Prof PC Wong - IVF with Norethisterone

Actually I did hpt last sun and got negative result. Felt a bit down. Hubby wasn't happy that I did it.
Yea I hope to spread baby dust to all of you. Keep the bfp coming!
Look forward to the scan next week. Thing will be more certain then.

My guts feeling came only ytd nite....hehe...I jus told GorillaCock the news...he said.."chey....mayb was bcoz I read ur mood from forum ytd"...
I was so so so tempted to ask u ytd issit a bfp on hpt last nite..but I choose to respect & stopped my curiosity(kaypohing in short)..

U noe ur beta number?so happy for u...:D
Keep going....

Bikinisss keep coming...woohoo!

Indeed, one golden is good enuf..indeed,prof the magic hands(i saw this nick on forums)..jus 1 for him..tt's enuf...

Thanks! Hope will be your turn soon!
This is my first cycle. I was really hoping for this to work as I only left one embryo to transfer at d3.
Me too leh. Only had one fighting! Hope it continued being fierce!!

Rest well ok!! And don't smile so much till ur face cramp ah!!

sj123, ur embryo is a fighter! Praying and believing wif u tat it shall continue to grow well! Congrats again!
Indeed, after 26 follicles 7 retrieved and 2 fertilized. This is certainly a fighter.
Prof said I will be clear of ohss risk by next week. But should be unlikely to get it since I do not have any symptoms.
Thank you all the sisters here for the couragement and support. Wish more good news follow suit.
@veraine ******* lots of baby dust to u*******

Indeed, after 26 follicles 7 retrieved and 2 fertilized. This is certainly a fighter.
Prof said I will be clear of ohss risk by next week. But should be unlikely to get it since I do not have any symptoms.
Thank you all the sisters here for the couragement and support. Wish more good news follow suit.
So u only put one? Wow very lucky leh is golden emby indeed!

Hi all, I know this is a thread on Prof Wong but I just want to know if anyone has gone to Dr Stephen Chew before? I am making an appointment for the first time and not sure if we should choose Prof Wong. He seems super super popular and I am unsure if he will be very rushed in the consultations.

Prof's schedule is really packed...but he has never once rushed through his consultations...tt's my experience with him...knowing tt he's so busy yet he takes his time to patiently answer my queries n doubts...makes me really impressed n comfortable...appreciative as well....but do note...Prof may b out of town every now n then or out of office...when he's not ard, it will b his back up Dr....

Prof Wong super popular but he has a super efficient system... There's Sharon and there's Alice :)

And he's very professional, so don't have to worry abt him rushing

Like what @MonkeyChick mentioned, he does go away for seminars/holidays.. So can ask the nurses for his schedule if you intend to work round his timing

Woohoo!Keep cool,stay happy ya...next week can kick ohss fears off...farewell so long ohss!:p

Prof Wong super popular but he has a super efficient system... There's Sharon and there's Alice :)

Like what @MonkeyChick mentioned, he does go away for seminars/holidays.. So can ask the nurses for his schedule if you intend to work round his timing
I wanna add that prof is super punctual!!! So thumbs up for Dr magic hands.

I was with Dr chew for my first fresh... he's very good as well so whichever u choose ur in good hands.

I'm a first timer here, thought to pop by and say hi to everyone! And look for some spare baby dust :)
"Lucky" me, my cycle coincides with SG50 and thus I have to take NorE for quite a long time (19 days)
Next week I'm scheduled to see Prof and get my first dose of Elonva. I only got to know this when NUH called me today....Anyone else can share their experience why they get Elonva instead of the other shots?

I wanna add that prof is super punctual!!! So thumbs up for Dr magic hands.

I was with Dr chew for my first fresh... he's very good as well so whichever u choose ur in good hands.

Yeah...I swear by his punctuality!never once late...only early...his punctuality is so well-known tt OT personnel will prep us 15min b4 hand...very impressive time-keeping...

My idol...lol

I'm a first timer here, thought to pop by and say hi to everyone! And look for some spare baby dust :)
"Lucky" me, my cycle coincides with SG50 and thus I have to take NorE for quite a long time (19 days)
Next week I'm scheduled to see Prof and get my first dose of Elonva. I only got to know this when NUH called me today....Anyone else can share their experience why they get Elonva instead of the other shots?

