Premature babies support group

hi disneymickey...i also agree with you about so long our kids is growing well with the current FM, we can be quite assured
guess its our 5 cents worth of thoughts haha

disney

thanks for the nestle number... may call in for cereal but not for NAN. i think i need to finish my neosure first before thinking seriously abt other formula. They gave me NAN 2 HA before but as Dr A say use Neosure, I stick w Neosure.

Mich
din know S26 is good to beef up bb. was it recommended by Dr A? Maybe she'll tell me when it's time I can change...

Yes, the barium test was that monitor and probe thing. I think the probe was in his nose.

costa,

it's not affecting his growth lah. but i just scared if it affects breathing. supposed to hv appt with SLT and dietician in Nov. But they haven't called me yet. If they havent call you, means they prob wont call me!

wah... fasting mth, feel very sleepy and very cold in the office. been yawning non-stop. costa, if i at your workplace, i think i will sleep already!!!

Jane/ Costa
That was what I heard. We decided to try so that we can beef them up. They were on it until 6 mths corrected age.
Skinny or Fat depends on the genes too lah.
Health is more important. The rest is secondary.
If your kids are used to the current FM and have no constipation, suggest you dont change.
There is a boy in my boys class who is very chubby. His mum said he takes a lot of cheese and beef.

Jane
Yes, I was at Tekka Market.
He recognised me? Alamak, I cannot remember how he looks like! Pai seh..

DisneyMickey
Your gal does not look skinny on pictures.
And you are right, if you read the tins thoroughly, most of the stuff in there are similar.
I also dun believe it will make the kids "smarter".

Lindah
No no, please dun ask Dr A.
She did not know we change. :p
She suggested NAN for Evans because he had sensitive skin. I did not heed her advice. Ooops...!

hi mich,

oh hmm true hum so long our bb is triving on the the current food should be quite ok hor

haha...a beautiful face is difficult to forget ah

disneymickey,
no lah, no offences, actually i feel that all milk powders are similar, for me, just thot try try new formulae to see if he wld drink more as he is q thin...

lindah,
when i went the last time, the slt promised to call me for april appt and they din and until now, i m so lazy that i din call them anymore..

oh yah, fasting month.lucky you dun work here..fyi, i just woke up from a short nap....the paedi called me...jialut, i missed bringing my son for the MMR jab today...wah a blur mummy....wat are the things to watch out for?can anyone jot my memory..its been so long since my elder boy's time......

costa,
wow, u can nap @work? wow. so good.

i nev change brand of milk powder leh. tat is, my ger was drinking breastmilk since birth till 8mth old. then nan ha1, then nan ha2. recently then slowly trying to switch her to nan3. was q hesitant to change to nan3 cos i wan her to take HA formula (cos i've got ezema), but nan ha2 was frm 6mth to 1yr, so it's high time to change.

mich,
yes! she's skinny. she's only 8.6kg @19mth! my mom doesn't take beef so she dare not touch beef (yes, she's so sensitive), so can't feed my ger beef. but on weekends when i cook 4 her or when we go out & eat, will try to give her beef.

costa,
sorry, 4got ur qn. after MMR, may hav slight fever. if got fever, after the fever, may hav fake measles. if got fever, juz give med & lots of water. shld b ok.

disneymickey,
yes, i can nap or sleep at work and i really make full use of it..hahah....

how do you cook the beef for your ger?any ideas to share as i find my son getting bored wif wat he is eating...probably sick of eating the same old thing..i gv him macaroni on sunday and he seems to like it...

thanks for the answer on mmr...can give the paracetemol in advance...tinkg of the fake measles reali gvs me goose pimples as my elder son last time kena before (cant remember if it was due to the jab or not) and he was like sick for one wk....

costa,
if i go cold storage, will buy the minced beef. if in ntuc, will use normal beef. will put in slightly b4 eating, cos beef cook v easily. if it's normal beef, need to cut into small pieces b4 feeding. if it's minced, then no need. will add into the soup of whatever i'm cooking 4 her, b in porridge, or mee sua or pasta.

you all talk abt beef i hungry. come to think of it, my mum cooked beef yesterday night. beef and potatoes in soya and oyster sauce. yum yum.

costa,
ya was just thinking you shud give your son paracetamol since it seems fever after MMR quite common... aiya, envy you lah can sleep in ofc.

