Premature babies support group

sorry har, to ask again, those mommies who hav given beef to bb (think it's costa who once wrote), the beef cannot b cooked 4 too long rt? so if i buy those chunk type, i throw the whole piece into the soup, must cook 4 how long? after cooking, i juz cut or dice izit?

wow.. trying very hard to catch up.. Guess i miss quite a fair bit of sharing.. Was very bz with work and oso spending ti,e with my gal.. really too strap for time

Heard some saying about grinding the ikan bilis... wat i did last time was to boil the ikan bilis and use the soup to cook porridge.. like tat save time in all the grinding;)
Ya, cant agree more.. time really flies. My girl is already back for 7 months plus! Still rmb the anxiety but like wat some say, treat them like normal bbs! Jus a joy to share,, my girl can prowl on her tummy!! like jumping frog!
Hee... mayb i'm the one in the forum tat is married the longest?? 12 years liao

Tomoro bringing all to east coast for bbq and fishing!

wow! mummylian so good!

I do understand what mean by too strap for time. I am too. I have one already feel that I am not giving him enough attention and even thinking of taking no pay leave of simply resign.

Time really flies really. My boy almost 2 years old liao! Hopefully he is going to catch up with other normal babies (thats what all said).

We are so lucky to have our children with us.

kkf,
i saw on the mediacorp website that taising is one of the recommended places...wat is it that is worth buying there leh?

i just pmed you...u got my message...

yup, been married for 10 yrs....to me, seems vy long liao....

disneymickey,
thanks for the explanation on the rice....sigh..there are really alot of thgs tt i dun noe......

u din miss any postings...the other time, the kkh nurses organised a small gathering with the premmie mummies that they know from kkh and some of us met each other....like mummylian, mich and jane....next time if we can organise a gathering amongst ourselves..it wld be good to meet up with the rest.....

by right, beef cant be cooked too long as it wld be tough..so i dun noe wat i hv done is correct or not...i cooked the beef wif the porridge and then later use a hand blender to blend it....i dunnoe if its wrong or not or whether it wld be overcooked or not....can anyone give advice on this?

Hi Costa,

I also use your method of cooking beef. I also blend it. But sometimes, I'm sooo lazy, I just use the back of the spoon and press it flat.

hahaha....I'm so lazy. But as long as dd not complaining so will I. hee hee....

Juz to check. My 32 weeker now abt 10 half months old but still can't crawl and still toothless. Common? Need to go doc for check up?

hi cheaky,

my 34-weeker only had her 2 lower teeth after she turned one (non-corrected). now at non-corrected 15.5 months, she only has 4 teeth. her neonat wasnt overly worried.

I see costa.

Hi Hi, me not going to battlefield today cause youth day holiday, but going to mark a lot of compositions and taking care of my boy on same time. What a challenge!!!

hi good morning mummies

cheaky..hmm my boy now at 10mths (actual) corrected is only 7 mths have 8 teeth..and of course haha cannot crawl. he can only flip and roll :p but its a very good progress to me

mummies....wow ... sat i really so busy cooking porrige. i tried the 'grained chao mi' which is suppose to be super good but find it turn out so jammy... i think i did somethng very wrong with it

so i give up and throw away. then i start to cook porridge with the pork. then cook and cook haha..finally the porridge turn out quite GOOD!! then i mash it...and pook in the rice cooker to keep warm.

wow..then my boy WAKE UP. so i happily scope the porridge from the rice cooker...sob sob...he does not really seem to enjoy it ler. or MAYBE i don't know how to feed him...

he does not seem to take in ler...then very fast the porridge cold liao then i have to rescope from the rice cooker ..

wow me and my lao gong really busy ler...

mummies..can someone tell me??? what i did wrong..why my boy not eating??? end up...give him milk mix with chao mi :p

so sat he no eat porridge..then sunday got to bring him out AGAIN he no porride

but today he sure can get to eat because the 'ah ma' will make sure he eat...(with the help of her hand keke)

mummies....such a disappointment ler...can anyone tell me...what shld i do in order to keep the porridge HOT HOT and make my boy eat?

i had wanna do the fricrsocream rice cereal when the first time my attemtp to 'cook the grained chao mi failed' but i decide porridge still better..so i cook the porridge. turn out quite good but my boy not taking ler!!

then i want to post a question. how u all make sure the porridge be consistently warm when feeding time come????

