TOA PAYOH mummies

White_Lady,
Who's looking after your son while u r working? Maybe can arrange your caregiver to fetch him to school in the morning. But if it is too much hassel, in long run it is better to look for somewhere nearby your plc which is walking distance.

Dor ,

My mum is looking after for me ... ya , in long run , walking distance is good ... but near my mum , only have blk 205 PCF ... hai ~~~

thanks for aharing about the types herbs to give to the child. I have registered my girl at blk 45 PCF for nursery next year, its noon class 1 to 3pm, actually i prefer morning class but they only have 1 class. They charge $160 per month.

Precious, think i saw you at tpy central, with your girl and helper. wow, you still look slim even with your pregnancy and your face is glowing.. must have eaten lots of good food, tonics and birdnest..

hi Sabrina ,

Blk 45 PCF is $160 ? the one at Blk 205 is $101 ...

Have u visit the Blk 45 PCF ? Is it clean ? Cos i went to the 205 one , dont look clean to me =)

Oh ya , are you talking abt their Nursary 1 class ? ur child is born in 07 ah ? cos i know their nursery class is $160 =)

HI Miin

sorry, I cant wait for u.
I just back from TPY and have bought the accuvue moist liao. If only I read this thread this morning, but didnt have time. They are offering $188 for 4 boxes of accuvue moist. I didnt get 4 boxes, coz I duno if I will wear it so often, so in the end, I just got the GSS offer of $97 for 2 boxes.

Otherwise, we could have shared the 4 boxes.

But the lady told me the normal accuvue dailies is selling at $40/box, offer is buy 5 get 1 free. Normal price for moist 2 boxes is $110.

White Lady: yes I went down there last Sat for N1 registration. Ya my girl born in Jan07. I find it clean and spacious. actually I register there mainly because its nearby my house. I heard from Precious that the school is quite good, her girl is enrolled in the Nursery too. and their Mandarin standard is good.

its such a headache even to find a kindy. actually to me, enrol the kid there already then know that the teacher is good or not. talk to principal and teacher also cant satisfy us. cos i have encountered principal very friendly, knows many things but the teacher no good. but teacher human being also la, sure got good and bad la. many good in this area but not gd in another area. and even we go open house and talk to teachers, sometimes a nursery class can have two or three teachers. but again i say, human being all got their strength and weaknesses lor.
ascension is a reputable school. but there are parents who gives good feedbacks, there are also who gives bad feedback.
and if u bring yr kid to see the school and ask if he likes in, most of the times they will say they like. cos its a new place to be.

oh anyway those with kids attending pre-N next yr, any year end 2007 babies?
so no one with 2007 kids not attending sch?

sorry for a long post and interupting the conversation here. hehe..

Hi Nur, my son is a 2007 baby, but Jan baby. He's not attending school...yet. May start him next year. If you're gonna ask "where", my answer would be "don't know yet". Haha! But not PCF or NTUC type cos my priority for this age is to have as small a group with as low a teacher:student ratio as poss.

Oh yes, mummies, I'm away on my hol this Sun, won't be back till end next month
I'll still be checking my mails and the thread, don't worry, won't want to miss out on a thing! Haha!

Hey dolphin gal,

duno u sleeping liao or not. Ex ah?
Erm..i duno leh, first time buy. They said promotion mah, $97 for 2 boxes. The normal lense is $40/box and my gf said can get it at $35/box at chinatown. But need to go all the way dwn, i xian half lor, so just buy from TPY and forget it lor. If good, then i will consider gg dwn to chinatown next time.

I go to grand optical shop.
Yeah, I'm gg philip tomorrow, aiming at 915am.

precious,
oic. she's a very nice principle, so thoughtful of her to ask me where i live and to recommend me to a PCF nearer to my blk. i already registered my gal at blk 157 however the fees there is $170.
no choice but for convenience sake.

sabrina,
if the principle hadn't mentioned about blk 157, i may have registered my gal at blk 45, and our gals may be classmates.

white lady,
how old is your boy? why not try the PCF near your blk? you never know your boy may enjoy going there. u can't get the best of both worlds.
re: fees, $101 could be for nursery. pre-nursery is $160.

nur,
i jus registered my gal for pre-nursery for next yr. she's a mar 07 baby. i totally agree with you, there'll be mixed reviews to almost every schools. to me, as long as my gal is doing well and is happy in the school she's in then its good for me.

Hi Miin,

Did you send your kid to the Cambridge Novena's playgroup (18mth - 30mth)? How do you find the activities and the teachers?

hey mummies

i have the following to give away:

2 sachets of gain iq milk and a discount voucher of $3 (valid till 30 sept)

2 sachets of enfakid stage 4 and a discount voucher of $5 (valid till 15 aug)

Hi Charmer,
i'm also keen to enroll my boy at PCF Blk 157 Pre N class (convenience & cost factor too :p).
However as my son won't be 30months old when class starts, he may not be accepted.

He's a sep07 baby. Sighz.. Anyway, will still try to register 1st, at least to express my interests.

