Premature babies support group

kkf,
ok, thanks, maybe i will try to ask other mummy how to do the ikan bilis powder.
Any mummies know mhow to do the ikan bilis powder and how to give, what amount?
Can i check wth your too , how to cook porriage? use gas or slow cokker to steam? any suggestion?
I just know that i got one classmate, he just have one baby girl, also premature baby, born last 2 month, only 700gram, now still at hospital, going to discharges, stay abt 65day now, she was very lucky, everthing ok, no problem at all. I hope she will be discharges soon, but , i feel very funny, my friend which her father more kanjoing than his wife, my friend never kanjoing at all on her daughter which so small, she never go hospital alone to visit her, even house was so near, she only go when he husdband knock off at 8pm, then they go together. my friend say, she not really care abt baby, she still want to go to work and still go to learn yoga for slim down her body, go barbecue, go shopping . ai ya, so sad for my friend, dont know what happen to his wife, just share wth your this, dont know how to concern my friend.

mich, my boys are only 4 months old (2 mths corrected)
so still worried the younger one might desat ?

Jacelyn, maybe in my opinion, your classmate's wife is concerned for her bb, is just that she haven't gotten adjusted to her new role yet ?

jacelyn

wah... she's so lucky and she doesn't know it. nvm... tell your fren... maybe for all we know, she is in denial. it's not that she don't care, but she just doesnt want to deal with it as she's scared and not prepared... when baby comes home, see how she deals with it lor, maybe she'll be more involved? if not, then your fren have to talk to her about it...

Part of me sometimes oso fed up, want to continue my own life, but of course got no heart to do that.

re the mcdonald house, i found out it is $45 per nite.

costa, is this the same as the rooming-in svc? diff right?

Lindah,
u can ask the "sister" nurses abt the rooming service..but anyway, they wld ask you if you are confident of looking after yr boy then they let u bring him home....if not confident, then perhaps they wld recommend the room to you...

hows yr boy now and his oxygen levels?

didi,
when yr boy was discharged from kkh, he shld be free from episodes of desat, right?

oxygen 21-24%.

same2 as last few weeks. waiting for canula and improvement. ;)

yesterday latch again. dunno if he drank any as my flow really ridiculous. today will ask doctor if can prescribe me more drugs.

Didi,
YA, maybe she not dare to go alone, maybe she scared what lindah say, she dont want to face everthing, so she do some other things to reduce her pressure, i hope is.
Lindah,
Do you know or not? She not even help her daughter change pampers, drink milk either by tube or cup. Cos she only go at night, which pass the milk time, then they will go before the next milk time. Actually, our malaysia hospital, mother can stay at 2floor which near to baby place, this can let us sleep there and go upstair take care of our baby, i been stay there 1 month,provide 3meal and 1 bed, only RM1.50 per day. But she never go and stay, i really worry when her daughter back, she manages to give milk or not, as you know prem baby which so small need more special care, as you, you are very brave and good mother, maybe you can stay there and learn to take care, i think your baby soon can be go back.

didi'
oh, your boys only 4 month ha...how many kg now?sorry ha, what you mean of desat? any problem wth your twins?

Lindah,
you can ask the doctor to prescribe the drug for you....to increase bm..but dunnoe if it wks since its been some time....but no harm trying...

tink the macdonalds room and the rooming in are different..i think the difference is the following (just read wif a pinch of garam bec kakak cld be salah)...

1. Macdonalds room is for parents to sleep overnite so tt they need not travel to and fro..machiam hotel room....i duntink the child can sleep over wif you

2. but rooming in at scn means (i think onli lah) that yr baby wld b there wif you and if you need any assistance when you cant deal wif anythg, then you so called activate the nurses to help...

but dun tink u wld need it lah......the mummy i met had different requirements and so she used this service....

jacelyn,
i overheard one man at KK saying that in malaysia the hospitalisation cost is really cheap...he was saying smthg that why spore so expensive, in msia, give birth only a few dollars..

tt time,i heard it, i wanna laff out loud and roll on the floor,different country different mah...but after hearing abt the room being R$1.5...for the same price you pay for the macdonald room, u can stay 100 days liao..as M$1.5 is about $0.45 in sing dollars.....

KKf, Jacelyn, Chloegal
I am better ... Back to work today. Thanks!

