Premature babies support group

Hi mich and costa
here are what I ordered
988083.jpg
988084.jpg

Her hubby delivered to me. ha! Anyway, quite disappointed. I ordered kit kat for my p6, realised it is very small! I ordered bucket for my p4, realised the lid cannot close properly!
I think I must be crazy to spend $134 on such things!!!

didi, you also ordered from candylovers? me too, when my boy was one, I ordered chocolates for my colleague, and coin tins for my guests.

Then I ordered printed cards from her again for my boy's 2nd birthday, and also children's day gifts.

Luckily she really waive off the transport charge. Else I may be like what lindah said, buay tahan.

alicia welcome here!

My boy was borned 27 weeks in raffles, then transferred to kkh. I can tell you frankly, I dun think the medical bills is too much to handle. I am a person without much saving, yet I can pay, so not to worry too much about the bills. But private hospital really can costs a bomb. I spend 3 days at raffles with my boy in nicu already $8000 ( i stay in single bed though. )

I think you can try drinking more black chicken soup, eat more durian.

Not to worry, I think as long as your baby is over 30 weeks, is safe enough. Weight can be gain very fast as long as he is healthy.

Stay calm, and let natural takes its course. Your baby will be fine.

precious one, just realised your gal is 24 weekers. I am so envious. My first boy when borned, ard 700 plus kg too, 23 weekers coming to 24 weeks, but didn't manage to pull thru after 2 days in nicu...

Whenever I see 24 weekers like yours and costa, I will think, how nice if my boy can be alive too.

lindah, one of my friend told me that I can put some of the cereal to add into the milk for the nite's last feed, quite tempted to try, btw what cereal are you using ? me using Heinz Rice Cereal.

kkf, I ordered hershey's choc with my 2 boys's pic on it for the party guests.

didi,

i am using heinz rice cereal too. my SIL started it on her 2mth old son so i thot my son shud be ok too lah. so far ok if in the milk.

alicia,

dun worry too much. i saw a 29 weeker very small less than 1.5kg but becos lungs developed (this tends to be the case if abv 28weeks), the bb was on CPAP for 2 days and after that din need any oxygen support. she was sent to SCN (where bills are much cheaper) after that in her incubator. i think NICU was like $400 a day (after u add in the lab tests, xrays, the misc apparatus) and SCN was like $100 a day. so i think u'll be ok even if you do deliver early.
most impt is how developed the organs are.

re the Medical Officer or Registrar that delivered me, I have no complaints man. She was very young but great! stitches ok, and quite reassuring. Till now I dunno her name (cos my case, I was wheeled in A&E str8, totally no indication of pending premature labor till 11hrs before the birth itself)

oh ya, dunno if mummy mentioned but bb have to be 2kg, and 35weeks gestation before discharge.

bills dun wori so much lah. my son 24wk, 680g so stayed 5mth 18days because of all the misc things, till he was 4.5kg at discharge. bill 33k, wholly charged to my hubby, me and my sis's medisave accts.

if you and hubby dun have enuf, can use your parents/siblings or your hubby's parents/siblings medisave.

now i have insurance for myself since my medisave empty but as the mummies here say before, money can earn back, one!
most impt is baby's health.

kkf, my heart hurts and cries out for the loss of your 1st boy. It is really not easy for you to cope then. No words of comfort is enough. Perhaps GOD knew that your kind boy is not ready to cope in this harsh world. HE took him with HIM to his kingdom where your boy will not feel pain but love.

Our GOD is kind, HE gives you another lovable boy to cuddle and love.

I believe one day we will be called to return home. There, we will be united with our love ones and you will be able to see your 1st boy too. Your 1st boy is alive in your heart and he is very protected by the Almighty GOD.

..."Let the beloved of the LORD rest secure in him, for he shields him all day long, and the one the LORD loves rests between his shoulders."
~ Deuteronomy 33:12~

Hi, alicia

Do stay positive. In KKH, usually more than 33weeks of GA and weight less than 2 kg babies will go to SCN instead of NICU, unless they have breathing problems after birth.