disney,
tt time the promoter gave me the NAN HA 2, she oso told me not to give son other milk cos he may not want to switch to NAN HA after that since it taste bitter. Tt's y I oso think twice if shud try as I long time no more bfdg already.
maybe you can add in the cheese for your daughter since cheese oso got fat and protein?

mich,
oh... you din listen to Dr A, ah? hehehehe. luckily i check w you first... if not next appt, i mention to her, jialat. wait she upset if i dun listen to her. :d...
hhmm... then after 6mth corrected age, what did D&E drink?
you are right, i think size is genetic. my son chubby cos both the father mother chubby.

lindah,
yah i was just tinkg of giving the paracetomol before everything comes out..touchwood...

wah, yr dish sounds good leh....do they hv it at nasi padang stalls?

eh, dun tink u are chubby lah but hami very very good size...

disneymickey,
will follow yr method so tt the beef wun be overcooked...

lindah,
i know cheese is good. my ger loves the breadtalk cheese bread. she can eat 2 for breakfast! she likes those slice cheese 2. but i try not 2 give 2 much, as salty. she doesn't like the cube type cos i think it's 2 soft. she likes to chew things.

now tat i start giving my ger nan3, i find it smoother than nan ha2. n the smell not so strong. but guess my ger alrdy used to the bitter/smell of nan ha. but luckily,she still takes nan3

mommies, any program 4 tonite? plan to bring her downstairs 2 play w sparkles & lantern. but i'm having a terrible headache now. hope the headache will go away soon.

costa,
hope ur boy loves beef...if u're afraid he can't chew/swallow, u can actually sliced it (like chkn breast meat) to small small pieces.

Lindah
7 to 12 mths Similac by Abbott.
When they reached 1 year old corrected age, we tried Gain IQ (also by Abbott). Very badly constipated.
We tried a few brands and settled on Enfagrow. They are on Enfagrow till now.
Went into your blog again yesterday, your boy is sooo chubby.

Disneymickey, great minds think alike! me also planning to bring my boy downstairs to take lantern, and to play sparkles. Me will be ordering pizza later, have a feast with hubby and son, then eat some mooncake, then go downstairs!

Hope your headache go away. Just now was having one too.

I didn't know toodlers can eat cheese. Will they be allergic to cheese for some of them?

Chloegal, wow, it seems like your gal has a great birthday party. I will be celebrating my boy's birthday at home, hope will be such fun too. But seems like the guests can only eat eat and eat at my place and nothing else, haha

Btw, I love emicake durian cake! my favorite!! yummy

Hi mich, any chance I can see your pretty face?

Thanks mich, disneymickey and costa, dash is still having running nose, think starting to cough a bit...sigh, hope he recovers soon. Me getting a bit of weird sore throat as well.

Hi mummies, did you all drop hair a few months after birth? I heard it's very normal, but the amount of hair I shed is frightening me!! I hope i don't go botak! How long will this last??

Hi disneymickey, thanks for the no. hmm will call them when I need the cereal samples

Mich, do you put D&E in the same class ? do we have the option of whether to put the boys in the same class ?

kkf, aiyoh, you think 'Sui' ladies like Mich so easy to let you see meh ? (just kidding)

lili, no worries, I also drop hair like siao, until my hb pester me to see doc for it, actually the doc say it is normal by 6-9 months it will be ok (I even thot of going for hair treatments

Yah, lili, think I drop quite a lot of hair as well. I thought because I went to perm, and rebond, and do lots of things to my hair, but think could be because of giving birth.

Yah lor, sui lady like mich will not be easily seen by others. heehee.

Btw, mummies, me quite angry leh. Me stupidly went to order some personalized stuff from candylovers (heard before?) for my students' children's day gift (very regret!). I dunno what came over me, I went to spend $100 plus over their gifts! crazy right????? But anyway, I asked for delivery to my house. You know how much she charge? $18!!! She is just staying pasir ris, 15 minutes from sengkang what, and she said courier fee is $18! Somemore I am her regular customer, bought from her around 3 times liao. Crazy right? In the end, I ask her to deliver to my mum's place at pasir ris (that will be free because over $100, pasir ris to pasir ris is free) and I will get from my mum.

I am quite unhappy with this. I told her directly, I wun be ordering from her anymore.

