeting the deadlines till he'd mistaken the mtg plc.

ivy,
the combi i bout was a pram, i bout the McLaren stroller 2-3mths ago during an offer.
u may chk out this website www.babycenter.com that updates your bby development once u reg as member (free) it’s very informative.

newmummy08,
if am not wrong the race @ downtown east does cater for infant (crawling competion perhaps) if u r interested can chk out their website again.

Precious,
wow! he's a big boy neh! glad that ur delivery is smooth sailing. wat's Sha reaction when she 1st met her little bro? Lucky u gotta a laptop wif u to pass time.

Hi Janice,
I wanted my girl to join Liz also too, but clashed with my girl's going to school time, so now my girl is not attending any school. She was in Toa Payoh Meth but I pulled her out after 2nd term as I found that the envt not so conducive and the teachers, IMO , not that professional. So kept her home.
I find it difficult to get a good kindergarten in Toa Payoh. The next better one , would be Marymount Kindy. For me, I signed my girl up for Paya Lebar Covenant Kindy, becoz my elder girl was there previously.

Mummies, can I check with you all, what is a good optical shop for getting glasses for kids?

mummies...where can i get the Seahorse mattress that you were discussing about? the 50% discount still on?

Wow, the thread is moving very fast. No time to catch up at all.

Precious, congrats!

Kin, Liz has 2 class slots, one at 830 and the other at 10-30. see which timing is better for you. Saw a few kids wearing shichida kindergarten uniform. Maybe you can try it. Seems that they also do their method during the class, so can save on the method class.

Janice, how are your boys today?

congrats, precious!! muz show us pics soon!

hey ryes... dun scold hubby lah. nid to mt strangers, mummies somemore is not wat any guy can do. my hubby also ga-bra a few times. and they can nvr understand how we can deal w/o even knowing names! ha!

the kumon job muz work on all those days? or any session can? can bring hm to mark? i ever applied before leh, for the lor 4, but no reply.

hey be@ns... i oni know there is one shop at compasspoint. not sure where else hv. they always do ads, if i see i will let u noe.

precious,
congrats. you're so blessed to have such a short labour despite the size of your boy.

i went for my very 1st pedicure today with my sis, her treat. my feet are so clean and my toes so pretty! i'm no longer a pedicure virgin liao! hahahaha! maybe tomorrow i'll lose my manicure virgin.....all becos of my cousin's wedding this sunday.

char
Med - yes, seems it is so... cos they get so used to the more exp med, if they take the normal one, no use...

U didn't do mani/pedi on ur wedding day???

dor
I am waiting to purchase the nike watch which wl track my distance and timing...
Managed to do 45 mins just now...

janice
PD at Robertson Walk, only problem is she works half days aftn, so difficult for me to bring, usu my mil brings them...
Tkfully as they grow older, the visits are not so frequent.

I find GPs (at least those I hv seen) are not so detailed, if a kid coughs, they just give cough med. They never check deeper, unlike my PD, she can tell it's throat infection or chest infection...

Mother (or mil) and maid, yah impt that they get along, otherwise you get more stress... already looking after kids is stressful, don't need more.
My maid is a good maid, so far I hv no problem w/ her.

are
Then how you bring her about? She sits in stroller?

ivy
Yah, depends .. but nowadays I find bbs v advanced leh, their necks macham v strong ... hehe...

janice/babe
HOw I handle three kids - I hv 3 Ms' help loh.. mother, mil, maid... yes logistical arrangement but it has sorta settled itself over the months and years and everyone is kinda coordinated...hehe
And since the kids go to school in the mornings for almost half a day, the adults hv some breathing space.. but of crse tkful that I hv help..

be@ns, the 50% still on, i just went.. drove all the way to compasspoint lolz. My hubby lah, say biggest stall, but i think all the other branch same same, as long as u know what you need. I tot can take back myself, end up the delivery is compulsory and must pay $29.50, the sofa bed i got is the $159.90. The sales girl say the 50% not confirm when end.

PAM, not looking for pram liao, i think my sis want to give me hers.

stylobb,
med: ic ic.

