Premature babies support group

Hi Amy, thanz
My girl also likes to be carried. Like I was telling Linda, I carry until my wrist must paste kor-yok!
But I got my mother-in-law and now my own mother is here to "fight" over my gal! So I do get quite a lot of time off for myself..hee hee...

lili,
haha, sorry for all the typos..me getting old..haha..also it has been two yrs since i went to shanghai...

haha, my hb told me its Yi Chu Ai Lian in kunshan where he is and they registered it different names in different sisters...so in shanghai its a different "lian" hhaha i noe i vy bad, but i find it a vy ah lian name

in the sraits times yterday, there was a feature on the overseas sporeans wkg in shanghai like justin of le amis and one of the breadtalk people...did u read it online?seems tt the community of sporeans expats there is growing...

precious_one,
yes, i started tis thread and have been vy inspired by the mummies here and earlier mummies who were more active then had been vy helpful also....

jac,
take care..u can start a blog in chinese or you can write in english....english good or no good never mind as long as u can understand,can liao...

buzzbubbly,
bern and i miss you too leh...he is vy notti and likes to throw things...too much energy used and eats too little...can help me to feed him or not?he likes to eat shoelaces and door stoppers, so how?

rgding the poster, hope tt mine is okay enough to show..i hvnt started yet although i bought the materials to make alrady..hope it doesnt disappoint you all...Lindah is the most hardworking, one, she done hers liao..

lindah,
can i link my blog to yours?

morning mummies! it's another monday!

costa,
sure. of course you can link my blog to yours.

bubbly,
thanks for dropping by my multiply.

Lili,
i am lucky my hubby quite patient so can spoil my son more than me. i very lazy... lucky got bb carrier. even then, if i sit down and carry him, he may oso cry.

didi,
i added some cereal to my son's milk in two feeds yesterday. he vomited his milk out after the 2nd feed. so i guess i better not overdo it. :d
me oso think of it as adding extra... cos he realli finds it not easy to finish all his milk. looking less chubby already

morning everyone

my girl has been vomitting for the past few days after feeds eversince I didn't stop and let her breath halfway a few days ago... she vomited out alot of milk,sometimes 1/2, once even all the 80ml.... I try to breastfeed her to see if she will vomit less but she seems to choke... should i bring her to see doc? oh, she went for her 2nd injection, could that be the reason of the reflux?

amy,

sorry i cant help. maybe you should let her stop and let her breath halfway, then?

my son oso cannot finish everything in one shot. we always let him stop and burp halfway. when he feels funny, he will oso cry and cry until we take his bottle away.

good morning mummies

costa is my inspirations and all other mummies here is the reason why i can stick out my neck until now :p.

welcome back lindah..oh was wondering where you go
generally, they will catch up. ya, sometime we really feel actually our litte one is quite fortunate right... previously, my boy sometime will on and off cry at night too (is it a growing stage or wat i am also not sure) :p.

hi Buzzbubbly
haha...oh, my boy be going for review at KKH in Oct. if my efficiency does not drop, i will hand in my poster for the awareness day. Plus, if if i can, i would like to do a thank you card for posting at the NICU ward
. i always tell costa, that time i really encourage by the posting i see outside the NICU ward. time i do something for the rest of the mummies ....

hi kkf - hope dash recover soon....now like bugs flying around. other than jace twins, i got another mummy boy who kanna the false mealse too...

didi - give solid (cereal) but we should not cut down on milk intake for baby...their main source of nutrients should still come from milk...am i right mummies???

lili and amy..wow all your babies like to look at you...my boy? nowadays he like majam scare of me or what...see my lao gong..wow...like see his saviour like that. (cos i always give him milk and make him poo poo). only when he want to sleep then he will look for me kekekeke... haha

amy...2nd injection of 5-1 or 6-1? is your ds having fever? suddenly she vomit? i think perhaps you may wish to bring her for a check up.. if not, try interval burp her (lindah got a good suggestion)...maybe her stomach got gas? hope your gal recover soon

good morning, mummies.. yes, it's another monday.. but this week is the last week before the Labour day hol day break.. so the holiday mood is in the air!!

