TOA PAYOH mummies

precious, got 14 games n rides? i walk past everyday.. but dun feel like it's that much.. basically they are the same ones as that in tpy central a couple weeks back..
water ball, train ride, dragon balloon slide, bumper car, pirate boat, merry go round.. dunno wat else.. :p

babe, it was at bras basah..
the expo sale start 29 may if not wrong.
the 20% voucher is on pg 4 (left bottom)

so whos gg to the philips sale?
Im heading there wee morning on sat, coz afternoon needa attend the mediacorp event at meritus mandarin. anyone attending too?

dolphin gal u gg philips sale? I've yet to collect the popular maz...need to get some items too.

Anyone gg to the little big club too with ur kids?

the popular expo sale is on 29th May

someone recommended philips blender is it?

which model is really fuss free and easy for an idiot like me to use?

I'm sick of sieving carrots and giving my bb those bottled puree liao. Tot of doing puree myself, but I bo blender.

Ryes, do you want Aerogaz blender? Have one BN, and I already have a Braun one. Willing to let it go at $35. The Aerogaz one is just a simple one, fuss free.

Talking about cordless, have gone through so many, from the branded to the brandless. Haha! Yup, they don't really last long but they are convenient esp for me cos I cook and talk on the phone, fold clothes and talk, mop and talk etc etc! Haha!

Mummies, I still have 1 free ticket for the Bishan-Toa Payoh carnival @ Bishan Park. Any takers??? Last call...

Babe
Yes, order from USA. Can join overseas spree.

Miin
I brought her there ytday.... spent lots of $... then my mother complained that I'm spoilting her... hee hee! (Actually not cheap, $3-5 per ride)

precious, u r rite.. very exp.. i let my son try the train ride in tpy for 3 bucks. i was impressed to see the train sway and they went abt 4 rounds. compared to those stationary rides in malls, it's more worth it..

ryes, i'm using the philips blender. it comes with 3 functions. 1 for blending food, 1 for chopping (good for chopping into smaller pcs before cooking) and 1 for jucier. i use them for making smoothies, chopping rice (to cook faster), puree food..

ryes,
yup.tinking of heading over there early sat as well.wanna meet? =)
hahaha.. my hub ask me wat i wanna get..i also dunno.lolz..go there & see.
well, dor, i changed e batt of my philips cordless phone but apparently it's the keypad that's nt working..have to press really hard so i gave up.. and got a new one!

Ytday she actually taught my helper how to use my camera, then asked her to take a pic of her... keke
2477150.jpg

Miin
When comes to kiddy rides, I simply let her have so much fun as possible.
Glad that for all the trips, she is not afraid at all.
She wanted to try the water ball, but the uncle did not allow as she is too young for that.

ling/janice,
re: manuka honey, according to the sales asst at nature's farm, she said my gal who was 1yr+ at the time i bght it, to buy just the active 5-10, no need to give the UMF10 or higher. she's still taking it now and ok so far. a fren of mine whose son was 3yr+ at the time he started, took UMF10 everyday and so far no side effect. he's already 4yo.

white lady,
was told by ling that the PCF at lor 3 is for nursery. lor 5 has got pre-nursery.

Precious and Miin, what is this little big club thing?

Is PCF good? YOu know the impression of PAP when we went. How different from those like ascension?

Babe/Eunice
It is like a pasar malam with many kiddy rides located at Tampines Central.

Babe
PCF and PAP are different. Different in their management. But of course, every sch (even those franchise like Kinderland etc) is different hence maybe you can have a talk with the principle, take a look at the centre etc. (For my case, I brought my daughter to view the centre, and asked about the teachers' working experience)
Sometimes by communicating with the teachers, you would sense if they do have passion and love in teaching the little children.

precious,

i tot they are the same? they change the name from PAP to PCF right...indeed all PCF schools are under diff management, hence all PCFs sch fees are different..some air cons, some no air-cons, some compulsory mst take up computer lessons, etc

HI eunice

is an event..The Little Big Club Live in Concert
http://www.sistic.com.sg/portal/dt?dt.isPortletRequest=true&dt.action=process&dt.provider=PortletWindowProcessChannel&dt.windowProvider.targetPortletChannel=JSPTabContainer/sEventsCalendar/Event&dt.containerName=JSPTabContainer/sEventsCalendar&dt.windowProvider.currentChannelMode=VIEW&dt.window.portletAction=RENDER&contentCode=bigclub0609

Hi dolphingal, I think I dun have the time to stroll dwn to philips from interchange leh, probably take bus 231 dwn. I'm aiming to reach there at 9am, but need to wait till hb is home from marketing before I can leave hse.

