Support Group - Endometriosis and Fibroids.

i went for checkups when i couldn't conceive. doc found a fibroid of 4cm and advised me to remove it. seeked other opinions and they also asked me to remove. the docs all told me my fibroid was not the cause of my "infertility" due to where it was located--a stalk from the uterus.

during lap to remove my fibroid, my doc found that i have moderate endo! i had that removed during lap as weell. doc suggsted to put me on jabs but i turned it down. wanted to try naturally. i managed to conceived 1 mth+ after the surgery.

all in all, fr the day i ttc till i conceive,it took me 15 mths.

mybabydream,
I think it could have been the endo that have caused infertility...
Wow... so good... You can conceive so fast after surgery to remove them
I wish I can too
You give birth already? Boy or gal? So amazing hor...

Hi Lyn,

The doc mentioned that aside from the cyst which shows up in the scan, he is pretty sure there will also be other endometrial tissues else where in the pelvis not seen in the scan. Thus i need a cystectomy, plus laser to zap off other tissues.

Then he said it's best he clean up the uterus as well. I figured that's becoz i have mid cycle bleeding that isn't related to ovulation (my mid cycle bleeding can be as long as 7 days!). I suppose the D&C is to remove any possible fibroids not picked up in the scan?? got to check with him again on this.

Then he also ordered hydrotubation. I checked up what that means and this is what i got : Hydrotubation Flushing of the fallopian tubes through the cervix and uterine cavity to remove surgical debris and reduce the incidence of tubal reocclusion.)

I told him my #1 priority is to ensure I can conceive, so I guess he wants to be thorough that all unwanted masses as removed.

Hi mybabydream,

Looks like it's a wise choice for you not to go on the medication. I'm also considering to refuse medication treatment after op.

Congrats on the baby!

lyn:
i read abt your stories on other threads n i admire u for staying strong.yes, i have moderate endo n yes, that is the cause to my infertility. think if i didn't go for the fibroid removal, i may never know the reason to my infertility or even conceive. the doc who operated on me is the one u're seeing now. i am glad i made my own decision. in fact i gave myself 3 mths to try out, i thought that if i was lucky, i could strike n deliver by this yr. so my doc told me to "try my luck". i am delivering a girl in oct.

marble:
wen r u going for the op?this website www.babycenter.com gave me a lot of insight n knowledge abt endo. i guess the best time to try hard is 1 mth after the surgery(depends on what your doc advises) for half a yr or so to 1 yr. that's what i read fr other websites. but this would of coz depends on how severe your endo is. for me, i skipped the jabs due to the side effects as well as heard of successful stories of trying naturally after the lap.

i hope my case gives those still trying a form of encouragement. i almoz gave up when KK doc told me they could not detect my "infertility" cause but i am glad i switched docs for further opinions.

i hope to hear more successful stories here. good luck and pls continue trying!

Hi mybabydream,

Op is next mth. Ya, I read that fertility will be higher immediately after laparoscopy, therefore want to catch this fertile period to ttc. however, since i'm also having D&C, it will set back my ttc plans for at least few weeks, depending on when AF will come.

can i check if u took any "bu" after the op? can share share?

hi beary,

ive finished on my medication. how long after do i need to go back for a 2nd consultation? do i need to consume the medication continuously?

marble:
may i ask y are u having d&c, what happen? is this your 1st lap op? i had mine and was out of hosp after 3 hours, was much easier than i thought, not much discomfort.

after my op, i took essence of chicken on alt days. din really "bu" but my doc gave me 2 weeks of mc so i rested alot. but b4 my surgery, i had been eating vit E and sunflower seeds which they said helps in fertility. hope this helps.

Hi Marble...
Fibroids can grow in different locations. In some locations, can cause infertility. Will the tissues from D&C be sent for lab test?
Dun worry too much ok? You are in good hands of your gynae
Maybe you will strike naturally after the operation cos your womb will be 100% clean and perfect
Fingers crossed and good luck to you!

Maybe you can check with you gynae when your AF will come

Hi mybabydream,
Oh I see.. heh.. u see same gynae as me ah
Congratulations on your baby gal!
Very soon you will be hugging your gal already

I went to KKH before too. I was told that there's nothing wrong with me... and I can continue to try though I know inside me that I have endometriosis.
Thank you for your encouragement

Hi mybabydream,

this is my first lap op to remove an ovarian cyst. the D&C, i guess is to remove suspected fibroids? not very sure y need D&C so will be checking with my doc again. Thanks for the dietary tips.

Hi Lyn,

so sweet of u! Thanks!