I will jus say Hi to u...Welcome...;)
Cant giv u any constructive feedbacks coz i was not on Elonva...

We're all swimming in fresh baby dust from @sj123 today!!

@queby77 and @remembeRainbow not saying yours stale hor hehe

Jialat alr...when u mentioned Sharon...my mind is full of Sharron....I think Im in love again...lolzzz....:p

Hi bulskie! This is my first IVF and I was given Elonva after my baseline scan. NUH never call me or inform me beforehand. Sorry I can't answer your question as I don't know why I and I didn't ask. But the nurse said this is good because it only need to jab once and last a few days. I got very low AMH so not sure if this is the reason. Since the Elonva can last for so many days then I suspect it must be super high dose or higher chance of causing ohss but since I got very low AMH so it won't happened to me and therefore given this.

May I ask what is your AMH level?

We're all swimming in fresh baby dust from @sj123 today!!

@queby77 and @remembeRainbow not saying yours stale hor hehe
Let me revive the stale dusts and bombed it on u Veraine. Admire that you didn't hpt. I just couldn't self control last time.

Next Monday is my NT scAn and Oscar for bibity and bobity boo. Praying that all of you including myself will pass all tests with flying colors.

You must be Mary from the lab! Hi Mary!

You have brought up the point that I have been pondering about. Should I grow my thawed embabies to day4 or day5 for my fet? Night_Dreaming told me to decide on this myself. :(

Growing them to day5 will kill some of them but save me from some painful TWWs, time and costs. It's ultimately a gamble o_O

I would like to hear more of your views and findings.

Day_dreaming, here is my view on this. I used to be a big proponent on D5 transfer because I thought we would let "nature" (or lab) select the strongest embryos. However, my view has changed lately. I no longer think Day 5 transfer is better, although it is still possibly going to yield a slightly higher pregnancy rate per transfer.

First of all, the lab is not our womb. There is no way to say that the strongest embryo in the lab will also be the one that will perform the best in the womb. The "natural selection" is not in a natural environment.

Secondly, it is clear that there are many embryos that could make it in the womb but could not survive from Day 3 to Day 5 in the lab. Why do I think so? If you look at clinical pregnancy rates in the US, you can see the rate of success of Day 3 is maybe 30% and Day 5 40%, in very general terms. So the difference is only 25% proportion-wise. However, the rate of demise between Day 3 and Day 5 in the lab is about 50 - 60%. That means a significant portion of the Day 3 embryos, maybe around 30 - 40%, would have been able to survive if they were in the womb but ended up dying in the lab.

Third, there is also a factor of selection bias that could explain the different success rate between Day 3 and Day 5 transfers. Usually the women doing D5 transfer have more embryos. So if you were to choose 2 out of 10 embryos, you are more likely to get a higher quality embryo than from a smaller pool. So maybe culturing to Day 5 was not the key, but having a lot of embryos to choose from is.

Costwise I think it's a wash. Doing blast means fewer frozen, so there is a higher chance of having to do a fresh cycle again.

That's just my view at the moment. It could change with more research. ;) The most important is to trust you've made the best selection possible and not second-guess yourself. If you think too much, whichever you choose, you will wonder if the other is better.

Let me know what you decide! I would love to hear your thoughts too!

That's very high cos mine was 547.9 at 17dp3dt. You put 1 only? Cos sound like twins hcg to me if you are also abt 17days
Today is only 13dp3dt. I thought it's way too high too because my friend who bfp yesterday was 300 plus and possibly twins.
Hmm.. Should have asked prof. Yea only 1, but was a compacting.

Day_dreaming, here is my view on this. I used to be a big proponent on D5 transfer because I thought we would let "nature" (or lab) select the strongest embryos. However, my view has changed lately. I no longer think Day 5 transfer is better, although it is still possibly going to yield a slightly higher pregnancy rate per transfer.

First of all, the lab is not our womb. There is no way to say that the strongest embryo in the lab will also be the one that will perform the best in the womb. The "natural selection" is not in a natural environment.