HELP!

sorry such a long post jsut about porridge :p mummies who is reading this thread please don't laff....

i really leg like hand and hand like leg...so kanjong..

oh..dunno why today i go and really bb ashley blog...suddenly....i decide...i must work harder for my boy

cheaky,
welcome back..i notice we do not have yr details in our table that is tabulated here...can you tell us...yr kiddo date of birth...length of stay etc.....

how old is yr bb's corrected age?every child is different i guess......i onli saw my kid's two bottom teeth at about 1 year actual age....(8 mths corrected)..till now, can see the buds but not really the whole tooth...

jane,
me also no answer as i use slow cooker as im a lazy person....so i take a bit, feed him and then when he wants somemore then take from the pot again....

wat is the chao mi tt you talking about?where you bought from?i bot some millet from ntuc and smtimes mixed into the porridge as i read tt millet is good for health, wor..

kkf,
today off day huh....my son also at home...when he told me tt today no need to go to school...i nearly din believe him, ha ha..

hi costa...oh. i just 'got' one slow cooker from my sister...when she know i failed in the numerous attempts to cook porridge..she give me one last sunday ...... mummies....don't laugh.... i pai say but i think i need to ask what went wrong with my cooking...

erh...can u tell me...how long u cook your porridge with the slow cooker? how to cook?????

oh the chao mi we got it from the medical hall. apparently they grained it into powder. my mum say, just cook it as per normal (put hot water, take one spoon of the powder and put to boil)..its sound super simple. but i don't know why....my this chao mi hu turn out horrible!!!! jammy and i don't know how to describe :p. like .. like oh like mash potato..except its mash chao mi...

oh yes, i think today school holiday..don't why ...

Jane, hmm... to keep porridge warm ? can you use the food warmer that we use to warm up our ebm ? as the one I bot comes with a plastic container that can be use to warm up baby food, porridge etc

haha.. didi, i got that actually. hmm you are right. i shld use that hum....

i wonder...but is it ok to warm and rewarm the porridge like that? :p

sorry..i really a mummy with lots of ??? :p

Hi good morning.
Checky,
i think not to worry, regarding the crawlmaybe you can help him, put some toy infront him, your two hand block his feet, then try to help him to push front, slowly he able to move a bit, refer the teething, i read the book say, no problem if baby no teeth until 1 years,some baby till 14-15month start first teeth.
For my twins, 10.5month too, corrected month 8month.
1st twins-got two teeth only, 1st one come out more than half, another one half only. He already know how to crawl to back and if i put my hand at his feet when he turn on, he can move to infront.
2nd, twins-No teeth at all. haa,haa, everthing he was faster than his brother last time only this he lose..haa.haa,he more active than his brother, he can crawl back faster than his brother, front also no problem. they all use their body to try to go front and back. I always put them at bed to let them play, at first they only roll here roll there, but now can see the result which they can trying to go and take their toys which put left,right,back,front. if they really like the toys, they will try many way to take. you can give a try.
Jane,
hi, my boys know how to sit liao without support, they no more face down ,they like to look at the toys. they can sit abt 5minit. so happy.
I notice after they do a lot of crawl, no really crawl la, but a bit lor, look like their brain got working lei, now a day they like more understanding and more active wth everything.my sister ask me to let them stay at bed or alphabet matt , they will leard more, dont let them sit walker, i try up, ya, very useful.

Jane

I share with you on how I wean my boys.
We started with frisocream rice cereal at corrected age 6 mths.
They took 3-5 spoonful each time. Once a day.
Gradually, the amt increase.