Hi Marble..
When will your op be? After op, remember to take good care of your wound to prevent infection
Must really take care for a fast recovery
My gynae asked me to clean the wound 2 times a day and put waterproof dressing. I met people whose gynae did not ask them to clean wound, then got infection and pus... So try to keep the wound dry

lyn:
after i am pregnant, i changed my gynae liao. but i sent the doc a card to inform him of the success.

marble:
take care and hv a gd rest for faster recovery. like what lyn said, rem to clean the wound too. for me, though with waterproof dressing, i never bath, only wipe myself coz i was veey scared of infection or ugly scar lah. in the end, very itchy n grew pimples. :p

Hi Estheryl

Sorry for the late reply. I will see the doc twice a week and continue the medication for 3 courses...

Hi lyn and marble

thanks for your advice. I had cysts in my left ovary and may have adenomyosis behind the uterus. The reason i say "may have" is bcos the gynae can't tell from the scan. If i m lucky, it is a fibroid. Adenomyosis is more complicated. As i had it for 5/6 years now, i am really getting worried whether it will worsen altho i do a yearly check-up.

i am willing to try TCM but am afraid of the pain it may cause. I am also trying to avoid surgery as i know cysts, fibroid come back easily. However, i had quite bad cramps during menses and few days my stomach become very bloated....

btw, can someone tell me what is D&C, CD21

Hi xueyan,

D&C = dilatation and curettage

it is a surgical procedure in which the cervix is opened up and the endometrial lining scrapped. it can be used a treatment in abortions, miscarriages, or in diagnosis (as in my case) to determine cause of abnormal mid cycle bleeding.

CD = cycle days, therefore CD21 = 21st day of cycle.

can i ask whether a normal ovary scan will detect this kind of fib and endo? i have gone for an ovary sacn and everything is fine.

just worry that whether this is sufficient. i have a friend who also went for this scan and everything is clear. however, when she visited the JE doc, she said that she has endo and/or fib....cant remember. can that be possible? sounded very weird to me. thanks.

Hi blurblur,
Scan can detect fibroids, but not endometriosis. Fibroids if too small, also cannot be detected. I think the JE sinseh says a lot of pple have a lot of abnormalities one. I dun really believe... haha... cos just too many and almost all who went there have all these abnormalities. So if scan is clear.. dun worry too much
Your friend's case sounds familiar to me... scan clear, but JE sinseh said got fibroids... can trust the sinseh? I am not too sure...

hi lyn , i have the same sentiment as u.

hi mybabydream, what is the cost of laporascopy? just any gynae will do? also in what kind of the situation, the gynae will then propose you to do laporascopy?

my gynae just said everything is ok.......nothing much.

Hi blurblur,
Laparoscopy can cost as much as $6k or more in private hospital. Have you tried TTC? If you have tried more than a year or 6 months, then your gynae might suspect and suggest laparoscopy to see if there's any endo. Endo cannot be detected on scans cos too small already.

blurblur:

im not sure abt govt rates but pte can go as high as total of 6k for surgery bills+hosp bills.

i think all or most gynae should be able to perform laporascopy, its only how skillful or experienced they are.

not too sure if i am right but if u have endo symptones(no symptones doesn't mean u dun have endo) or if many tests done shows that u n your dh are ok, the gynae may suggest doing a laporascopy to check your tubes, uterus, or possibility of endo,etc.its definitely more accurate than doing a scan.

Hi all, just went for my gynae appt and found that I have 3 cysts on both my ovaries. The biggest one is abt 24x22mm, though they looked big on the scan. My gynae advised to go for lapo to remove them. But I not sure if it's necc as they're not big. What do you gals think? Can give me some advice?

hi giggler

perhaps u could seek a 2nd opinion.

u shd ask yourself thiese Qs too:do u have plans to conceive or whether your gynae said the cysts will affect the fertility? did your gynae tell u the reason why they have to be removed?

Hi Giggler,

what type? functional, endometriotic or otherwise? if functional, leave it. if endometrioma, then see if you're ttc'g or not. if not, then no need to remove now. can try TCM first. I read that below 3-5cm, endometrioma may possibly respond to TCM, albeit very slowly. A rough gauge is 1 month TCM therapy for every year you've had endo.

mbd, no plans to conceive but gynae was telling me that they have to be removed so that I wont have severe menses cramp every mth.

Marble, mine is endo type. TCM... but I cant stand chinese herbs leh.

Hi giggler...

You got history of fibroids same as me rite? The cysts you got, are they what they called "chocolate cysts"?

Since the reason to remove is just becos of painful menses. Do you have painful menses now? If it's unbearable, maybe can consider. If not, probably can seek second opinion....

How many months since you give birth already?

Marble, I scared of pain so most prob wont go for acupunture. What do you mean that I got no strong case for surgery? My friends told me that it's not gd to have something foreign inside my body so it's best to remove them.

lyn, ya I removed fibroids 5yrs ago. Not sure the name of my cysts leh, didnt ask gynae. Yup, I've painful menses and the pain lasts throughout my 7-day of menses. Also, I'm allergy to most painkillers so I got to bear the pain without any medications for long term lor. My gal is 14mths now. Actually I got cysts before I preggie too but they disappeared as my preg proceeds. But now come back again, sigh...........

