TOA PAYOH mummies

Hey mummies with kids sending to acension .. it will be a good idea to arrange for car pool
My boys are in the 11.30class ... prob we can make some arrangements.

I'm still deciding if I should send them to childcare or to ascension.

Hi janice

Yeah, I'm in for car pooling too, but I'm staying at whampoa area, not TPY. It is just 1 busstop away from my place to ascension busstop, but is a long walk to the busstop from my place.

My girl is also in the afternoon session as ur boys.

I just enrolled my gal for the holiday program (2days, 9-12pm English Workshop) at Teddy Playhouse at Blk 18 Lor 7.
They also have enrichment program for Phonics, every Mon and Thur.
Can call 97899261 for further enquiries.

hi mummies ,

for acscension , i think my boy also in the 11.30 session ... i forgot liao ... he is born in 06 one , so next year is in N2 , any one same ? That day i check abt the school bus , they told me for next year rate not sure yet , but for now is 1 way $90 , 2 way $100 ... i find them ex leh .... haha... its like another $1200 per year leh

Hi babyship, yup, I'm a SAHM. Teach music (piano, flute) from home on some days.

Anyway, mummies, I've safely arrived in UK. Weather's been pretty ok, a bit gloomy but it's cooling. Don't have to keep looking for a fan to stand under! Haha! Kids are having jet lag, no doubt, woke up at 5am this morning. Yesterday afternoon went to take a "nap" that could have gone on forever if I didn't wake them up! But good that they're enjoying my parents' company. My son's happy to be around them though he will immediately look for me if I leave the room...

If it's any assurance, my friend, who's a child education specialist in pre-school education with MOE says that Ascention is one of the most all-rounded Kindy in S'pore.

Hi Ryes, thanks for the info on the Little Big Club thing. Looks interesting, probably will bring my son there if the tix is not sold out yet....

Hi Nur, my son is 2007 baby. Not attending school. But looking around for playgroup cos he has just turned 2. As I am not a very good mommy, I don't realy know how to occupy him so I think I better bring him to some playgroup to learn something...

I have also registered my kid at Ascension next year for the 8am slot.... Still thinking about it cos after reviewing myself as a SAHM for a year I think I probably not doing that good.. already itching to go back to work. If that's the case, I would have to start looking around for a child care centre too. Was thinking of mindchamps cos the program looks interesting. Does anyone have any feedback on Mindchamps?

wow j_foo ... envy you leh.

Hi Eunice, long time din hear from you ... doing ok? I'm not a good mummy too, too occupy with chasing after the boys and not doing any interesting things with them. I'm considering putting them in the childcare too since I'm working part time in the morning. N for next yr, still thinking if I should put them in Ascension or childcare.

Hi white_lady, school bus so expensive now. I think for my case, taking taxi may be even cheaper for 2. Perhaps we can work something out on car pooling to save cost

janice ,

car pool not bad , but got it problem too , cos if 1 day , the kids not feeling well , no go school , then cant car pool like , haha ... i think the school bus over for ascension is quite ex ...

j foo ,

you mean ur friend say ascension is good ?

Hee hee, white lady, u meant 1130am right, not pm...

white lady - N2 - 1130am
ryes - N1 - 1130am
dor - N1 - 8am (post on her behalf)

Hey eunice, didnt know that you had enrolled ur child at ascension too! So in fact, quite a few mummies enrol their child at ascension.

I was telling hb just now abt having car pooling. he then threw few questions :
1. bb car seat how? Told him no need lor if got the parent around.
2. Max can sit say 3 adult + 3 kids nia at the back.
3. Plus my own girl and my son how? Sit where.
4. And like what white lady said, if one of us decides not to send our child to ascension anymore, then how.

I'm also not keen to let my girl sit sch bus, till at least K1, or K2. But I dun think I have the energy to walk under the noon sun to the busstop. I'l be soak in sweat by then. Hb also say take taxi might even be cheaper.

Not forgetting har, you have to pay the sch bus fee during the sch holidays hor. (june, nov/dec)

do you think is possible to work smthing out among us? or like even having a taxi uncle to pick us all up at the same timing everyday?

j_foo
Previously (info was 1yr ago), had also heard that PCF at TPY East have good teachers, good reputation from a friend who knows someone working in MOE.
And also mentioned the prices at PCF at TPY East is more expensive as compared to other HDB estates.
One mummy staying at Redhill, she just have to pay $78 per mth for 3hrs pre-nursery, but non air-con and ratio is 1:8.