Costa
Yes, Thats Hays Dairy at Lim Chu Kang.
I think you wrote before but I cannot recall. Who brought the chicken pox virus into NICU/SCN?

Lindah
Most of the preemies here grow very well.
So is your boy...
Keep encouraging him

Jacelyn
Alternatively, you can use small silver fish to boil the stock.
Corn, carrots, celery can be added to the stock. Boil the stock for about 45 mins
The stock will be very sweet.
Discard the silver fish and vegetables. Just use the stock to cook the porridge.
I am using slow cooker to cook porridge.

Chloegal
My Family Doc told me that it can be spread.
Evans vomitted on Monday...Not sure did he kena from me?
He was ok for the past few days... Will continue to monitor.

Didi
Sorry.... I read the table wrongly. Thought your boys are over one year old. :p
What did the neo nat say? Chances of desat shd be quite low right?

Aiya, me type type type then suddenly dunno press what, all disappear, sob.

Anyway, jacelyn use slow cooker the porridge is softer, easier to swollow, when baby is bigger, can use others.

Your friend really bor chap one leh. She is forced to get pregnant is it? I think she is not prepared to be a mother.

Malaysia hospital is really cheap!!! How about the equipments? Are they as professional?

Btw what is desat that all of you have been talking about?

Lindah!Your boy will be home soon! Everyday must repeat this to yourself!Yeah!

Mich, glad you are well!

Costa, my son didn't have any desat after return from kkh, b....ut on their 1st month celebration after the party when my sister was carrying him after his milk feed, he got choked and my ! his whiole body turn bluish
my sister got so worried that she cried and me immediately put down my elder boy and did some sort of CPR on him then I 'tekan' his sole a few times then he regain his breathing, I was crying too and luckily my god-bro who was also at my place tole me to carry him upright, and that whole nite I couldn't recover from the trauma.....

Mich, no prob, the neo nat said he should be fine and the above episode is caused his airway are choked. The Hay diaries very smelly still ? went there many years ago, did you bring your boys to the quails farm too ?

costa,
Finnaly my boys went sleep. i got time here again.
ya,they just finish half bowl of porriage at 2pm, this time i never add soya sauce, i put broccoli,meat and carrot. lucky they finish, 3pm i give them 170ml milk again.they fall sleep now,and my 1st twins go back to bottle feeding again even not finish in 250ml, but he can finish 200ml now, thanks gods.Thanks for telling me dont add any soya sauce, i wont do it again, i will try ikan bilis to be taste.
Didi,
What bottle you give to your boys? maybe can try dr.brown or Bfree?better and more slow, not so earlt to choke.
kkf
i dont know the girl,she was classmate wife,i never meet her before, i think maybe she young or what, i also dont know what happen to her, she still can go barbecue wth frieng?i still remember when my boys in hospital, i dont ever have a mood to buy things, ai ya, she can say very lucky, as her daughter so small when born, 700gram, and no problem at all. going to discharges this few day. i was thinking maybe she never owe her anythings last life, so she no need to worry abt her daughter....
actually i use slow cooker to steam porriage, maybe i just use to cook only lor, no need to steam, waste time.
Mich,
ok, i will try the way which you teach, eh,so happy, today they finish half bowl again? dont know tmr want to cook what, every time carrot meat also sian. ha..ha..
costa, kkf
ya, our side goverment hospital bill very cheap, as i say before, my twins stay at 57day, included icu and all the medical checkup,medicine, total is RM800= for two person. I deliver there in normal only RM500=as i choice 1st class room, if i never choice, i only need to pay one day RM1 room and RM3 for deliver charges, maybe total not more than RM10. Wah,so cheap right? but let me tell your also got a lot of problem in gorverment hospital of accident cases, a lot of people dont want to go their, depend of our luck too, so i was the lucky one, before that i never think to go there, i as very scared. heard a lot of story unsuccesful there, if not my private doctor dont want to take me i wont go gorverment hospital too, but, anyway want to thanks him too, as help me to save a lot alot of many, i got one friend she told me her friend give birth prem baby at private hospital , baby stay 60days, spend her Rm150000+.see, look at the different.

mich,
glad you r ok..
it was a doctor who brot the ckn pox virus in without knowing...then the bbs hv to be isolated...