White lady, I think someone has their child at jessin...it wasnt really good. Said the child didnt learn anything much there.

some info about PCF taken from their website. they are under PAP.

Mission

The PAP Community Foundation (PCF) is the social and charitable arm of the People's Action Party.

The mission of PCF is to enhance the well-being of the community through educational, welfare and community services. The vision of PCF is to provide quality services at affordable cost to the community.

The PAP Community Foundation (PCF) comprises of 1 HQ and 84 Branches, each of which consists of between 1 and 8 centres. These centres provide Kindergarten, Childcare, Student Care and Aged Care Services.

white lady,
dun stress yourself out too much since your boy is still so young. i can't imagine how much more stressed you'll be when he reaches primary school level which is then (in my opinion) worth the worry. for me, i just pick out a school that is as near as possible to where i live as i've to consider the distance to travel should i have baby no. 2, (i.e. having to bring bb and kid to/fro school). here is a list of kindergartens from mcys website whc may help you better to shortlist a school.
http://app.mcys.gov.sg/web/serv_dss_main_result_region_vm.asp?sort=&SERVICES_ID=9&PageIndex=2&nt10=1&CENTRE_ID=K00037,K00086,K00142,K00181,K00241,K00328,K00329,K00394,K00399,K00400,K00401,K00402,K00403,K00437,K00446,K00467,K00473,K00490&MAP_URL=&

thank mummy for the feedback ... if near my mum place , only have the blk 205 PCF , but heard is not good leh , anyone with kids there ?

Any mummies going to philips , do help me look see look see if got cordless phone anot , cos think i can only go on sunday .....

White_Lady
Know one mummy staying at Lor 7, her daughter is also in PCF Blk 205. Feedback from her, so far so good.

Pooh
Heard from the PCF principle that PAP and PCF are under different management. PAP does not provide pre and nursery program.
PCF are priced differently based on the ratio of student/teacher, space area, w or wo air-con etc.
By end of 2009, all PCF and PAP teachers must be qualified, all the teachers must at least achieve diploma in early childhood.

Char
It would be great if we can prepare the child with the basic foundation before he enters primary level.
So once he enters primary level, he continues to find learning fun, instead of getting stressed about learning.

i m stress in looking for a better yet convinent nursery for my son ... maybe i think too much , but i dont want him to be stress when go primary 1 .. i wonder PCF will help to get them ready for P1 anot ...

white lady

dnt stress yrself..bring along ur boy when u visit the sch and u shld be able to tell whether ur boy likes the sch???

learning will be much fun for ur boy when he likes the sch and also easier for him to settle in the environment.

Ryes,
Am looking at the same timing as well and either Sat or Sun. I'll chk wif hb if he's keen.

babe,
It will be gd if u have someone to help you few hours for the time being until u are able to manage. Btw, if their age gap is not wide apart at least u can create some projects/activities for them and do it together. If possible, try to let them have the same nap time so tat u can have a breather or rest at the sametime as well.

Frankly not easy to handle 2 or more kids alone especailly when u have to do hsdhold chores and prepare dinner for ur family.

I myself find it challenging to handle 1 dun talk about 2....

Hey dor

okay, do hope to be able to see u there. Kids above 1 year old must buy ticket lor, and is not cheap...sigh...

that time barney event at suntec, so convenient,now at expo. after that i need to rush to wedding dinner...hb keep asking me to sell off my tix.

Mummies wearing contact lenses,....which shop in TPY selling cheaper price for acuvue for daily use?

I need only 2 boxes, my degree for both eyes not the same. Dun want to get more, coz i dun wear very often lor.

white_lady,
recently a mummy from this thread (think she seldom comes in now) transferred her son to my son's ccc (Cambridge@Novena) K2 level. she also wanted to prepare him for P1. so far so good for her son i think cos he seems happy there.
http://www.cambridgenovena.com.sg/

ryes, i made my glasses at this optician round the corner of KFC in central beside the vcd shop. i cant remember if there's 2 shops side by side. :p forgot it's left or right shop.. hehe.. i must see to recall. they r quite nice n prices reasonable. i'm thinking of buying daily use too. wats ur degree?