You think I am unreasonable?

disneymickey,
k, will not overcook the beef if not again he wun eat, anyway, my boy not greedy type...tts why vy small sized....

kkf,
hmm, regarding the incident you mentioned..guess this person's business sense was not there when she din waive the tpt cost..guess tt wld b the end of yr dealing wif her..but you also vy good, hor, spend so much on the gifts for yr students

dash so cute, holding the sparklers....he looks okay..hope he din pass the bug to you

i went down yterday but the wind was so strong, din even manage to get the candle lighted and then went home..hahah, i just let my kids play at the playground...

lili,
my hair dropped alot also and it came a couple of months after i gv birth..me also panicked when i saw all the hair at the gully trap....then slowly it was better, dun worry and dun waste yr money...

costa,
the dish not very common in stalls. sometimes got lah. but usually stalls will cook asam pedas and curry chicken and lemak chicken. more popular.
eh you hvnt meet me yet lah. when you meet me and hubby, you can see we both are chubby. pple sometime think we are bro and sis. our faces have a lot of cheek. esp me after i put on weight post-birth.

mich,
thanx for the info. maybe when my neosure finish, i may try S26... the second step to S26 is promil right? any reason u decided not to use promil?
yes, my son still quite chubby. now tt i am back to work very sad lah. come home too tired to play w him, so between 8-10pm tok to him a bit, feed him and let him sleep. poor thing. after that i watch tv, surf net and sleep. hahah. cant imagine hvg 2.

disney,
nevermind lah, girl petite is ok.
maybe genetic, she burns off her calories fast like her parents...

kkf,
hope you dun get sick, ah. last time i had tonsilitis, swallow oso painful. maybe cos weather not good, tt's y sore throat.
i think re the lady, u are right lah. if it were me i will also heartpain. rather go and pick it up since so near me. if she send herself, then i guess she's realli unreasonable. if she ask some other person/courier to send it for her, then maybe she got business case to charge lah. but to me, $18 is nonsense. my ofc use a courier who charges $12 anywhere in singapore. but he's on bike. i am surprised that she din even bother to svc recover you and offer sending over to sengkang for free/cheaper. strange lady.

hi lindah, just emailed you the file. Check if you can receive it, if not, email me.

Sigh.. must drop hair for a few more months. Quite scary hor. I dare not go to the salon now cos I so scare they wash my hair so hard then more hair will drop!!

kkf, children day coming hor... must burn a hole in pocket again. Gee, didn't the lady decide to waive the transport fees after you threaten not to order from her again? Yeah, agree.. bad business sense!

lili,
ya, dun worry. i oso drop hair for awhile after birth. think it's abt 4-5mths time. dun worry.

kkf,
u r a gd teacher! spend so much 4 ur kids. i think u r not wrong lor. siao 2 charge so much 4 so near. but maybe it's their 'company policy'. no point getting angry la. but u r smart enuff to change the delivery to ur mom's place & decided not 2 order frm them anymore. it's their loss.

wow, ur boy dare to hold the sparkles? my ger so scared. ltr i ask hubby to send pics to me then i try to post. she scared of sparkles, but kept asking my hubby or sister to hold 4 her. haha. think she enjoyed herself last nite. cos can take pic haha. think i wrote b4, she v heow now. told her take pic, she'll guai guai stand there.

Hello Mummies

DM/ KKF
So cute.....

Didi
My boys are in the same class.
Hows the weaning?

KKF
Better dun see me lah, you will very disappointed because your expectation now is too high.
You are such a dedicated teacher. Where/ what is candylovers?
Is cheese one of the highly allergic food? I didnt know that. I introduced when they were about 1 year plus corrected age.

Lindah
We tried Promil. The boys had constipation.
Some of my friends kids have no bowel problems when on GAIN IQ. You have to try a few to see which is suitable.
I also spend very little time with my boys on weekdays too. So, we treasure weekends very much.
Take care! Drink more water when you break fast. Take some vitamin C.

Disneymickey, your sparkle seems brighter and nicer leh...

Hi mummies, yup after I said I wun be ordering anymore from her, she finally agreed to send over to my place f.o.c.
But later dunno how to face her...so par seh like that.

Costa, thanks. Think dash's running nose is getting better, but seems like I am really having a sore throat. But anyway, want to dread till friday then see doctor, hee. Because I hope to get MC that day, so that I can go search around for playgroup with my hubby (who isn't working because he will be moving on to a new job on monday)...shhh...bad employee. haha

Yah lor, I spend a lot on my classes. A bit regret. Hahaha. I suddenly became crazy, thought of making something for them to keep as a memory! crazy me!

