TOA PAYOH mummies

its so difficult becoming a human. im a sahm but every now and then, i yearn to go out and work. my life very dull, i dun go out with frens, always out with hubby and kids. but i am in a dilemma cos i dun want to leave my kids with anyone else like my mum, nor childcare nor maid.
i will keep thinking about what they are doing when they are not in front of me. but when im with them, i always think if i work, probably i will treasure them more. something like absence makes the heart grow fonder.
anyway my hubby work shifts and is home most of the time. so we used to always go out to eat and walk around.
but like the saying goes, "we always think the grass is greener on the other side". but nowadays i really feel no joy in looking after them. dread cos need to sleep early cos need to wake up early next morning, etc..

precious

you know TPY safra has this kids adventure similar to fidgets too leh. is $4 per child.

I wont be joining, feel so under the weather..

nur,
i sometimes have the same kind of feelings especially during the times when my gal drives me nuts. but all in all, altho i must admit that there isn't any life as sahm, i'd still rather be a sahm than work. i'd rather face the nonsense from my gal than face nasty office politics. u have to learn to let go of your kids when u're not taking care of them. like me, i love my gal but sometimes i go out and meet frens on certain friday nites and i can't wait to go out. and becos i stay at my parents' plc on some friday nites during the weekend, i just let my mum take care of my gal and happily go out. i need my life and most importantly, my sanity.

nur, sometimes u have to let go.. it's difficult but once u have taken the first step to let go, u'll find it's not that bad.. they'll still be fine for a couple of hrs w/o u.. take time out to let urself unwind..

janice, haiz.. i was getting confused with all these talk abt ascension.. haha.. also blur liao abt everybody's age.. so does that mean ur boys will be in cambridge for half year oni since u wan them in ascension next year? are they twins? pardon me if these questions have been asked before.. haha..
normally i'll spend 1st 3 days with the child in the new ccc then close 2 eyes whenever they cry after that..

Hi Ryes,
I ordered the kumon books fr xiaochuan also, wld u like me to collect yours for u. (Saw fr bp thread that it's quite inconvenient for u to collect rite?)

pooh, any branch of pat's sch hse..
no i'm relocating to jakarta. there's a pat's near my house. i just wanna koe the std here.. as a comparison..

Hi Miim,
Pat's school house is a great school. If I'm not wrong, they emphasize on learn thru play and children from there are very strong in their language. Visted once in the branch of Halifax, the teachers are great.

Hi Nur, I understand how you feel .. I'm going thru that for 3 years already, alone with 3 kids since hubby outstation in other country. Take it easy .. perhaps you might want to put your kids in the half day childcare so you will have some time by yourself ? Recently just get back to work for part time after 5 yrs of break. Find it so hard to adjust, now thinking of it, started to miss the life of SAHM haha ...

<font color="ff6000">JTS</font>
Lucky Plaza bookshop Level 1 is selling Brand New Little Miss Series, 12 titles @ $27.50
They also sell 2nd hand books for children n adults.

hidayah
Last time b4 I got a helper, I asked my hb/parents/ils to look after my daughter when I needed to go out.
Now with a helper, it is much easier, but of course she is not allowed to turn on the TV programs nor gives her any snacks wo my permission, and she has to leave the housechores aside as I don't want her to worry about the housechores when she also have to look after my daughter when I am not around.
Hence I always plan when she is done with cooking etc.
Must try to let go and also spend more time with your husband, and also for yourself.
I actually manage to spend more time with my husband after having a helper then to get busy with daily housechores like tidying/cleaning/cooking.
When you return back to workforce, you have to face your boss, meet your sales target n deadlines, work stress and frustration and etc.
And you do get worried when your kid is sick, hence cannot focus much on your work too.
There is no perfect decision, most important you must be happy.
"Be contented, and don't focus on what you don't have outside the box yet"

Hello....am back on track and I'm officially in TPY. Moving house is really not easy... STill note quite cleared my stuff at my in laws place. Tonight seems rather warm.

Yes, if there's gathering let me know..keen to go..

Hidayah, I'm like you too. Having that kind of feelings while at work but now starting SAHM, feel the other way. Still trying to learn from those SAHM moms here.

Precious, must agree couple time is impt and probably one area that I need to look into too. AFter 2 kids and no helper, life is quite madness when I was working though I get help from parents and in laws. Wow you are MMI trained? no wonder you are so good at planning and doing activities with your gal.

Char, how do you keep in touch with your frens? Sometimes I find pp are so busy at work..

