Support for Gestational Diabetes Mummies~

Your reading seem low for GD. Is the glucometer faulty? Or maybe u highlight to dr see what he advise.
i told the nurse already.. my before meals today is 3.7/3.9/3.9. after meal is 4.7/4.9/5.1.
is not even in the range for after meal too which is 5.5 to 7.

My reads have been all over the place lately, so I just took another read 5 mins apart, and also with an alcohol swab. What was a 7.3 read became a 6.4 from another finger, so either my soap is interfering, or my meter is faulty. I recall another member here who had a similar issue and had her meter replaced, gonna go do that tmrw grrrrr

My gynae said he plans to induce me next Monday already cos GD mums may have unknown complications. Will be week 38+3. So far I have gained less than 2 kg, baby at a normal weight of 2.7kg at week 37, and i have enough fluid. Wonder any gynae informed you all must induce earlier and not wait? Read that contractions for induced birth is more painful and many ended up doing emergency caesarean... Worried

Your gynae is probably worried that your baby may be too big for natural delivery bcos many GD mom's do gave birth to bigger size babies. The scan of the size is only any estimate. May acty be bigger or smaller in size. Also if yr reading is high, baby may hv low glucose n is dangerous for him/her too.

Hi ladies, so glad to have found this thread. i was informed yesterday by my gynae's nurse i failed the Glucose test. She did not give me any reading and i have to call back and she told me 146.which is different from all your single digit readings?

I felt so upset. Cuz am a junk food eater. And i was skinny pre preg so ate alot more carbs for bb growth. Now gotta watch my diet.
See-ing my gynae next Tues only.

R u seeing your gynae at KKH? I was also not told of my readings when they called me but I was told high n asked me report to ODAC for one-day GD course at lvl 7

Hi ladies, so glad to have found this thread. i was informed yesterday by my gynae's nurse i failed the Glucose test. She did not give me any reading and i have to call back and she told me 146.which is different from all your single digit readings?

I felt so upset. Cuz am a junk food eater. And i was skinny pre preg so ate alot more carbs for bb growth. Now gotta watch my diet.
Is yours a blood test or ogtt test?
Maybe diff unit of measurement

Mine is the 2 hours blood test. Draw 1 tube of blood then drink the orange syrup and draw another tube, 2 hours later. I did mine at my gynae's clinic, at glen.
My doc is doc john yam.

Hi, and welcome to the group, sorry you are here, but take heart, GD is entirely manageable for a safe delivery :)

http://www.mayoclinic.org/tests-procedures/glucose-tolerance-test/basics/results/prc-20014814

Results can be in milligrams per deciliter (mg/dL) or millimoles per liter (mmol/L). So depends on the brand of meter you get also. My guess is your gynae might send you to a specialist, for my case, as with @evilcarebear , was referred to ODAC, and seeing a diabetes/hypertension specialist every 3weeks at KKH (subsidised).

I find the sessions at nutritionist rather informative and keeps me in check too. Do read through this thread if possible, lots of very useful feedback and tips from mummies here!

So, I braved the rain and crowd at mustafa to test my Freestyle Optium Neo, and the lady said it's normal to have variances if the blood was taken from different fingers :-/ anyway, the meter is not faulty, my diet is XD maybe some part of me was still in denial over having to take insulin next week, but I have somewhat come to terms with it as it has become seemingly impossible to eat anything without the blood sugars fluctuating sigh.

Anyhow, the "good" news is that Freestyle Optium strips are now on offer till end July at Mustafa (electronic medical equipment section)! $88 for 125 strips. Quite a bit cheaper than KKH pharmacy subsidised rate of ~$46 for 50 strips.

Jus to ask. For non KkH patients, we can walk in to buy their test kits etc? Or from polyclinic?

If you are referring to the blood sugar test kit, you can get from any pharmacy since you will be paying retail price. The one KKH recommends is Freestyle Optium Neo, but I think some private gynae recommend Omron.

Hihi, i just got my test kit. I bought the same one my gynae wanted to loan me. Omron basic. It's $69 w 25 test strips. Do u all use lancets needle?i wanted get the other type but its much expensive..

I am using omron and their lancet needles

anybody knows if we can take ricola sweets?
i'm having an itchy throat now so thinking of taking some ricola to ease it..
but not sure whether its fine (the packaging didnt mention that it is suitable for diabetics)

Heard from the nurse from ODAC, KKH that Optium needles used for pricking is the least painful compared to other brands.