Lindah, not only you. Me also leh! When my boy came home at around 7 plus with my hubby, I will be dead beat by then. Sometimes, I want to read stories to him, also no energy...I lie down on bed, will tend to want to sleep. Sometimes, I will just sleep, and my boy will be there pushing me calling me "mummy"...me so guilty.

Mich, not lar, I really think you are a pretty mum like what everyone is saying, makes me really want to see you. hee.

I dunno leh...I keep having impression that cheese may cause allergic?

Mich, I gave up weaning for a few days as they don't seem to like it, think will try again when they are 6 months corrected

Mich, I gave up giving them the rice cereals few days ago, as they don't seem to like it, will try again next week or when they are 6 months corrected, thanks.

kkf, I also ordered from Candylovers for my boy's 1st month birthday, personalised chocolates, yep, she charges for delivery when her place is at Pasir Ris and my is at Loyang (lagi near rite ?) in the end, make hb to go and collect instead, her business tactics quite rigid not flexible

lindah,
wah, the dishes u mention sound so yummy,i better dun mention food since u fasting now..paiseh..

kkf,
glad tt dash is okay...

for your students, wat did you make for them?

kkf,
my sparkles not gd la. last for abt 15sec only. haha. some kids ard us got those got sound 1. my ger kept looking, in the end, imitate the sound haha.

aiya, all mothers r tired. i oso wat. after yoga on mon, i boarded the train @tenah merah, slept all the way to j.east. head dunno knocked the person next 2 me how many times alrdy. when reach home, my mom told me my ger woke up at 6.15am, i wan to faint. cos means she'll only sleep after 10. true enuff. at 10pm, she's still happily playing, nev ask 4 milk. but i'm sure those SAHM oso tired. cos sometimes i stay at home on weekend oso damn tired.

cheese will cause allergy meh? i dunno leh. have been giving her cheese since she started solid. now her favourite is breadtalk cheese stick bun!!

mich,
oic... tt's y you din stick w Promil...

yes, i try and drink more but usually in the morning all the water gone again. heheheh.

kkh,
if i were you, i make str8 face when she comes lor. it's up to her to make the rltnship better and gv you good svc as she's the vendor leh. u just dun scold her, okay already. u hv to remember the profit gain she makes from the sale is for the quality of svc oso.

if she still dare pull long face at you, then if i were you i buey tahan. hahah. wont buy from her animore unless realli have to.

didi
i oso tried gvg my son cereal. he dun like. can only take 1 teaspoon and must drink water cos if not he wont swallow. if more than a teaspoon, he puke out. so i stop...
he's 4mth 5days corrected. but putting half a teaspoon of the cereal powder into his usual milk for 1 feed a day, he's ok. just he can't take the semi-solid cereal.

Hi KKF,
I'm surprised she didn't waive the fee considering the location not far. I'm glad she did waive off in the end.
I agree with Lindah. Just look normal. But just dun order from her anymore. Unless she apologises to you in person....

I also brought dd down to carry lantern. So many kids!

987824.jpg

I dare not let her carry the paper ones or sparklers. haha...

disneymickey,
i oso not sure abt the video....

stressed,
hows yr ger?

lindah,
tink u rest for a while before feeding solids again..

stressed,
my ger oso happily swinging her lantern (with candle lit up) around. hit my hubby's face some mroe haha. but when she's walking, i'll hold her hand. but she dare not touch the sparklers

This is my 1st time to this thread and although my baby is still inside my tummy but at 32weeks last fri, I had my regular checkup and found my baby is only 1.5kg and my gynae refer me to TMC for a more detailed scan and result even more shocking.. He is only 1.35kg at 33 weeks..

Today my gynae met me up to discuss about the scan report and said I m in a high risk pregnancy catergory and is refer to KKH this fri for another checkup..

My gyane said mayb its my waterbag cos it low amount and mayb is something else, he gave me an option to go KKH to give birth so that if baby is lower than 2kg, need to stay in nicu, it will be subsidized..

Been tearing since then.. My gynae said may need to let my baby out earlier to feed him outside cos he is not getting nutrient from me.. :~(

Can I know how much does it cost to stay in a KKH NICU? Must the baby really hit 2kg before he can discharge?

alicia,
Calm down and please dun worry unnecessarily..