We didnt start on porridge until they turn corrected age 9-10 mths.
Started with plain rice porridge cooked in home made stock.
Mashed the porridge until the texture is almost similar to rice cereal.
Half a bowl a day. No meat or veg were introduced then.
There are times when they feed well, times that they dont.
Establish a routine, eg rice cereal for bfast and porridge for dinner.

Once they are used to eating porridge, introduced meat and veg into the porridge.
The texture can be coarser once they are used to chewing. And the amount of porridge can be increased gradually.

Besides porridge, you can give some mashed potatoes.
Boil the potatoes until soft. Mashed.
Mix some frisocream with a bit of water in a bowl. Stir in the mashed potato.
The texture will be very very smooth... More palatable for bbs who just started weaning.

I have seen some bbs who eat very well once they started weaning, I have also seen some who fuss and close mouth when they see the spoon.
Need time and patience....

jane
dont worry, is like that, last two month, i cooked the delicious porriage every day, but my boys dont like at all, but now stop abt 2weeks, i give them again, they can take 1/2 bowl. i am so happy. so take time,jia yu, at least his popo give him he take right. some time baby dont like to manhy things in porriage, they very simple one, maybe u just try to put carrot,see how.
before that i put water in slow cooker, after that put the rice and vegi in small pot than put in slow cooker to steam the porriage, around 3hour, they say more smelly and nice and no gas at all, baby not so easy got wind. take long time, but now i change, i use gas, i put water in big pot, than stem the porriage, using gas, around 2hour, but must look at water, this the different.

jane,
sorry, forget to tell you how i warm the porriage,
i am very mahuan one, when i give them porriage,cereal or caho mi fen, i will ask my maid prepare 2 big bowl, and hot water, while we feed them half already, the makan will turn cool, then my maid will put hot water in big bowl, then we put our own small bowl in big bowl to warm the makan lor., if water turn cool and makan still have, we just change water, i also give them food in warm.

Hi jane

You really got a lot of ?
Haha. But I dun really get what you mean leh?
Why must you warm up the porridge??
I often use slow cooker to cook, then scoop 1 bowl for my boy, he will finish, then will throw away the rest. Why must warm?
I will recook for evening.
If I go out will put in tiger jar and will keep the porridge hot.

I used to dunno how to cook porridge too leh. Worst, if my mum in law never cook for my boy, I dun even bother to cook and will let my boy drink milk the whole day, until one fine day, a mum told me "he grows up already lar, must eat some meat and fish to help his growth and makes him stronger." From that fine day onwards, i will make it a point to cook two meals of porridge. First few times, my boy can even reject my porridge, or vomit! ha!

Then as time goes on, more and more familiar, and my mum is very good, she will cut for me the meat, fish (in pieces) and vegetables, and I just throw them in and boil with rice, then put them all in slow cooker after boiled once, and let the slow cooker takes care of it.

Wonder whether that helps?

Btw you look so cute with your boy! Ha! Two happy persons!

hi...interesting.

mich...hmm. my boy kind of start on plain porridge cook with 'pork head'... i should have started on friscocream rice cereal hor. but my mum say..he got teeth liao...can start porridge.

maybe like u say, i tried the rice cereal...am i very no good? like doing back cycling for my boy... he now corrected about 7 mths liao. but he still cannot sit (supported he can la)

my boy won't close his mouth but he will 'kind of' push the porridge out lor. i don't know how my mum manage to feed him thou. think i need to take leave and learn...

let me work hard and tried give him the rice ceral or porrige..then i add other things hehe...