Hi, alicia

Do stay positive. In KKH, usually more than 33weeks of GA and weight less than 2 kg babies will go to SCN instead of NICU, unless they have breathing problems after birth.

rehi all...
nowadays i doing night shift on forum liao...haha... cos daytime busy with my boy...

kkf,
ur dash as charming as ever!!

lindah,
ur hami really very chubby & cute... ;p

disney,
ur gal sooo sweet leh...

alicia,
stay positive... maybe ur boy wld suddenly gain more wt leh... eat well & rest well... dun walk or exert urself too much...
my boy came out at 33 wks also... dunno why also..i didnt even know i was having contractions that time... but his weight was good at 2.185kg... so maybe ur boy wld hit the 2kg mark also...

precious_one,
pai seh... wld go update the data now... no prob, is very easy to do... not troublesome at all...

<table border=1><tr><td>Nick</TD><TD>Baby's DOB</TD><TD>Gender</TD><TD>Birth Weight</TD><TD>Week</TD><TD>Length of Stay </TD></TR><TR><TD>kkf's mom</TD><TD>15-Nov-78</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>1000g+</TD><TD>27</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>chloegal</TD><TD>02-Jan-05</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>775g</TD><TD>25</TD><TD>NICU-3mths, SCN-1mth </TD></TR><TR><TD>mich</TD><TD>31-Jan-05</TD><TD>Boy&Boy</TD><TD>600g&720g</TD><TD>25</TD><TD>NICU&SCN-3.5mths </TD></TR><TR><TD>precious_one</TD><TD>06-Feb-05</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>710g</TD><TD>24</TD><TD>NICU-5mths 28 days </TD></TR><TR><TD>yvonne (voncm)</TD><TD>24-Aug-05</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>1480g</TD><TD>29</TD><TD>NICU-8wks, SCN-3wks </TD></TR><TR><TD>kkf</TD><TD>15-Oct-05</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>1140g</TD><TD>27</TD><TD>NICU+SCN-2mths 3 days </TD></TR><TR><TD>disneymickey</TD><TD>25-Feb-06</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>1450g</TD><TD>34</TD><TD>NICU-2.5wks, SCN-0.5wk </TD></TR><TR><TD>naddy (telly)</TD><TD>16-Mar-06</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>1136g</TD><TD>34</TD><TD>NICU-2wks, SCN-4wks </TD></TR><TR><TD>stressed</TD><TD>31-May-06</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>1890g</TD><TD>33</TD><TD>NICU-13days </TD></TR><TR><TD>costa</TD><TD>22-Jun-06</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>750g</TD><TD>24</TD><TD>NICU-14wks, SCN-8wks </TD></TR><TR><TD>luana</TD><TD>18-Jul-06</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>1164g</TD><TD>27</TD><TD>NICU-27days, SCN-53days </TD></TR><TR><TD>cheaky</TD><TD>05-Aug-06</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>1900g</TD><TD>32</TD><TD>2wks </TD></TR><TR><TD>jane (neoah)</TD><TD>12-Aug-06</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>985g</TD><TD>26</TD><TD>NICU-2mths, SCN-1mth </TD></TR><TR><TD>jacelyn tey</TD><TD>14-Aug-06</TD><TD>Boy&Boy</TD><TD>1510g&1190g</TD><TD>30</TD><TD>57 days </TD></TR><TR><TD>mummylian</TD><TD>07-Sep-06</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>1034g</TD><TD>27</TD><TD>NICU-38days SCN-20days </TD></TR><TR><TD>chloegal</TD><TD>21-Sep-06</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>2000g</TD><TD>34</TD><TD>SCN- 5 days </TD></TR><TR><TD>puppyduppy</TD><TD>16-Oct-06</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>1140g</TD><TD>29</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>nana</TD><TD>13-Dec-06</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>2185g</TD><TD>33</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>myfab</TD><TD>14-Dec-06</TD><TD>Girl&Girl</TD><TD>1118g & 780g</TD><TD>29</TD><TD>3mths&4mths </TD></TR><TR><TD>lindah</TD><TD>04-Feb-07</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>680g</TD><TD>24</TD><TD>5mths 18 days </TD></TR><TR><TD>didi</TD><TD>18-Feb-07</TD><TD>Boy&Boy</TD><TD>1520g & 1610g</TD><TD>30</TD><TD>4.5wks&9wks </TD></TR><TR><TD>amy</TD><TD>15-Apr-07</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>641g</TD><TD>27</TD><TD>80 days </TD></TR><TR><TD>lili</TD><TD>30-Apr-07</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>1400g</TD><TD>30</TD><TD>6 weeks </TD></TR><TR><TD>flora</TD><TD>18-May-07</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>2334g</TD><TD>33</TD><TD>SCN-2 weeks </TD></TR><TR><TD>picky</TD><TD>01-Aug-07</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>850g</TD><TD>26</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>irenelovej</TD><TD></TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>1600g</TD><TD>34</TD><TD>NICU-3wks </TD></TR><TR><TD>geraldine</TD><TD></TD><TD>Boy&Girl</TD><TD>1500g & 1700g</TD><TD>31</TD><TD>NICU-6wks </TD></TR><TR><TD>adeline lee</TD><TD></TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>815g</TD><TD>29</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>daec</TD><TD></TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>1015g</TD><TD>32</TD><TD>48days </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