Costa, hmm.. never see the news, because I never subscribe to the online straits times.. juz read those free news on asiaone.. But I heard my sister told me that my school is being featured! Actually, there are a lot of singaporeans and malaysians here. I attend the church here and the cell group and am surrounded by singaporeans and malaysians. So sometimes, I do not feel so homesick..

Lindah, you boy likes to sit in the baby carrier? I bought one but I find it so 'lei-che', putting on and struggling to put my girl in. Then she looks so uncomfortable in it. So far, only tried a few minutes at home! But the baby on the picture on the cover looks so comfortable and everytime I see babies in carrier outside, the parent and the baby also look very relax..Sigh.. I wish I hadn't bought it, cos now, she quite like to sit in her stroller already. What a waste of money!

Jane, my girl last time also like that. Cos I think she associate me with all the cleaning. I always go and pick her nose, wipe her neck, clean her backside, so all these don't give her good feeling. That's why she like my mother-in-law cos she is always the one feeding her and cuddling her! But now, my MIL is home and she is still not used to my mother, so she got no choice liao!! hee hee...

Amy, hmm.. you gal around the same age as my gal. She also vomits on some days and on other days she is perfectly alright. At one phase, she also vomitted quite frequently and I am quite sure she was suffering from GERD - something like reflux. Cos she also made those gurgling sounds.
How many ml is she on now? During the peak of her vomit, she was on about 90ml every 2-3hrs. I guess you should give her less per feed but feed her more frequently if her condition doesn't improve. Also I read babies with GERD have trouble burping. On retrospect, my girl was like that. It is only now that she burps easily. Previously, it takes a long time to burp her or sometimes she never burps. Instead of patting her back, try to massage in circular motion on the left side of the back. Actually, I read this in the 'Baby whisperer' book and I find it very informative but by the time I got hold of the book, my gal has kind of pass the stage of reflux (thank God) but I wish I had known all these earlier to make her feel better. Why don't you give me your email and I scan the relevant page to you. Cos there is quite a bit of info.

lili,
good afternoon,yup, i din noe tt school is the one you teach in, leh..they interviewed the principal who is abt in his thirties...

guess u wun be cmg back for the oct break...

i admire you for being so brave and i wish i can be like you....put down everythg to relocate..i worry too much....

guess bb throwing up is worrying but if bb is putting on weight n is otherwise okay, i guess shld be not so worryg but to be doubly sure, just check wif the doctors.

lili, ask you smthg, the doctors in shanghai, they give western medicine, right?hv you been to gubei where there is a carrefour...i really love the place..so nice...i dream i can stay there...hahah...

costa, gee... actually, i didn't have much of a choice.. cos my husband had to relocate and since we juz got married and have no kids, i guess there isn't much worry then.

According to my sister, I think the newspaper feature the school from Minhang campus, the newer campus. I teach in the older campus. Oh yea, Gubei, it's a bustling place. It's near my school and lots of teachers stay in that area. But I've never been there!! Cos I stay on the other side of the river...so that place is too distant for me! But you're right, i heard it's a great place. Most of the trs always hang around there!

Yea, over here, they give western medication. Unless you go to those TCM hospital. Sometimes, it's a combination. Like those you buy over the counter, you can get chinese medicine in ready form. Something like our Pi-Pa-Gao...

lili

my email:[email protected]. thanks. my girl only drinks 70ml/2-3hrs ebm. i just fed her some water and she chocked so loudly that i was scared that i have to perform the cpr tecniques learnt from nicu...i hope that i will not use it cse what if i break her ribs...

lili,
u shld go there one day to see the houses there...leh..maybe i suaku never go to other part..but hor, after seeing the houses there, i felt a feeling of "chong1 dong4" wanna move there...we go there on the way to the airport..maybe its on the way....but that chong1 dong4 ends when i reach spore..haha...

oh i see, thanks for the info..my hb always suans me saying "u so scared of this and that, shanghai dun hv premature babies or babies one meh" hahha...

amy,
is it the flow too fast for your bb?
my son used to even throw up wif the milk coming out even when tube fed...but when he was in the hospital, he was given the Barium test and he dun hv reflux..so i also dun noe wat was wrong wif him but slowly as his digestion matures, it din happen so much..hope tis is the same for your ger..

how's ur weekend? those mommies who brought the little ones to latnern festival, enjoyed?