i hope SOON i can announce here i manage to feed him ;---- so ma lu (embarrassed) i seem the only one asking about feeding...;;;;;;

jacelyn -- YA YA YA!! good simple way to keep the porridge warm. right now, that is how (something like that except i use a glass) i keep my milk warm....!!!! ok ok ok ok...i go and find the bowl (glass or porcelin)??? or i will just use the food warmer (got to go and read how to use it thou) keke

hmm... sat i use gas. and you are right..need to look at the water... i thought slow cooker is simpler to use??? keke i don't know ler

jacelyn -- about crawling and sitting. my boy still at the rolling and fliping stage only. he does move a bit when i push his leg....but only a bit lor... i hope he can sit up soon thou...because end of this month going to see the neo nat and the physio liao

mummies...i am so glad to have u all...else i really head all wired up.. sob sob...

hi kkf...why must warm ah because...he cannot finish at one go. sat what i did was also, i cook extra more. then he cannot finish. i throw then i rescope some and feed him again...

hmmm... ya, i know must give him some solid becasue he big liao ler...(he is actual 10 mths)... so i am trying so hard to learn how u mummies do it lor...

slow cooker really easy to use like u say? put everyitng in...just let it boil? boil for how long???

sorry..i really many question. i know nuts about all these things...i know how to cook but i don't know anyting about how to prepare baby food ler...pai say

haha..my boy cute hor, can pose hehe

i need some hands ON... that is what i need!! any mummies want to do some video and show me how to cook and how to judge if its the right way to do the food hahaha!!!!

jane really wired up liao hahahaha...

think all mummies reading this thread must be reallly puzzle..how difficult can it be keke!!

Jane,
ya, like mich say, maybe let your boy start the rice cereal like frisocream or nestle cereal, and brown rice powder very good too, i buy the cosway brown rice, easy to give them and good too, now a day their skin very pinkty after taking a lot of brwon rice, chao mi fen, and now their bone like more strong, and they know how to sit some more, maybe because of they eat a lot of cereal and chao mi fen if you scared he heaty, maybe you buy the shishen chao mi. not so heaty, for my boys they ok for the cosway brown rice, i just stay on.
ya, you do the wrong way for do the brown rice, for me, i put cool water in bottle at 100-120ml,put the 2 spoon or sometime 3 spoon brown rice , use spoon to stir first, after that put hotot water until 210ml, stir again, put 3 1/2 spoon similac milk, than stir until smooth, i never put direct to bowl, when i going to put to my boy bowl,i use the big spoon got small small hole that one put at top of bowl, than i pull over, than the cereal or brown rice will be very smooth. i dont know how to say the thing, chinese say guo li. like net, stainless stell one.

Juz to inform that my baby have gone to be with the Lord on Sat night.Thk you for all the support and concern over the past few months.It hv been a blessing to know you guys.U all take care.

jacelyn...hmm i really did the wrong way....heng i no feed my boy the grainned brown rice...

where u learn from the above method?

ok ok. i print out your post. and tonight i go home try the way u say...thanks for being so clear in the preparation way.

i most concern is if my boy is getting the 'need be' nurtrients to grow up..i don't want to hindrance his growing up...

all u mummies make good teacher.

Jane,
dont kanjoing, i wish i can do video for you, but i dont know how to do, if you need my help phone me, ha,,ha,,but very expensives if you call me, maybe you can call other mummy.
ok, i explain again,
like just now 10pm,
i take carrot, and potato cut into pcs put one bowl. than i take out 3 pork rib than cook wth hot water awhile, take out and use cool water to wash for wash out the oil, put one side too. after that i take one hand of rice and wash. put inside my small pot, i use sabo. ok, than i put hot water inside the sa bo which got rice in amount of water. after that, take the big bowl at gas there, put water and one small tower afetr that put my sabo which got rice that one inside. put all my carrot, potato and ribs inside. than i cover it. i will turn max fire first, after turn to small fire, will go and add water again if lever low, after 2-3hour, take the porriage out, already mian mian, than i put in two bowl , cos i got 2 boys ma, 1 for me, one for my maid, we start give them , after the porriage in bowl turn cool, we will use normal we drink soup the big bowl, put some hot water, after that put our porriage bowl inside and continue the feeding again. this the way i give porriage. ha,very loso ha, hope you understand. for brown rice i teach you before that. ok, for nestle rice cereal, i do milk 210ml gain, after that put 5spoon rice cereal again, stir in my bottle milk, after that never direct put into bowl, i will use guoli again to be more smooth.if i buy the nestle gold than more easy,i just put 180ml water than put 6 spoon nestle gold than stir it. guo li again, that one i never use our milk, that one wth milk already. that one very good, easy to digeast and my boys like it, very expensive, call nestle gold, in packages one , my side sell RM7.50, only can do 3 time. got rice, canberry and apple. u can try.
ok, lah, very luan if i write again, hope you understand