Hey miin

I just called grand optical, which is the bigger shop at the corner, near to the lift, near to KFC also.

They are selling normal acuvue dailies 2 boxes at $80. Promotion is buy 5, get 1 box free.

Moist 2 boxes at $97. I'm thinking of getting the moist acuvue, also dailies.

My degree sld be 100, 150. You keen to get?

miin,
so far i gave the active 5-10 (not UMF type) to my gal when she was 1yr+ and still giving till today. so far no problem with her leh.

precious,
i agree with you about prepping them with basic foundation. in fact i just called up the PCF at lor 5 and a lady there called mdm woon is nice to talk to. she told me that there's only 3 vacancies left and that there is another PCF at blk 157 whc is nearer to my plc. however she doesn't know if there is pre-nursery there and gave me the number to call but its hooked to a fax machine so can't make any enquiry. tmrw morning i'll quickly go there to ask. if have duno if the branch there is good or not.

just called the PCF at lor 3 after posting earlier. the lady i spoke to said they have pre-nursery classes for next yr and includes all branches. noted that the school fees varies between lor 5 and 3.

i also made enquiry at appletree whc is just a playgroup with a 1yr prog. no nursery level whc means have to find a school with nursery classes and onwards. so no point for me to consider there.

Char
Mdm Woon is the principle.
Yes, she is a nice lady.
Lor 5 Pre-nursery program is $165 per mth, but the classroom is really very spacious, they have another small room inside the classroom for pretend play.
And everyday the kids have snacks, like noodles, porridge, crackers, sandwiches.

White_Lady
Actually it is difficult to find a good sch, as it all depends on the teachers, and also the objective you want to achieve. For me, the 2hrs daily program is to give her the opportunity to socalise (for 2hrs program, we can't expect much too, etc: they only have art n craft once a week). For instance, the teachers might be good, but how about next year? Sometimes when they promote to the next level, they have to adapt to the new teachers' teaching methods and style again. For PCF, except for pre-nursery and nursery, K1 is 3hrs whereas K2 is 4hrs. Previously she was from Bishan Montessori, but because of the inconvenience, I changed to PCF which is very nearby to my block. It seems to be a good choice... hee hee! as I'm expecting #2 now, and she really enjoys the sch, when she is not feeling well and cannot attend sch, she cried! keke!

Dor, ya loh when I'm so inexperience having them whole day with me. Even if I send #1 to some nursery, also have to send and pick. Looks like being SAHM is really challenging.

How come different PCF different rates? I heard appletree is quite good right?

Whitelady, I know what you mean about finding a good school. Sometimes wonder if it's really worth the cost coz also dependent on teachers.

mummies ....

Ya lor , like what some say , depend on the teachers also ... but some pple comment that PCF not good , hai ya ... so headache , haha ... like ascension , some say good , some say not good .... my son is born in 06 , any one kiddo also ?

Oh ya , how abt Apple Tree ? Do they provide school bus ?

WhiteLady,
Can share wif us what negative feedback u heard abt Ascension, since my gal will be there nxt year am interested to know.

The whole of next week I wont be able to access to MH thread so often liao sigh...coz onsite for an event. Going to miss the interesting exchange wif mummies in this tpy thread.

Hi Dor ,

there is a thread in SMH , but i cant seem to find ... i cant really remeber what wrong ... but i think some mummies mention , is just a normal kiddy , teach normal thing , but rate is so much higher , and their deposit is a term lor , not 1 mth ... and have to pay for gym all those , i not very sure too ...
I dont want my son to go cos have to take school bus , which i not very keen of lor .. if plus school bus , a mth is abt $400 , which i dont its worth for a normal kiddy ... what u think ?

thanks char,

ryes,
if i make it to central tonite, i'll check with my optician.. wats the diff between normal and moist?

white_lady,
i am not in favor to let my gal tk sch bus at such young age too. likewise, i'll choose a pre-n nearby my place or ard tpy area.

White_lady,
I stay at tpy lor. 2.
My hb will ferry my gal to sch in the morning on his way to work and my fil will fetch her to my nanny's plc after sch.