Hi all, I'd like to check the charges that you gals paid for lapro. I just called my gynae and his charges is quite high at abt $8k. Is this norm?

Hi giggler,
I think diet is very important in order to keep away the cysts. I just met someone yesterday who had multiple cysts. She changed her diet and she no need to go through laparoscopy. I am going to chnage my diet too to prevent regrowth...

My gynae charged me 4.2k for laparoscopy. 4.2k is just the gynae's fees, excluding the hospital fees and medications.

Hi Giggler,

I say you have no strong case for surgery becoz it's known that cysts can recur after surgery. My opinion is that if pain is bearable and you're not ttc, then no need to remove. But since you're allergic to many painkillers, maybe that's y dr ask u to go for op. But lyn is right, try diet changes first. I read a TCM book and this is what it suggests:-

1. relax, try not to get too emotional and don't get angry. Basically avoid stress.
2. no cold, raw foods. Avoid citrus fruits, cooling fruits like melons, etc. Avoid coffee. No cold drinks.
3. light exercise to move Qi for better blood circulation. But don't exercise during menses to avoid fatigue.

i also think we shud avoid foods with estrogenic activity - toufu, EPO, dang gui, etc.

hth

Sorry Marble, but I think toufu is good.

I read from a book for pple with endo, fibroids problems, we should avoid milk, cheese, and other dairy products too. Less meat too cos nowadays those animals are given hormones to grow faster. Less seafood too cos the sea is not so clean now.
Stress also plays a big part in these types of growth in our womb...

lyn, so how are u gg to change your diet? My gynae told me 8k is inclusive of everything. He explained that cos GlenE is ex so the total bill so ex lah. Gynae also mentioned that stress maybe the cause of my regrowth.

Marble, I've discussed with my family and I'll go for the op this time round to clear everyhting in my body. After this op, I'll do something to prevent re-growth.

Lyn, ya lah toufu is controversial. some say good some say bad. but according to TCM toufu is cooling so i avoid lor. And lately got a clinical study which suggest soya products not good for fertility so i now cut down. Actually there was once during my period i ate Tau Hwey, then got very bad cramps...

Giggler, if you've decided then go for it! My op is in GlenE, and Dr is charging me 5plus to 6K. when's ur op?

hi beary, i already took the first course (4 days)of medication.It seems this month, my menses is exceptionally heavy...and usually it's the last few days that have those jelly-like bloodclots, but now i actually have these on the 1st day itself! I checked with dr bai, he mentions the medication does purge out the impurities hee...hopefully it removes my blood cyst *pray*

Last friday, i went back to him, and he gave me another 2 courses (8 days), i'm on the 3rd day today...

i asked dr bai how long do i need to take this medication till i can at least see a little results..he mentioned half a year...may or may not see results...depending on my body...think i might go for an ultrasound re-scan after finishing my current medication to see if the cyst is still there or if it has grown bigger...

Will let you know of any progress. Thanks!

Giggler,
Less meat, less carbo now. No seafood. Eat more vegetables and fruits. Drink fresh fruit juice everyday. Not those packed ones with preservatives. Gotta be fresh and no sugar, no ice added.
Yes stress plays a very important part. Women like to keep things to themselves and all these stress just build up and gotta go somewhere rite? So go to women's organs lor... I also went through a number courses to help emotional part

When will you be going through the op? Take care
Wish you a fast recovery.

Hi Marble,
Yes, toufu is controversial. But I personally believe it's good. The recent studies is by the British. British pple eat a lot of ready made microwavable food. These ready packed food contain lots of processed soy derived products. So it's a case of eating soy products almost every meals. I take toufu often and drink soya milk often. I know many people who take toufu and drink soya milk daily and still can conceive, so I dun really believe it's no good

Hi Lyn,

The study was not done on british pple. it was done in-vitro (in petri dish). Genistein in soya seems to have an effect on sperms. The advice was to avoid soya during the fertile period. If you're ttc, maybe better to play safe and avoid soya when ovulating. Like u, i lurrvveee soya milk! :)

Have a read http://www.newscientist.com/article.ns?id=dn7559

Hi Estheryl, can you tell me more about the tcm u're taking? do you need to take daily throughout the month for 1 course? how often do you need to visit the sinseh? I'm now looking for a chinese sinseh to treat my endo after my op.