White_Lady/Ryes/Janice
Can understand how you feel. I faced the same difficulty when my girl was at Bishan Montessori especially when we left home late, during rainy days, and there was no cab at all. And when I was ill, it meant she cannot attend sch etc.
For sch transport, I was not comfortable too, especially they are still so young, maybe when they are much older like K1.

janice and whitelady, me too registered at ascension. Yupz still thinking about it coz not sure if the programme is that good coz realise they don't really have enrichment programmes and don't give their breakdown cost in black and white.

I'm keen on car pool if confirm going. N2 - 8am

jfoo, who is your friend? My friend who is working there too tell me the same thing that ascension is one of the more established one around.

eunice and janice, me too like both of you thinking of going back work though I just started staying home coz I dun seem to know what I should do with the kids. So deliberating between childcare and kindergarten. Wonder if I should give myself more chance to try out SAHM coz I'm without helper with 2 kids. Do let me know if you guys have any news of good ones around. I went to have a look at young talent at tpy west cc but was totally disappointed coz very cram.

Precious, thanks for the ideas. Do you do alot with your gal everyday? Btw, are you a teacher? coz the mention of lesson plans which teachers are best at! Heehee...

ryes ,

haha , yes , is am , not PM , haha .... car pooling is also not very good idea ... if the driving mummy child fall sick , then the other have to go themselve liao ... haha

Precious ,

Thinking of letting my boy go PCF east , but find them too short leh , only 2hr for N2 , like wont learn much lor ...

Babe ,

ur also going to ascension ah ... so now got 4 kids going there liao

But i still not sure mine going anot ...

Have short list

- Ascension ( abit far leh ... $720 for 10 weeks )
-Toa Payoh East PCF ( only 2 hr , find abit short , abt $120 per month )
- Toa Payoh Church ( review like not very good )
- Jessin ( $150 per month , plus school bus is $200 , but timming too early )

Hi Ryes, I got my kid registered at Ascension too cos a lot of my friends recommended that kindergarten. Hv registered my son for N2 at 8am.

Hi Janice, very envious leh that you are working part-time. I think this is ideal to be able to work part time and look after kid. This will give us some breathing space and break from kids. I have been looking for part time job but the door is shut tightly. Waiting for the open window... I lost your contact as my phone is stolen whilst moving house. Sms me your number again. Thx

Hi Babe, maybe give yourself a year to try it out. You never know, you may enjoy it after the year has passed. But in between, there needs to be a lot of patience (which I am lacking in) and tons of love to keep on going. So it's good to have support from friends and family

Well, we could meet one of these days and bring our kids out for fun say at Botanic Gardens....

hot topic of the day!H1N1 in spore.
parents do not have to be alarm.. it's just a matter of time..just exercise hygiene precaution as per normal. =)

so the list is :
white lady - N2 - 1130am
ryes - N1 - 1130am
Eunice - N2 - 8am
babe - N2 - 8am

did I miss out anyone else ah?

I really do wish this car pooling will work leh. But then har, just to ask, will you come along with ur child, or let ur child go along with another tpy mummy?

I'm sick..haiz...and still have to look after 2 terrible kids.

<font color="ff6000">JTS</font>
SO happy to be able to find Disney MickeyMouse Clubhouse DVD, $8.90 per DVD at City Plaza.
Per DVD has about 4-5 episode, depending which volume. Total there are 6 volumes. I bought one to try it out, and glad that it is the one I'm been looking.

Babe
No, I'm not a teacher. Couples of years ago, took Montessori courses in MMI.

White_Lady
Most important, work within your budget, timing and convenience. Since you are also a SAHM, you have the benefits of bringing him for outdoor activities (like sandplay, waterplay) and indoor playgym (like Figdets) after he attends 2-3hrs in school. When they go to Primary levels, they would have to spend more time in school then.

Eunice
Oh ya, we can organise to go Jacob's Children Garden at Bot Gardens.