i "forgotten" tt my son had to go for ckn pox jab last wk...next wk, gotta go..really blur...

tink alot of kids kena tis gastric flu etc issues recently leh...

kkf,
if you dun noe means yr boy did not hv any desat issues...i oso dun really noe how to explain wat is desat....didi,can explain or not?
didi,
how come his airways got choked?

kkf,
ya, of course the professional and equipment cant compare wth singapore, the kk hospital equipment is very good, for our side, is ok. when my baby at hospital, all the icubetar,ventilatar...etceverthing in order, but sometime not enough, i still remember last time when my 2nd twins need to do the laser, they need to spare one ventilator for him, in case he stop breath during laser, because of not enough and by using by others, my sons need to wait for 4 day than his turn, he even puasa 4 day, so poor of him.
So i can say, the doctor and equipment is ok, only things in maybe the building for this hospital too old, the place not so nice and some more i feel not so clean lor.

I dun think kkh that clean also, else why my boy got infection. Anyway, very cheap leh. Next time go malaysia to give birth...haha.

Btw, think one of these days, we should organise a gathering for premature babies mummies...! We can all see how our babies have grown! That will be very interesting.

kkf,
no lah,i sure kkf very clean,i like singapore as i already worked there abt 12 years, very clean and safe.dont worry, just think maybe your baby just want more love and care from you la,,so he fall sick a while.hee.hee.
Very cheap ha, i also cant emazing how come my bill so cheap, but i told yours already, i am the lucky one.
When my boys in hospital also every time kena inflection, if not, they can discharges early than 57days. Ai ya, you never come our hospital before, if you come , you will say you are lucky which born in singapore.ha..ha
ya,ya, can ,if your organises, i will bring my boys too, i will travel from jb even heavy traffic jam....

haha, wow jacelyn I am of course very clean! hee (you type kkh as kkf) haha!!!
Then I must really organise a gathering for us...but think need a big big space with lots of children facilities.

hi jacelyn,

i met one malaysian doctor before and she told me that malaysia's healthcare is very heavily subsidised. she was really annoyed about it because the hospitals are always making losses. i didnt realise how cheap it is until i read your posts!!! waaaahhhhh!!!! so cheap!!!!!!!

lindah,
i wrote one reply to you yesterday but then, my daughter woke up and my reply disappeared. myparents and ILs dont visit my daughter all that often too but it was okay lah. unless your baby needs special care (like tube feeding and oxygen), our parents can take care of our children. what have you decided on taking NPL? and you want to stay in the mcdonalds room, is it?

Hi Costa,oh the neo nat told me that his airways could be choked when I related the incident to her, I didn't asked her why at that moment as everytime I see her I alway have lots of questions to ask her and forgotten about it.

Jacelyn, my bbs are about 6kg each, must increase their weight leh
regarding the milk bottles, haven't decided to change yet as my boys are quite happy with their current bottles
is Dr Brown bottles that good ? is it very slow ? as it looks very complicated
how's life at JB ? do you stay far from woodlands causeway ? miss shopping at JB though and the food

hi good morning mummies,

wow so much sharing, my boy yesterday manage to finish one small bowl of porcelin porridge (plain nothing inside).. hehe. this weekend i be so excited cos first time i am going to cook for him wow hahaha!! hope i can do it ah...else i will have to give him the nestle instant rice cereal :p (think easier than cooking porridge???) keke.

shall make BIG attemtps. very kanjong now keke. mummies -- wish me luck haha

didi - i have 2 dr brown milk bottle and am trying to sell it keke. to me its complicating thou it is suppose to be 'very good' for reduction of air traps... my boy is using the pigeon teats and prince milk bottle...

hallo.

i have a mtg at ten and i am on half day so wont be popping in much today and prob not weekend as my home PC kaput...

let me know if the gathering got halal food ok? i can suggest halal plc but dun think i know any child friendly plc (remember i am a first time mum so dun know much).