Alicia, good morning,
I have seen Doc Marianne Hendricks before, shes a lovely doctor who is very friendly and will set yr mind at ease...

hp tt wat i say will at least assure you..i stayed at B class...with five to a room, no tv and no telephone line...and Doc kwek delivered for me as hes in charge of high risk issues as wat i mentioned..

after birth,i had to stay in hospital for another two more wks due to complications...i asked for downgrade to C class straightaway as to me, there is no difference as the baby will so called follow the mother's choice of class and be it the mum in A class or not, they will stay at the same NICU/SCN..

but i din downgrade to C class...and my kid did....they said there wasnt much a difference in the pricing between C and B for the mum..

So i stayed on in B and my kid was downgraded to C class....my bill was 15k for 40 days and my kid's bill was 33k for 5mths 1wk stay..

Dun worry abt admin matters, it will resolve by itself..in any case,everythg may be okay...to further set yr mind at ease, buzzbubbly is a nurse and wat she says is true...

kkf,
thanks for d pictures, the items look quite cute.but you shld tell the lady tt the bucket dun fit leh

nana,
yr kid is so adorable, feel like hugging him...

stressed,
u are a lao shi right?

nana,
ur boy sooo cute..

stressed & kkf,
haha. my ger oso holds her lantern same way. initially not like tat 1. but dunno y the latern sooo "heavy", it juz gets lower & lower. but 2 bad, the pic turns out terrible.

alicia,
i was told to eat more red meat, hoping the bb can put on more weight. i even eat like 5-6 times a day. but cos of my high blood pressure, all home cooked food, without any seasoning or salt. terrible food. but wat to do? but doesn't seem to help the bb much, cos gynae say due to my high blood pressure, bb can't eat. so take her out, higher chance of fattening her. dun worry. rest well. u r alrdy in 32wks.. almost there..jia you!

jane pat pat alicia, am sure things will be ok. yes durian confirm can beef up the baby. my boy is a 26 weekers at 985grams. Don't worry. meanwhile, rest well. keep us posted on the check up results. and ya, you are at 32 weeks..almost there. take care okie. i got frens who delivered at nearly full term and baby is at 2kg plus. ok ah.

disney, stress and kkf! wow...so its OK for our dd/ds to hold the lantern that way (oppsite)!! my boy also hold his battery operated lantern like that!. i got take picture..will try to post when my lao gong down load for me kekekek...

nana - your boy really cute
what is his weight now? his eye lashes really long and nice ler.

kkf - may i give u a mummy email (she does not join us online) so that she can send her gal picture to you to do the montage? she is going to send in her poster for the awareness day too.

oh kkf, you really one of those really thoughtful teacher to think of what to buy for your student. i think you are really nice lor

alicia

drink alot of water, it does help your baby. my baby had no water pockets at all but when they took her out, there was still some water inside. Some doc said dont drink water but it helped my baby.

mich...can i know what picture you send?? hehe, i want to know...cos i want to know what kind of shots i should send to kkf...:p.

stressed, lindah, costa, disney, jane,
thanks!! all babies r cute!! all ur precious darlings also very cute leh...hehe...

kkf,
what is ur email har?? so i can send pic of my boy to u...hehe.. or u can just take the one i posted? i chin chye one... or must wear nicer one?? haha..

Jane
I email you the photo.

Nana
I think this shot of your boy is really cool.
Just need to crop away the sides and you have a very nice picture for the montage.

Lindah
Haha... you very funny.

Didi
Do you have pictures of the stuff you ordered from candylovers?

hi vox, welcome...that time i ever (ever) thought of buying when my boy first came home. but then...never did buy.

may we know what GA is your boy when delivered?

i think there is a mummy among us who bought the monitor.

Vox/Jane

I bought a vital signal monitor - one that monitors the SPO2 and heart beat. Those that were used in the NICU. The Apnea monitor looks more sofiscated.

Vox: what's the gestation of your new born? Discharged from hospital already? I hope you are well too.