<font size="+2">FOR 3yrs n above workshops</font>

<font color="0000ff">Mid-year Party (0706)

An excuse to throw a party is a good one...
Come join us at our mid-year bash and have a ball!

Date : 7 June (Sunday)
Opening Time : 11:00am to 1:00pm (3 &amp; above)
Duration : Approximately 2 hours
Venue : Takashimaya Square (Basement 2)
Workshop Fee : $15.00 (FREE Goodie Bag)</font>

<font color="ff0000">Paint Your Ow Masterpiece (1306)

Tap your artistic talent and take home a masterpiece worth framing!

Date : 13 June (Saturday)
Opening Time : 2:00pm to 4:30pm (3 &amp; Above)
Duration : Approximately 1 hour
Venue : Little Ones Room
Workshop Fee : $7.00 (Materials Provided)</font>

<font color="119911">Mandela - Artz and Craft (2706)

Come and try hand at the art of stenciling. It's simply super!

Date : 27 June (Saturday)
Workshop Fee : FREE (Materials Provided)</font>

<font color="aa00aa">Beados (2806)

Make fabulous beaded pictures with no heat, no glue and no mess. All you need is a Beados kit, a little water and some imagination!

Date : 28 June (Sunday)
Workshop Fee : FREE (Materials Provided)</font>

<font size="+2">Have to sign up as club member 1st, $16.05 for 2yrs</font>
http://www.takashimaya-sin.com/littleones/about.asp

Thanks Precious, look interesting .. but the workshops are mostly for 3 and above?

Botanic garden is a nice place for kids, do include me if you are going

Hi Ryes, for Ascension kiddy, I'm in the 11.30 batch. I've 2 boys here.

Precious ,

I m not SAHM liao =) start working like 2 months ago =) but the work place is near my house , and i can fetch my son off school during my lunch time ...

updated :
white lady - N2 - 1130am
ryes - N1 - 1130am
janice - N1 - 1130am
Eunice - N2 - 8am
babe - N2 - 8am

ryes,
hope u get well soon. probably the bad weather, my gal is also sick and my throat is starting to feel not right.

congrats white_lady..it's so nice to have a job near to home.. u can save on transport and food if u can make it home to eat.. haha. .my office is in tampines.. travel to/fro takes 1.5 hrs le..

precious, i'm thinking of the party bash or the stencils one. but i need to get the membership first? if so, then i'm not going. not worth it for me.

janice,
u r putting both boys in 2 different places ar?? how will send both to school? quite siong for u..

i forgot my son's ccc has a field trip to botanical gardens today.. haha.. so forgetful recently.. haha

btw, fans of Thomas..
30 may to 7 jun, there's THomas &amp; Friends meet n greet show at Marina Square, centre atrium level 2
TUe to Thu, 1pm &amp; 7pm
Fri to Sun, 1pm, 4pm &amp; 7pm.
no show on Monday..

considering to bring my son there for the evening show or sat 1pm.. anyone else interested?

hi all mummies ,

my job is great ... my boss are good people , haha ... and its only a 5 days jobs , lunch hour still can see my son and play with him for like half hour , not bad lor , haha

Hi Miin,

Not in 2 places lah .. can die leh haha ... Actually this year wanted to put them in CCC as I'm working in the morning and couldn't find any play group to occupy them in the morning. Now they walk around the house and fight in the whole morning till I'm home at 3.

Currently still thinking of Ascension for next year. Main concern is the transport issue. Kind of worry if they are ready for school bus at 30 months.

precious,
thnx, am downing lots of water. my gal too. i would like to go but gotta give it a miss since my gal is not well.

white lady,
lucky u, get to work near your plc.

i was thinking if wanna work then i would like to get a part time job, hopefully work during the day and put my gal at half day cc then pick her up after work.

Hi Janice
Haha, I got it wrong then. My hubby did the registration so I didn't really catch whether it's N1 or N2. So my kid should be in N1 then.

Hi Ryes, if the car pooling works, I will probably go with along with my kid.

Precious, got to miss out the trip to Fidgets tomorrow. Yes, it's a good idea to go to the Jacob Ballas garden.

White Lady, congrats! It's good to find a job near home. Save time and transport and can go back home to check on kids.

Hi Miin, my son is a fan of Thomas. Probably will bring him down for the afternoon slot during the weekday. It would be less crowded....