Support Group - Endometriosis and Fibroids.

Giggler,

Haiz. If u have seen the earlier posting, I got a huge fibroid.. till date, have not removed.. still planning for the op.. also my work.. cos my gynae told me he will give me 1 month's MC, which i think and afraid i will kenna kick out of the company...after op.. haiz..

Worry mum, the other time when I went to remove my fibroids I also got abt 1mth mc leh. That time, I had both lapro and open surgery cos there's too many fibroids and the biggest was 12cm. Think your health more impt leh. You better go for op asap lah.

Worry mum

Health is more important. I am sure that your company is not that heartless.. Last year, I went for op to remove cysts and adenomyoma and I was give 60days MC....

giggler and beary,

Haiz...Sad to say that hor, is true leh..Me after delivered for my boy, then almost kenna kick out..Cant imagine if is on 60days MC...
As u gals know is difficult to get a job now..
Stressed...stressed...stressed....

hi beary, went for a re-scan today...not good...my cyst grown slightly bigger...0.5cm
i had to get a re-scan to make sure coz i've had pulling pain since sunday till today....

doc gave alternative, either take birth control pills or get pregnant, she suggest to wait for the cyst to grow bigger b4 going for the op, make the $ spent worthwhile! *scratches head* i find the things she say pretty strange lah...

i will go to polyclinic then ask to be referred to KK i guess...cheaper also for future warding i heard...

sigh, pretty lost at the moment....it's not that i want to get pregnant i can just get pregnant like that! birth control pills definitely a no.

Hi Giggler,

Ya our cases quite similar. Did your dr put u on any pills or injection after the op? Pls keep me posted on the outcome of your treatment with the Meiling st sinseh..i may wanna switch when the my current one gets too expensive..thanks!

Hi Estheryl, a couple of chinese sinseh i visited agreed that endo cysts are hard to treat with tcm alone. Maybe u want to discuss with your tcm dr also if you should go for the op. all the best 2U!

estheryl, I also find strange with what your gynae said leh. I thot it's not gd to wait for the cysts to grow too big in case they burst???

Marble, I'll see if I got time to go to the sinseh tom. I'll def keep u updated with my visits.

Worry mum, I know it's diff to get jobs nowadays. But I feel that health more impt cos your family need u lor.

hi marble, thanks but the tcm i went is in the free medical institute those doc doesn't seem too interested in such problems..they are only there to give medicine hee

hi giggler, yah lor...i told my colleagues, they were also puzzled with this comment..like you said, it's always better to go for op when it's small...but doc did say even if take out, doesn't mean that it will not come back... that's why she suggest getting pregnant...but i'm only married for coming 3 mths, do you think it's a little early to have a baby? sigh....
marble, which sinseh do you visit currently? my mum asked me to try ma kwang, any feedback from anyone?

estheryl, think it depends on whether both u and your hubby abt having bb lor. Some couples have bb once after they're married. So it all depends on both of u lah. Think u got to confirm with your gynae abt the positions of your cysts leh. That time, my gynae advised me to remove my fibroids b4 I conceived cos she had patients who got to terminate their preg as the fibroids grew too big to accomodate the bb. Or maybe you shd seek 2nd opinion?

giggler, yes i intend to seek 2nd opinion...thinking of going to polyclinic for a referral to KK...what do you all think? i was told warding will be cheaper also coz govt

Hi Estheryl

So sad to hear tat your cysts has grown bigger..

Went for a CT Scan recently, my cysts are gone but my uterus is still giving me problem.
If you want to seek 2nd opinion at KK, go take referral letter from polyclinc. The charges will be cheaper. The only difference is that every consultation you will see different doctors and at times you are seen by MO. Take Care and do keep me posted of your outcome.

hi beary...why is it cysts gone..uterus still got problem? aiyah why women problem neverending???

erm...mind to tell me what is MO?

thanks you take care too!

Hi Estheryl

yalor, why must we women has so many problems??

MO = medical officer..
I am still having daily onset of cramps and according to my doc, the pain is from uterus and could be due to my adenomyosis...

you take care too

beary, what is adenomyosis? is it the one that is in the walls of our womb? i have that too...

i'm thinking the only way out for me should be an op...or has anyone taken the birth control pills and the cyst does shrink or disappear? pls share with me...

Can anyone advice me what can I do to prepare myself better for a laparoscopy? I was diagnose with endometriosis.

Hi Estheryl
yes, in-growth in the walls of the womb. What options does your gynae give you? Sometimes it is not necessary to go for operations. Some gynaes will adopt 'wait and monitor' of the condition. Why don't you discuss with your gynae on the possibility of birth control pills or injections to temporary menopause so as to reduce the cysts? At the present moment, I am on birth-control injections to temp stop menses so as to prevent the cysts from growing again. My doc also suggested me to go for GnRHa injections for temporary menopause for 6 mths so that the womb will go back to normal size. Discuss all these options with your gynae first before rushing into surgery.. Take care..

Hello blue_rabbit,
When are you going for laparoscopy? You might need to shave before going to hospital, else the nurse might do it for you which can be quite embarrassing :p. How did your doc diagnose endo? Through blood test?
Take good care.