Yipppeee manage to get my mc for tomorrow. Shhhhhhh, I can go ang mo kio with my hubby to search for a playgroup for my boy.

Hi mich and lindah, got your photos!

Nana, your boy soooo cute! My email: [email protected]

Precious one, thanks for your comforting words. I am not a christian, but I do understand your words.
Thanks. I do believe my elder boy is in a safe place, and will be happier.

Btw, I gave the things to my classes today (planning tomorrow MC mah), the P4 had a hard time closing the lids of the buckets as well, but they love the buckets.
My p6 more interested in eating the kit kat. ha!

Stressed, ha! yah lor, they should take a picture together!

Jane, sure you can give my email to any mummy interested in joining the montage.

wow kkf must be feeling so happy now...
lets us know the playgroup facilties when you back tomorrow ah.

ok ok. will forward your email address to her. thanks
and i will send you my boy picture soonzzz :p

hi all, sorry din really update.this week very busy sourcing for things online for my new flat (yar, everything come at one go.. even on hospitalisation leave also stress).

i'm now in my 25th week, the twins still going strong (and naughty!!). In fact, we are a little more positive and went on to sign up for cordlife today.

Alicia, i understand from mich that you have been referred to KKH? Don't worry, i used to have a lot of apprehension going to KKH, but they do pay a lot of attention to high risk cases like mine. In my case, even when the condition stabilises, the gynae still agrees to see me twice a week just for regular scanning. Their high risk pregnancy team comprise of very experienced doctors, so don't worry. In terms of cost, if you foresee the need for NICU, then go get a referral from polyclinic asap. You will not be downgraded automatically until you make an appointment to see a normal doctor from Specialist Clinic C at level 1. Only after that can they consider you a subsidized patient. If not subsidies, one regular scan for me costs about $60, with subsidies, will be about $30. NICU costs follow mummy's bed class, so you if choose C class (the cheapest), then NICU charges will be the lowest. As for actual NICU charges, i doubt i can give much info cos never use before. maybe the other mummies here can advise better. Actually, i doubt it will cost much for you cos you are already in wk 33.. stay strong ok?

My boy is 35week now but still dunno how to suck well hence can't discharge. He was born around 33 weeks plus. Had a coupld of apnea episode last week hence I am very worried if he return home I can't take good care of him without the monitor.

Mich, has emailed you already

Lindah, wondering did you enlarge the teats for feeding your darling with cereal added milk ? just bot the 'Y' Cut teats from peralistic nipple from Pigeon

Hi Hi didi, receive your picture with thanks!
Anymore???? Please send me asap, so that I can start doing.
))

Seems like I am really sick, sore throat getting worse, and body aching...sigh, please please please dun burn my precious weekends.

Hi precious_one,

what is the SPO2 use for? how do you attach the monitor to baby? How much did you pay for it?

If I am not wrong the apnea monitor cost about $200 plus, as baby still in hospital hence looking around for cheaper offer than getting a new one. Anyone have, pls let me know. thks.

xbliss,
good to hear u n babies doing ok.

vox,
sorry... cant help you there. i thot abt buying the angel monitor (think it was at first few years) but at 250 a pop, i decided not to. hope you bb can come home soon!

didi,
what bottles r u using? my SIL uses Avent and sticks to level 1 cos i think the hole is big enuf. i use pigeon S for normal feeds but M if i put in cereal. anyway i am trying to train him to drink using M anyway. But when I feed water, use S oso he sometimes choke since he uses the same strength that he uses for milk. scary.

kkf, i just emailed you the picture....hope u got it....

hope u recover manz, u got things to do...

kai,
which model u looking for?can tell me so i can source for you.....hows yr bb now?

Morning

Didi
Received with thanks!

Xbliss
Thanks for popping in to share.

KKf
Do you know what software to use to rotate pictures to various angles so that they appear slanted?
Thanks for making the montage. Please email to us when ready.

Kai
Be patience and let your baby takes his time to master the sucking and breathing coordination.
Talk to him and encourage him.
The 30 something weeker babies in this thread thrive very well. Yours will be too.
Smile mummy...

Lindah, I am using Bfree bottles with Pigeon teats
tried yesterday using the usual 'M' teats but felt they have difficulty in sucking so bot the 'Y' teats

kai,
dun worry, my ger was born @wk34 & she's doing fine now, besides being skinny! but tat's the least 2 b worried in my mind lor.
trying to encourage her to talk now..