Naddy... i will take NPL when baby is confirmed discharge. but only 3-4weeks. so i still have prorated leave for medical checkups...

ya... will prob try the macdonald room either this weekend and next weekend... so that have proper rest and no shuttling. ;) told my hubby it's like a weekend holidae! ;) at KKH!

hmmm see gathering word in linah message..where ? when? must include me ah...

hi lindah - have a good weekend with your boy :)

morning mommies,
although on leave ytd, but din manage to log in at all. went out w hubby early in the morning. went 2 watch movei, transformers, very nice show.
then went shopping. hubby bought me a ring, time to change, cos realized next yr will b our 10 yr anniversay for ROM

anyway, talking abt cooking 4 bb, jane, dun worry, u can do it. u can juz add 1 or 2 kind of veg into the porridge & cook (use ez to cook veg like pumpkin). or u can throw everything into the slow cooker & let the cooker take care of it haha.
it always feel very good when my ger finishes wat i give her.. at least my efforts not wasted.
jacelyn, remember, DO NOT add soya sauce. if u add meat & veg, the proridge will b v tasty alrdy. DON"T let them b exposed 2 salty food, else they'll reject normal food.

Read a book on preemie last night, share this with you:

<font color="0000ff">It is frustrating when other mummies start to talk about what their kids do first when my preemie is not doing what their kids are doing. Ill tell them, what my preemie did FIRST was to arrive EARLY.</font>

<font color="0000ff">There is no development chart for preemie... Look for PROGRESS, not conformity</font>

Didi
No I didnt bring them to the quail farm.
The goat farm is not as smelly as what I had expected.

DisneyMickey
You went Pak Tor yesterday har? :p
I hope to catch Transformers too.
Hey... next year is also my 10th year anniversary for ROM!

mich,
i like wat u quoted.. like i say, i know each child's development is diff, but as mommy, think somehow we're bit ks (more ks than daddy), my ger alrdy 16mths (non-corrected), can't talk, can't walk yet. but i oso read frm magazine, if the bb is showing signs of learning to walk (ie. criusing - walking ard table or chair), it's ok.
my MIL says my hubby oso started talking late. maybe my ger is like daddy lor

aiyo, the goat farm not stinky meh?? yucks.. heehee.. but gd tat ur boys enjoy.. wow, they're so big alrdy hor.

ya lor, ytd went pak tor. nowadays, no time to watch movie. must take leave & go pak tor w hubby. wow, we married 4 so long alrdy hor..do u hav a customary wedding? when? sorry 4 asking har..so u oso marry 4 long then got kids?

<font color="ff0000">Mich, hv yr boys recovered fully?actually u are right...there are really no guidelines for preemies...no timeframe as to when their teeth wld appear, their first crawl etc...we just hv to take them as they are and let them develop at their own pace</font>

<font color="0000ff">disneymickey, me oso ROM for 11 yrs and customarily married for 10 yrs liao..time really flies man....</font>

<font color="119911">jane, if using slow cooker, use boiling water when cooking the porridge</font>

Mich, i just learnt how to do the fonts in different colours..

Mummies,hp the colours not too distracting

hi disneymickey -- hehe i hope i can 'do' it ah keke..else my boy be so disappointed. everday get to eat porridge but weekend such a disappointment hahah...

hi mich -- yes, i like what you quote. look for progress...my boy now can roll (at corrrect 7mths) and i am already very happy :)

wow envy two of u....hubby and wife so lovely

hi costa..wow colourful colourful ahha...

i don't have slow cooker...but if its really that helpful. i will go and buy one haha

Jane, how you gonna cook the porridge, over fire is it?

I m the blur type..dun noe how to use the stove to cook leh..monday must give me yr tips hor...

DisneyMickey
My ceremony was in 1999.
Hb and I had 6 years of Er Ren Shi Jie with quite a bit of travelling.
One fine day, we woke up and realised that he is approaching 40!
So we decided to try for baby. Conceived within 2 mths of trying.

Costa
Boys are good... Thanks.
Hows yours?
You very cute...
You can <font size="+2">do this</font>.... <font size="+1">Or this</font> and <font size="-2">this.</font>.. Have Fun.

Jane
Im very lazy... So use a slow cooker, no need to watch the fire.