Secondly, it is clear that there are many embryos that could make it in the womb but could not survive from Day 3 to Day 5 in the lab. Why do I think so? If you look at clinical pregnancy rates in the US, you can see the rate of success of Day 3 is maybe 30% and Day 5 40%, in very general terms. So the difference is only 25% proportion-wise. However, the rate of demise between Day 3 and Day 5 in the lab is about 50 - 60%. That means a significant portion of the Day 3 embryos, maybe around 30 - 40%, would have been able to survive if they were in the womb but ended up dying in the lab.

Third, there is also a factor of selection bias that could explain the different success rate between Day 3 and Day 5 transfers. Usually the women doing D5 transfer have more embryos. So if you were to choose 2 out of 10 embryos, you are more likely to get a higher quality embryo than from a smaller pool. So maybe culturing to Day 5 was not the key, but having a lot of embryos to choose from is.

Costwise I think it's a wash. Doing blast means fewer frozen, so there is a higher chance of having to do a fresh cycle again.

That's just my view at the moment. It could change with more research. ;) The most important is to trust you've made the best selection possible and not second-guess yourself. If you think too much, whichever you choose, you will wonder if the other is better.

I am a full time student now so I have access to many electronic journals online. You let me know if you chance upon some abstracts but can't get hold of the article. I can try downloading.

You ladies really research a lot leh!!

I cannot tahan reading what I'm supposed to read liao.. Medical journals omg

@BabiesJJ2015
How is your scan this morning? Prof got confirm when is your OR?

Scan revealed 4 + 1 new follicles = total 5 now.

Dr says OR either Mon or Tue. Got to go back for another scan this Sat. Errr.... am not with Prof; he is so popular!

姐妹们, follicle must be how big and lining how thick then can proceed with OR huh? Sotong-ness setting in..... 我不记得了。 :confused::oops:

Today is only 13dp3dt. I thought it's way too high too because my friend who bfp yesterday was 300 plus and possibly twins.
Hmm.. Should have asked prof. Yea only 1, but was a compacting.

That's really high! I think usually it's 100 - 250. But a single embryo could split so twins are not out of the question. ;)

Yeah! Even more baby dust than we thought! Now MonkeyChick can't take it all hehehe :rolleyes::p:D:cool:

Let me revive the stale dusts and bombed it on u Veraine. Admire that you didn't hpt. I just couldn't self control last time.

Next Monday is my NT scAn and Oscar for bibity and bobity boo. Praying that all of you including myself will pass all tests with flying colors.
Yeah yeah!! Your Bibity and Bobity Boo can't wait to wave at you!! :) tmr can see them again!!

I will keep breathing in allllllll the baby dusts!!

My hubby not around ma. Then he msged to remind me not to check cos in case negative I'll be upset for a longer time.

Scan revealed 4 + 1 new follicles = total 5 now.

Dr says OR either Mon or Tue. Got to go back for another scan this Sat. Errr.... am not with Prof; he is so popular!

姐妹们, follicle must be how big and lining how thick then can proceed with OR huh? Sotong-ness setting in..... 我不记得了。 :confused::oops:

Lining 7 mm or more is OK, I think. Leading follicle should be at least 17 mm, but as many 14+ as possible.

@bulskie, welcome on board. :)
*wave wave*

This is the place where there's endless rated jokes and unwavering sisterly support. :p:D;)

PS: Nvr tried Elonva before though.

Hi Mermaid, i am of 2 minds on this. I think there are pros and cons for both 3 and 5 days. For my case, i just thought i shoild hv been consulted or at least informed on why they all freeze at day 3 since i hv quite a bit to spare. but nvm lah, what to do. I hv to be more positive i think. I'm usually super positive, but now dont dare to think too much or assume too much after the mc. Another 7 days before BT for me. The days are torturously slow leh... but the forum here do brightens my day! :)

I am a full time student now so I have access to many electronic journals online. You let me know if you chance upon some abstracts but can't get hold of the article. I can try downloading.

You ladies really research a lot leh!!

I cannot tahan reading what I'm supposed to read liao.. Medical journals omg

Hehehehe I'm now reading up on the following topics: 1) Natural Killer cells and 2) if Day 6 blasts are as good as Day 5 blasts. Some women say they have NK cells and that's why they can't get pregnant, so now I am curious to find out if I have them. Too much free time is a dangerous thing!!!