bz today. so no time to post until now. i hav here 1 pic to share. taken at my cousin's wedding dinner last week.
983955.jpg

disneymickey,
yr daughter's smile is so lovely.....she is so adorable leh....really cheers me up....did she enjoy the dinner?

costa,
thanks 4 the compliment but she's cheeky la. ya, she enjoyed the dinner. cos she gets to eat & eat & eat haha

btw, last sat went 4 pap smear. gynae say got a 3.5cm cyst in my left ovary. got to chk again 3mths ltr. if the cyst grow to >5cm, need to remove. sigh.

gynae oso asking when planning 4 #2 haha. told her no more liao :p

disneymickey,
the gynae din ask wat type of cysts?cmg to tink about it, i din go to my gynae for ages.....i even conveniently forgot to go even after getting an sms reminder...tink its a good practice to go...

wah, yr ger really a foodie, enjoy the dinner...

Thanks precious one and jane! dash is still having running nose, do hope he recovers soon.

disneymickey, your gal really pretty leh. I never bring dash to lantern festival at chinese garden yet, but brought him to a RC mid autumm celebration. He didn't really enjoy. ha!

Hope your cyst will go away.

Hello Mummies
I have many deadlines...

To make the matter worse, there is a new condo development behind my office and they are doing the piling now. My offfice is expanding and they are doing renovation upstairs.
So, i get " Tumm... Tumm " and " Grillllllllll" throughout the day!
Urghhh!!

BubbBubbly
I was there at around 1pm. You were with another lady who was in different colour uniform.
No lah... your hair was not messy. Very well groom leh

KKF
My niece had recovered. Thanks for asking.
How is Dash today?

DisneyMickey
Oh... hope it does not get worse. You stopping at 1?
Such a lovely smile

We attended a friend's daughter first month celebration yesterday and Evans told us: I want mei mei (sister). Ooops!!

disney,
pap smear can tell if have cyst? thot need to scan then can see cyst?

anyway i oso went Gp today coz itchy down there - she say got fungus. *shakes head*. ee-yuk. so gave me medication.

kkf,
hp tt dash is getting better.seems be a bug getting around, one of my fren's kid is sick and she passed it onto her mum etc and another fren's kid down wif running nose etc.....

mich,
no wonder you whole day not around.....evans wants a mei mei..so sweet...so you better start yr project soon...

Costa
No project lah. Scally kena boy again how!?
Hey, I like the "Picture-on-a-notice-Board" (Ref: Bern's lastest post on his blog). How did you do that?

I have two tins of Enfalac AR (Starter Thickened Infant Formula) for infants with reflux milk powder (400 g/tin) to be given away. Expiry Date 4 Nov 2008. Anyone keen, please let me know.

Mich,
that Picture ona Notice board is one of the functions of the Hp, where you can "edit" the photo to add in frames or when taking the photo, you can "snap the photo wif the frame"...smtimes i prefer to use hp to take pictures for blogging as i can connect during office hours to post..haha...terrible, use office hrs for blogging......

kena boy again also good, then can try again

costa,
eh your frame nice leh. i dun have such frames in my nokia... what phone you using? samsung?

lili,
my son seems to like the carrier but not the sling. he hated the sling. but i need to stand when using the carrier. if i sit down, he doesnt like it and will cry... put him in stroller oso he sometimes cry. so i hv the bb carrier in handy.

precious,
i PM you oredi on the enfalac if no one is taking. Dr A say must take neosure but lung doctor Dr T say should take AR as son seems to have reflux. so i am now alternating. since i oredi stock up on quite a lot of neosure the other time. can't bear to throw... hhmmm... what milk formula is angel on now?

Chloegal
The cake is lovely and so "girl".
Is it from Pine Gardens?

Costa
Don't want lah. Later kena twin boys again how?
I will become the "Jaundice Mummy".

Lindah, m using this Sony Ericson cybershot model which my hb gv me from china hahah..he got it free from those service providers.. i never noe wat phone to buy and the phone before tis also from china one..haha, thats why cant surf net....

yr boy seems to have reflux but not confirmed right, tink he done barium test?
Mich,
doubt that you wld be a Jaundice mummy after a few more....try lah...