Hope my kid will be accepted, then he may be classmates with ur child

LOOKING for USED or NEW Jessin Playgroup Uniform For Boy

Please PM with your price if you have any Jessin Playgroup Uniform For Boy To Sell. USED or NEW is fine. Thanks

am back again! got 2 lappy at home finally!

ryes

whar so early!
so did you manage to go down? its crazy there! i like waited for 30mins just to get a sales gal's attention leh! then so many people cutting the 'q'!

not much damage done as i noticed that the price is not much diff from the courts or harvey norman sales price leh. :p you managed to get any good deals?

j_foo,
Hv a gd holiday!

nur,
my gal is born in march'07 not attending sch at this moment till nxt yr. To get her prepared i'd enrolled her in GUG since she's 10mths old and recently signed-up LNT @ TPY after leaving GUG.

btw, mummies who enrolled their little ones for the kids run 2mrw. if u r nt running wif ur baobei keen to meet-up we can kill our time while waiting for them to finnish the race. my gal is in the 2-4yo grp flag off time 9.25am. Looking forward to ur PMs.

Sabrina
You changed your mobile number?
I smsed you when I finally recalled who you were.
Actually I don't consume any tonics and birdnest at all, but perhaps I have a helper now, hence eating more home-cooked food.
Next yr, my daughter will be in Nursery, from 830am to 1030am (I chose the early slot for her).

White_Lady
Pre-nursery at Blk 45 is $160, whereas nursery is $115

Jfoo
PCF pre-nursery, the ratio is 1:6
Have an enjoyable and fruitful trip!

HI elijah'smummy

OH yes man, it was so crowded like crazy. I joined the Q outside to get in at 858am and the line started moving.

Headed to the avent counter and there was already a Q, had to wait like 40mins before I got my orders done. Somehow, felt so frustrated. In the Q har, got husbands and wives,make the whole crowd worst. Sld only get wives or husband to Q mah, aiyo.

But at least har, got line by line Q lor. Got one lady tried to cut Q, I tried my best and she left after that. ahahah.

Ended with a bottle brush, 2 avent teats, 260ml btls and 330ml btls. Bought 10 plc light bulbs too.

Anyone gg dwn tomorrow/ i didnt have time to check out the applicances...

charsiew,
it would be great if your boy and my gal can be classmates.
hopefully they will accept your boy. btw, where do you live?

hi ... hope those went to the phllips sale have good catch ... i didnt go , cos too lazy , weather too hot ... end up have Art N Craft session with my boy at home =) later wait till the sun go home then bring him out ... weather really very hot ... cant tahan ... even at home , i need to on my aircon 24hr ...

Btw , Presious mention the nursery fee for blk 45 pcf is $115 , i went to blk 205 Pcf , was $109 i think ... dont know why hor ... arent they the same ?

White_Lady
Next yr 2010, nursery program is either 830am - 1030am or 115pm to 315pm. I'm so pleased there is a morning slot next yr so that I could bring her out regularly, iya, but this time round will have to bring 2 kids, as #2 is arriving in end July/early Aug 2009. This morning during breakfast, my hb was encouraging me to enjoy as much as possible b4 #2 arrives, etc it is quite impossible to go for facial/catch up with friends for coffee/dinner since I plan to breastfeed exclusively.

Precious,
Can I ask if the PCF at block 45 gives / inform parent of what topics / themes that are covered every term? I have fren's kids in other PCF branches and they do receive such info. But I tried to asked from my girl's teacher, she said it is not the school's policy (blk 97 branch) to give out such thing. But the teacher quite kind, said will write in my girl's communication book on a month;ly basis. I just hope to know what she learn in school so i can talk about it to her when she's home. Otherwise, I dont even know what she knows / dunno

Precious ,

Congrate to u leh ... very fast #2 arriving liao , prince or princess ?

And the nursery u mentioning is for 07 kids ah ? cos only 2 hr ? for PCF nursery ( for 4 years old ) should be 3 hr right ?

Ling
For Blk 45 PCF, we can refer to the notice board just outside their classroom for the topic/theme of the term.
Alternatively, we can also ask the teachers, so far they are helpful to assist.

White_Lady
I'm expecting a prince.
Pre-nursery, if I'm not wrong, it is for 07' kids
Nursery is for 06' kids.
For Blk 45, K1 is 3hrs and K2 is 4hrs.

janice,
my son started at cambridge from 22 mths (ya toddler clas).. the teacher now is a very nice lady.. firm but the children like her.. so far there are not many toddlers now.. i think u can try checking with them.. 63550555. director is joanne/ P is catherine
if u register there n dun mind, i can pass down my son's uniform cos we r moving to jkt next month liao. he's still wearing S size (the smallest)

i have 2 packs of karihome milk samples n 2 packs of dunno wat .. sthg like sweets or vits from karihome.. anyone interested?

precious, nice to c u yest.. cant recognise u with the tummy n glasses.. haha.. i think i saw ur helper n sha playing the lift when i was leaving..

ryes,
i'll check it out myself then.. dun worry abt it..

very weird hor , different pcf have different timming , like blk 205 ones is 3 hrs at $109, those toa payoh east one is 2hr at $115... does that mean that 2hr and more ex is better ? haha

Whitelady, I'm like you. Worry which kindy to send to. Thinking between ascension and Newton life. Any thots? Abit of a distance but I thot better than PCF...