Hi Beary and estheryl,
I have been reading books on health. Recently I came across that the health of our colon is related to womens' problems in cysts, endo, fibroids, etc. Cos our intestines is very near to our womb and ovaries.
Take good care...

I was thinking about that too.. when can we start to exercise after the laproscopy ? and when can we start taking seafood, etc ?

Hi Giggler,

I am now into 4th week after lapro and I've started brisk walking for up to 1 hr. I think it depends on how extensive the surgery. According to my gynae, mine's only on the ovary which will recover faster. But if the surgery is on the uterus walls then it takes longer. Well, since our case very similar, think u shud be able to brisk walk after 3-4 weeks. I'm still hesitent to start jogging tho'...

Hi Wizard,

Your dr will probably tell u no diet restriction is needed after op...but since most people believe no seafood after surgery, I also avoided that, esp prawns, in the first 2 weeks when the wound is healing. Actually, altho' I'm now into 4th week post-op, the scab on the wound is still there and has yet to drop off..

I would like to share with you gals what my TCM dr has advised on what to avoid in my diet:

No coffee, no green tea, no chocolate
No green beans, no bittergourd
No spicy/sour food (might affect pH in vagina if TTC'g)
No cold/no raw food
No fast food (burgers coz u dun know what has gone into the meat during processing..)
No coconut milk (if u tend to feel bloated)
No Bai Fong Wan, No Ba zhen soup

beary, the gynae i went didn't give me much options..like what you've said, there is 'wait and monitor' and temporary menopause options
but i'm afraid it will have side effects that will affect me in getting pregnant...i'm confused......anyway i've got a referral letter to KK, will be going down this Friday morning. I shall see what the gynae suggest that i do with my endometriosis and adenomyosis.....i'm v afraid of going through the operation

Marble, mine also on ovary only too. In fact, dun feel any difference now when I'm into the 3rd week after the op. Thanks think I'll wait for another mth before I take up my body jam classes again. Why no bai fong wan?

wizard, my gynae told me there's no restriction on food after the op. But I refrain from chix, seafood, etc for the 1st two weeks.

marble and giggler, i am into the third week of my op.. i have not taken seafood, chicken and probably will only take after this week. I heard eggs are a no-no too. I'm now back at work.

For exercise, i was thinking of starting my yoga soon but guess have to wait for another 2-3 weeks.

Hi Giggler, wizard_skool,
I started exercising after one month after getting a "yes" from my gynae
I swim
Jogging may be a bit more strenous.

Hi Wizard_skool,
My gynae advised me no seafood, no toxic food for at least one month. I am still avoiding seafood. For me, it's almost coming to two months since my operation already. But I watch what I eat now
Operation twice a year is a no joke...

Hi marble, giggler, wizard_skool, estheryl, beary, etc,

Just to share with you gals...

I think my gynae also into chinese medicine... He told me no dang gui, no bak zhen, no bai feng wan, no EPO. Cos these are hormones. Cysts, endo, fibroids growths are due to excess hormones inside us.

No caffeine and alcohol, because caffeine will affect our liver's ability to remove the excess hormones inside our body.

Not too much milk and dairy products cos all these contain lots of hormones. We dun need extra hormones inside our body.

Less meat cos nowadays those animals are given lots of growth hormones.

I have not had any fast food for almost a year already
. Ever since my laparotomy.

Giggler,

Wah body jam a bit "shiong" rite so better wait a while more lah. No bai fong wan b/c it stimulates hormones i think...not very sure but i read in this forum that BFW is contraindicated in endo so i went and verified with my TCM dr.

Wizard, i din know eggs no-no. I've been eating lots of it with fried ginger :eek:

Estheryl,

Don't be confused. Go see the KKH gynae and see how. If need to op, don't worry, we all went thru' it and it was really not so scary really. Hope you'll get to see a good consultant at KKH.

oh no.. i drink quite alot of milk and love dairy products like cheese... i heard soya bean milk is not so good for those TTC.. now milk product also has to be reduced, got nothing to drink for breakfast liao..

My AF just came exactly 4 weeks after my laparoscopy plus D&C. May i know for those of you who went for the op, was the length of your first cycle after the lap op usual, shorter, or longer?

Hi Estheryl

Dun worry too much ok.... Go for your appointment and keep us informed on the outcome. As what Marble has said, all of us here has gone through the op so just relax and dun stressed yourself. Take care...

Marble

Suprising my AF came 28days after my operation and mine is an open abd surgery. The length is 4days but its lighter than usual..

Hi beary,

Was your first period after the op painful? mine was. I had thot the period will be pain-free after the op but looks like i'm wrong

*sigh* I'm so disappointed that the pain didn't go away..didn't even lessen..

i wonder if it's b/c mine was not full excision of the cysts, but only draining and laser ablation of the internal cyst walls. U know wat i mean? Err..ie the part of the cyst walls still remain on the ovary. I thot maybe the endometrial tissue grew back on the exposed cyst walls and bleed direct into the pelvic cavity?