Chloegal,
the cake looks vy yummy ...nice ?such a nice family photo..so wen1 xin1

kkf,
hope dash is better...

mich,
ya,stopping at 1. unless got accident! but hope not ...

costa & lindah,
cyst saw frm the ultra sound. beside doing pap smear, the gynae oso use ultra sound to chk inside & saw the cyst lor. nope, she nev say wat. but she suspect is prob harmless (which 90% are anyway). n hopefully it'll go away when i visit her in 3mths time. if it does not go away & has grown to >5cm, need to take out.

lindah,
hope u r better..

pls remember to go 4 ur annual checkups. i oso delayed till now (my ger alrdy 19mth!!). if anything, better to discover early & can do something abt it.

chloegal,
the cake is so pretty. so is ur girl..can put hair clip alrdy, so pretty.

stressed,
thanks 4 ur compliments. noticed my ger very heow. loves to take pic. that nite at the wedding dinner, after taking the table photo, she kept asking me to bring her to other tables to take pic & insisted tat i carry her. wapiang, ltr pple say y this mommy appear in every pic haha.

costa

i asked the lung doctor the same thing. 'i thot he took the test when he was in scn and they say no reflux'?

the doctor say that test may not be sophisticated enough. then refer me to gastro doctor plus recommend enfalac AR. actually i find that the nasal/throaty noise reduced when he's on enfalac, but he doesn't finish his enfalac milk and enfalac is less calorie so i alternate.

Hi Amy, I email you already. See you if can get the email cos it's quite a big file. If not, do tell me.

Costa, really? I've haven't been to that place but you are right, I'll pass by it on the way to the airport. Hee hee.. if you come over to Pudong side, where I stay, the other side of the river, you will also fall in love with this place. But it depends, if you like the bustling environment or the more quiet environment, like Sengkang versus Ang Mo Kio!

Chlegal and disneymickey, wow your gals soo cute.. want to pinch their cheeks!! hee hee...

Gd morning, lindah

First come first serve, and you are no. 1 to pm me so your prize is two complimentary tins of enfalac ar from my girl. Check your pm.

Hi Lindah, is your boy still having the reflux problem now? The nasal/throaty noise you mentioned was exactly the same thing my gal had then. The PD kept saying that it's because the nasal and throat membrane are not fully mature yet so they make this kind of sounds. I guess it's true to a certain extent.

I just emailed amy some info i had about reflux which I found it useful. If you want to take a look, sent me a PM and I'll forward to you. One of the few things which I did then was to elevate my gal's sleeping mattress. I put books below it. ALso after feed, I let her lie on my tummy for at least 20 minutes (i'll be at a inclined sitting position, rest yourself comfortably on a sofa) before I put her down.

chloegal

May I save your family shot in my premies folder for remembrance please? Your cake looks yummy and the family looks perfect - one boy and a girl, zhen xin fu

precious,
thanks!!! i emailed you back oredi.

mich,
maybe enfalac is for reflux which is not so serious? my son don't vomit the milk much. just that when he drinks, he makes sounds that disturbed me. cos i dunno if he's breathing okay. i told Dr A who send me to Dr T who now sends me to gastro - 1st appt on 10 Oct.

lili,
will PM you for the info. Tx. I tend to put him on the adult pillow at home (because my mum always put him like that, so he likes it) so it is kind of inclined. The sounds come on and off. sometimes got sound, sometimes no sound.

disney,
thanks for the well wish. me very fine but of course a bit worried coz dunno what is doing on inside there. was surprised abt the fungus coz kkh never come back on my pap smear result (done in May) so i assume everything ok. i did ultrasound before and they found small cysts too - never follow up. i still wanna try another one leh - so i hope it's still okay. sometimes when these things happen, i wud imagine worse case scenario. brrrrr.... *shiver*

hope your cyst will shrink. i hate the uncertainty of these things because we cant see it for ourselves. hv to depend on the machines

disneymickey,
fully agree tt regular visits to the gynae are a must
but its just tt i vy scared even though after hving been thru so many miscarriages and a few operations..me really not brave...

mich,
how did you manage evans when he got reflux?he din take the barium test?

lindah,
to me, the barium test machiam vy sophisticated, still cant check ...*shake my head*

guess he wld outgrow it after some time?its not affecting his growth right...?

reminds me tt slt owes me an appt and so far, never contacted me..i dem sian...