fairytale...PM u...mmmmm....hey gal, take care and be strong....write to me if u wish to talk talk... be strong ok....

(once a friend, always a friend)

Fairtyle,
sorry to hear abt that too,
be strong,any things need to help or need some one to talk, just post here, we are will support you.
jia you..............

Jane,
maybe you use slow coker la, no need to care of water, same like what i say, different is on the slow cooker, put hot water in slow cooker, after tthat put your sapo which already gor rice,carrot,potato in. than just on high, than you can go and wathch tv, after 3hour, come back and open, you will see your porriage really.

Jane,
I never learn from where, i just try and try than find the best for my boys lor.
Last time my friend and my relative say i am very mahuan and too troublesome, do a lot of thing, they say no need so much work, but, i never hear them even i know they care of me, because i know i was their mother, and i am not working too, i must do the best thing for them.
we are help to learn each other too, i am also a kanjoing mother, a lot of things i also cant decide and i need advice too, my phone bill very high one, cos if got anything, i will phone a lot of people, afetr that combire and get the answers. ha...

wow, so bz till now then come in & look c..so many postings..

jane,
i dun make sure the food is consistently hot. cos my ger is a v slow eater. will take at least half hr to feed her, so can imagine, the food is cold. but i dun care haha.. my mother will always over-cook a bit more, so when the porridge became cold, she'll change 'new bowl.

i oso used the slow cooker to cook soupo last weekend. i turn the cooker to auto, so water level won't drop to zero. so juz left the cooker on, until lunch time. think with the slow cooker, u can ensure always hav hot porridge to 'exchange"

mashed potato like wat mich suggested is good. but i added milk instead of cream into the potato. my ger loves it.. cos i think potato got nice smell. sometimes i add carrot into the potato oso.

costa,

i bought beef frm NTUC, cut into small cubes, throw into the soup & cook awhile. then use knife & cute into small small pieces, then mix into mee sua & pasta. ok la, my ger eats.

aiyo, really no time liao. ltr then finish reading all other posts.

Hello to all,

I am new to this thread. My edd is supposed to be end-Aug 2007 but my last Friday gynae visit confirmed that my baby had descended down and I could deliver anytime. Should this happens, I want myself to prepare for her early arrival.

Her weight on ultrasound is about 1.7kg and weeks 31. I hope to hold on as long as possible and I still going to work as per normal.

May I ask you what I should look out for:
1. Steroid jab necessary to mature lung?
2. Hospital bills huge for stay in NICU (delivery in Mt A hospital)?
3. Are all premmie eyesight affected?
4. Are premmie developmental milestone slower?
5. Is she going to be on tubes in intubator?

I hope I did not sound kaisu but I have lost one child through stillbirth before and thus, I am panicking now...

Thank you all in advance.