The ODAC nurse recommended Safeticet (yellow one), about $22 for 100 lancets. I get mine from Unity. She said it's the least painful, even less than the Optium one, so I never even tried the Optium lancets that came with my machine lol

anybody knows if we can take ricola sweets?
i'm having an itchy throat now so thinking of taking some ricola to ease it..
but not sure whether its fine (the packaging didnt mention that it is suitable for diabetics)
My dietitian said as long as it says sugar-free is ok, but not to take too much cos such breath freshener sweets have laxative effect if taken too freely.

For sore and itchy throat I take Difflam as recommended my doc, but I also sometimes do warm salt water gargles if I don't feel comfortable taking lozenges.

An update on my blood sugar situation - as I managed to put on about 600g in 2 weeks, and blood sugar reads these past week are mostly within limits, the diabetes doc today told me it's ok to continue with diet control, and I don't have to take insulin :)

I also asked if the lactulose was interfering with my reads, she said highly possible and switched me to Forlax. Don't have to see diabetes specialist again for 3 weeks yay!

The dietitian advised me to switch to regular milk instead of skimmed milk, as I am still not putting on enough weight - so far gained only 4.8kgs at 35w. Will be going for another ultrasound next week, probably to see how big baby is, and have to see gynae weekly from now on.

Hope all mummies are doing well!

An update on my blood sugar situation - as I managed to put on about 600g in 2 weeks, and blood sugar reads these past week are mostly within limits, the diabetes doc today told me it's ok to continue with diet control, and I don't have to take insulin :)

I also asked if the lactulose was interfering with my reads, she said highly possible and switched me to Forlax. Don't have to see diabetes specialist again for 3 weeks yay!

The dietitian advised me to switch to regular milk instead of skimmed milk, as I am still not putting on enough weight - so far gained only 4.8kgs at 35w. Will be going for another ultrasound next week, probably to see how big baby is, and have to see gynae weekly from now on.

Hope all mummies are doing well!

That's great. Hang in there

snowfern, great to hear that you manage to control sugar with just a diet. You've got a great willpower!
I was not diagnosed with GD yet, my test is only in 3 weeks time, but I'm dreading it and was trying to eat as healthy as possible. Not sure if it will help...

Is it bcos Gynae checked that baby is not gaining weight?

For my case, I had to ctrl my diet and my weight dropped till even lower than pre-pregnancy weight. Gynae told me I was doing well cos it means I really ctrl my diet and my readings were within the range.. and he assured me that though I was losing weight but my baby was gaining weight thru the scan

Just checking with mummies here... At what point did your gynae decided you're not gaining enough weight?
From 2nd trimester onwards, when I couldn't seem to hit above pre-pregnancy weight even after regaining what I lost in 1st trimester. I think there's a number of sites to calculate healthy weight gains for Mummies throughout pregnancy ....

http://www.kidspot.com.au/birth/pregnancy-weight-gain-calculator

I was told by all docs and dietitians that this is super important so we have strength to carry baby to term, it's not good enough to think that since baby is within normal growth range that slow weight gain is ok. I had to adjust this mindset after the doc threatened me with insulin, basically saying not enough nutrition for mummy (not enough weight gain) means most of what we take in will be shunted to baby, putting baby's health at risk of low blood sugar when born for GD mums, and mum not having enough nutrition to carry to term.

The problem I faced was over-restriction of carbs. At my max 6.x reads I allowed myself, she said still got wiggle room for extra carbs. Without which, very difficult to gain weight :( So vexing.

You having weight issues too?

snowfern, great to hear that you manage to control sugar with just a diet. You've got a great willpower!
I was not diagnosed with GD yet, my test is only in 3 weeks time, but I'm dreading it and was trying to eat as healthy as possible. Not sure if it will help...
Don't worry first , just do the test. Meanwhile, practice healthy eating, is good for anyone, pregnant or not :) GD is not a death sentence!!!

Is it bcos Gynae checked that baby is not gaining weight?

For my case, I had to ctrl my diet and my weight dropped till even lower than pre-pregnancy weight. Gynae told me I was doing well cos it means I really ctrl my diet and my readings were within the range.. and he assured me that though I was losing weight but my baby was gaining weight thru the scan
I heard some gynaes prefer babies to be smaller for easier delivery, I think depends on mummy bmi also?

Smaller baby usually is easier to deliver. Even if it is C-section, the cut can also be smaller too. However baby should not be too small also ya. Too small baby also got it potential risk & complication de.

Jia you.

From 2nd trimester onwards, when I couldn't seem to hit above pre-pregnancy weight even after regaining what I lost in 1st trimester. I think there's a number of sites to calculate healthy weight gains for Mummies throughout pregnancy ....

http://www.kidspot.com.au/birth/pregnancy-weight-gain-calculator

I was told by all docs and dietitians that this is super important so we have strength to carry baby to term, it's not good enough to think that since baby is within normal growth range that slow weight gain is ok. I had to adjust this mindset after the doc threatened me with insulin, basically saying not enough nutrition for mummy (not enough weight gain) means most of what we take in will be shunted to baby, putting baby's health at risk of low blood sugar when born for GD mums, and mum not having enough nutrition to carry to term.