GP: that's the reason why i'm so hesitant to bring my gal to GP cos her condition can get quite serious if dun treat it asap. hence can't get to save $$ on this.

mani/pedi: nope, i didn't have that done in salons b4 my wedding. b4 wedding i just painted my own nails and my sis gave me a simple foot treatment at home. to me, i dun believe in spending $$ on mani/pedi even when i had spending power while i was working. felt that those are things that i can do by myself so why pay. instead i'd treat myself to treatments i can't really do by myself like facials and massages. now as a sahm on a budget all the more i wont step foot in a salon to do mani/pedi. it's only today where my sis offered to treat me and wanted my company that i went.

Hi Eunice .. the boys are perfectly fine today. They really surprised me as I will except some whinings from them. But surprisingly, they just went in to wash their hands and started doing their work. Din even bother to look at me!
Today teacher Liz is sick.. and without her, I think the kids are not doing anything beside playing the toys. Both assistant teachers don't seem experienced, and they did not even bother to take the kids temp.

Hey stylobb .. y din you considering sending the kids to a childcare? Like mine .. if i'm not around .. the kids will be playing and watching TV for the whole day. My mum couldn't control them. I'm quite worried esp my girl will be in P1 next yr. On the other hand .. send all 3 to daycare can really cost a bomb.

Hey Precious .. congrats!! Your boy is big

Help!can anyone advise where to get look alike clothings?for family.. or for father and son.. kind?tks!need it quite urgent.. tks.. pls advise..

<font color="ff0000">Dor</font>
There is a computer in the ward I was staying.
Sha was so excited to see him, treats him like a toy baby, each time when he makes any noises, she gets so anxious about him, then keep asking me if he is hungry, what happens to him... etc

<font color="ff0000">Ivy</font>
1st delivery was very long. Water bag burst at home, 730am. My girl arrived at 738pm. Contractions started at 1pm.

<font color="ff0000">beans</font>
There is one seahorse at PS.

<font color="ff0000">Char</font>
Have fun! I always like to go pedicure and manicure, another way to relax myself.
Now getting addicted to hair wash with head &amp; shoulder massage too.
Btw, do let me know if you also need maternity clothes, thanks.

<font color="ff0000">dolphingal</font>
You can go and customise the T-shirt at TPY Central. Each is $15 (behind TPY HDB McDonald)
There are some designs you can get from here, to give you an idea.
http://item.taobao.com/auction/item_detail-0db2-f473f6c8753c729cf65e1284aad52f9b.jhtml?cm_cat=0&amp;pm1=2
http://shop35605144.taobao.com/shop/xshop/wui_page-cat-35605144-38905126-vNLNpdewXMfX19PXsA==.htm?checkedRange=true
http://item.taobao.com/auction/item_detail-0db1-c22bd9f0f1482abad792f77a21cdda25.jhtml?cm_cat=0
Giordano, also have family tee - The Happy Face design.

Precious,
wow so cool din noe nowadays ward comes wif PC too. gald to know that she's excited abt her little bro, so sweet.

Dolphingal,
Pre printed Family Ts u can try AMK Hub think is 3rd lvl where they sell bb stuff, there's 1 particular shop selling tat quite easy to locate.

ivy, for the foldable mattress, its small enuf to fit into a car rite? the 50% applies to all their mattresses &amp; beds?

char
Ped/Manicure - oh, hehe... for my case, I don't go after my wedding... no time and cudn't be bothered...

Your check-up wl be mid-Aug, right?

janice
CC - never crossed my mind leh.
TV - already laid down the boundary -- no tv. They can watch a bit. Told 3 M's upfront, and so far they don't let them watch.
Anyway not so much time left, after school, the gals napped, wake up, do some work like colouring, writing of letters, pasting, play, dinner, etc.
Boy at my mother's, usu he has work to finish, every week mil tutors him.
No tv for them at my place except Wed/Fri evenings, he can watch tv or play computer games or shows on the computer.

dolphingal
Not sure if you are a christian, here is one site.
http://www.shinemovement.com/families

precious
Think gals are generally more caring...