Hi Estheryl

Glad to know that the medication is working for you. All the best and hope to hear good news from you soon. Keep me posted ok?

hi beary, so far so good..but whether it will reduce the cyst or like yours disappear still yet to know... yeah i'll keep you posted..

hi marble, beary recommended me room 5 dr bai of chung hwa medical institution at toa payoh...i went to see him, he's in usually on friday evenings..i guess the medicine he diagnose depends on individual problems...

for mine, take for 4 days thereafter can choose to go back to him to continue the medication, i stop for 2 weeks b4 going back to him ... my medication cannot be consumed if pregnant, having flu and during menses... my hubby asked the doc how long do i need to take this medication b4 i can see results, we were told at least half a year..coz it works slow...

Hi estheryl,

oic. so by right how often do u have to see this sinseh? if he only give 4 days, does it mean u suppose to see him every 4 days? seems a bit strange that it's up to u when u shud go back to him again after the med.

did u try any other tcm dr..like the Jurong East one?

Marble & lyn, I've made appt with my gynae to do the op on 5Sep liao. May I know who's your gynae at GlenE? Mine is Dr KH Chan.

hi marble, no i have not tried other tcm dr
i guess coz this is a free medical institute, they do not give you the attention that private doc give. i was told don't need to go back to him every 4 days..can rest two weeks or so...then go back to get medication...anyway i've finished with 3 courses already...will go for a re-scan next mth...see if there's any progress

Hi Estheryl,

To all ladies contemplating seeing the JE dr, here's my experience:

i went to see the JE dr. and i wud STRONGLY advise all NOT to see her. I'm convinced there's something wrong with her ethics. She diagnosed me with PCOS and adenomyosis, all of which my gynae did not say i have. as a matter of fact, i've just done my laparoscopy and my gynae did not find any PCOS or adenomyosis. Wat's worse she claimed my gynae was not good enuff to diagnose and suggested i see her recommended gynae, Dr Fong. Then after some discussion, whereby I insisted i only have endometrioma and not PCOS, she relented and started agreeing that my gynae was a good surgeon etc..I am also in the healthcare line and I know this is very unethical thing to do.

From wat i know, TCM treats gynae & fertility problems as one and cannot differentiate between endo, PCOS, adenomyosis etc. Even diagnosis of gynaecological problem requires looking at the tongue, feeling the pulse, asking patient questions, etc. But all the JE dr did was felt my pulse and confirmed staight away i have PCOS, even after I said it cannot be since my menses are very regular monthly. Besides, I do not even have any of the common signs of a PCOS patient, ie Acne, overweight, hairy etc.

Then we started discussing what medication to take and she just rattle off the different types of medication/herbs. When the clinic assistant was dispensing the medication to me, i asked again what each was for and she impatiently said "just now dr already told u, you did listen."

To cut the long story short, in the end i paid $15 and left without taking the med which wud have cost me another $38.

If u read thru the threads here, you'll see that my is not a unique experience with her. I'm sharing my $15 lession here to spare you the frustrations if u ever contemplate seeing her.

Hi all, I've done my lapa on Mon and everything went well. Dont feel much pain and can even walk ard like normal. But my mom is controlling my diet and I got to drink at least 2 types of chinese herbs everyday. I just take without asking what they are lah. Just want to enjoy my mom's TLC towards me during this period.

Just to add, in addition to 3 cysts, my gynae found out that my intestines were wrapped around my left ovary and my fallopian tube was stuck to my right ovary. Really scary to see those pix at first but now ok liao. Even 'showed them off' to relatives who visited me. Actually I'm glad that I went for the lapro now cos if not I didnt know that I got other prob than cysts inside me.

Right now, I thot of trying TCM to stop any further re-growth cos I dun feel good thinking that I may have cysts again few yrs later.

Hi Giggler

You're blessed with a loving mom!

Looks like i have to take back my words on u not having a strong case for op! Good thing u din listen to me hee...

Actually, during my op, my dr also found that my condition was worst than what he saw on the scan. In reality I have 2 cysts altho he only saw one in the u/scan. My tubes were also blocked and my intestine was 'glued' to my uterus! Like u, i'm also glad i went for my op. I now think pple like us shud go for the op since the u/scan cannot show u much...

I'm on TCM now but not too sure if i'll continue for long. I find the TCM here a little lacking in expertise...altho' the one I'm seeing now seems satisfactory but a little expensive. which TCM dr are u planning to see?

Giggler,

Take care..

May i checked with you the following:
1) which hospital u do ur lapro?
2) Any stay in hospital?
3) how long is the surgery?
4) how many days MC?
5) What is the charges?

Marble, sounds like your situation similar to me hor? I plan to see sinseh at Meiling St, recommended by my fren who goes there for her infertility prob. I feel that it's not a gd idea to have to remove cysts after every few yrs lah. Ya, I really appreciate my mom's help. She not only got to look after me, she also got to take care of my gal.

Worry mum, I went to GlenE for my lapro. It's a day surgery so I left the hosp on that day of op itself. The surgery lasts abt 2hrs. I was given 2 weeks of mc. It cost me abt $7K. May I know why you ask huh???