Ryes, where is that place like fidgets in tpy? Wanna bring my kids..

thanks so much for all your input. really appreciate them. i am seldom happy. difficult for me to be happy.
"Be contented, and don't focus on what you don't have outside the box yet"
ya i do think too much..

i got a friend looking to rent a house in toa payoh. anyone knows anyone renting their place, let me know. can sms me at 96550645. thanks.

Hi babe,

you go to safra TPY, then go to the kinderland there. it is just opposite to kinderland entrance nia.

you can take a look before you decide. think is open to the public from 1 to 6pm. I have yet to bring my kids there, but peep from outside the glass door when at kinderland to preview.

hey TPY mummies...

sorrie to interrupt. anyone keen to get $500 ntuc vouchers at 6% discount? collect from blk 100 or 146.

Ryes
Today Straits' Time (30 May) advertised the $99 Day Tripper stroller.

Hidayah
Children grow up very fast, once we miss their 1st 5-6yrs, there would never been another 2nd chance. Enjoy while you can as a SAHM!

Hi Miin

Use to work for Pat's as a music teacher. Must say that the teachers they employ are competent in the area they're called to teach. Curriculum is well planned...BUT, whether it's really worth the price you have to pay...to me, I don't think so...That's my point of view. And whether the one JKT will be of the same standard, I'm not sure.

Anyway mummies, all's well here. Sunny, glorious sunshine! But still cooling. Hee hee! We've been feeding plenty of ducks and swans. Kids enjoy it here very much, close to nature. So good to have a back-garden and there are many birds who visit. Kids love it very much.

As for jet-lag, I've managed to adjust my son's body clock! Yipee! But my daughter is still waking up at 5am... Boo-hoo-hoo! She's sleeping in my parents' room so will transfer up to my room tonight and hopefully can adjust by end of the week.

JTS
INTERESTING EVENTS @ PARKWAY

<font color="ff0000">DISNEY HOOPLA WORKSHOPS
Entertain and Challenge Little Minds with Disney Hoopla Workshops! It’s educational fun for kids!
Date : 29 May – 28 June (No workshops on Monday)
Venue : Basement Atrium

There are four thematic workshops – Handy Mandy, Little Einstein, Mickey Mouse Clubhouse &amp; My Friends Tigger &amp; Pooh. Plus, activity areas for colouring activities &amp; storytelling sessions. Be sure also to bring along your cameras for some photo opportunities!</font>

<font color="0000ff">FUNLAND
For the young and the young at heart, more entertainment value awaits at Uncle Ringo Funland. There are game stalls and an inflatable for endless fun! Simply spend $30* for a free game ticket or free play!
Date : 29 May – 28 June (Subject to weather conditions)
Venue : Outdoor Recreation Area (Near Ya Kun)
*Terms &amp; conditions apply</font>

http://www.parkwayparade.com.sg/whatsondetails.aspx?urlkey=wo_events&amp;whatsonid=21065

Any good suggestions on birthday cakes. Looking for those cute 3D cakes for my boys 2yo bday..
Any gd place to celebrate bday?

I'm also staying at TPY.
Is there anymore feedback on the TPY Methodist Church kindy?

I'm thinking of enrolling my gal with their K1.

babe,
i dun meet up with frens very frequently,perhaps meet about once a mth, like that i happy loh. if all free then twice a mth whc is a bonus. haha! long time didn't meet up with frens.

hi cleo,
welcome to the thread. sorry no feedback on that sch.

Hi Char,

Thanks for your reply.

Saw the posting by white_lady about the TPY Methodist Church Kindy..hope to have more feedback.

Miin

Will let you know whether the show is good end of this week if I manage to bring my kid down. As for Pat's schoolhouse, apparently, I heard some negative feedback. As the emphasis is learn through play, there is a drawback that some kids may not be able to acquire the necessary skills to be ready for the primary school. Also, apparently, the food quality is bad. Hence, the fees paid may not be worth it afterall.

Precious, how much did you pay for the DVD on "shi wan ge wei she me". I noticed that the popular fair at Expo is selling the full set at about S$65.

Mommies
I recall someone is trying to sell 2packs of xl NTUC diapers. Is it still available? Just realised my stock is running low....

Btw, there is this event 'kidzacademy' to be held at Suntec coming weekend.

OH MY GOD PRECIOUS!!!

Where did you see that? I have the 30th May straits times, but I dont see it!!!!!!

offer till when>?>>

I saw the advert liao! Hb and myself dun read that section of the paper dude and I only had time to read it now, at 1.15am, 1st June.

I'm gg to call up first thing in the morning and enquire liao! Hurray! 爱死你了 precious..