Miin, is cambridge good? I heard it's worksheet based and not really play through learn. Can get your comment? Might have to downgrade my gal childcare to cut cost with #2.

jfoo, you SAHM?

Precious, should meet up with you and find out how you spend your time with your gal. I'm so lost at what to do with my 18m son and 3yo my gal when I drop her down to halfday school. I find the afternoons the most difficult to pass when my son only naps once a day 2h.

Karen, any comments about Jessin? You started class there?

Babe
Can read to her, do some art n craft.
Maybe have a draft lesson plans on the topic/theme you want to share with her?

White_Lady
Maybe the program is slightly different.
Perhaps 3hrs then more art n craft activities etc?

<font color="ff6000">Just for laughs!</font>
My daughter gets so upset when my helper does not understand what she is trying to say (becos she speaks Mandarin to my helper).
Then she comes and complains to me "Why Auntie Eve never goes to school to learn how to speak Chinese?"

babe ,

actually i have place a register fee for ascension .. but i feel is quite far .. have to take school bus , so i m worried , so am still thinking ... stress ....

babe, i'm not sure how other ccc does learn thru play. i suppose cambridge is more worksheet based cos they do have worksheets that are returned on regular basis.. initially when we were looking for ccc, how they conduct class wasnt our top priority, we were looking at the place, hygiene, friendliness, cosiness. maybe all external factors la.. din koe the diff at all.
he's in N2 n happy there.. there's enrichment courses but external parties.

oh ya, we went to look at a place beside newton carpark. was debating between that n novena. in the end chose novena cos newton ccc has playground wo padding n din really like their centre.. it was also far from mrt.. very difficult if it rains.

btw, my friend has some things to let go.. if u r interested, let me koe..

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/449183/2492202.html?1243239754

Seeing so many posts about PCF, i think not all PCF are as bad as you think, of cos teachers standard I think were better than b4.

But in my opinion, the very big problem abt PCF and why parents are sometimes reluctant to send their children there is becos of the 'crowd' there..
I dont mean crowded but i mean the other children who are also attending PCF. Sometimes children in private nurery or childcare come from better background so in terms of behaviour and language, there is of course a big difference.

Quality of teachers and principals is not a very big problem compared to the quality of the children at PCF. Sometimes you dont understand where the children learn the 'funny (bad) things' from. It's usually from peers in school and school bus esp when they go to pri sch.

Hope my opinion will not offend anyone..

Hi Miin, it will be great if you can pass me the uniforms
I went down to take a look at the class, my main concern is the kids are stuck in the small room, and it look rather dim and boring to me. Was your child happy in there?

Hi white_lady, I encountered the same concern as you. I registered with acension but still quite worry abt the boys taking school bus at young age. Its impossible for me to send them to school myself .. not easy to handle 2 monkeys on bus!

precious,
so you chose 8.30am for sha next yr, wont she have to wake up early? if me, i dun think i can even wake up so early, haha. but its better than choosing the afternoon session. when i enquired the other day at lor 5, next yr's pre N's session is from 1-3pm whc i thot is a bit strange cos its the time where most kids nap.

Char
She is quite easy to be adjusted.
Just have to train her 1-2 weeks in advance.
She used to wake up before 815am to get ready to go to Bishan Montessori by 9am during last year.

no prob janice.. think can pass u the uniform itself cos the sports tops are a little worn out.
when my son first joined, toddlers were usng the classroom upstairs with more light. they do come os to eat n play. oni inside during study n sleep. express ur concern to Catherine/Joanne lor..
tell them u r rasheed's mummy's friend.
he's in N2 (the clasroom next door)
they do hv school bus to tpy if u cant cope bringing both out.

orangeymum, in a way it's true.. the children in diff schools are dependent on whether parents can afford to pay the fees or even the location. eg, my son's ccc is at novena where there are many expats so he tends to have friends from different cultures.. ang mohs, filipinos, indians, koreans..

Every sch, teachers do play another important role in disciplining the child while he is in school.
It is also important that parents and the teachers must always have regular communication as to assist the child's learning and behaviour development.

btw, i was at AMK hub last sun and popular is having some sort of bargain sale. if u choose 10 eng books (kids n adults) from their wagons, u r entitled to 50% disc. some books are in less good condition but still very cheap. eg it's already showing offer price as $3.00 then less 50% again if u hv more than 10 books. i spent abt $16 for 10 books.. super good deal.

Janice, same here. I also worry abt my girl taking sch bus, especially the first few weeks, i wonder how and if I can get on the bus together with her or not.

I was telling hb, if got TPY mummy also in ascension, maybe we can do car pooling.

BTW< any mummies have kiddy palace member card that I can borrow? Hb wants to get a walker for bb. Expensive or not ah?

Ryes
I'm selling my bb walker. It comes with locks.
Brand: MamaLove. Colour: Blue
You may view the walker at my place.
Pls PM me so that I can email the pic to you if you are keen. Thanks.