Morning everyone...
Mich thanks for helping me post the photo. My ger just celebrated her birthday at downtown east and the children is having so much fun. cycling, swimming, merry-go-round and also fun at explorer kids.

Just started bringing my ger go swimming, initally she was scared and cried but after sometimes she enjoyed it so much that she doesn want to come out of the pool. Just an update,she already know how to walk.

Edric like to cycle on his four wheeled bicycle and is also having alot of fun at the the pool and explorer kids. Not to forget lantan too.

Mich
I got my cake at emicake cakeshop as it is very convenient. When i need the cake i just went to collect it. No need to worry about the storage and cakes melting. The cakes is very yummy too.

Precious_one
Sure you can have it in your folder.

By the way, may i know what is the size of the poster and when do we need to submit? Is it on the day itself? If on the day itself, very difficult leh... still got so many things to bring and have to look after the kids. I still haven started on it...dun know where where my brain goes....

chloegal,
guess you can submit the poster before the event so that they can put it up...or if u have any appt for your kids, you can bring it down to pass to them

size wise, tink A1 would be fine...you can look at lindah's..shes has finished it..me only bot the materials, hvnt started work yet

Costa
What is the diamension for A1 cause i went popular, all the board are in diamension.

Who do we passed it to since we cant go in to NICU? anyone who can liase with if not very messy.

lindah,
wat i did 4 my ger was to 'sit' her for abt 10mins,even if she doesn't burp, after milk. our own theory la, so tat the milk can 'go down'.

anyway, u wan to try giving ur boy nan ha1? cos it's v close to breast milk & prob he can take better? but the only bad thing is, it's a bit bitter, so he may not like it.

but u can call for a free small tin 2 try. if he likes, then u buy more. the tel is 6836-7216. n mommies, in case u all need any samples for ur bb (be it milk powder or cereals) frm nestle, this is the number to call.

chloegal,
the A1 size is 33.0 inches x 23.4 inches..or 84 by 59.4 cm..tink any size wld do according to yr preference....?

tink can just pass it to the NICU reception..for a short while shld be okay, bah?

Lindah & Costa

Evans took a test in SCN. It was done in the cot. The attached something to a monitor. Is that the barium test?

He arched his body a lot when home and rejected the milk.
When we brought him back for follow up, Dr A gave another round of medicine.
She said the problem will resolve as the baby grows. I cannot remember how long it took.
We fed him smaller quantity each time and more feeds. We put him on his tummy after feed and till now, he still likes to sleep on tummy

My boys were on Neosure for a few mths and we changed to S26 Gold. The latter was supposed to beef up the babies. And I think it did help.
My boys have very good weight all this while.

Chloegal
Time flies hor. When you brought Chloe to my house last year, she was still a NEW baby.
Now, she is walking and running.
Regarding Poster bring to NICU. I think they should know what to do with it.
Perhaps BuzzBubbly can shed some light onto this.

mich..just now u lunch at teka market? haha my husband say saw a pretty lady ;)

oh chloegal, i intend to hand in my poster next Month (oct) as my boy has an appointment to see Dr A on 22nd Oct. so i intend to send in the self-made poster plus a smaller version of a thank you card for the NICU/SCN notice board...

mich, wanan ask you. mention about S26. is it true the 'fats' level is higher? my boy now on similac stage 2. i am thinking if i should change to wyeth (S26).

Mich,
Yes, i think thats the barium test which they connect some tube thingy wif sm equipment...
yes, i agree, d and e got vy good weight

shld i change to S26? i hv been letting my son drink neosure, similac and now i went to buy a tin of enfagrow to try try..

but tinking about it. i see bbs fed wif s26 grow vy well leh...

hi costa, so its true bb with S26 grow very well? i wanna let my boy try the enfagrow (cos people say it make the kids smarter?)

jane & costa,

personally, i think all milk powder abt the same. n i dun believe in certain milk will make the kid smarter. my sis-in-law advised me to let me ger drink gain IQ, say will put on weight. but hubby & me don't agree lor. although we hope our ger put on weight, but dun wan to feed her until she put on sooo much weight until regret later. u know wat i mean?

i think, as long as ur kid is taking the milk well, there's no need to change unnecessarily.

juz my own thinking..hope i din offend anybody.