Maybe you can go to KKH and then see how from there...my doctor is Doc Kenneth Kwek and he specialises in high risk pregnancy cases and he sees patients only by referral...

32 wks is quite okay and at 1.5 kg, yr bb is not far from 2 kg...

dun worry, some of our babies were born vy small,mine was born at 750gm at 24 wks.....dun worry about the cost first ok, get yrself downgraded to C class, it shld be manageable and also can see medical social worker if needed

the cost i cant really remember but the cost is always highest at the early stages and wld taper off, it wld be affordable and kkh allows payment by installment..

tink dun worry about money first,i noe easy to say..juz get the opinion from the doctor and see wat happens..

if anythg i can help, do pm me..

alicia,

welcome! i was in a similar situation as u. my bb was only 1.4kg @30wks cos i've got pre-eclampsia. i "tong" until 34wks & my ger was born @1.5kg. i was oso given the option to deliver @KKH to save some money cos if bb is born low wt, prob need to stay in NICU. however, we din go KK in the end, cos we wanted my gynae to deliver my bb. anyway, we chose Mt A, which is cheaper than our initial choice, TMC. my ger stayed in NICU for 2wk+ & normal nursery for abt 3-4days. total bill for her is abt $10k, but after deduction frm medisave, we paid like $3-$4k.

my gynae oso suggested c-section @wk34 cos bb is not growing (grown 100g frm wk30-wk34), she oso say bb will grow faster once taken out.

think my ger was discharged nearly 2kg. the thing is, if the bb is 2 small, he/she may hav prob breathing or eating (of cos, i hope urs won't hav this prob), so it's better 4 him/her to stay in NICU/nursery, so that there r nurses 24/7 looking after him/her. n in case (of cos, TOUCH WOOD!!) of emergency, the nurses/docs r avail. my pd actually ask if we r comfortable to bring my ger home abt 2kg? in case we are not ready, he say can arrange 4 her to stay longer. but of cos, who wants that?? apart of $$, of cos u wan ur son/daughter back home soonest..

anyway, do come in here more often & talk it out. we are all here to share. n of cos, dun 4get to rest well!

hi Costa,

My dd is ok. So far so good. She has enzema problem but we thought it was mozzie bite. Lucky we brought her to the PD to verify.

I'm planning to go back to work liao. I realised I'm not a home-person. My backside too itchy. So I am putting dd in halfday cc and the other half, my mum will take over. When she can fully adapt in cc, i'll put her in the cc full day.

Hi costa del sol,

My baby is only 1.35kg at 33weeks not 1.5kg as a more detailed scan.. This is my 1st pregnancy and I m really very clueless.. My gynae refer me to a lady Dr Marianne Hendricks to see her this fri.. Anyone seen her before?

Hi disneymickey,

Meanwhile during 30 - 34weeks, did u try to intake more milk, egg and durian? Many advise me to take these as it will beef baby up..

And I m worried about the service KKH will provide if I opt for a Class C for delivery.. Also not my appted gynae I so worried..

Alicia

Yes, I agreed with Costa, you have to stay calm and positive. At week 32 gestation, most baby's organs are already developed. The higher the gestation of the baby, the lower is the risk. But if mummy is upset/distress, the baby will feel it and get upset/distress too. Light weight baby is more healthy than baby with low gestation. My baby was also born at week 24 and weighed only 710 gm.

In 2005, an incubator in Class B2 in NICU costs S$167/day and in C ward, it costs S$95/day. (Costs exclude professional treatment fee, investigation and services.)

KKH is very good in small babies. So dun worry unnecessary, you might be able to carry baby to full term. I will keep you in my prayer.

Hello Alicia

Costa and Disney Mickey had addressed all your concerns.

My colleagues gynae was Dr Marianne Hendricks. Feedback received was she is a young gyane (32 years old) but she is very friendly, gentle and caring. She delivered my colleagues girl naturally.

Give her a chance to see you on Friday and you can ask her if there is a need for you to be refer to the The Department of Maternal Fetal Medicine. This department specialises in the management of high risk obstetrics and complicated pregnancies. Dr Kenneth Kwek, who was mentioned in Costa's post is in this department.

My boys were delivered in KKH at 25 weeks gestation, weighing 600g and 720g.

Hi Alicia,

I took alot of beef and durians prior to the birth. Did put on some weight for the baby. Hope that helps.

oh. Please rest well. Dun walk too much. Might trigger premature labour.