Vanessa
Hi, welcome here.
not too worry, just see how, actually you should rest at home to prevent your baby as prem baby. But since you need to work than what you can do is walk rest, after work must rest at home, try to lie down, i also not sure, if not i wont give birth mny twins so early too,haa.ha...
be positive, if you think you can , than you can.
Actually 1.7kg quiet ok, maybe she noo need more care as her organ already stabil or maybe she can breath herself, but, this we dont know and hard to say, must wait she born than we know.
answers your question.
1)ya, try to do the jab, is good for baby, last time i been do 4 jabs cos mine is twins.
2)bill ? i am not sure, maybe costa, jane,mich they all can answer you. mine was in malaysia. very cheap cheap one.haa.haa
3)not every baby gor eyesight affected, depend of baby, i think if your one 1.7kg, should be no problem, as me, my 1st twins no problem as he born in 1.51kg, my 2nd twins ROP stage 3 and done laser as he born in 1.19kg, used too much oxygen support. But, now, he was ok.
4)Their premmie development very hard to say, must wait them grow up than we know, the doctor will do follow up for you. only things is prem baby some time slow than other full term baby, but, they still can catch up. dont worry.
5)As i say , depend of her, some baby no need to use tube feeding or saty in incubetor, if baby come out got 1.7kg, should no need, but must se their lung function first.
Sorry, if i answers any wrong. hope can help you, dont think too much, dont worry , be happy.

Disney,
maybe you can use my way, quiet convenient, just prepared one more big bowl and hot water, when warm than you put in the small bowl , so that our baby can always enjoy the warm food.

hi mummies, thanks for all the reply on food preparation. let me copy and paste all the various ideas and read and understand then i repost my ??? hahaha....

vanessa - welcome :) think nana, did or stressed can answer your question as their bb is around this gestation.

nothing too kiasu...its good to ask what we don't know and the mummies here is really nice... do ask... we really don't know what other know..

Vanessa
Yes must have the jab for baby and must be in time.
Please ask your gynae to call kkh to reserve a nicu place for you. You can transfer you baby there, the bill will be lesser if you choose to let her stay in ward C. I have transferred my boy from raffles last time too, but was almost rejected due to no space in NICU, so ask your gynae to see if he can help you reserve a place first.
My boy borned 27 weeks, eyesight seems ok. I am a premature baby borned at 27 weeks too. I only wear glasses when in primary 5.
I am not slower than my peers. I am a uni grad.
Yes, tube feeding is a Must for premature baby who still cannot drink on his own. But if yours if big enough, think soon he will be off the tube.

Jane

I really think slow cooker is easiest!
My mum taught me just put all the ingredients with rice, and let them boil once over the fire (just boil once, see bubbles, then can take away). Once done, put in slow cooker and let slow cooker handles.
I find this easiest. A person who is a cooking dummy like me can handle this.

Btw, fairytale, what can we do for you now?
I lost my boy before. If you need anyone to talk to. You can always look for me.

hi kkf..wow sound super easy..hmm...perhaps i shld just like you say, put the 'thing' to cook then just put on the slow cooker? kekeke...sound so simple ler :p

Hello Jacelyn,
Thanks for your encouragement ;-) In fact hubby is extra caring now and making sure that I bottled down essence of chicken in morning and milk at night... also, due to my low blood count, my mum has been cooking liver soup for me keke... like what you say, I live day or day now lor

Hi kkf,
I think I met you in stillbirth support group. Thanks for letting me know about reservation in kkh. I will tell my gynae on my next visit.

Fairytale,
Just pm us if you need help...just contact us if you need help...anytime...

Vanessa,
Sorry to hear abt yr loss....
for your pending birth, wld u be giving birth at mt A? Since kkh is subsidized..wld u be transferring there...?
1. Steroid jab necessary to mature lung?<font color="0000ff">yes, its vy important</font>
2. Hospital bills huge for stay in NICU (delivery in Mt A hospital)?<font color="ff0000">not too sure about Mt A, but tink kkh shld b cheaper</font>
3. Are all premmie eyesight affected?<font color="119911">not all wld be affected, mine is 24 weeker and slightly affected</font>
4. Are premmie developmental milestone slower?<font color="ff0000">have to compare with their corrected age...the day they are supposed to be born</font>
5. Is she going to be on tubes in intubator?<font color="0000ff">guess they hv to be on tubes to help them strive</font>

hope tt we have helped to answer yr questions...