Any information you can offer on these topics? ;)

Hehe 本业 is maths cher!

I'm on full time study leave this year, and just gotten approval to extend for another half a year :)

I plan this scheme that, but this bikini business really hard to plan leh!!
Wow, so u still need to attend lessons now? Stressful? I find studying more stressful than working lor. lol

Thanks @Mermaid2015 aka Mary for sharing your findings!

My general findings after reading science journals and overseas forums:
1. Many overseas clinics refuse to do day3 transfer even when patients asked for day3 transfer because they want to keep their success rates as high as possible. IVF is a competitive lucrative business and they have to submit their success statistics to a government board yearly.
2. Day5 transfers produce significantly more boy babies rather than gal babies when it's compared to day3 transfers and natural births, so I deduce that some gal embryos who can survive in womb, cannot survive till day5 in the lab.
3. Grading is surface and does not tell you about the chromosomes normal or not. Several ladies who sent their day5 embryos for PGD found their 4AA embryos to be abnormal while lower grade ones are normal.
4. People with high NK cells rarely get sick, sick only once in every few years.
5. Development before day5 depends on egg quality, whereas development beyond day5 depends on the sperm quality.

Lastly, everything is still up to mother nature. What happen to other patients may not happen to us. Every body is unique.

1. Many overseas clinics refuse to do day3 transfer even when patients asked for day3 transfer because they want to keep their success rates as high as possible. IVF is a competitive lucrative business and they have to submit their success statistics to a govermnent board yearly.
2. More day5 transfers produce boy babies rather than gal babies, so I deduce that some gal embryos cannot last till day5 in the lab.
3. Grading is surface and do not tell you about the chromesomes normal or not. Several ladies who sent their day5 embryos for PGD found their 4AA embryos to be abnormal while lower grade ones are normal.
4. People with high NK cells rarely get sick, sick only once in every few years.
5. Development before day3 depends on egg quality, whereas development beyond day5 depends on the sperm quality.
Wah!!! Did Prof type this for you to upload here? !!! Haha!! so professional!!!

1. Many overseas clinics refuse to do day3 transfer even when patients asked for day3 transfer because they want to keep their success rates as high as possible. IVF is a competitive lucrative business and they have to submit their success statistics to a govermnent board yearly.
2. Day5 transfers produce significantly more boy babies rather than gal babies than day3 transfers and natural births, so I deduce that some gal embryos who can survive in womb, cannot survive till day5 in the lab.
3. Grading is surface and do not tell you about the chromosomes normal or not. Several ladies who sent their day5 embryos for PGD found their 4AA embryos to be abnormal while lower grade ones are normal.
5. Development before day3 depends on egg quality, whereas development beyond day5 depends on the sperm quality.
Wow Excellent summary! Since I had a cough for a couple of month, that cleared me from NK cells! :D

I really wish we could do PGDs, especially for those of us over 35, since the % of embryos with genetic abnormality goes way up. I promise not to ask about the gender! Don't even care if it's a girl or boy. Just want one!!!

Also for 1), I suspect the clinics also make more money with a fresh transfer than frozen, so even better if the patient has fewer snow babies. In the US each fresh cycle is over $25K USD.

Great discussion!

catinthesky, a few of us here are not wif prof. We are subsidised patients, although ivf oreidi considered pte.

For myself, I stayed put wif subsidised becos e drs are juz as gd. I've seen dr chew, dr lim, dr anu and dr shakina. All are gd. And even though I'm not directly under prof, I heard from e drs tat they will bring up my case file during meetings and prof will still be giving input as to e protocol to use and stuff.

So wif e whole team including e nurses, I feel tat I'm well cared for.

Wow, so u still need to attend lessons now? Stressful? I find studying more stressful than working lor. lol
Yup I also planned all the ER ET etc immediately after my exam.. Hahaha

Lessons starting in August again :(

I find it more stressful also leh. Cos I super no discipline one. Less things to do than working, less hours spent also.. But I'm happier when working I think

No choice leh.. If working, can only schedule all the appointments with prof during the hols.. If not so disruptive :(

@Day_Dreaming it's people give me stress leh! I also don't want to stress myself hahaha