Who is organising gathering har? :p
I am going to check out the kindergarten with hb during lunch time later... Catch up with you all again when back.

costa & Jacelyn,
if dun hav slow cooker, can cook porridge over fire. but need to watch 4 water level, else bb will b eating burnt porridge grin.

mich,
ya lor, me 2.enjoying travelling & life juz 2 of us for abt 6yrs, cos we dun wan kid. then accident

naddy,
hows your apple? can get the juices?
I give my boys again yesterday, can get abt 7small spoon.
kkf,
Sorry ha, is kkh.haaa.haa
Disney,
ok, i wont put any sauce , today i want to cook for them fish porriage, is it ok? now they was 10.5month liao.ya, how to do the ikan bilis powder?
Didi,
ok la.6kg, my and twins only 7.4kg now, he already 10.5month lei,last time he dont like milk, so he smaller than his brot, as his brother already 8.6kg. Only now he like milk.
Before that i use Dr.brown, now i change to BFree. two of the bottle very good, baby wont get air so early, ya, more slow, easy to control milk for baby, you can try first since jane want to offer you the bottle. I prefer Bfree noe cos feel the bottle more hard, as i steam ever time before i use, like more tahan.
My life ha, ok la, but i prefer work, Before that i worked at thomson, worked there already 8years. If i can choice, i still want to work, but, now cant, i want to take care them in good first, see when they 2years i will sent them to kindergarden, see how 1st.
OH, my house to singapore custom abt 25minit. Here gor shopping center like jusco,giant.did you hear before?I know a lot of singaporean like the foods in jb, come and see me or phone me if need any help when you want to come jb....
JAne,
Congrat, your boy like the porriage, than must cook some vegi for him too, ya, now my boys also can finish half bowl, i was so happy as they accept the porriage. today i going to cook fish porriage for them.ya, go and buy one slow cooker, is more easy, for me, i was put one pot in slow cooker to steam the porriage, now i start use gas to steam.ya, iheard a lot of people use pigeon teats, is it good, for my boys , they use the dr.brown and bfree now t\which more easy to suck, they will like normal bottle as not tube inside or not? i give them avent, but the milk very difficult to get, look like they very difficult in sucking.
wah, all of your married so many year, for me, i patto wth my hubby 10years, just married on year 2005 oct.

JAne,
i look at the sales for toys there, thinking to go over there to buy one cheap cheap twins stroller, currenlly was using my sis secong hand one, not very big, before that i never buy cos i was thinking not everytime use, not need to buy, but now not so convenient when bring them out. MAybe want to find 2 set or buy the twins one.

Jacelyn, sure will call you when I am there, yes I went to Giant and Carrefour most of the times and we usually stay at one of the hotels before the bbs comes along

Mich, hey my customary wedding is also held in 1999 january
after my ROM in 1997.

hi costa..ya will cook under the fire unless my lao gogn tonight go and buy a slow cooker????!!!! kekekeke...

mich -- hmm think i shld sms and hint my lao gong now :p "without a slow cooker..how to cook for our boy"??? haha

hi jacelyn hehe, i don't know is it because my mum fed so my boy obedient..just goggle down the whole bowl...shall see what happen this weekend haha :p opps!

oh you are looking for stroller..hmmm is there any resale one that u can buy online or wat? guess...twins or one set has its own good and and bad. or maybe you buy one sling and one stroller hahaha?? i anyhow say say one la keke

jacelyn,
i nev give ikan bilis powder.my MIL made some,she wash the ikan bilis, sun them, then put in oven to further dry & cook, then grind into powder. gave my ger some when she started solids,but got rashes ard the mouth area,so i stop.
now i use ikan bilis + chkn breast to boil soup. then use soup & feed her rice or ABC pasta or mee sua

jane,
not necessary slow cooker la. my colleague soak the rice 1st,she say like tat the rice can b cooked (till soft) faster. last time, my mom used to grin the rice, then i cook the veg separately then mesh, then cook the grind rice (in powder form) & mix the mesh veg in.

Didi,
ok,welcome to malaysia ha.. but now must be careful, we also scared lei, now not so safe lei,,a lot of robbery. raped too, last two week was my friend friend cases. 2 couple drive car, got 4 man follow them , robbed them and raped the girl.so sad ha....
Jane,
no lah.i think your boy more guai la. my two boy very naughty one, they always need to play play when makan.
can too, actually thinking to find resales one.any lobang?single one also can la..