Jane,
so cleaver ha, you are right, i will tell them untie jane still remember you, ha..haa.
you understand what i say just now? refer the porriage,cereal and brown rice cooking? ya,try the nestle gold which i mention just now, new improved, very nice, sure your baby like it, got fruit somemore, can poo poo easy.
they not cute, but naughtly, the 2nd twins, did you see his face, look like very naughty face, the 1st twins more guai, but his style like girl, like me to hug him one, his brother more brave than him, i share wth you, my 1st twins always kiss me and hold my face when i hug him. my 2nd twins not. ;(

Jane

I agreed it is easier to use Slow cooker.

This is how I cook my porridge:

Prepare the Stock
Put corn, carrots, silver fish (or fish bone), celery etc into a pot of water.
Boil it over low fire for about 45 mins.
Have to constantly check and add water to make sure it does not dry up.
Once the stock taste nice. Off the fire.
Sieve the stock (in case there are some fish bones in the stock)
Place aside

Prepare to cook porridge:
Wash Rice
Put rice in slow cooker.
Put in the corn which you use to cook the stock earlier.
You can add wolfberries, scallops etc if you wish.
Add in some of the stock.
Switch on the slow cooker.
Very diff to tell u how much stock to add in, have to learn thru experience. Suggest you start off with not too much stock and top up when you see there is no fluid in the slow cooker but rice not cooked yet.
Switch off slow cooker once porridge is cooked.

When close to meal time, I will:
Slice the fish
Prepare the vegetables (Brocolli or spinach or tomatoes etc)
Transfer the porridge to a small pot.
Switch on the fire. Low fire.
Add in the fish.
The porridge may dry up, add in more stock or hot water (your preference)
Stir slightly
Add in the vegetables.
Stir slightly
Make sure the content boils.
Switch off fire when fish is cooked.
Porridge is ready to be served.

Note: Dun stir too much else the porridge will be very watery.
Stir to make sure the porridge does not stick to the bottom of the pot.

Fairytale,
stay strong...

vanessa,
welcome, but i'm sure u dun wan to join this group. anyway, here's my experience..

my ger was born in mt a, wk34 @1.45kg.
1) steroid jab: yes,necessary, but think can only take like 1wk b4 birth. 2 jabs

2) my ger stayed in mt a in NICU for 2.5wks, then another 0.5wks in the normal nursery. the total bills is abt S$10k. of cos, can use medisavve to pay the bulk, so end up we pay abt $3-$4k cash.

3) my ger borned on wk34, thank god, eyesight not affected

4) some premies are, some lucky ones are not. my ger's teeth development & crawling almost same as normal bb. but she's 16mths (non corrected) now but she can't walk or talk yet.

5) she was lucky as she can take normal air, so she does not need to be in the box (incubator) for long. but as a preemie, she's weak in sucking, so need to b tube fed for abt 1 wk.

jacelyn,

ur boys sooo cute.. 1 of them eyes big hor?

Jane,

here's my method:

soup
1) wash ikan bilis (peeled & remove the black black thing inside)
2) boil water
3) put ikan bilis + chkn breast/pork into slow cooker
4) you can choose to add spinach or carrot or potato or celery or eggplant in & cook together. other than spinach, the rest u can cut into small cubes
5) after abt 2hrs, u can slice the chkn breast. if it's pork, u can minced the pork

pasta
1) will cook pasta in water. when soft, transfer to tap water.

when close to meal time,
1) i'll scoop up a bowl (normally for soup i cook for 2 meals) of soup & put into another pot.
2) beat up an egg & add into this pot. when the egg is cooked, i'll cut into small pieces.
3) add all ingredients (meat or fish or veg) into the soup.
4) add pasta & cook everything to boil then can feed alrdy
5) if it's mee sua, add the uncooked mee sua in & cook everything to boil.

btw, mommies, juz discovered a wonderful way of cooking mee sua over the weekend. i break the mee sua into small small pieces, then throw into the pot, so when cooked, no need to cut them again. maybe u all alrdy know this method, but i stupid, used to cut the mee sua up when cooked..