The problem I faced was over-restriction of carbs. At my max 6.x reads I allowed myself, she said still got wiggle room for extra carbs. Without which, very difficult to gain weight :( So vexing.

You having weight issues too?

A bit concerned about the lack of weight gain since started pregnancy with relatively low bmi although still within normal range at 19.2

Baby been measuring right at 50% since week10, but at week32 the scan showed her growth rate started to slow down. This is after failing OGTT at week28 and being stricter with carb. All weight gain for last month went to baby...

Just wondering whether I'm being over-anxious FTM...

A bit concerned about the lack of weight gain since started pregnancy with relatively low bmi although still within normal range at 19.2

Baby been measuring right at 50% since week10, but at week32 the scan showed her growth rate started to slow down. This is after failing OGTT at week28 and being stricter with carb. All weight gain for last month went to baby...

Just wondering whether I'm being over-anxious FTM...

Hello mummy,

Nothing wrong to be anxious, but I would like to suggest you share your anxiety thought with your preferred gynac. Ask him/her directly whether your baby current weight is ok or not. If he/she say is ok, then remind yourself that your chosen gynac say is ok. remind yourself the huge amount of $$$ you paid to him or her for their expert opinion, tell yourself that if dun wanna to believe what the chosen gynac say, then time to change gynac liao. Cheers :p

Hello mummy,

Nothing wrong to be anxious, but I would like to suggest you share your anxiety thought with your preferred gynac. Ask him/her directly whether your baby current weight is ok or not. If he/she say is ok, then remind yourself that your chosen gynac say is ok. remind yourself the huge amount of $$$ you paid to him or her for their expert opinion, tell yourself that if dun wanna to believe what the chosen gynac say, then time to change gynac liao. Cheers :p

Lol. That's one way of putting it :)

Gynae did mentioned nothing to worry about, but from bad experience dealing with other specialist (cardiologist, haematologist, oncologist...), I personally think that one should verify their info and decide our action from there... I'll probably try to drill my gynae more on this - although the last time I questioned about false+ rate of test, he wasn't too pleased though...

If I could like @aaa111 's reply more times I would!

I also sometimes wonder if the success rate of smooth deliveries seem to be more important for private gynaes than for the subsidised ones at KKH. This is a biased view of course, I'm a FTM, and KKH care seems to be more mother-oriented than baby, in comparison to what I've read in fb groups about baby weight vs mummy weight etc.

Do you see a dietitian? I thoroughly appreciate your recommendation of the fitness app, it helped me gain some weight and realize I wasn't eating enough before! The visit to the dietitian yesterday is helping me assuage my anxiety too, feeling like I have room to breathe with regards to my carb intake.

I think we are also getting more anxious as the due date is drawing near, it is normal to feel this way. Keep us updated :)

It's me again :9 today went for scan to determine baby's weight and position, she's about 2.7kg @35w6d, amniotic fluid at 8.7, head down. Average across the board, so I'm very happy with that and it's just a waiting game now!

Not so happy with my reads is today's doc, cos I had a 9.x reading after 2x soon Kueh, 4 siew mai and 1 persimmon. I think it's the persimmon cos that's the only thing that I added to an otherwise safe meal.

That and the other 7.x reads over 2 days. Haiz. This was after being told to switch to full fat milk, and 1 full cup at that, 2-3 times a day, and to eat more proteins, nuts and fruit cos I wasn't putting on enough. I give up le. Dietitian advice keeps conflicting with the docs!!!! This week only gained 300g and ruined my reads ugh!!! I will just switch to low fat instead of skimmed, and stop experimenting, since it's the final month and to hell with trying to gain weight since baby seems ok. Easier also, since I'm already used to the 'lean' menu, and full fat milk/high gives me heartburn.

/Rant off

How's everyone else doing?? Good I hope?

It's me again :9 today went for scan to determine baby's weight and position, she's about 2.7kg @35w6d, amniotic fluid at 8.7, head down. Average across the board, so I'm very happy with that and it's just a waiting game now!

Not so happy with my reads is today's doc, cos I had a 9.x reading after 2x soon Kueh, 4 siew mai and 1 persimmon. I think it's the persimmon cos that's the only thing that I added to an otherwise safe meal.