Mich,
haha...thanks..my boy is okay..still tiny sized....can onli drink little by little..

i dunoe how to change the fonts to bigger or smaller..u very clever leh..one day must teach me...doing the colour, i already tau gong gong...

yr hb and u look very young.....dun even look like 30s..

disneymickey,
how yr mum grind the rice?put in those home grinder and grind is it?i think lidat like wat you said is very fast to cook..becuz my client made some for me and just cook over the fire nia..and very fast can eat liao...

jacelyn,
i like to eat msian food leh...especially the kway teow chai..the small pieces of kway teow ?u noe?vy nice leh.....recently i went to the desaru fruit farm....hv u been there ?

costa,
ya,she used the normal grinder. but must wash & sun dry the rice 1st. yes, cook this way, 5mins ok liao.. but like i say, pre-cook & mesh the veg 1st. the gd thing abt this method is, can pre-cook the veg & mesh (normally i do tat when my ger sleeps). so when she wans to eat, juz cook the grinded rice (which takes only 5 mins) & add the veg in. vs the method of cooking everything over fire, need to watch the fire. but by grinding, the porridge is very very soft,for starting ok, but i think slowly must train them to eat more solid food, to encourage chewing.

mich, wow what elixir you n your hubby taking ? that keeps you guys young ?

Costa, did you drive to the fruit farm ? as I have been pestering my hubby to drive to m'sia

disneymickey,
i wonder why must sun dry the rice huh?

u r right abt the encouragement of chewing..if you blend the foods too fine...the bb cannot develop the muscles for chewing...my son's cc teacher ever told me tis before....and also the kid may not take other food except food which is pureed vy fine..

didi,
i din drive to the fruit farm....there is website for tis..www.desaruff.com

we followed their one day tour...its okay lah...tink its value for money...and cheap as i got no time to bring my son for overseas holiday as i cannot take leave..

its a one day program costing $68 for adult and $65 for kids my son's age..

it includes lunch buffet wif fruits buffet included and then dinner and then a so called cruise to see the fireflies..

tink its value for money...u can see the website for more details....

its educational in the sense tt you see the fruits and veggies grown and learn more about it and the fireflies thingy is quite cute lah...u noe for us urban sporeans who are seldom exposed to all those nature stuff...

costa,
I never there before, i know this place, i only went desaru before, was a nice place too, ya, desaru fram got a lot a lot of fresh fruit right? next time when your boy big must bring them there,at least they know hows the papaya tree?banana tree.etc.etc
Malaysia got a lot of place to go, can drive too if your know the road.
kuay tiao cai, is it cook in soup type, call kuay tiao kia? like singapore call guaizao? or fry type? For me i like malaysia food which singapore have too, but i prefer malaysia style, like satay, ofuan,curry mee...

jacelyn,
yah, its the kuay tiao kia eaten wif the kuey chap ingredients like pork,intestines, eggs etc...

my hb noes the place well and we used to drive there but now hardly...i like malaysia food also ...smhow tastes different leh...

costa, ok, but think it is too early for my boys to travel now
I have been to Desaru, but only to the resort many many years ago, didn't know of such farm....

Jacelyn, for me, I like the fishball noodle.....

costa,
ya, that one call kuay tiao kia. i like too, exspecially the pig ear, hee.hee.last time i am not dare to eat one, my hubby say nice, so if happen we eat, we will order, ok ok , as so long never eat, and you mentian too, this coming week i will go, hee,hee, next time if you come, i treat you ha..and i will introduce some more nice food for you.
ok, going to coook, my boys need to makan at 6pm, must cook before they wake up.
take care
chat tmr again

Hello! Me back back.

Wow, envy leh,disneymickey and costa you are married 10 years?? Mich 9 years?
Wow say! Me just starting a long journey! haha. I am just married 3 years leh.

Where did you get to see Mich photos? Where are all of you saying she looks young? Where where?

Jane! Thanks for the website!!! Yesterday was watching the entertainment show regarding how to save money. It says tai seng there sells very cheap toys?

Regarding the gathering. Anybody has a big house to lend?
My house too small leh. If somebody got a big house, we can meet there.

costa,
my dear, if u wash the rice, u must sun dry them rt? else how to grind & keep? guess drying in sun is faster than juz drying rt?

ya lor, where u all c mich pics? i oso wondering if i've missed out some postings..