Gal.doplphin/Eunice
The DVDs can be purchased at Popular.

Ryes
U are most welcome!
Yes, better call and reserve b4 making a wasted trip. Happy Shopping!

Wah kao..u still up ah?

yeah man, I thinking of cheonging dwn tomorrow, but then hb starting closing and I doubt he is keen.

I got a feeling it is only available at the united kids at tampines...

and although they state till 28th June, duno by this weekend still got stock not...

Dolphin gal, I'm hoping to go on 5th June, to actually see if there is any offer on maclaren daytripper, but thanks to precious, I'm getting from Toms and stefanie.

BUt I'm still quite keen to go motherhood expo lah, though not a priority anymore. I'l be there on 6th June too for the barney show, maybe then will pop by to walk 1 round to see if got anything bo.

char, most prob for 'good' until there's a change in plans,

hidayah, i just rented out my flat in tpy.. shld be avail again in dec.. ;)

thanks eunice. i'm the one selling ntuc diapers but sorry, it's taken.

thanks for the feedback abt pat's. i din chk the fees in sg.. roughly the fees in jkt is equivalent to sgd 550 per month. the only setback is they dun offer bhs indonesia. after all if we stay in jkt, my son needs to pick up the language too.

janice, u r alone with 3 kids n no helper? frankly with 2 kids, stimes i have headache too cos both are very sticky to me and always glue to me. i cant do much for long period of time.

cleo, quite a few mummies feedback was too positive abt that kindy.

last weekend i just shifted back to my mum plc. have to handover the flat to my tenant.. so tiring to pack and unpack within a span of 3 days.. worse thing is i'm adding things to my mum's overcrowding place.. haha.. looks like a refugee camp.. luckily managed to squeeze everything in every possible space.

but my son keeps telling me 'i wanna go home' n putting on a sad face.. really ke lian.. until i have to bribe him with a new Thomas character train.. hehehe

JTS

PUrchase amount of $50 at suntec city and get a free precious moment umbrella.

Dont know when the offer is ending, just got mine yesterday.

jfoo, how long will you be in uk? long term shift ah?

Precious, how you bring ur gal to all these fairs? The taka ones look good..

Anyone going for any kiddi shows this hols? Where to look for info for kids stuff?

thinking of sending my daughter to play group next yr when she is close to 3yr old. anyone know of a good playgroup close to central?

right now we are still thinking of Apple Tree lor 4 but got people say they change teacher and not very good.

btw, there's a ccc in Lor 1 community centre.. it's called Young Talents. ANyone interested, can check it out.

pooh, i think the fees in sg are around there.
yes i'm going back to teach in jkt.. pri school.. :D

Where to buy those Chinese dictionary by the Numbers of Strokes? For books wo HYPY and we need to figure out how to pronounce.

Babe
Now that my tummy is getting bigger, so most of the time I'm taking cabs.

ello gals, anyone got good confinement lady that you have use personally that is good?? please recommend to me, pm me. thanks.

precious

remember that we are due about the same time.... how have you been?
oh yah. got link to that day tripper advert? hehe i am curious! coz have been looking at it but hubby keep saying no... coz we got like 3 prams at home already...

I'm a happy girl today!

Cheong dwn to tiong bahru plaza and finally got my hands on the daytripper liao. Red all sold out, so I'm getting orange, which also the colour I wanted too. So happy abt it.

But har, found that the straps were alittle weird about how they went round the little hook..itchy hand went to untangle it and had problem fixing it back..damn.

elijah mum, u got 3 pram liao leh! still want to buy? cant rem whose pram was stolen, wanna suggest u to get this $99 pram nia. handy too.

ivy, pm u liao. Anyone need CL? Can recommend mine..

hey toa payoh mummies... i'm staying in lor 1. anyone keen to sell/exchange mags? i'm looking for reader's digest, june issue onwards.

miin,
oh your poor rasheed. but i'm sure he'll adapt to his new home in a week or 2.
hope everything works out for you all in JKT. but dun go missing from this thread ya?

rclc,
appletree is only a 1yr programme and when its time to send your gal to nursery the following yr she'll have to adapt to another environment. if your gal is 2007 baby then perhaps you may wanna consider enrolling her for pre-nursery at PCF where she can continue up to K2. my gal turns 3 nxt yr and i just registered her for pre-N at PCF blk 157. btw, where do you live?

hey precious

it is 4.8kg..for the first time i can push the handle with 1 hand, and sms with the other fuss free!!! and is so light, I can hold on to the stroller on the escalator, no need hb's help anymore..so happy

anyone has recommendations for pedicure in tpy?
the gem nails shop good?