That and the other 7.x reads over 2 days. Haiz. This was after being told to switch to full fat milk, and 1 full cup at that, 2-3 times a day, and to eat more proteins, nuts and fruit cos I wasn't putting on enough. I give up le. Dietitian advice keeps conflicting with the docs!!!! This week only gained 300g and ruined my reads ugh!!! I will just switch to low fat instead of skimmed, and stop experimenting, since it's the final month and to hell with trying to gain weight since baby seems ok. Easier also, since I'm already used to the 'lean' menu, and full fat milk/high gives me heartburn.

/Rant off

How's everyone else doing?? Good I hope?

I gave birth to a healthy girl last Thursday at 38+6 days. She weighs 2.96kg and I put on less than 2kg. I actually stopped taking measurements about 1-2 weeks before the induced birth as my hb said I should not be stressed over readings and just enjoy the rest of the pregnancy. Baby's blood sugar was a little low when born but she was fine after being fed immediately. All tests results are good now just waiting for metabolism test result. She has some jaundice but it came down on the day of the discharge and we could bring her home with us. So far so good and we are seeing the gynae and PD tmr.
Jiayou MTBs!

Me too I indulge n didn't care about readings two weeks before due date. My dr also ask me to eat more n don't need to test. Baby come out ok with mild low sugar but after feeding back to normal.

I gave birth to a healthy girl last Thursday at 38+6 days. She weighs 2.96kg and I put on less than 2kg. I actually stopped taking measurements about 1-2 weeks before the induced birth as my hb said I should not be stressed over readings and just enjoy the rest of the pregnancy. Baby's blood sugar was a little low when born but she was fine after being fed immediately. All tests results are good now just waiting for metabolism test result. She has some jaundice but it came down on the day of the discharge and we could bring her home with us. So far so good and we are seeing the gynae and PD tmr.
Jiayou MTBs!

Congratulations !!!! So good to hear both you and baby are doing well!! Get lots of rest, and keep us updated!

Me too I indulge n didn't care about readings two weeks before due date. My dr also ask me to eat more n don't need to test. Baby come out ok with mild low sugar but after feeding back to normal.
Good to hear that! Are you still monitoring your blood sugar to see if the GD has disappeared? Hope you have been getting good rest :)

Ladies, do we still need to do any test or check on ourselves after delivery? I going to delivery on 1july. Last visit to give 1wks+ ago, Bb abt 2.6kg. My dr didn't ask me to stop doing the test. Next visit will be 3days before my delivery for the final check.

Hi I am still doing my blood sugar check after dinner.....day time usually busy with work so don't get to check

Guess will do this till delivery though doc has asked me not wort about GD just eat coz my baby is small

I hv to take glucose tolerance test when i go for gynaes review (i.e. one month after delivery)

Hi all, i hv been asked to do the Glucose Fasting test at week 30 and result was 169 above the normal range. So gynae suggested i do the glucose monitoring test once a week. So far the first 7 point test turn out ok as I adjusted my diet/food choices...

baby is growing at normal weight around 2kg at the moment. however, I seen most of you ladies posting you only gained 3-4 kg since preggies??

My pre-preg weight was around 58kg.. and now at week 30 I am at 70kg already... i been eating normal... not much snacking in between though.... but i tot is normal to put on at least 10-12kg for pregnancy?

although now i do have swelling feet and probably water retention. I am also a older mummy at 39 yr old....

Hi all, i hv been asked to do the Glucose Fasting test at week 30 and result was 169 above the normal range. So gynae suggested i do the glucose monitoring test once a week. So far the first 7 point test turn out ok as I adjusted my diet/food choices...

baby is growing at normal weight around 2kg at the moment. however, I seen most of you ladies posting you only gained 3-4 kg since preggies??

My pre-preg weight was around 58kg.. and now at week 30 I am at 70kg already... i been eating normal... not much snacking in between though.... but i tot is normal to put on at least 10-12kg for pregnancy?

although now i do have swelling feet and probably water retention. I am also a older mummy at 39 yr old....

Hi, older mummy here too, same age :) I was diagnosed w diabetes before I got pregnant, and was already managing it with weight loss and diet, so when I found out I was pregnant they automatically sent me to the GD clinic. Which means since week 6 I have been on controlled diet, 7x once week prick tests, hence the low weight gains.

I think you are on the right weight track, as that was what was recommended to me (I'm supposed to be 70+kg now at wk36), but I can't seem to gain without blood sugar spiking, and GD affects all mummies differently. Most important is baby isn't too big or small, and mummy's blood sugar is stable and within range.

For water retention/foot swell, I only get it when I take too much salty food or not drinking enough water. Try to aim for 2-3l a day (including soups etc ) and lower sodium should help reduce swelling. I also find wearing tights help me. But of course, best to clear with your gynae first to see if there are other underlying causes.

We're here to help if we can!