Marble, how come the cyst walls still remain on the ovary? Dun scare me leh... I thot by gg for lapro will give me painless menses too.

i am not sure why it was not removed. but from wat i see in the video he gave me, it seems they cannot be removed fully becoz the wall is fused with the healthy ovary. i think i'll ask my dr again when i next see him..but that would be 3 mths from now..

oh ok...hmm... u mean ur doc gave you the video on the lapro itself?? That is good. Mine is a cystectomy but the sad thing is that i got recurrent bilateral cysts again..

ya, i have the entire video of 1+ hr of my op. i saw the whole process from the poking of the scope thru', the cutting, the flushing, etc and finally the application of the surgicel to prevent adhesion..really really gross!

I guess open surgery cannot be filmed like the video lapro...I thot u mentioned earlier ur cysts are gone?

yes, after seeking treatment at Chung Hwa, the cysts are gone but due to work, I stopped treatment at CH and my recent review showed tat there are bilateral multiple cysts again and my uterus is still tender and spongy. Again my gynae suggested TH...

yes, you are right. I don't agreed to the TH option. At the moment, I am seeking TCM treatment in Ta Zhong Medical Institution which is located at Tampines. Its nearer to my office so I don't have to rush all the way to CH. Hopefully, this will help me as I am also at lost too due the daily onset of cramps.

Hi beary,

I think you should seek for alternatives. Go and read about alternative health healing. I am sure there will be something that can help you without the need for TH.
For women's problems, the first thing is to cleanse the colon, then detox and cleanse.

In both TCM and western medicine, the root of all these problems is the inefficient or weak liver. Next time when you visit your TCM, ask about how the liver is related to the cysts.

After reading through several books, I think painful menses, cysts, endo, etc, are just symptoms that our body are telling us something is wrong inside. What we are doing now by going through lapro,etc to remove them, is to solve the symptoms. Have you all thought of whether the root of the problem, or the root cause to all these, been solved??? Think about it yourself... dun let your doctor lead your health. Be well informed.

~~Route to taking charge of our own health!~~

Hi lyn

I do agree that lapro etc will not solve the root of the problem because cysts, fibroids can easily recur (even in couple of months!) But how do we know the root of our problem is a big question mark. When I ask my gynae why and how do cysts, fibroid occur. They always said the reason is unknown.

I have been extremely cautious about the food that I eat. I avoid all cold drinks, refrain from wearing high heels, refrain from wearing underwire bra, refrain from soy products....... But still get painful menses every month. Now my situation has worsens. My menses are very heavy and prolong.

Do TCM really help? I don't know, perhaps to a certain degree. I am always all out to seek a good chinese sinseh because western docs are unable to help in endo. They can only remove cysts, fibroid when they have grow to a certain degree.

If anybody has good TCM for endo, please recommend

Hi Xueyan

I am now seeking TCM treatment from two different medical instituition beside seeing my gynae. A bit KS on my side. Believe it or not, these two medical institutions are recommended by my gynae. One for relieving the pain by accupuncture and one is for endometrosis. The TCM doctor that I am seeing for endo has gone on home leave and will only be back next week. If you like, you can give it a try but the waiting time is very long and its always an afternoon session. This doc will prescribe herbs which you must brew yourself. If you wanna to try, let me know and I will furnish you the details. Take Care

i have delivered my baby recently and hope to retain my fertility so that i can still conceive. my gynae told me the only way to retain fertility is to get pregnant.

Another alternative is to take birth pills which may or may not retain my fertility.

i wish to know whether anyone here has sucessful stories to share?

Hi beary

Yes I would like to try. Please let me have the details including the name of doctor and the charges. Thanks! Btw, do the accupuncture really relief pain?

On another note, do anybody has any ideas or experience on mid cycle bleeding. My menses came on 26 Sep, and I have it again on 7 Oct. This is really worrying. Do anybody know why it occur. I wanted to consult my gynae but appointments are fully booked till next Thursay. Can somebody advise. Thanks!

Hi Xue Yan
The TCM doc that I see for endo is Doc Tan from Thong Chai Med Institution at Chin Swee Rd. The consultation fees is based on your own donations. The TCM doc that I see for accupunture is Dr Lee from Ta Zhong Med Insitution at Tampines. The consultation fees, accupunture and medication is $14.00 The accupunture did relief my pain. I have cut down my daily intakes of pain-killers by 70%.

I think what you are experiencing now could be ovulation spotting. Don't worry. Hope the information helps..

Hi Xueyan,

Do you have both endo and fibroids? I had alarming 12 fibroids before plus endo. According to my gynae, women with fibroids usually will have endo.

I did a search on the root of our problems. It is due to the inefficient liver. It's quite long to explain. Do you know what is the function of our liver?? Maybe you can go and read some books.

One of the symptoms of endo and fibroids is mid cycle bleeding. I used to have that.

I refrain from cold drinks and all soft drinks. But I still do take soy products, wear high heels and wear underwire bra.
I refrain from caffeine and alcohol too.

As for TCM, it has not convinced me.

Hi mybabydream,
I know two people whom the doc said they cannot get pregnant due to their past conditions and life style. Now they are mothers.